130 to 430N swap question - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-12-2013, 01:57 PM   #31
Jeeper
 
Iron Clad Lou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: SW PA
Posts: 118
so you guys are paying 860 some dollars just for NAV?

__________________
2013 Wrangler JKU Sahara
/l ,[____],
[--ICL--OllllllO-
()_) ()_)--o-)_)
Iron Clad Lou is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-12-2013, 03:44 PM   #32
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Clad Lou View Post
so you guys are paying 860 some dollars just for NAV?
no, more like $500....lol would pay close to $300 just for an RBZ, so you can only count the difference for the navi, and let me tell you after having it, I would pay all over again! it's an awesome unit!

__________________
"Our culture has accepted two HUGE lies!!! The first is that if you disagree with someone's lifestyle, you must fear or hate them. The second is that to love somone you must agree with everything they believe or do!!! BOTH are nonsense!!! You do not have to compromise convictions to be compassionate."

- Rick Warren
LewdDude is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-12-2013, 03:59 PM   #33
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 536
Quote:
Originally Posted by LewdDude View Post
no, more like $500....lol would pay close to $300 just for an RBZ, so you can only count the difference for the navi, and let me tell you after having it, I would pay all over again! it's an awesome unit!
I'd pay it again!
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-12-2013, 11:37 PM   #34
Jeeper
 
insylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Enterprise, Alabama.
Posts: 881
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by hog2jeep View Post
was it plug n play?

After I spliced the wireing together in the wireing harnesses and adaptors, and routed a new wire for the GPS antenna and Mic.
__________________
2013 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 10th Anniversary
insylem is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 09:42 AM   #35
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark View Post
You don't need a code because it is mated to your VIN. If it went in someone elses vehicle, it would need the code.
Where does one get this code as I'm selling mine and I want to provide it to the seller....?
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 10:31 AM   #36
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jdambm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. louis, Mo
Posts: 902
Images: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to jdambm
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastNugly View Post

Where does one get this code as I'm selling mine and I want to provide it to the seller....?
Your dealer would have to look it up in their system with your vin
jdambm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 10:48 AM   #37
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdambm View Post
Your dealer would have to look it up in their system with your vin
Im assuming this is what will work with the new owner?
If so, thanks!
I will call them right now for it
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 10:50 AM   #38
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,574
Images: 13
Yeah, whenever I get around to taking my Jeep into the dealer for a waterpump and some other stuff, I need to get to code to my 130 to a removed so I can sell it.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 11:34 AM   #39
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Called my dealer and they said they need to remove the headunit to get the serial number (need my ownership, drivers license for proof I own it) to get the code?
Is this true?
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 11:52 AM   #40
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,574
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastNugly View Post
Called my dealer and they said they need to remove the headunit to get the serial number (need my ownership, drivers license for proof I own it) to get the code?
Is this true?
Not sure...

I've heard different stories on what is needed. But I do know that some dealers seem to be pretty strict on what they ask for. You can remove the HU yourself...it only takes a few minutes. But I would think the dealer would have that info.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 12:25 PM   #41
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark View Post
Not sure...

I've heard different stories on what is needed. But I do know that some dealers seem to be pretty strict on what they ask for. You can remove the HU yourself...it only takes a few minutes. But I would think the dealer would have that info.
Yea, I dont have a concern of removing the headunit, speaking of which, is there a DIY somewhere in the forum that shows how or steps to follow?

But I will get this info either way
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 12:48 PM   #42
THW
Jeeper
 
THW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Litchfield Hills area, Connecticut
Posts: 780
Wait, even the 130 requires a code? If you want to sell it (even though it's almost worthless) how do you determine the code?
__________________
2013 Sport S Unlimited, Black
THW is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 01:06 PM   #43
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jdambm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. louis, Mo
Posts: 902
Images: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to jdambm
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastNugly View Post
Called my dealer and they said they need to remove the headunit to get the serial number (need my ownership, drivers license for proof I own it) to get the code?
Is this true?
If you read through a couple of the radio threads depending on dealer most are pretty strict
Serial # and vin along with registration.
jdambm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 01:07 PM   #44
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jdambm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. louis, Mo
Posts: 902
Images: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to jdambm
Quote:
Originally Posted by THW View Post
Wait, even the 130 requires a code? If you want to sell it (even though it's almost worthless) how do you determine the code?
If the unit says antitheft on the front and it is out of another vehicle it requires a code or it is a brick
jdambm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 04:33 PM   #45
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdambm View Post
If you read through a couple of the radio threads depending on dealer most are pretty strict
Serial # and vin along with registration.
Good to know, but that is fine and rightfully so.
I do own the Jk and can provide all that info....so I should be good to go
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 05:53 PM   #46
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jdambm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. louis, Mo
Posts: 902
Images: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to jdambm
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastNugly View Post
Good to know, but that is fine and rightfully so.
I do own the Jk and can provide all that info....so I should be good to go
2012-13 Wrangler Aftermarket Stereo Install Write-up
jdambm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 06:18 PM   #47
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdambm View Post
Thanks man!
I wish there was rep points here or a like button as i would give you some
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 06:24 PM   #48
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jdambm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. louis, Mo
Posts: 902
Images: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to jdambm
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastNugly View Post
Thanks man!
I wish there was rep points here or a like button as i would give you some
I am sure I will have questions for you one day. Good luck it is a pretty quick process.
jdambm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 06:30 PM   #49
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdambm View Post
I am sure I will have questions for you one day. Good luck it is a pretty quick process.
It is very similar to the process of my Ram, but DAMN, the entire top dash comes off.
But thank you once again
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-13-2013, 08:18 PM   #50
Jeeper
 
earroyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Apple Valley, California
Posts: 38
Images: 1
I recently had a 130 RES pulled out and had the dealer give me the code since it was the original radio my 2013 JKU came with. They should provide the code much like the code for getting new key fobs.
earroyo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-14-2013, 10:25 AM   #51
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by earroyo View Post
I recently had a 130 RES pulled out and had the dealer give me the code since it was the original radio my 2013 JKU came with. They should provide the code much like the code for getting new key fobs.
What did you have to provide them to get it?
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-14-2013, 06:08 PM   #52
Jeeper
 
earroyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Apple Valley, California
Posts: 38
Images: 1
Nothing...it's something they should give you when you purchase the vehicle. I purchased it brand new, so they had to give it to me! Good luck
earroyo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-15-2013, 11:09 AM   #53
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by earroyo View Post
Nothing...it's something they should give you when you purchase the vehicle. I purchased it brand new, so they had to give it to me! Good luck
I agree....they should give it
I will check my manual booklet first to make sure it is not there, but I will make them give it to me.
My JKUR was purchased brand new from them and I dont see it being an issue getting it from them
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-23-2013, 07:46 PM   #54
Jeeper
 
earroyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Apple Valley, California
Posts: 38
Images: 1
Agree...they should not give you a hard time about it or charge you if they never gave it to you in the first place!
earroyo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2013, 11:48 AM   #55
Jeeper
 
SwooperMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 34
Ok, so my question is: If I purchase a used one, how do I get the code. It is already removed from the previous vehicle. Do I just call up Jeep with the vin from the other jeep and ask them for the code? Thanks in advance.
SwooperMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2013, 11:55 AM   #56
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,574
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwooperMan View Post
Ok, so my question is: If I purchase a used one, how do I get the code. It is already removed from the previous vehicle. Do I just call up Jeep with the vin from the other jeep and ask them for the code? Thanks in advance.
The previous owner should have provided it.
You can try taking it to a dealer with the VIN from the other Jeep.....but I don't know if they can or will give you the code. From their POV, how do they know you didn't steal it from another Jeep?

One person tried every 4 digig sequence until he found it. He would try 5 codes, then pull the fuse to reset the system....or something like that.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2013, 01:10 PM   #57
Jeeper
 
SwooperMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 34
Thanks, for the reply. I haven't purchased it. I saw one pulled on a CL listing with a bunch of other take-offs. Trying to decide if it's worth the hassle.
SwooperMan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2013, 01:16 PM   #58
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,574
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwooperMan View Post
Thanks, for the reply. I haven't purchased it. I saw one pulled on a CL listing with a bunch of other take-offs. Trying to decide if it's worth the hassle.
If it is the correct unit (which is the hard part), it is literally no hassle to swap a 130 for a 430.
If you have never touched your Wrangler or a wrench before...it will take you 30 minutes. If you have pulled your head unit before...it will take you 10.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2013, 04:12 PM   #59
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Quote:
Originally Posted by SwooperMan View Post
Ok, so my question is: If I purchase a used one, how do I get the code. It is already removed from the previous vehicle. Do I just call up Jeep with the vin from the other jeep and ask them for the code? Thanks in advance.
I have a schedule with my dealer this week to get the code as I am selling mine and will be providing this.
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2013, 04:14 PM   #60
Jeeper
 
1quick1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,002
Quote:
Originally Posted by LewdDude View Post
I purchased a brand new in the box OEM 430N RHB with sirius and NAV. My stock system is in a 2013 Sahara with Sirius, Connectivity package, and Blu Tooth u-connect as well. The only thing the 430N will add, is the Nav. My question is the Sat radio antenna the same for the nag, or do I have to install the antenna that came with the new 430N? if I need to replace the antenna, how big of a job is it to run the new wire, and where is the placement?


Thanks,

Ron
I've done this swap. Direct plug n' play. Your Sirius antenna will double as your Nav. It took me less than 10 minutes and it was up and running.

__________________
2014 Willys
1quick1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC