2013 Audio Connections & Harness - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-11-2012, 11:03 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
WhiskeyMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 805
2013 Audio Connections & Harness

I stopped by a car audio place to see what they offered that I might want to put in my 2013. The install tech told me that the pin out schematics and harnesses aren't out yet for the 2013 and that they all changed. He thought he could rig something up, but would likely not be able to get the steering wheel connections working. Is this accurate or he off base?

I know Jeep changed from Infinity to Alpine, but did they actually change the schematics or pin outs on the stock harnesses? Doesn't make much sense.

BTW, I have a 2013 Sport S with connectivity and sirius, but not the alpine upgrade. I'm looking to change/add - head unit, amp, all new speakers and backup camera.

Also, while it may not be published yet, is there a good repair manual available for the 2012 and when would the 2013 normally come out?

WhiskeyMike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2012, 11:08 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
lolpetewtf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sudbury, MA
Posts: 1,944
I can tell you next week when I wire my brothers '13!

I don' think you will have a problem with the current PAC on the market for steering wheel controls; it programs itself - especially since you are swapping head units. Lots of people have wired backup cameras, do a search you will find some installs.

__________________
2012 Cosmos Blue JK
Galaxy DX-99v2/Sirio 5000

S Package/Auto/Dual Top
Custom Stereo/20% Tint
lolpetewtf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2012, 04:36 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Foothills, CA
Posts: 180
I have a 2013 with the Alpine setup and can tell you nothing changed. I installed a Clarion CX-501 and used all the PAC adapters from last year and everything works fine for running the Alpine setup and steering wheel controls.
__________________
2013 JK Unlimied Sport S - True Blue
Mike_4462 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2012, 05:11 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike_4462 View Post
I have a 2013 with the Alpine setup and can tell you nothing changed. I installed a Clarion CX-501 and used all the PAC adapters from last year and everything works fine for running the Alpine setup and steering wheel controls.

This is what I was afraid of... I didn't want to change out the head unit because I didn't want to loose the steering wheel controls.

Are you saying that your steering wheel controls control your aftermarket head unit?
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jku
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2012, 06:26 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
SCCSD78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 165
I understand after searching that you can make everything work but the phone button but an aftermarket set up might have bluetooth anyhow.
__________________
2013 Billet JKUR

ordered 10-11 _ shipped 11-1 _
ARRIVED_ 11-13
SCCSD78 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2012, 07:53 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,385
I don't have the phone button, just the stereo controls.
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jku
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2012, 10:33 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Foothills, CA
Posts: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoWrangler View Post
Are you saying that your steering wheel controls control your aftermarket head unit?
Yes it does. I have mine set up to control channel up, channel down, input source, volume up, volume down, and mute.
__________________
2013 JK Unlimied Sport S - True Blue
Mike_4462 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2012, 05:36 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Landonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 77
What about UConnect features? Voice and phone buttons?
__________________
2013-Black-Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sport S, 24S pkg, Dual Tops, Automatic, UConnect, Tow Pkg, Tail light guards, Slush Mats, Kicker Speakers, and fun times galore!!!
Landonk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2012, 05:43 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Landonk View Post
What about UConnect features? Voice and phone buttons?
I would think that an aftermarket Head Unit would render the UConnect system useless, since most of them have bluetooth capabilities built in. But thats a complete guess.
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jku
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2012, 06:41 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,682
Correct. However if you do have the Uconnect system, you'll want to get to the module and disconnect it. It's located behind the HVAC control head.
Leaving it plugged in won't keep the radio from working but what could happen is that it may throw a DTC because the CAN BUS network will see that it's not powering up.
Not a real big issue, however it could cause a tech to chase after a non related issue if you had to take the vehicle to the dealer for any future problems. When he put scan tool on the vehicle he'll see a DTC for the UC module as well as whatever may be the issue at the time. So really this is just a precautionary step.



Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoWrangler View Post
I would think that an aftermarket Head Unit would render the UConnect system useless, since most of them have bluetooth capabilities built in. But thats a complete guess.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2012, 07:36 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Lynskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
Correct. However if you do have the Uconnect system, you'll want to get to the module and disconnect it. It's located behind the HVAC control head.
Leaving it plugged in won't keep the radio from working but what could happen is that it may throw a DTC because the CAN BUS network will see that it's not powering up.
Not a real big issue, however it could cause a tech to chase after a non related issue if you had to take the vehicle to the dealer for any future problems. When he put scan tool on the vehicle he'll see a DTC for the UC module as well as whatever may be the issue at the time. So really this is just a precautionary step.
Interesting. When I repalced my 130 HU and went the PAC harness route with the SWI, I left the UConnect as is. I thought that it would still be connected but have nowhere to go since the 130 HU was no longer connected.

In my set-up, my Pioneer unit is a BT so it has its' own phone button. When programming the SWI, I used the steering wheel phone button as a favorites channel changer. So on mine I have the 6 buttons programmed behind the wheel (up, down and middle on left and right) to control volume, channel, function (CD, USB, etc) and mute.

One little odd thing is that when I turn the ignition off and leave the key in, the EVIC displays "Stereo off" (or something like that) even when the stereo is not really off. Must be part of the UC module..
__________________
2012 Dozer JK Sahara
Lynskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2012, 04:18 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
WhiskeyMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 805
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynskey View Post
So on mine I have the 6 buttons programmed behind the wheel (up, down and middle on left and right) to control volume, channel, function (CD, USB, etc) and mute.
Was it possible for you to map the answer call button on the steering wheel to the answer call on your head unit?

Do you know what SWI harness you used and where did you get it?
WhiskeyMike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2012, 04:26 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,682
Like I said. it won't cause any issues just that the CAN BUS might see it as not online.
The EVIC probably has that message because the factory radio talks on the CAN BUS and the Pioneer takes CAN signal to turn on a 12 volt source and the radio doesn't talk on the CAN line.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynskey View Post
Interesting. When I repalced my 130 HU and went the PAC harness route with the SWI, I left the UConnect as is. I thought that it would still be connected but have nowhere to go since the 130 HU was no longer connected.

In my set-up, my Pioneer unit is a BT so it has its' own phone button. When programming the SWI, I used the steering wheel phone button as a favorites channel changer. So on mine I have the 6 buttons programmed behind the wheel (up, down and middle on left and right) to control volume, channel, function (CD, USB, etc) and mute.

One little odd thing is that when I turn the ignition off and leave the key in, the EVIC displays "Stereo off" (or something like that) even when the stereo is not really off. Must be part of the UC module..
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-13-2012, 09:42 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Lynskey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 798
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
Like I said. it won't cause any issues just that the CAN BUS might see it as not online.
The EVIC probably has that message because the factory radio talks on the CAN BUS and the Pioneer takes CAN signal to turn on a 12 volt source and the radio doesn't talk on the CAN line.
Sounds about right on to me.

I did program the phone button on the wheel to be a "next programmed channel selector" sort of by accident. When programming I was doing the progression as the instructions said and I pressed that button during the program for next channel thinking I was doing the BT. I left it that way as my PAC-SWI is an older one that doesn't support the phone BT selection on the HU after trying a few times.

Mine is one of the original PAC-SWI-PS or PAC-SWI-RC units. Not sure which.
__________________
2012 Dozer JK Sahara
Lynskey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-08-2013, 10:18 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Hello, I have a leather steering wheel from a new 2013 Sahara with Uconnect (GPS/DVD/Mp3 etc). Can I swap this for a non-leather steering wheel from a 2013 Jeep that does not have Uconnect? I have heard that I will lose the phone button which is no big deal but I want to keep the other button functions. how ? thank you?
klebart is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-08-2013, 12:24 PM   #16
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,047
They all have the switch panels in the front and radio controls in the back, so I think you could swap the switches out of yours and into the non leather wheel if you wanted to swap. That way you would still have all of your controls, but the non leather wheel. Just curious as to why you would want the rubber wheel instead if the nicer feeling leather one?
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-08-2013, 01:36 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Tweak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 2,189
nothing has changed, I have installed a LOC in a 2011 and a 2013 with uconnect. exact same procedure both times. think I was even using a thread for an even older Jeep.

http://www.jkowners.com/forum/showth...hlight=speaker

hope this helps a bit, I know its not exactly what you are looking for
Tweak is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-08-2013, 03:12 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilson2598 View Post
They all have the switch panels in the front and radio controls in the back, so I think you could swap the switches out of yours and into the non leather wheel if you wanted to swap. That way you would still have all of your controls, but the non leather wheel.
I'm not sure I'm following this. Can you explain a little more please?
klebart is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-08-2013, 10:27 PM   #19
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by klebart View Post

I'm not sure I'm following this. Can you explain a little more please?
Sure. Even the most base models that don't have a leather wheel still have the 2 radio controls on the back, cruise switch on the front, and a "dumbed down" switch pod on the front with step and menu buttons. If you wanted to swap one of those wheels in, you could remove the dumbed down switch pod and replace it with the pod from your leather wheel that has the phone and EVIC buttons on it. That way you could have the non leather wheel, but retain all your current functions.
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2013, 12:27 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
Trenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York City
Posts: 86
I ordered a new headunit and adapter from Crutchfield 2 weeks ago. Long story short, their adapter was from PAC and it doesn't work for 2013 JKU. I had to call PAC themselves to confirm it after getting 2 replacement units. Apparently it's a software issue with the 2013 model and they haven't had an update yet.
Trenty is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2013, 06:10 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilson2598 View Post
If you wanted to swap one of those wheels in, you could remove the dumbed down switch pod and replace it with the pod from your leather wheel that has the phone and EVIC buttons on it. That way you could have the non leather wheel, but retain all your current functions.
really? That would work? I never thought about that. thanks
klebart is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2013, 06:27 AM   #22
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trenty View Post
I ordered a new headunit and adapter from Crutchfield 2 weeks ago. Long story short, their adapter was from PAC and it doesn't work for 2013 JKU. I had to call PAC themselves to confirm it after getting 2 replacement units. Apparently it's a software issue with the 2013 model and they haven't had an update yet.
Interesting. I have a friend who has a 2013 base model Sport (literally nothing but AC), who installed a radio with PAC adapter and everything including the wheel controls works fine. Does yours have the Alpine system from the factory? Maybe that's a difference.
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2013, 06:30 AM   #23
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by klebart View Post

really? That would work? I never thought about that. thanks
Yes, that will work. There have been people who bought Jeeps without the connectivity package that swapped in the switch as part if adding the pieces to theirs and it works just fine. If your set on swapping the wheel, that's exactly what I would do.
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2013, 06:32 AM   #24
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trenty View Post
I ordered a new headunit and adapter from Crutchfield 2 weeks ago. Long story short, their adapter was from PAC and it doesn't work for 2013 JKU. I had to call PAC themselves to confirm it after getting 2 replacement units. Apparently it's a software issue with the 2013 model and they haven't had an update yet.
I got a 2013 JKU about six weeks ago, I used the PAC RP4-CH11 interface when I installed my head unit and it worked perfectly. Is there new CANBUS firmware?
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2013, 05:28 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Trenty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: New York City
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilson2598 View Post

Interesting. I have a friend who has a 2013 base model Sport (literally nothing but AC), who installed a radio with PAC adapter and everything including the wheel controls works fine. Does yours have the Alpine system from the factory? Maybe that's a difference.
Nope. I have the base model stereo. According to PAC it was a firmware issue and that's why they do not list their adapter as compatible w 2013 JKU on their site. Crutchfield then confirmed this themselves, issued me a refund and an apology. Now I'm sitting here w the stock headunit again... Was hooking it up to a Pioneer 3400 as well. All it would do is make mechanical noises but not supply enough power to start the headunit. As soon as I connected it to a stready 12V line it would start right up but I had to bypass the PAC unit to do so.
Trenty is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2013, 03:12 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
Lusus_Naturae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: OKC, missing WI
Posts: 2,027
^ Interesting. I wonder what the firmware update did then, and I would assume it would only affect '13's when the dealer updates the firmware too. Anyone with a working setup want to take theirs in for a test of this theory? Someone's going to be pissed when they get their Jeep back from an oil change and it no longer works...
__________________
2013 JKU Sport, billet, auto, 3.73, LSD, 315/75/16 Duratracs on MB 72, 10A springs, Bushwacker flatties

Sold - 2005 TJ, red, auto, 3.73, 33" Duratracs, 4" lift
Ice storm casualty in 2007 - 2003 TJ, green, auto, 3.73, 33" Duratracs, 4" lift
Lusus_Naturae is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-18-2013, 03:24 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
Lusus_Naturae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: OKC, missing WI
Posts: 2,027
^ I am also assuming here you mean firmware update for the Jeep - not the PAC.
__________________
2013 JKU Sport, billet, auto, 3.73, LSD, 315/75/16 Duratracs on MB 72, 10A springs, Bushwacker flatties

Sold - 2005 TJ, red, auto, 3.73, 33" Duratracs, 4" lift
Ice storm casualty in 2007 - 2003 TJ, green, auto, 3.73, 33" Duratracs, 4" lift
Lusus_Naturae is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-25-2013, 02:16 PM   #28
Newb
 
wopspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
2013 JK Stereo wire harness

I was just told from a relative who owns a car audio place that they do 2013 jeeps all the time and to get the steering wheel to work this is what you need:

Pac–Audio RP4-CH11 - Wire Harness - $140.00 from $200.00
retains RAP / factory amp / and all factory warning features / retains steering wheel controls

Can anyone confirm or elaborate on this?

he also recomended the following setups:

AV Multi-Media Receiver (here are some suggestions for you)

1. Pioneer AVH-X5500BHS
-7” wide screen display
-Bluetooth + Built in, Powered by Parrot
- 4volt output / 3 preouts
-DVD CD / HD Radio Built in / Pandora / SiriusXm Ready / Back-up Camera Ready

Sirius/XM V200 - $25.00 (tuner & antenna) - $50.00 mail-in rebate + 3 months free service

2. Pioneer AVH-X3500BHS
-6.1” wide screen display
-Bluetooth Built in, Powered by Parrot
- 2volt output / 3 preouts
-DVD CD / Pandora / HD Radio / SiriusXM Ready / Back-up Camera Ready

Sirius/XM - $25.00 (tuner & antenna) - $50.00 mail-in rebate + 3 months free service

3.Alpine ICS-X7HD
-7” wide screen display
-Bluetooth + Built in, Powered by Parrot
- 2Volts output / 3 preouts
- HD Radio Built in / Pandora / SiriusXm Ready
- Back-up Camera Ready

Materials (necessary for install)

Installation kit – $19.00 from $30.00
Antenna Adapter - $20.00 from $30.00
Pac–Audio RP4-CH11 - Wire Harness - $140.00 from $200.00
retains RAP / factory amp / and all factory warning features / retains steering wheel controls

Speaker options (here are some suggestions for you)
- Memphis MC62 - 6.5” Coaxials - $110.00 from $155.00 (2yr warranty)
- with in-line crossover (better highs, lows, & mid range)
Or
- Memphis PR62SV2 - 6.5” Components - $100.00 from $145.00
- Includes crossover and tweeters

Rears
wopspeed is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 08:47 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 15
Anyone have updates on this? I have a 2013 JK built May 2013 and most likely has the upgraded coding. Would removing my Uconnect completely solve this problem? Thanks
bk81 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-11-2013, 09:08 PM   #30
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
I think it's a CANBUS issue rather than UConnect. I would suggest calling PAC.

Also, you might want to talk to Metra, I haven't heard of any issues with their harnesses (although that doesn't mean there aren't any).

__________________
Hold my beer and watch this.......
woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC