AEV PROCAL and customer service problem - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-01-2013, 02:03 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
connochr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 228
AEV PROCAL and customer service problem

1st mistake I think I made was buying a second hand procal unit.
Is my second mistake buying an AEV product?
Any help will be appriecated.

I purchased a not new procal unit that was not linked to another vehicle to my knowledge. However when I attempt to upload tire pressure monitoring changes or daytime running light commands or anything else, I get a 4 and 2 flash code. Which AEV paperwork says its a problem with the system connecting to my vehicle and if problem persists contact them. Its not giving the 4 and 1 code which would indicate it is still linked to a previous vehicle so I don't think that is the issue. It is a 2013 ready unit and I have a 2013 vehicle so that shouldn't be the issue. Since I have sent e-mails and have left messages with their tech department for assistance with no reply I would appreciate any ideas anyone has to fix the issue. Is this a common problem with AEV procals? Is the AEV customer service this bad? Any help would be appreciated.

__________________



We stand for something. To those dead souls inching along the freeways in their metal coffins we show them that the human spirit is still alive. -Bodhi
connochr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2013, 02:22 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 39
AEV customer service is good. They answered me right way with same issue. I also bought second hand procal and watched previous owner reset. It did not work on my 2012. No matter how many times the reset was done. In the end I bought new and no issue. Buying this item used to save $$ was a lesson for me.

NCRUBI2012 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2013, 02:33 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
HighwayTrout's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 74
It is bothersome to not get replies from a company. Frustrating no doubt.
Although you didn't mention how long ago you called or emailed.

If it continues on any longer try logging on to the AEV Forums. AEV staff is pretty good about fielding questions and concerns on line. Both times Ive called I got a great help.
HighwayTrout is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2013, 03:01 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
connochr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 228
Thanks guys. Well I was hoping there would be a fix for the issue but sounds like a new procal is my future. Lesson learned I guess.
I e-mailed AEV Weds and Fri last week. Called twice yesterday with the second call leaving a message. I will try to call again tomorrow if they do not respond. I guess they are backlogged with customer service calls.
__________________



We stand for something. To those dead souls inching along the freeways in their metal coffins we show them that the human spirit is still alive. -Bodhi
connochr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2013, 03:06 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 5,044
I would never buy a used procal because you really do not know that it was properly reset.
jadmt is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2013, 03:14 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
connochr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 228
Yeah, lesson learned I guess. Think I'll make an expensive key chain out of it.
__________________



We stand for something. To those dead souls inching along the freeways in their metal coffins we show them that the human spirit is still alive. -Bodhi
connochr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-01-2013, 03:34 PM   #7
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,086
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadmt View Post
I would never buy a used procal because you really do not know that it was properly reset.
I definately agree with this.
kik is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-07-2013, 11:30 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
connochr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 228
Just to update spoke with Jordan, I believe that was his name, from AEV customer service which never called or emailed me back by the way. He stated "we do not recommend buying procals from non dealers and we currently do not have a program to reflash or unmarry the procal once its married to another vehicle" He said both the 4-1 and 4-2 error codes means the procal is still married to another vehicle. So I said basically I'm screwed, he said yes. So another words learn from me, do not buy a used or claimed to be new procals from ANYONE. Otherwise you have a very expensive key chain or door stop.
__________________



We stand for something. To those dead souls inching along the freeways in their metal coffins we show them that the human spirit is still alive. -Bodhi
connochr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 10:02 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
cc4005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 191
Here's my AEV/Procal customer service experience to add to the conversation. Make of it what you like.

Background: bought a Procal a year ago last Tuesday, right after I got my JK. Used it to correct for tire size. Put it back in it's plastic sleeve, in the box, then on the shelf. Yesterday I pulled it out to adjust TPMS. Set dip switches using #2 pencil and flashed the Jeep. Setting was off, then figured out there's an addendum/correction to the instructions, so went to reset the dip switches. One of them broke off. Was I rough on it? Don't see how, with the sharp lead point, but who knows. Anyway, thought I would see if AEV would help me out.

Called AEV this morning to ask if the dip switches are replaceable. No. Will you help me out with a replacement/swap? No. Will you maybe sell me a replacement at your cost? No. Can you offer me any discount at all on a replacement? No. They suggested I try Northridge, where I bought it, which I'll do as soon as they open up this morning.

Not trying to bash on AEV. They don't owe me anything, nor is the unit under warranty. Just a data point for anyone researching their customer service.
cc4005 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 10:09 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
FXnut's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 512
What's the best alternative to a procal currently? I'm going to be in the market next month, and by the sounds of things I may have to look at another option..
FXnut is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 10:21 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Eustis, FL
Posts: 221
I bought mine new and have used it a few times. It has done everything I have needed without issue. I would not buy a used one ever unless I was right there to watch them reset the original vin and the makes ure it works for mine... How much did you save?
ave8er is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 10:23 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
cc4005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by ave8er View Post
I bought mine new and have used it a few times. It has done everything I have needed without issue. I would not buy a used one ever unless I was right there to watch them reset the original vin and the makes ure it works for mine... How much did you save?
Don't know if that was directed to me, but mine was purchased new.
cc4005 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 11:37 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
cc4005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 191
Follow-up...great customer service at Northridge...took care of me.
cc4005 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 11:41 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
ahsumtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 528
Alternative

Quote:
Originally Posted by FXnut View Post
What's the best alternative to a procal currently? I'm going to be in the market next month, and by the sounds of things I may have to look at another option..
You can buy a flashcal from superchips. They don't use dip switches and cost about the same. You can do a search for flashcal on this site or just go here to see a write up on it.

http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/aev...al-282041.html
ahsumtoy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 06:08 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
connochr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by ave8er View Post
I bought mine new and have used it a few times. It has done everything I have needed without issue. I would not buy a used one ever unless I was right there to watch them reset the original vin and the makes ure it works for mine... How much did you save?
It was sold to me by a member on this forum as "never used". Saved 40 dollars from new but got screwed in the end.
__________________



We stand for something. To those dead souls inching along the freeways in their metal coffins we show them that the human spirit is still alive. -Bodhi
connochr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-11-2013, 07:09 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 5,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by connochr View Post
It was sold to me by a member on this forum as "never used". Saved 40 dollars from new but got screwed in the end.
you should post his name so other people won't get shafted. People usually don't screw just one person over.
jadmt is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2013, 08:19 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
connochr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 228
I sent him some messages asking him to do the right thing. I'll give him an opportunity to be a stand up guy before I post his name.
__________________



We stand for something. To those dead souls inching along the freeways in their metal coffins we show them that the human spirit is still alive. -Bodhi
connochr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2013, 08:41 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 5,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by connochr View Post
I sent him some messages asking him to do the right thing. I'll give him an opportunity to be a stand up guy before I post his name.
I think by selling you a bogus pro cal he has already shown he is not a stand up guy.
jadmt is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-15-2013, 07:52 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
cc4005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc4005 View Post
Background: bought a Procal a year ago last Tuesday, right after I got my JK. Used it to correct for tire size. Put it back in it's plastic sleeve, in the box, then on the shelf. Yesterday I pulled it out to adjust TPMS. Set dip switches using #2 pencil and flashed the Jeep. Setting was off, then figured out there's an addendum/correction to the instructions, so went to reset the dip switches. One of them broke off. Was I rough on it? Don't see how, with the sharp lead point, but who knows. Anyway, thought I would see if AEV would help me out.
At suggestion of a friend I looked for a replacment dip switch and found one at mouser.com, part # 611-SDA09H1BD. About $10 with tax & shipping ($1.58 part). Found a local electronics shop that soldered it in for $20. So for $30, my Procal is as good as new.

Why didn't I think of this before ordering a replacement?
cc4005 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-15-2013, 08:14 AM   #20
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
budwizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Midlothian, Va.
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahsumtoy View Post
You can buy a flashcal from superchips. They don't use dip switches and cost about the same. You can do a search for flashcal on this site or just go here to see a write up on it.

http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/aev...al-282041.html
FYI - As of a little over a week ago the Flashcal does not support the 2014 model. I bought one seeing it listed as 2014 compatible on Quadratec and other sites. Couldn't get it to work and called Superchips who confirmed it is not 2014 compatible and he didn't have an ETA on when it would be.
budwizer is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-17-2013, 04:31 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
connochr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by jadmt View Post
I think by selling you a bogus pro cal he has already shown he is not a stand up guy.
JK 2 door Soft top and other stuff=
__________________



We stand for something. To those dead souls inching along the freeways in their metal coffins we show them that the human spirit is still alive. -Bodhi
connochr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-17-2013, 07:52 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern IA
Posts: 217
I don't think AEV has any type of policy for answering an email. I have sent several emails and made several phone calls, but came up empty handed. Hell, the one time I called the guy even admitted he had read my email and told me what it said. After 2 weeks I just bought a part and gave up on AEV. Sad part of all this is I was looking at buying their $1800 lift kit, but will never now just because of the lack of customer service.
Whobeme is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-18-2013, 09:33 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
connochr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whobeme View Post
I don't think AEV has any type of policy for answering an email. I have sent several emails and made several phone calls, but came up empty handed. Hell, the one time I called the guy even admitted he had read my email and told me what it said. After 2 weeks I just bought a part and gave up on AEV. Sad part of all this is I was looking at buying their $1800 lift kit, but will never now just because of the lack of customer service.
I agree. But I love their products, bumpers, floormats, snorkels, IMO I think they have their stuff together when it comes down to design. However, having dealt with them now for weeks not returning calls or emails and when they do happen to answer their phone being pissed off that they had to answer it in the first place. I think their customer service is terrible. Now after dealing with them I will be buying a Superchips instead of their Procal, thats for sure.
I purchased an spod from 4x4spod.com guys and had some questions about installation. Called, left a message for the tech guy to call me back, got a call back that day and he couldn't be more helpful on the phone with me for almost an hour. He was HAPPY to help me and offered any other help I needed in the future. Thats customer service not what AEV offers you of just not calling or e-mailing you back hoping you go away. Guess they do enough business they don't care if they lose a few customers. Shame.
__________________



We stand for something. To those dead souls inching along the freeways in their metal coffins we show them that the human spirit is still alive. -Bodhi
connochr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-23-2013, 09:20 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Lusus_Naturae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: OKC, missing WI
Posts: 1,967
This post is scaring me. I bought a new Procal this spring when I upgraded the tires. I last saw the unit in August, I packed it to take on the roadtrip 'just in case'. I vaguely remember it in Chicago at some point - but haven't seen it since.

I started checking all the normal spots but haven't found it yet. I will probably do a complete search of my property here this weekend to look for it. I dread that its lost for good - I dread more that I may have to deal with AEV after reading this.

If I lost it and it's married to my Jeep, will a new unit wipe that out and hook up? How do I unmarry it if I can't find my Procal?
__________________
2013 JKU Sport, billet, auto, 3.73, LSD, 315/75/16 Duratracs on MB 72, 10A springs, Bushwacker flatties

Sold - 2005 TJ, red, auto, 3.73, 33" Duratracs, 4" lift
Ice storm casualty in 2007 - 2003 TJ, green, auto, 3.73, 33" Duratracs, 4" lift
Lusus_Naturae is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-23-2013, 09:25 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
bengen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: St. Louis County
Posts: 566
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lusus_Naturae View Post
This post is scaring me. I bought a new Procal this spring when I upgraded the tires. I last saw the unit in August, I packed it to take on the roadtrip 'just in case'. I vaguely remember it in Chicago at some point - but haven't seen it since.

I started checking all the normal spots but haven't found it yet. I will probably do a complete search of my property here this weekend to look for it. I dread that its lost for good - I dread more that I may have to deal with AEV after reading this.

If I lost it and it's married to my Jeep, will a new unit wipe that out and hook up? How do I unmarry it if I can't find my Procal?
Your Jeep isn't married to the procal, it's the other way around
bengen1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-24-2013, 12:24 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
MarineHawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Virginia
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by bengen1 View Post
Your Jeep isn't married to the procal, it's the other way around
Isn't marriage supposed to be a two-way street?
MarineHawk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-24-2013, 10:01 AM   #27
Jeeper
 
connochr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 228
I don't think its an issue if you get a new unit for your Jeep that already has had one but I'm not sure. You can always leave a message for Jordan at AEV customer service to call you back for tech support. I just wouldn't wait by the phone like I did, chances are you won't be getting a return call. I know its not their fault some loser sold me a uncleared unit as "new never used" but at least respond to your customers or would have soon been future customer. After all customer service/tech support is all you have when your holding their expensive part in your hand that is not working the way is should be. At this point I would buy a Bejing special before I bought another AEV procal. JMO
__________________



We stand for something. To those dead souls inching along the freeways in their metal coffins we show them that the human spirit is still alive. -Bodhi
connochr is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-24-2013, 10:12 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
cc4005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by connochr View Post
I don't think its an issue if you get a new unit for your Jeep that already has had one but I'm not sure. You can always leave a message for Jordan at AEV customer service to call you back for tech support. I just wouldn't wait by the phone like I did, chances are you won't be getting a return call. I know its not their fault some loser sold me a uncleared unit as "new never used" but at least respond to your customers or would have soon been future customer. After all customer service/tech support is all you have when your holding their expensive part in your hand that is not working the way is should be. At this point I would buy a Bejing special before I bought another AEV procal. JMO
I was told by AEV that a new unit will write over an old one so there's no problem replacing a lost one.

While replacing the broken dip switch on mine I saw a bank of pins inside. Wonder what it takes to reset to factory default condition? Maybe just a jumper between the right pair of pins? Or possibly a flash which would be more involved.
cc4005 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-24-2013, 10:36 AM   #29
Jeeper
 
jadmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: missoula
Posts: 5,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc4005 View Post
I was told by AEV that a new unit will write over an old one so there's no problem replacing a lost one.

While replacing the broken dip switch on mine I saw a bank of pins inside. Wonder what it takes to reset to factory default condition? Maybe just a jumper between the right pair of pins? Or possibly a flash which would be more involved.
I live right down the road from AEV R&D and they do not have a way to reset them at this time. AEV has a forum that Dave and Jordan both visit and post on. They are a small company that has done some big things.
jadmt is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-24-2013, 10:42 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
foxyjeeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 111
According to the Procal FAQ section of the AEV website, a Procal can be used on another JK, provided that the first vehicle is restored back to the factory settings.

Specifically, the cite says:

Question: Can I use the AEV ProCal on more then one vehicle, like if I sell my 2007 and buy a 2009?

Answer: In order to program a second vehicle, you must restore the first vehicle back to its stock configuration. After a successful restore (3 honks) the module is ready to program another vehicle.

A link to the cite is: http://www.aev-conversions.com/stage...159&Itemid=136

foxyjeeper is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:22 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC