30 GB Harddisk question - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-20-2010, 10:44 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
TOW69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 266
30 GB Harddisk question

The 2010 Rubicon 6 Speed I just bought

Was advertised as having a 30 GB HardDisk, the advertisement which contains my actual VIN also reflects the same.

However when I got the unit home and going over everything I discovered it only had a 16.5 GB drive installed.

Has anyone else had the same problem and did JEEP resolve the problem for you

Thanks

TOW69 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 10:47 AM   #2
Newb
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
2010 Sahara here, I noticed the same thing with mine also. I haven't had a chance to investigate though.

FlyingL0 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 10:52 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
TOW69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingL0 View Post
2010 Sahara here, I noticed the same thing with mine also. I haven't had a chance to investigate though.
Hummmm - I hope a theme does not start to emerge here.

Way too soon to say. but let's see what we get
TOW69 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 10:57 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
AfterMath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Western NY
Posts: 510
I do not know JK's in any way, but I do know computers and hardware, so question:

Is your harddisk reading 16.5 gb? Computers/gaming consoles are known to advertise certain harddisk space, but they always round up.

Example: A 20 gb xbox 360 only has 12gb of free space. The other 8gb is taken up with programming and settings, and rounded up a little.

If its your manual that says its 16.5, then thats a different case, but I'm guessing the hardisk is reading 16.5 gb of space.
__________________
1998 Sahara Edition - I6 - 4.0 - Automatic


AfterMath is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 10:59 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 261
my 2010 sahara is the same way and when i asked the dealer about it they told me that the navigation and all the other things on the radio like programing and such take the rest of the space on the hard drive. but we also dont have to worry about running a dvd for the navigation either, so no worries about loosing the disc when you want to watch movies or play cds.
guygettnby is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 11:33 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
TOW69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by gminton View Post
I do not know JK's in any way, but I do know computers and hardware, so question:

Is your harddisk reading 16.5 gb? Computers/gaming consoles are known to advertise certain harddisk space, but they always round up.

Example: A 20 gb xbox 360 only has 12gb of free space. The other 8gb is taken up with programming and settings, and rounded up a little.

If its your manual that says its 16.5, then thats a different case, but I'm guessing the hardisk is reading 16.5 gb of space.
I like you know computers quite well myself. and that was actually my first thought as well. however the system gives you pretty detailed information as it were
1) Total Space
2) Space Used
3) Available space

It would not be that big of an issue really but if you advertise 30GB provide 30GB. They were really cool at the dealership when I called but the guy I spoke too had no clue as to what I was talking about.

I am heading to the 4wheel Drive Expo this weekend here in Houston so I was going to swing by on my way to Reliant for my plates anyhow so I will ask about it then. and see what they say.
TOW69 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 11:36 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
TOW69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by guygettnby View Post
my 2010 sahara is the same way and when i asked the dealer about it they told me that the navigation and all the other things on the radio like programing and such take the rest of the space on the hard drive. but we also dont have to worry about running a dvd for the navigation either, so no worries about loosing the disc when you want to watch movies or play cds.
Ya that might work if the system did not tell me the 3 items listed above

1 total size
2 used space
3 available space.

I hope they don't try to pull that on me :-)
TOW69 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 11:39 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
wrangler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOW69 View Post
I like you know computers quite well myself. and that was actually my first thought as well. however the system gives you pretty detailed information as it were
1) Total Space
2) Space Used
3) Available space

It would not be that big of an issue really but if you advertise 30GB provide 30GB. They were really cool at the dealership when I called but the guy I spoke too had no clue as to what I was talking about.

I am heading to the 4wheel Drive Expo this weekend here in Houston so I was going to swing by on my way to Reliant for my plates anyhow so I will ask about it then. and see what they say.
Hard drives never have the same amount of useable space that they are advertised as having.

A 30GB drive was installed at the factory, and that's what they advertise the Jeep as having.

Computers are advertised as having 'xxGB' hard drive...but as you know, you don't actually get that amount of space.
So, why would it be any different if the HD is in a vehicle?

Ya know?
wrangler0 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 11:42 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
TOW69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrangler0 View Post
Hard drives never have the same amount of useable space that they are advertised as having.

A 30GB drive was installed at the factory, and that's what they advertise the Jeep as having.

Computers are advertised as having 'xxGB' hard drive...but as you know, you don't actually get that amount of space.
So, why would it be any different if the HD is in a vehicle?

Ya know?
HAHHAHA good point and well taken

but "HALF" If I bought a 1 T.B. drive and got 500GB you could bet your booty I am taken it back YA????

Hell the wife would get HALF after 20 years. but not from jump street

:-)
TOW69 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 11:51 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
wrangler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOW69 View Post
HAHHAHA good point and well taken

but "HALF" If I bought a 1 T.B. drive and got 500GB you could bet your booty I am taken it back YA????

Hell the wife would get HALF after 20 years. but not from jump street

:-)
Yea man, I hear ya..it's frustrating....If HD manufacturers want to advertise a 30GB HD...then they should make them with 46GB of space for all of the extra stuff that's needed to run things and give us 30GB!!!
wrangler0 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 12:01 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
irontom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Poznan, Poland
Posts: 148
Images: 2
Hi,

First off a 30GB drive is actually a smaller drive.

In marketing 30GB = 30 * 1000MB
In IT 30GB = 30 * 1024MB

When the system shows you the amount of GB, so your 30GB drive is really a 19.5GB drive.

Now the drive has probably a hidden partition for the navigation and extra stuff, that space would not show (like on cell phone for example) in the normal summary visible to the user. The physical drive could be a 30GB one.

Its marketing. Some time ago, it was Western Digital lost a lawsuit and had to pay all customers back the difference that went from counting GB as 1000MB.
__________________
YJ 1989 2.5l
irontom is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 12:09 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
speedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 30
Couple of things, some already eluded too:
1) Marketers use G as 1000x1000 instead of 1024x1024 (Base 10 instead of Base 2) cause it sounds bigger.
2) Physical space != usable space. It depends on what file system you use, what block size that system chooses, and the type of data on the disk. Between fragmented data and a poorly chosen block size 50% disk efficiency is not uncommon.
3) Some Hard Drives reserve space for bad sectors; instead of relying on the O/S to avoid calling a sector, the Hard Drive will re-map the data and location to a different space on disk. This often subtracts from the advertised space as well.
speedy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 12:14 PM   #13
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 21,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by wrangler0 View Post
Yea man, I hear ya..it's frustrating....If HD manufacturers want to advertise a 30GB HD...then they should make them with 46GB of space for all of the extra stuff that's needed to run things and give us 30GB!!!
How would the manufacturer of the HD know what software you were going to put on the HD or how you were going to configure it?
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 12:23 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
nick50471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bushwood Country Club
Posts: 13,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by guygettnby View Post
my 2010 sahara is the same way and when i asked the dealer about it they told me that the navigation and all the other things on the radio like programing and such take the rest of the space on the hard drive. but we also dont have to worry about running a dvd for the navigation either, so no worries about loosing the disc when you want to watch movies or play cds.
Did this thread get started in the wrong forum? I thought this was the Warangler Forum not the Minivan forum.
__________________
License to kill gophers by the government of the United Nations. Man, free to kill gophers at will. To kill, you must know your enemy, and in this case my enemy is a varmint. And a varmint will never quit - ever. They're like the Viet Cong - Varmint Cong. So you have to fall back on superior intelligence and superior firepower. And that's all she wrote.
nick50471 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 12:26 PM   #15
President, ThumbJeeps

WF Supporting Member
 
sevenservices's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mid-Michigan/Thumb
Posts: 3,937
I would agree that they probably either filled the space with programing or it is a redundant drive setup where as the 30 would be split into two mirrored partitions, each (around) 15g...
__________________
-Chris
President, ThumbJeeps
CB Callsign "AirForce One"


1994 Wrangler YJ I6 4.0 H/O Auto 3 spd. 4" RC (33x12.5) (15x8) 3:54 Gears
sevenservices is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 01:02 PM   #16
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Just got my Sahara 2 weeks ago, and the dealer told me half that space was taken up NAV and other data.
TRLRGUY is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 01:49 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
AfterMath's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Western NY
Posts: 510
The space companies advertise is never the space you get. End of story.
__________________
1998 Sahara Edition - I6 - 4.0 - Automatic


AfterMath is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 01:53 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
TOW69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by nick50471 View Post
Did this thread get started in the wrong forum? I thought this was the Warangler Forum not the Minivan forum.
No it was not started in the place.

I just got a new 2010 JK Unlimited Rubicon and wanted to kow if other folks had the samething or was I alone.

Glad to see we have some serious tech folks out there Jeepin these days.

Cheers.
TOW69 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 02:00 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
nick50471's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Bushwood Country Club
Posts: 13,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOW69 View Post
No it was not started in the place.

I just got a new 2010 JK Unlimited Rubicon and wanted to kow if other folks had the samething or was I alone.

Glad to see we have some serious tech folks out there Jeepin these days.

Cheers.
I was just giving all you JK owners a rough time. Nothing personal.

I am also not a serious or technical person.
__________________
License to kill gophers by the government of the United Nations. Man, free to kill gophers at will. To kill, you must know your enemy, and in this case my enemy is a varmint. And a varmint will never quit - ever. They're like the Viet Cong - Varmint Cong. So you have to fall back on superior intelligence and superior firepower. And that's all she wrote.
nick50471 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 02:01 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 265
Can the stock 30gb navi play movies? I haven't tried it yet but I don't think it does without some bypass of some sort.
blaster199 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 02:08 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
TOW69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by blaster199 View Post
Can the stock 30gb navi play movies? I haven't tried it yet but I don't think it does without some bypass of some sort.
YES

One draw back

The E break MUST be engaged
TOW69 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 02:27 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
TOW69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOW69 View Post
YES

One draw back

The E break MUST be engaged
however there must be a way around that I am sure. some sort of HACK to make it work
TOW69 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 02:39 PM   #23
President, ThumbJeeps

WF Supporting Member
 
sevenservices's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mid-Michigan/Thumb
Posts: 3,937
find the button that the e-brake lever pushes when it is down all the way, wrap a piece of black tape around it to hold the button in... not sure if it is setup this way, but it works for other safety switches...
__________________
-Chris
President, ThumbJeeps
CB Callsign "AirForce One"


1994 Wrangler YJ I6 4.0 H/O Auto 3 spd. 4" RC (33x12.5) (15x8) 3:54 Gears
sevenservices is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 10:45 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
wrangler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 827
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
How would the manufacturer of the HD know what software you were going to put on the HD or how you were going to configure it?
I didnt mean software that you as the end user would load, I meant whatever the manufacturer loads on there to allow the HD to work.
wrangler0 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2010, 11:59 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
woodsballnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wilkes County, NC
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by irontom View Post
Hi,

First off a 30GB drive is actually a smaller drive.

In marketing 30GB = 30 * 1000MB
In IT 30GB = 30 * 1024MB

When the system shows you the amount of GB, so your 30GB drive is really a 19.5GB drive.

Now the drive has probably a hidden partition for the navigation and extra stuff, that space would not show (like on cell phone for example) in the normal summary visible to the user. The physical drive could be a 30GB one.

Its marketing. Some time ago, it was Western Digital lost a lawsuit and had to pay all customers back the difference that went from counting GB as 1000MB.
Tech talk on a Jeep forum? Apple has went the marketing way because everyone now and days don't know this and can make a quick buck.
__________________
"Lots of times a mule will balk if he doesn't think his leader is using good judgment, but a Jeep will always try."-WWII Sgt

If you find yourself between a rock and a hard place...on second thought, with a Jeep Wrangler you wont ever have to worry about that....
woodsballnc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-21-2010, 12:02 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
woodsballnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wilkes County, NC
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOW69 View Post
however there must be a way around that I am sure. some sort of HACK to make it work
If you don't mind doing a little wiring I think I could help. I had a DVD headunit in my Neon a while back and it said ti wire a ground wire to the "Brake" wire so that it would only play if it was stopped but I wired it in with my ground and I could do it anytime. All it is, is making the unit think the brake is applied. Try looking for it online.
__________________
"Lots of times a mule will balk if he doesn't think his leader is using good judgment, but a Jeep will always try."-WWII Sgt

If you find yourself between a rock and a hard place...on second thought, with a Jeep Wrangler you wont ever have to worry about that....
woodsballnc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-21-2010, 12:04 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
woodsballnc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wilkes County, NC
Posts: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOW69 View Post
No it was not started in the place.

I just got a new 2010 JK Unlimited Rubicon and wanted to kow if other folks had the samething or was I alone.

Glad to see we have some serious tech folks out there Jeepin these days.

Cheers.
Just wait till I get done with my Jeep. Im gonna take wheelin to a whole new level... because Im a hi-tech redneck
__________________
"Lots of times a mule will balk if he doesn't think his leader is using good judgment, but a Jeep will always try."-WWII Sgt

If you find yourself between a rock and a hard place...on second thought, with a Jeep Wrangler you wont ever have to worry about that....
woodsballnc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-21-2010, 12:17 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 265
Quote:
Originally Posted by sevenservices View Post
find the button that the e-brake lever pushes when it is down all the way, wrap a piece of black tape around it to hold the button in... not sure if it is setup this way, but it works for other safety switches...
I will be trying to make some sort of fabrication as soon as i get mine back from the stealership

Cant wait to be crusin with some cinematic adventures haha
blaster199 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-21-2010, 04:11 AM   #29
Jeeper
 
irontom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Poznan, Poland
Posts: 148
Images: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodsballnc View Post
Tech talk on a Jeep forum? Apple has went the marketing way because everyone now and days don't know this and can make a quick buck.
Geee, sorry, I'm an IT guy, I get carried away at times. BUT Jeeps are tech!


Quote:
Originally Posted by wrangler0 View Post
I didnt mean software that you as the end user would load, I meant whatever the manufacturer loads on there to allow the HD to work.
Simplifying things - the HD manufacturer does not load software to the HD for it to work. But your line of thought is correct, and if I remember correctly, after a lawsuit, nowadays they need to advertise the true size of the disk in the US.
__________________
YJ 1989 2.5l
irontom is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-21-2010, 12:05 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern Nevada
Posts: 1,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by TOW69 View Post

Glad to see we have some serious tech folks out there Jeepin these days.

Cheers.

You should visit MaximumPC.com. They have a thread dedicated to Jeeps in the General forum. Jeep and Geek go hand in hand there.

popstop785 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6sp shift question rico334 TJ Tech Forum 15 12-13-2009 09:08 PM
quick axle question Sb5551 TJ Tech Forum 3 10-03-2008 08:38 PM
Trans Mount Question MOz TJ Tech Forum 8 06-10-2008 03:14 PM
Tub liner question.... KBR97 General Jeep Discussion 3 06-01-2008 12:29 AM
Carb question and EGR question trulefty YJ Tech Forum 0 12-12-2006 04:55 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC