AEV Procal help - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-22-2013, 07:58 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
20082013JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: So. CA
Posts: 140
AEV Procal help

I have a 2013 JK with the 3.6 and a manual transmission.

Does anyone know if this Procal will work with the standard transmission?
Link:
ProCal Module - Electronics - Shop By Category

I found the wording on their website confusing.
Thanks

__________________
My 2013 JKU build:
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/2013-commando-green-jku-build-216242.html#post3362969

Debate is good, but more important is to be respectful of people with whom we disagree!
20082013JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2013, 08:03 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Chrimbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 417
Works on mine

Chrimbler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2013, 08:04 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
BadOleRoss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Lynchburg VA
Posts: 898
I'm not exactly sure what the ProCal would do with a manual transmission. With an automatic, it can adjust the shift points. Clearly this is not needed on a manual. Everything else is pretty much electrical stuff like TPMS, lights, etc.
__________________
2013 JKU True Blue, 4" Zone Lift, 35x12.5x17 Nitto Trail Grapplers, ION 171 Black and Machined Wheels
BadOleRoss is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2013, 08:21 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
20082013JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: So. CA
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrimbler View Post
Works on mine
Do you have a stick?
Thanks!
__________________
My 2013 JKU build:
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/2013-commando-green-jku-build-216242.html#post3362969

Debate is good, but more important is to be respectful of people with whom we disagree!
20082013JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2013, 08:22 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
nknacd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 90
i used the procal on my manual to adjust for tpm and tire size for the speedometer
__________________
2012 JKU Sport | 3.25" Rough Country Suspension Lift | 32.72" Nitto Terra Grappler P285/70R17 117S on 17" ATX Slot
nknacd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2013, 08:26 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Chrimbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by 20082013JK View Post
Do you have a stick?
Thanks!
Sure do. What exactly do you want to use it for?...
Chrimbler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2013, 08:47 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
20082013JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: So. CA
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrimbler View Post
Sure do. What exactly do you want to use it for?...
Sounds like I am OK. It only has 120 miles and I am finishing up my lift, etc. I just want to adjust it for my new 37s and my 5.13 gearing.
__________________
My 2013 JKU build:
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/2013-commando-green-jku-build-216242.html#post3362969

Debate is good, but more important is to be respectful of people with whom we disagree!
20082013JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2013, 09:00 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Detroit Metro
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by nknacd View Post
i used the procal on my manual to adjust for tpm and tire size for the speedometer
Same here...worked great and easy to use.
cnhmatthews is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-22-2013, 10:34 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Chrimbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 417
Quote:
Originally Posted by 20082013JK View Post
Sounds like I am OK. It only has 120 miles and I am finishing up my lift, etc. I just want to adjust it for my new 37s and my 5.13 gearing.
Then you're good to go!
Chrimbler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-25-2013, 10:41 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
FDHog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: S.I., N.Y.
Posts: 35
Regearing next week and have a stick also. No procal required for gear changes with stick. Tire size is a different story.
__________________
2013 Dozer Sport 6spd
Work in progress!
FDHog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-25-2013, 11:34 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
dwindeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 546
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDHog View Post
Regearing next week and have a stick also. No procal required for gear changes with stick. Tire size is a different story.
Not required for anything... If you don't want the calibration set correctly. Your speedo, odometer , won't be accurate.
dwindeck is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-25-2013, 11:42 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Live in Huntsville but travel due to work
Posts: 83
On the 2012-13's if you regear you'll definitely require a procal or something similar. Sadly my jeeps been in the shop for a week now due to the shop not having the equipment to get it out of limp mode, supposedly they will have it today and i can finally get my baby back...ribs (sorry) They had to get an AEV Procal from a competitors store just to do it.
__________________
2012 JKU Sport
Disconnected is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-25-2013, 12:22 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
RRTRI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 579
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDHog View Post
Regearing next week and have a stick also. No procal required for gear changes with stick. Tire size is a different story.

Not true according to AEV. I had used the procal to reset the tire size / speedo but wasn't understanding why it would matter to set the gearing given I had a manual. I called AEV and asked them.


Look at post #20 in this thread to see what they told me:http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/201...eo-221107.html
__________________
2012 JKU Sport Gecko 6sp/4.88/3" Teraflex/35's/Wet Okole/Teraflex Hinged TC/ACE RS FB RB/VIAIR OBA/Warn 9.5 CTI-s/Volant CAI/Various other cosmetic mods (Mine)
2012 JKU Sport Flame Red 6sp/4.88/3" Teraflex/35's/Wet Okole/Teraflex Hinged TC/ACE RS FB RB/VIAIR OBA/Warn 9.5 CTI-s/Various other cosmetic mods (Hers)
2014 Grand Cherokee SRT Redline 2-Coat Pearl Tow Group/HK Audio Group/Panoramic Sunroof/Satin Carbon W (Date Night Ride)
RRTRI is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-09-2013, 04:54 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
EricShanaFG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Peal City, Oahu
Posts: 22
AEV Procal Module

Just installed my Procal this past weekend. Jeep seems to be running a little better and doesn't have the shimmy it used to going down the highway. I also added the Banks AI. Jeep seems to have a little more power and sounds a little better when giving it throttle. Satisfied with the two additions.
EricShanaFG is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-11-2013, 09:46 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
20082013JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: So. CA
Posts: 140
Did this a couple weeks ago. Very easy, no problems.
__________________
My 2013 JKU build:
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/2013-commando-green-jku-build-216242.html#post3362969

Debate is good, but more important is to be respectful of people with whom we disagree!
20082013JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2013, 09:39 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
rebelman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Willowick, OH
Posts: 54
Hi guys, when you change the settings with the Procal, do you reset them back to stock when you take the Jeep to the dealer for service? Thanks.
rebelman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-12-2013, 11:38 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vancouver Island BC Canada
Posts: 147
No I left the settings the way i change them too .
mollyg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-13-2013, 11:47 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
20082013JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: So. CA
Posts: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by rebelman View Post
hi guys, when you change the settings with the procal, do you reset them back to stock when you take the jeep to the dealer for service? Thanks.
no

__________________
My 2013 JKU build:
http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/2013-commando-green-jku-build-216242.html#post3362969

Debate is good, but more important is to be respectful of people with whom we disagree!
20082013JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid
» Rates
Get low rates on auto insurance in Canada!

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC