aev pro Cal - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-03-2011, 10:23 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
adrenaline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 158
aev pro Cal

"Engine idle speed options (Improves winch performance and battery charging capabilities by temporarily increasing engine idle RPM)"

Can somebody explain how this works? How does it temporarily do this? Do we have to plug the module done every time we use the winch? How does it know we are winching?

adrenaline is offline   Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 10:52 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
joe002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrenaline View Post
...Can somebody explain how this works? How does it temporarily do this? Do we have to plug the module done every time we use the winch? How does it know we are winching?
You do have to plug it in every time you want to use this feature.

With the engine running you plug it in then rotate the light dimmer until you get the RPM you want/need.

When you take it out the engine RPM returns to normal.

It doesn’t know you are winching - it simply raises the engine RPM.

I have a ProCal, and have winched on a number of occasions, and I usually have someone sitting in the drivers seat and ask them to just rev the engine a bit when I have the winch on.

I do know someone who uses it with his PowerPlant when he is airing up. I just leave the engine running at idle.

joe002 is offline   Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 10:55 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
adrenaline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 158
Is it a worthwhile upgrade?
adrenaline is offline   Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 11:05 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
joe002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by adrenaline View Post
Is it a worthwhile upgrade?
I bought it to re-calibrate my speedo after I got bigger tires, then again after I got gears. I also use it to adjust my tire pressure sensor warning.

My dealer said they recommend it and said it will not affect my warrantee. I actually bought it from them.

I don’t (currently) want a “tuner” type module. My performance is fine with my setup and my dealer doesn’t like them. I’ve read that you can reset you Jeep back to stock after using a programmer, and read that you can’t, but for me it doesn’t matter because the power I have with my setup is fine.

So for me the ProCal is perfect - I have my tire size, tire pressure, and gears setup perfectly (as far as the computers are concerned).
joe002 is offline   Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 11:10 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
adrenaline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Arizona
Posts: 158
Thanks for the info. I really do appreciate it!
adrenaline is offline   Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 11:14 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
joe002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,185
No problem. Maybe I'll see you out on the trail some time.

joe002 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC