AEV Procal TPMS - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-04-2014, 08:24 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
teejaywrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 47
Cool AEV Procal TPMS

I bought the AEV Procal to disable my TPMS on my 2014 Jk 2 door. It took away the flashing light on the dash but still displays "check TPM system" or something like that everytime I start my Jeep. It then turns in to showing all four tires at 0 psi and stays that way until I change the message by hitting the menu button on the steering wheel. I am assuming that is all the Procal is able to do as far as disabling the TPMS. For me, this is subpar. I will send it back and have TPMS sensors installed. The sensors would have been 220 and the Procal was $160. Seemed like a good idea to get the Procal insead but not so much now. Anyone have any experience with this issue? Thanks!

teejaywrangler is offline   Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 09:49 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
MSpiegel00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 374
Did you put the dip switches the correct way? First 3 up, last 6 down. Put module into connector, switch your key to run (don't go to start) wait for horn to beep, then remove. Should disable TPMS entirely (*only for diagnostic purposes).

MSpiegel00 is offline   Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 10:21 PM   #3
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by teejaywrangler View Post
I bought the AEV Procal to disable my TPMS on my 2014 Jk 2 door. It took away the flashing light on the dash but still displays "check TPM system" or something like that everytime I start my Jeep. It then turns in to showing all four tires at 0 psi and stays that way until I change the message by hitting the menu button on the steering wheel. I am assuming that is all the Procal is able to do as far as disabling the TPMS. For me, this is subpar. I will send it back and have TPMS sensors installed. The sensors would have been 220 and the Procal was $160. Seemed like a good idea to get the Procal insead but not so much now. Anyone have any experience with this issue? Thanks!
It's a problem with the 2013 and newer JK's that have the upgraded EVIC that shows the tire pressures. Setting the threshold to zero only gets rid of the light, the warning message will still be displayed every time as you're seeing. Only way to get rid of that is to install the sensors.
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 11:13 PM   #4
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilson2598 View Post

It's a problem with the 2013 and newer JK's that have the upgraded EVIC that shows the tire pressures. Setting the threshold to zero only gets rid of the light, the warning message will still be displayed every time as you're seeing. Only way to get rid of that is to install the sensors.
That is not correct. I used the Procal to turn off the TPMS on my 14. Every time I started up I would get the TPMS error message and when you hit the menu button it would go away. I lived with that until a member here shared some information that came directly from AEV.

Disconnect your battery (negative terminal) for 10 minutes. I left mine off for about an hour. Reconnect it and the error message will be gone forever!
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 11:45 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
sideburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Colorado
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
That is not correct. I used the Procal to turn off the TPMS on my 14. Every time I started up I would get the TPMS error message and when you hit the menu button it would go away. I lived with that until a member here shared some information that came directly from AEV. Disconnect your battery (negative terminal) for 10 minutes. I left mine off for about an hour. Reconnect it and the error message will be gone forever!
This. Used procal to set to zero and no warnings, chimes messages for anything else. With the pic of the jeep in the evic with 0 at each wheel location it looks like a jeep with big tires LOL
sideburn is offline   Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 07:41 AM   #6
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
That is not correct. I used the Procal to turn off the TPMS on my 14. Every time I started up I would get the TPMS error message and when you hit the menu button it would go away. I lived with that until a member here shared some information that came directly from AEV. Disconnect your battery (negative terminal) for 10 minutes. I left mine off for about an hour. Reconnect it and the error message will be gone forever!
Thanks for the tip, I will pass that along to a friend who was having the same problem and was told that was how it worked on them. He'll be happy to be rid of the warning.
__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 09:06 AM   #7
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwilson2598 View Post
Thanks for the tip, I will pass that along to a friend who was having the same problem and was told that was how it worked on them. He'll be happy to be rid of the warning.
When I was told this I figured it couldn't be that simple. However it was so easy to do and with nothing to lose, I gave it a try. Sure enough it worked! According to AEV disconnecting the battery resets the cluster. If you set to zero before the light comes on this procedure shouldn't be necessary.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 09:14 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Sucker Punch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,935
Haven't had that problem with my 2014 - But I set everything up with the procal before starting the Jeep. Maybe that makes a difference? I haven't had any error messages on the TPMS since I disabled them.
__________________
Sucker Punch (aka Joel Bpro) Current Jeeps:
2014 Granite JKU Rubicon Half Doors
Granite Thread
1984 Blue CJ7
- Project...

Sucker Punch is offline   Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 09:16 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Sucker Punch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by sideburn View Post
This. Used procal to set to zero and no warnings, chimes messages for anything else. With the pic of the jeep in the evic with 0 at each wheel location it looks like a jeep with big tires LOL
Haha, I noticed the same thing! I got bigger tires and now the picture on the evic makes the Jeep look like it is rolling on big tires.


I'm thinking about taking my stock tires down to Discount tire and having them swap the sensors on to the new wheels and tires, but not sure.
__________________
Sucker Punch (aka Joel Bpro) Current Jeeps:
2014 Granite JKU Rubicon Half Doors
Granite Thread
1984 Blue CJ7
- Project...

Sucker Punch is offline   Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 09:36 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
teejaywrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 47
Daggo66 knows what he's talking about!! I disconnected battery for an hour and the message went away. Thanks man, you saved me from a big headache.
teejaywrangler is offline   Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 10:07 PM   #11
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,314
Quote:
Originally Posted by teejaywrangler View Post
Daggo66 knows what he's talking about!! I disconnected battery for an hour and the message went away. Thanks man, you saved me from a big headache.
Just paying forward what someone taught me.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 12:52 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Dogzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Coastal NC
Posts: 936
Another question about this tpms.....I'm running stock tires and wheels on a '14 unlimited. It worked fine at first, but now the tpms system light (the little horseshoe symbol) comes on when I start up.....and the evic shows the symbol with an "I" at each wheel.

As I drive, the horseshoe will randomly disappear for a few seconds, then come back on. Sometimes the pressure on the evic will show, but usually it's just the "I" at all 4 wheels.
Any thoughts or suggestions? I hate messing with the dealer.

Dogzilla is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC