Add-a Fuse question - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-02-2012, 12:51 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mechanicsville, VA
Posts: 203
Add-a Fuse question

My Hella 500FF lights should be here tomorrow. I plan on using a power source from the fuse box for the on/off switch. I got a 10 amp add-a circuit from Autozone. Let me see if I can get this straight... In my fuse box, ('13 JK) M-9 and M-14 are empty. They are both hot with the ignition on. Both slots call for a 20 amp fuse. My thinking is...Since the slots are empty I do not have to add a 20 amp fuse to the add-a circuit. Just a 10 amp fuse in the top slot of the add-a-circuit and I will be OK.?

nmdesertrat is offline   Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 10:30 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
introsystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Victoria
Posts: 44
I used the add a fuse, but only to get ignition power. I still ran main power from the battery. I tapped into the trailer hookup, I installed 2 130W KC driving lights with a relay. Just make sure your using a relay, wouldnt' risk installing without.

introsystems is offline   Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 06:16 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
MacCTD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: MA
Posts: 746
Quote:
Originally Posted by nmdesertrat View Post
My Hella 500FF lights should be here tomorrow. I plan on using a power source from the fuse box for the on/off switch. I got a 10 amp add-a circuit from Autozone. Let me see if I can get this straight... In my fuse box, ('13 JK) M-9 and M-14 are empty. They are both hot with the ignition on. Both slots call for a 20 amp fuse. My thinking is...Since the slots are empty I do not have to add a 20 amp fuse to the add-a circuit. Just a 10 amp fuse in the top slot of the add-a-circuit and I will be OK.?
I only used the top slot, 10 amp fuse, I used M9 for my switched power for the relay for my light install.
MacCTD is offline   Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 09:25 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Mechanicsville, VA
Posts: 203
Thanks guys.Lights didn't get here yet. Maybe today.
nmdesertrat is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC