2013 JKU Switch Panel Swap/Mod - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-15-2013, 06:29 AM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
2013 JKU Switch Panel Swap/Mod

Hello, new here. I've searched the forums a good bit and found slightly related threads, but nothing completely the flavor I want.
The closest is http://www.wranglerforum.com/f5/light-switch-panel-31774.html

I have a 2013 sport with some basic mods and would like a switch panel to run them. I only have a few toggles on the panel above the webbing that are occupied and would like to use that area for all of my switches (fog lights, inverter, esp/abs cutoff switch, maybe ignition) and whatever else I should decide to bolt/strap/epoxy to my beautiful 2nd wife.

Now, from my research I've gathered that you can't add switches to the panel currently there due to a board being behind it. I also don't use the abs disengage switch that is there because I don't like it. Downhill assist could be placed on one of the new switches I would put there.

Question is: can you (and has anyone) either modified or replaced this panel with another bezel of sorts and maybe some OTRATTW switches (trunk monkey button inc)? I guess the two possibilities would be A) ripping the board out behind current switches, finding switches to occupy those spots (universal size for those even a thing??), and hardwiring the downhill assist and such, and B) replacing with a new bezel or whatever you'd call it and throwing in some switches and blanks to that.

Sorry if this is a duplicate thread, I did my best. Don't hate me.

Thank you all in advance for your consideration, time, and patience. Have some gratuitous smilies.


sanctex is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2013, 08:42 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 783
I know it is not quite what you are asking, but you could always just install an sPOD.


__________________
JKR10A - 2d, 6 speed, black / black
Ordered on 01/24/13
Acquired on 05/03/13
Aeschylus is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2013, 01:37 PM   #3
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Thank you for the quick response.

An sPod is already my backup option. I was hoping to maximize the basically useless switches already there if at all possible. I do like the above position of your switches though instead of losing my tray above the radio, so thank you for that!
sanctex is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2013, 01:46 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 200
JPI has some, I'll order soon. See:
Jeeperformance, Inc. streaming Shop photos
Post #969
and page 34 post 999
__________________
2013 Rubicon.
Gary04Z06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2013, 03:13 PM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary04Z06 View Post
JPI has some, I'll order soon. See:
Jeeperformance, Inc. streaming Shop photos
Post #969
and page 34 post 999
Thank you very much. This community is awesome.

Free beer to both of you if I ever meet you on the trail.
sanctex is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2013, 03:34 PM   #6
Race Car Dave

WF Supporting Member
 
NFRs2000NYC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NYC
Posts: 6,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanctex View Post
Thank you for the quick response.

An sPod is already my backup option. I was hoping to maximize the basically useless switches already there if at all possible. I do like the above position of your switches though instead of losing my tray above the radio, so thank you for that!
It is possible to convert the useless buttons to usable ones, but since they are on a computer board, you better know what the hell you are doing. Judging by your question, this doesn't seem like something you could tackle. I strongly advise you go with an SPOD.
NFRs2000NYC is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2013, 03:44 PM   #7
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by NFRs2000NYC View Post
It is possible to convert the useless buttons to usable ones, but since they are on a computer board, you better know what the hell you are doing. Judging by your question, this doesn't seem like something you could tackle. I strongly advise you go with an SPOD.
Yeah not good with circuitry and other such forms of witchcraft .

Thank you for the response, though.
sanctex is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2013, 04:37 PM   #8
Sponsoring Vendor
 
JPi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 4,650
The idea behind the sPod is to stay away from the Canbus electrical system completely. It connects directly to your battery, awesome system!
__________________
32215 Dunlap Blvd.
Yucaipa, CA
92399
877-795-JEEP
Www.jeeperformanceinc.com
www.facebook.com/Jeeperformanceinc
JPi1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2013, 08:50 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by sanctex View Post
Thank you very much. This community is awesome.

Free beer to both of you if I ever meet you on the trail.
__________________
2013 Rubicon.
Gary04Z06 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-17-2013, 09:29 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
JanaLD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Northwest Georgia
Posts: 119
I'm glad I saw this thread. I just ordered front and rear bumpers, the rear have back-up lights and I want to add a light bar and winch to the front. I was thinking about the pillar style switches from RR or Daystar. Have you looked at those and I wonder which is the easiest install?
JanaLD is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-17-2013, 11:35 PM   #11
Sponsoring Vendor
 
JPi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 4,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by JanaLD View Post
I'm glad I saw this thread. I just ordered front and rear bumpers, the rear have back-up lights and I want to add a light bar and winch to the front. I was thinking about the pillar style switches from RR or Daystar. Have you looked at those and I wonder which is the easiest install?
Spod

__________________
32215 Dunlap Blvd.
Yucaipa, CA
92399
877-795-JEEP
Www.jeeperformanceinc.com
www.facebook.com/Jeeperformanceinc
JPi1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
2013 , gigli as batman , jku , mod , switch panel

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:34 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC