2012 / AEV ProCal Module - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-29-2011, 10:25 PM   #31
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by OutlawJK View Post
So are you saying that once a 2012 jeep is lifted 3.5" I cannot use the ESC?
Ever??
you can use it if you have your steering wheel 100% truly aligned. it should be ok, and it helps to have the computer flashed with new tire size and stuff. but it can still kick on when you don't want it. I never try to drive a JK with a lift and ESC on. but i can't turn it off on my 2012, it worked on my 08 and 09, never tried on it my 07.

EDIT: I have 3.5" lift and 35"s on my 2012, and have manually aligned the steering wheel as best as I can, and my ESC hasn't kicked on luckily.

__________________
2012 Rubicon Unlimited Black
3.5" RK lift, 35" MTR w/kevlar.
Warn winch, Skid Row Offroad skid plates.
ThinkMud is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-29-2011, 10:31 PM   #32
Jeeper
 
OutlawJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Artesia, NM
Posts: 481
If I re gear to a 4.88 from the 4.10
What's that do to the ESC?

OutlawJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-29-2011, 10:33 PM   #33
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by OutlawJK View Post
If I re gear to a 4.88 from the 4.10
What's that do to the ESC?
nothing gears and ESC have nothing to do with each other. just lift and tire size.
__________________
2012 Rubicon Unlimited Black
3.5" RK lift, 35" MTR w/kevlar.
Warn winch, Skid Row Offroad skid plates.
ThinkMud is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-29-2011, 10:37 PM   #34
Jeeper
 
OutlawJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Artesia, NM
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThinkMud

nothing gears and ESC have nothing to do with each other. just lift and tire size.
Got it

I was hoping I could use the trailer sway control with my lift
Seems odd that it can't be used safely with a lift
OutlawJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-29-2011, 10:43 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by OutlawJK View Post
Got it

I was hoping I could use the trailer sway control with my lift
Seems odd that it can't be used safely with a lift
I think the trailer sway control is not the same as the ESC (Electronic Stability Control) system.

no one saying you can't use any of it (ESC, trailer thing, etc..). I just asked if anyone with a 2012 could turn their ESC off, b/c I can't. Lots of people roll with the ESC on and have no issues, but I have had issues in the past(with 3 other JKs) so I personally do not feel good about driving my JK lifted with it on. Not trying to scare anyone or freak anyone out here. Just my personal pref.

Hope that helps.
__________________
2012 Rubicon Unlimited Black
3.5" RK lift, 35" MTR w/kevlar.
Warn winch, Skid Row Offroad skid plates.
ThinkMud is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-29-2011, 10:50 PM   #36
Jeeper
 
OutlawJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Artesia, NM
Posts: 481
Yes it helps but I want to learn from your mistakes too
OutlawJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-29-2011, 10:58 PM   #37
Jeeper
 
Nellipj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Frankfort, Illinois
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThinkMud View Post
so does the ProCal work to change tire sizes on the 2012s now? I wanted to order one but wasn't sure if it would work yet.
Yep, high idle is the only thing that doesn't work as far as I know.
Nellipj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-30-2011, 10:00 PM   #38
Jeeper
 
OutlawJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Artesia, NM
Posts: 481
Will the Chrysler OBDII tool do every thing the pro cal will?
OutlawJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-18-2011, 07:15 PM   #39
Jeeper
 
Arena Motor Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The MD ghetto
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by ESP123 View Post
and it can fly.
Damn right it can... my Jeep has been booken' it!
__________________
2012 Wrangler Unlimited
Bright White\ 6 speed
Infinity Sound System
And some other stuff...The LED PreRunner

Arena Motor Dude is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-18-2011, 07:22 PM   #40
Jeeper
 
Arena Motor Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The MD ghetto
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThinkMud View Post
you can use it if you have your steering wheel 100% truly aligned. it should be ok, and it helps to have the computer flashed with new tire size and stuff. but it can still kick on when you don't want it. I never try to drive a JK with a lift and ESC on. but i can't turn it off on my 2012, it worked on my 08 and 09, never tried on it my 07.

EDIT: I have 3.5" lift and 35"s on my 2012, and have manually aligned the steering wheel as best as I can, and my ESC hasn't kicked on luckily.
Before I bought my 2008 JK with a 3.5" lift and 35"s I drove a 2007 JK with a mild lift and probably 33"s on it and holy crap, you could be driving straight and the ESC would kick in and before you even know it you were fighting to keep the bastard on the road! But when I got my 2008 a Jeep dealer installed the lift and tires so they turned off the ESC without hesitation or question... that's right even Chrysler thinks it is a bad idea, I just put 35"s on my 2012 JKU and I am buying a ProCal now and I will get a lift in a bit.
__________________
2012 Wrangler Unlimited
Bright White\ 6 speed
Infinity Sound System
And some other stuff...The LED PreRunner

Arena Motor Dude is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-19-2011, 02:32 PM   #41
Newb
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 9
Thinkmud-
I tried the esc shutoff from the manual and it didn't work for me either so I swung by the dealer and they said they could shut it off but wouldn't do it for me until i put the lift on.
captkrunch is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-19-2011, 02:38 PM   #42
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 66
That's interesting. I bet they put out a TSB to fix it so we can do it.
__________________
2012 Rubicon Unlimited Black
3.5" RK lift, 35" MTR w/kevlar.
Warn winch, Skid Row Offroad skid plates.
ThinkMud is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-19-2011, 04:24 PM   #43
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,503
Haven't been following this thread but have you been having it happen with your new 2012 ThinkMud?
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-19-2011, 04:26 PM   #44
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by ESP123 View Post
Haven't been following this thread but have you been having it happen with your new 2012 ThinkMud?
It has NOT kicked on like it has in the older JKs i've had. So that is good, but I would still a bit more comfortable with it 100% disabled!
__________________
2012 Rubicon Unlimited Black
3.5" RK lift, 35" MTR w/kevlar.
Warn winch, Skid Row Offroad skid plates.
ThinkMud is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-19-2011, 04:30 PM   #45
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,503
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThinkMud View Post
It has NOT kicked on like it has in the older JKs i've had. So that is good, but I would still a bit more comfortable with it 100% disabled!
Gotcha. I had it happen one time with my 33s and 1" lift on the 2010. Only once though and I'm still not sure if it was the hole I drove over during a turn or not so I haven't paid any attention to it sense.
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-03-2012, 07:28 AM   #46
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 195
Has anyone determined if the 2012 procal can modify daytime running lights? I want to move my OE drl from the headlights to the signals in order to run trucklite led headlights.
JKUCRUSHMIKE is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-05-2012, 11:35 PM   #47
Jeeper
 
JeepHerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: California
Posts: 2,731
Images: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThinkMud View Post
AEV only added the wheel centering option of the ProCal module bc the computer needs to electronically read the wheel as centered to be truly centered (as far as ESP/ESC goes)
Gadget wise the steering wheel centering is cool. The left or right turn signal come on in the direction you need to turn. WHen you're centered the high beam light pops up.
We selected day-time lights (fogs) and it works fine. You can turn them off, choose signals, high beams, low beams or European. Just what the manual says. Probably will turn the DRL fogs off but wanted to try it. Selected tire size but I haven't driven it enough to know if its working. Also changed the tire pressure for the TPMS. It did work- we had our tires lowered to 28 PSI and the light was on. We changed the Procal to 18 psi. The "low pressure" gauge turned off the next time I started Elvira.
I AM interested to see if, once i add my Rubi sway bar, I can get the Pro-cal to "see" it and re-set it to "on" without me having to go to the dealer. AEV specifically mentions the ASBS module but the language is not clear.
I have a 2012.
JeepHerz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 08:14 AM   #48
Jeeper
 
sobeperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 599
Does anyone with or looking to buy a procal live in south Florida? I'm looking to purchase and only want to adjust the fog lights to DRL's. Can the same device be used on multiple vehicles? Anyone want to split the cost?
sobeperry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 09:48 AM   #49
Jeeper
 
Sobray's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Arlington
Posts: 63
I have my 2012 JKU on a 3.5" lift and have 35's and drive that thing like a race car and have never had anything try and take over the braking? I am interested in getting a ProCal to adjust for the bigger tires but have never heard anything about what you guys are talking about in this thread? Does this only have to do with older models? And Daggo keep being you brother, you crack me up...
Sobray is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 09:53 AM   #50
Jeeper
 
05jeep12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 38
My Procal arrived yesterday. The manual clearly states that the unit will only work on one vehicle at a time.

It may not be used on another vehicle until the RESTORE function is used on the original vehicle. The RESTORE function will reset a vehicle's default settings to stock and unlock the procal for use in another vehicle.
__________________
2005 Jeep Wrangler Sport *Sold*
2012 Jeep Wrangler Sport
05jeep12 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 10:29 AM   #51
Jeeper
 
sobeperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05jeep12
My Procal arrived yesterday. The manual clearly states that the unit will only work on one vehicle at a time.

It may not be used on another vehicle until the RESTORE function is used on the original vehicle. The RESTORE function will reset a vehicle's default settings to stock and unlock the procal for use in another vehicle.
Well that answers my question! Lol. Would you mind advising me where this actually connects in the vehicle to make changes and if the average no tech person can simply connect and make fog lights into DRL's! Thanks so much !
sobeperry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 03:07 PM   #52
Jeeper
 
05jeep12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 38
Abosolutely! The connection point is under the steering wheel hanging on the far left bottom corner of the lower dash.

Yes, the average no-tech person can set up the DRL. The directions are clear. You just set the toggle switches per the irections, turn your key to the irst position, plug in the procal (after toggle switches are set), wait or the horn the sound and you are done.
__________________
2005 Jeep Wrangler Sport *Sold*
2012 Jeep Wrangler Sport
05jeep12 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 03:48 PM   #53
Jeeper
 
sobeperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05jeep12
Abosolutely! The connection point is under the steering wheel hanging on the far left bottom corner of the lower dash.

Yes, the average no-tech person can set up the DRL. The directions are clear. You just set the toggle switches per the irections, turn your key to the irst position, plug in the procal (after toggle switches are set), wait or the horn the sound and you are done.
Wow sounds easy. Going to order today! Thanks so much
sobeperry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 04:44 PM   #54
Jeeper
 
50 Something's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 876
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05jeep12 View Post
My Procal arrived yesterday. The manual clearly states that the unit will only work on one vehicle at a time.

It may not be used on another vehicle until the RESTORE function is used on the original vehicle. The RESTORE function will reset a vehicle's default settings to stock and unlock the procal for use in another vehicle.

Mine should arive in an hour or two. Now I don't have to sweat the Local PD around these parts...

50 Something
__________________
"In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God, and the Word was God"

John 1:1
50 Something is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 08:35 PM   #55
Jeeper
 
JeepHerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: California
Posts: 2,731
Images: 21
Yet ANOTHER reason to love the Procal:
Just installed my Rubi sway bar. I have a JK- so I needed to go to a dealer to have the ASBS connected/have the sway bar light come on the dash. That'll be $100 at the dealer. Unless....you have a Procal. Pinned it, plugged it and poof- the sway bar connect light comes right up. I witnessed my husband actually kiss it. Totally worth the $150!
JeepHerz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-06-2012, 08:53 PM   #56
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by sobeperry View Post
Does anyone with or looking to buy a procal live in south Florida? I'm looking to purchase and only want to adjust the fog lights to DRL's. Can the same device be used on multiple vehicles? Anyone want to split the cost?
If we can get enough of us together we can do it for almost nothing but the shipping cost to send it to the next guy!
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 03:48 PM   #57
Jeeper
 
sobeperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 599
Thanks! Just went and picked up the procal and minutes later in the lot I has DTRL's! Super easy. Thanks again
sobeperry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-10-2012, 03:51 PM   #58
Jeeper
 
sobeperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 599
Quote:
Originally Posted by 05jeep12
Abosolutely! The connection point is under the steering wheel hanging on the far left bottom corner of the lower dash.

Yes, the average no-tech person can set up the DRL. The directions are clear. You just set the toggle switches per the irections, turn your key to the irst position, plug in the procal (after toggle switches are set), wait or the horn the sound and you are done.
Not sure if my prior post took. Thanks again for advising! Picked up the procal about an hr ago and in the lot of the store I set up the toggle switches and done! Now I have DTRL's! Super easy. Thanks again.

sobeperry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
2012 , aev , procal

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2012 Wrangler information thread Milous JK General Discussion Forum 1605 07-17-2013 01:45 PM
What do you guys think about the AEV ProCAL Module? makotoshishio JK General Discussion Forum 16 12-29-2012 11:26 AM
AEV Updates Regarding 2012 JK's REBEL OFF ROAD JK General Discussion Forum 3 04-22-2012 11:26 PM
2012 Wrangler Details ndrugby JK General Discussion Forum 64 07-17-2011 11:17 AM
AEV Procal Module JIMBOX JK General Discussion Forum 1 06-13-2010 05:21 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC