130 to 430N swap question - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-07-2013, 11:15 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 323
130 to 430N swap question

I purchased a brand new in the box OEM 430N RHB with sirius and NAV. My stock system is in a 2013 Sahara with Sirius, Connectivity package, and Blu Tooth u-connect as well. The only thing the 430N will add, is the Nav. My question is the Sat radio antenna the same for the nag, or do I have to install the antenna that came with the new 430N? if I need to replace the antenna, how big of a job is it to run the new wire, and where is the placement?


Thanks,

Ron

LewdDude is offline   Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 11:19 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 323
seems like there is conflicting info out there on this.... imagine that...lol some say the Sirius and Nav use the same antenna, but if I have sirius already, do I need to replace the antenna with the nav antenna?

LewdDude is offline   Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 08:57 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
jjbroze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Linthicum, MD
Posts: 51
The current SIRUS antenna will work for both the Sat radio and the nav. When I updated from a 130 430N, it was a true "plug n play". When I was finished everything worked.
jjbroze is offline   Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 09:17 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
jt5280's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjbroze View Post
The current SIRUS antenna will work for both the Sat radio and the nav. When I updated from a 130 430N, it was a true "plug n play". When I was finished everything worked.
This.

However, I don't know about your microphone. I installed a 730n and had to swap mics. Not sure if 130 mic works on 430 (though from above it seems like it will).
jt5280 is offline   Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 10:28 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjbroze View Post
The current SIRUS antenna will work for both the Sat radio and the nav. When I updated from a 130 430N, it was a true "plug n play". When I was finished everything worked.
Music to me ears!!! LOL Thank you!
LewdDude is offline   Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 10:09 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 323
swap took 10 minutes and everything works! easy 1 2 3!
LewdDude is offline   Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 10:55 AM   #7
yeah,,,, im that good

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,944
Images: 13
Prior to 2010'ish, Nav and Sirius used different antennas. That is why some units have three plugs in back (white, yellow, and blue), while new units only have two.

It is a 100% plug and play swap from a 130 to 430 (assuming both units have the safe features). The 730 is a bit different because it uses a different mic that has to be installed (and flashed I think).
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 11:28 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 136
I have a 430N RHB in the FS section with everything including uconnect module.
__________________
2004 IBM GTO (600rwhp) SOLD
2003 10th Anniversary KB Cobra (620rwhp) SOLD
2011 Harley Davidson FLHXSE2 SOLD
2009 Pontiac G8 GXP! Trade in...I'm sick
2013 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 10th Anniversary
10Anvil is offline   Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 12:25 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 323
yup, and not only were the buttons back lit green, so was the splash screen and wallpaper! Pleasant surprise!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	430N.JPG
Views:	206
Size:	100.5 KB
ID:	249078  
LewdDude is offline   Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 12:30 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
DFW6ER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: FloMo
Posts: 847
Well....I think I found my next upgrade.
__________________
2012 Black JKUR...stock for now
DFW6ER is offline   Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 01:18 PM   #11
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 635
So many people telling me different things about this 430N, so I really need a straight answer from someone who really knows. I purchased a new 430N and got it today. It says 'anti theft' in the left corner and I did not receive a code with it, so do I need one? It also came with a satellite antenna, and I was told that if I wanted the Sirius Travel I had to use the new antenna. I planned to install this myself, but now worried.
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 02:10 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 71
If it says anti-theft in the corner you will need the 4 digit code to get it to work. I can't answer the antenna question for you but I do know you'll need the code. I would contact whoever/wherever you purchased your 430N and try and get the code. If you can't get the code you'll at least need the VIN # of the vehicle it came out of....then you will need to go through the hassle of trying to get the dealer to find the security code for you.

There is also the option of starting at 0000 and working your way through all the possibilities ending with 9999. There would be 10,000 possibilities to guess the code but that could be a last ditch effort if nothing works. Good luck!
hoopster3 is offline   Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 03:58 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoopster3 View Post
If it says anti-theft in the corner you will need the 4 digit code to get it to work. I can't answer the antenna question for you but I do know you'll need the code. I would contact whoever/wherever you purchased your 430N and try and get the code. If you can't get the code you'll at least need the VIN # of the vehicle it came out of....then you will need to go through the hassle of trying to get the dealer to find the security code for you.

There is also the option of starting at 0000 and working your way through all the possibilities ending with 9999. There would be 10,000 possibilities to guess the code but that could be a last ditch effort if nothing works. Good luck!
No she got it from the same guy I got mine, and they are brand new units never have been installed in any vehicle. No code is needed. It will sync up with your jeep and the code will be generated. You will not need to input any code! The antenna she has is also from the 130 with sirius sat radio so it will function for the NAV post 2010 wranglers. I did the same swap of the same radio from the same guy. She will be fine and all features will work. Look at the pics I posted above and you will notice "antitheft" in the lower left of the radio. I needed NO code
__________________
"Our culture has accepted two HUGE lies!!! The first is that if you disagree with someone's lifestyle, you must fear or hate them. The second is that to love somone you must agree with everything they believe or do!!! BOTH are nonsense!!! You do not have to compromise convictions to be compassionate."

- Rick Warren
LewdDude is offline   Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 04:13 PM   #14
yeah,,,, im that good

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,944
Images: 13
Yeah, from what I understand, brand new, never been used units do not require a code the first time they are installed. However, I do wonder what would happen if that unit was ever sold. How does one get the code? Is it already tied to the VIN of the vehicle? Basically, is it the same code as the 130 that is being removed because the code is tied to the vehicle instead of the HU?
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 04:30 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
OrangeJeepGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Yukon, OK
Posts: 353
How much should I expect to pay for a 430N? Where are you guys getting them, ebay?
OrangeJeepGuy is offline   Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 09:04 PM   #16
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 635
OK. Talked with the Service manager at the dealership. Since the 430N is brand new it has never been attached to a VIN, so, NO code is needed. It is totally Plug~N~Play. It also comes with a brand new SAT antenna, just incase you need it.
OrangeJeepGuy, No, we didn't get them off eBay. Those are not new. We (LewdDude and I) ordered them through a private party with Mopar connections. $875. delivered is what I paid. ;-)
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 10:25 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by laollis View Post
OK. Talked with the Service manager at the dealership. Since the 430N is brand new it has never been attached to a VIN, so, NO code is needed. It is totally Plug~N~Play. It also comes with a brand new SAT antenna, just incase you need it.
OrangeJeepGuy, No, we didn't get them off eBay. Those are not new. We (LewdDude and I) ordered them through a private party with Mopar connections. $875. delivered is what I paid. ;-)
Mine was $861 delivered... ;-) And I already had Sirius Sat Radio the antenna is the same for Nav! So for any of you who do not have the SAT/Nav combo antenna this one came with one in the box as well. As stated, never been installed. If anyone needs one, I have one available. ;-) as well as a 130 with sirius.
__________________
"Our culture has accepted two HUGE lies!!! The first is that if you disagree with someone's lifestyle, you must fear or hate them. The second is that to love somone you must agree with everything they believe or do!!! BOTH are nonsense!!! You do not have to compromise convictions to be compassionate."

- Rick Warren
LewdDude is offline   Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 06:49 PM   #18
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 635
Got my new 430N installed. Very happy. Instantly came on, Sirius, Travel, NAVI all work perfectly. Woot Woot!
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 08:07 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by laollis View Post
Got my new 430N installed. Very happy. Instantly came on, Sirius, Travel, NAVI all work perfectly. Woot Woot!
The test will now be if it still works on Friday as everyone has free service til 6/6/2013. My fingers are crossed that since the radio is new that it too has a year! But congrats! Navi is cool! Got all my favorite sports teams saved, movie theater with show times, weather, gas! Lol it's way cool! That was nice of your dealer to put it in for you! It really is a nice feature for the wrangler! Congrats!
__________________
"Our culture has accepted two HUGE lies!!! The first is that if you disagree with someone's lifestyle, you must fear or hate them. The second is that to love somone you must agree with everything they believe or do!!! BOTH are nonsense!!! You do not have to compromise convictions to be compassionate."

- Rick Warren
LewdDude is offline   Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 08:08 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 323
Go army! ;-)

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-856337586.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	88.4 KB
ID:	257744
__________________
"Our culture has accepted two HUGE lies!!! The first is that if you disagree with someone's lifestyle, you must fear or hate them. The second is that to love somone you must agree with everything they believe or do!!! BOTH are nonsense!!! You do not have to compromise convictions to be compassionate."

- Rick Warren
LewdDude is offline   Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 10:18 PM   #21
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by LewdDude View Post
The test will now be if it still works on Friday as everyone has free service til 6/6/2013. My fingers are crossed that since the radio is new that it too has a year! But congrats! Navi is cool! Got all my favorite sports teams saved, movie theater with show times, weather, gas! Lol it's way cool! That was nice of your dealer to put it in for you! It really is a nice feature for the wrangler! Congrats!
Thanks So Much! and the hook-up to get the 430. U Rock!!!
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 06:28 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
earroyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Apple Valley, California
Posts: 38
Images: 1
Question

Hello...do you mind sharing who in ebay you purchased your 430N from? Thanks! Efrain


Quote:
Originally Posted by LewdDude View Post
Mine was $861 delivered... ;-) And I already had Sirius Sat Radio the antenna is the same for Nav! So for any of you who do not have the SAT/Nav combo antenna this one came with one in the box as well. As stated, never been installed. If anyone needs one, I have one available. ;-) as well as a 130 with sirius.
earroyo is offline   Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 06:41 PM   #23
THW
Jeeper
 
THW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Litchfield Hills area, Connecticut
Posts: 780
Anyone have experience with wiring the included antenna? I've got mine and I'd like to see a write up before I start tearing panels out...
__________________
2013 Sport S Unlimited, Black
THW is offline   Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:00 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
boilermaker_yv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Miami
Posts: 204
Send a message via Skype™ to boilermaker_yv
Quote:
Originally Posted by earroyo View Post
Hello...do you mind sharing who in ebay you purchased your 430N from? Thanks! Efrain
I'm selling mine through here...it is in the for sale section...used for 3 months.....and much less than eBay :-)
__________________
2013 JKUS Loaded
boilermaker_yv is offline   Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 10:00 AM   #25
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 635
Quote:
Originally Posted by boilermaker_yv View Post
I'm selling mine through here...it is in the for sale section...used for 3 months.....and much less than eBay :-)
People just need to remember, If it was installed in a previous vehicle, It will need the code for it to work.
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 06:30 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
boilermaker_yv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Miami
Posts: 204
Send a message via Skype™ to boilermaker_yv
Quote:
Originally Posted by laollis View Post

People just need to remember, If it was installed in a previous vehicle, It will need the code for it to work.
It depends....it is my understanding that in the newer models you don't need a flash code.

I have unplugged and plugged back mine several times, and every now and then it asks for the code, I just turn the ignition on/off a couple of times and it goes away.
__________________
2013 JKUS Loaded
boilermaker_yv is offline   Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 02:04 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 633
Anyone looking for a fairly new 430N, I have mine listed here.
JKUR is 2 months old

http://www.wranglerforum.com/f14/fai...ml#post3954773
__________________
'13 10th Anniversary JKUR Anvil on Red - delivered 5/9/13 Now Gone
/l ,[____],
[1---L-OllllllO-

()_) ()_)--o-)_)
fastNugly is offline   Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 02:38 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
insylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Enterprise, Alabama.
Posts: 1,056
Images: 3
I installed a JVC/Kenwood on mine.
__________________
2013 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon 10th Anniversary
insylem is offline   Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 02:45 PM   #29
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by insylem View Post
I installed a JVC/Kenwood on mine.
was it plug n play?
hog2jeep is offline   Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 02:51 PM   #30
yeah,,,, im that good

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,944
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by boilermaker_yv View Post
It depends....it is my understanding that in the newer models you don't need a flash code.

I have unplugged and plugged back mine several times, and every now and then it asks for the code, I just turn the ignition on/off a couple of times and it goes away.
You don't need a code because it is mated to your VIN. If it went in someone elses vehicle, it would need the code.

__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC