Alpine speakers? - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today



Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-29-2014, 08:34 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24
davehtutk is on a distinguished road
Alpine speakers?

I pulled my speakers out last weekend to stuff my sound bar with filling and noticed there were no alpine logos on my speakers, I saw another pic where someone did, just want to make sure I'm not getting ripped off on the speakers in my jeep. Does anyone have pics one way or the other or a alpine part number

Mine is a 14 jku altitude.

Thanks
davehtutk is offline   Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 09:22 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 98
REPPO is on a distinguished road
I wouldn't worry too much about it. All the OEM audio systems in a JK SUCK! I paid more for the premium alpine system...sounds like shit.

REPPO is offline   Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 09:41 AM   #3
I drive Papa Smurf

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Pressurized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 8,194
Pressurized is on a distinguished road
The premium system isn't great, but the speakers are the weakest piece of the puzzle.

We have found that replacing the sound bar with a quality and efficient 2 ohm coax like the Infinity 6032si and using polyfil in the enclosures as well as the Stock Tweeter Mod has made significant improvement in sound quality and overall volume.

It's about $60 and an hour of your time, but well worth it.
__________________
2012 JKU Sahara - OPAR LED Headlights - PRS Audio mod- SWS - GraBars - Bestop Cargo Cover

Papa Smurf - RK 2.5 Frankenlift - Rancho RS5000X - JKS F/TB - RE TB/Brackets - Superlift R/TB - Rancho RS62103 Brackets - JKS mount/Bilstein stabilizer - Rugged Ridge XHD bumper- Pro Comp 8186 - Cooper S/T Maxx 295's

Pressurized is online now   Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 08:07 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 24
davehtutk is on a distinguished road
Thanks for the advice but not really worried about changing speakers out, hearing is not that good anymore from deployments. I just wanted to make sure I'm not getting ripped off on what I paid for
davehtutk is offline   Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 08:57 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Razer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 643
Razer is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pressurized View Post
The premium system isn't great, but the speakers are the weakest piece of the puzzle.

We have found that replacing the sound bar with a quality and efficient 2 ohm coax like the Infinity 6032si and using polyfil in the enclosures as well as the Stock Tweeter Mod has made significant improvement in sound quality and overall volume.

It's about $60 and an hour of your time, but well worth it.

Are the Infinity 6032si speakers plug and play (direct replacement)?
Razer is offline   Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 09:08 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Freedom JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 1,869
Freedom JK is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razer View Post
Are the Infinity 6032si speakers plug and play (direct replacement)?
I think the Kickers are the only direct plug and play replacement speakers
Freedom JK is offline   Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 09:16 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,635
Jedi9 is on a distinguished road
The Infinitys come with an adaptor plate to fit the hole. You will have to cut off the plug and crimp on some female spade terminals, one narrow and one regular. You could probably get adaptors from crutchfield if you didn't want to cut off the plug
Jedi9 is offline   Quote
Old 07-29-2014, 09:49 PM   #8
I drive Papa Smurf

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Pressurized's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 8,194
Pressurized is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi9 View Post
The Infinitys come with an adaptor plate to fit the hole. You will have to cut off the plug and crimp on some female spade terminals, one narrow and one regular. You could probably get adaptors from crutchfield if you didn't want to cut off the plug
^This.

The mounting adapters are easy, but you do need to wire the Infinity's.

All of the plug and play speakers have the wrong voice coil impedance and while they do work and are better than stock, they aren't as good as they could be.
__________________
2012 JKU Sahara - OPAR LED Headlights - PRS Audio mod- SWS - GraBars - Bestop Cargo Cover

Papa Smurf - RK 2.5 Frankenlift - Rancho RS5000X - JKS F/TB - RE TB/Brackets - Superlift R/TB - Rancho RS62103 Brackets - JKS mount/Bilstein stabilizer - Rugged Ridge XHD bumper- Pro Comp 8186 - Cooper S/T Maxx 295's

Pressurized is online now   Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 11:04 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: moose jaw, saskatchewan
Posts: 65
Hudler is on a distinguished road
Hi, I pulled my rear Alpine "upgraded" spearkers out of the soundbar, they had blue cones and made in China on them. No Alpine logo.
Hudler is offline   Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 09:53 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
TexMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 265
TexMedic is on a distinguished road


Factory Alpine
Part# 05064551AB


As for the direct replacement debate....What difference does that make? If you want to use the factory harness you can buy harness adapters for like $12 shipped and just crimp on new connectors. Even if you have no mechanical ability, if you can simply squeeze a pair of pliers you can pick whatever 2 Ohm speakers you want and use those.

Speaker adapters aren't needed since you can simply use self threading screws/ sheet metal screws to bolt the new speaker to the pods or soundbar. Using a silicon sealant to seal them up is a better idea anyway since the silicon can be easily removed later on if you want but keeps the seal air tight while it's there..
TexMedic is offline   Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 07:23 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,635
Jedi9 is on a distinguished road
The Infinitys don't come with a grill, the factory grill has 3 screws, the new speakers have 4, so to use the factory grill the included adaptor was used. If you get speakers with a grill there shouldn't be a problem and you could install like you said. I guess the Infinity's were made for replacement purposes in OEM situations
Jedi9 is offline   Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 07:54 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
DonJulio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Strong Island, NY
Posts: 77
DonJulio is on a distinguished road
I read somewhere that if you get an amp to compliment new speakers it will deactivate all the steering wheel and bluetooth controls?
__________________
Granite Crystal Metallic 2014 JK WILLYS 23W
"Real Men Drive Manuals!"
DonJulio is offline   Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 01:17 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
TexMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 265
TexMedic is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jedi9 View Post
The Infinitys don't come with a grill, the factory grill has 3 screws, the new speakers have 4, so to use the factory grill the included adaptor was used. If you get speakers with a grill there shouldn't be a problem and you could install like you said. I guess the Infinity's were made for replacement purposes in OEM situations
The factory grill should fit over the new aftermarket speakers in most cases and they just screw back in to place where they were using the factory holes. The new speakers are screwed directly to the sound bar and sealed using a silicon gasket or whatever method you choose. So, you end up with the screws that go through the factory grill only being used to hold the grill in place instead of being used to hold both the speaker and the grill.
For instance, I used Focal coaxials in my soundbar with the factory grill. The speakers are screwed and sealed directly to the sound bar. The grill is screwed back in to the factory holes just like it was.


Quote:
Originally Posted by DonJulio9 View Post
I read somewhere that if you get an amp to compliment new speakers it will deactivate all the steering wheel and bluetooth controls?
No, that's not necessarily the case.

The problem with connecting the high level outputs of the factory amp directly to an aftermarket amp is mainly that the sound bar speakers receive less output from the factory amp.

If you run a line output converter between the factory amp and the inputs of an aftermarket amp it solves that problem.
There are a bunch of different options. I used the Rockford Fosgate 3Sixty.3 but lots of people use something like the LC8i or LC6i.

But again, you don't lose the factory controls or functions since you are leaving the factory amp in place. There are ways to completely remove the factory amp but simply cleaning the signal up after it leaves the factory amp is probably the simplest.
TexMedic is offline   Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 02:01 AM   #14
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7,910
m998dna is on a distinguished road
How do you like your Focal coaxles in place of the Alpines?
.
m998dna is offline   Quote
Old 08-01-2014, 02:43 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
TexMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 265
TexMedic is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by m998dna View Post
How do you like your Focal coaxles in place of the Alpines?
.
I have Focal components up front and just have the coaxials in back for rear fill.
But the difference in sound quality and output is amazing


I deadened the inside of the soundbar, and filled the gap between the speakers with polyfil. So my sound bar doesn't rattle or ring at all at any volume and it no longer sounds like an empty bucket when you tap on it.


You can kind of see some of the the shiny deadener tiles behind where the speakers go.The section between the speakers is stuffed with polyfil. There is no polyfil where the speakers actually sit.
TexMedic is offline   Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 07:34 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
DonJulio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Strong Island, NY
Posts: 77
DonJulio is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by TexMedic View Post
The factory grill should fit over the new aftermarket speakers in most cases and they just screw back in to place where they were using the factory holes. The new speakers are screwed directly to the sound bar and sealed using a silicon gasket or whatever method you choose. So, you end up with the screws that go through the factory grill only being used to hold the grill in place instead of being used to hold both the speaker and the grill.
For instance, I used Focal coaxials in my soundbar with the factory grill. The speakers are screwed and sealed directly to the sound bar. The grill is screwed back in to the factory holes just like it was.



No, that's not necessarily the case.

The problem with connecting the high level outputs of the factory amp directly to an aftermarket amp is mainly that the sound bar speakers receive less output from the factory amp.

If you run a line output converter between the factory amp and the inputs of an aftermarket amp it solves that problem.
There are a bunch of different options. I used the Rockford Fosgate 3Sixty.3 but lots of people use something like the LC8i or LC6i.

But again, you don't lose the factory controls or functions since you are leaving the factory amp in place. There are ways to completely remove the factory amp but simply cleaning the signal up after it leaves the factory amp is probably the simplest.
Is an output converter a requirement if you run an aftermarket amp? Or is just to balance out the power output in the sound bar?
__________________
Granite Crystal Metallic 2014 JK WILLYS 23W
"Real Men Drive Manuals!"
DonJulio is offline   Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 01:10 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
TexMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 265
TexMedic is on a distinguished road
It's not required. If your new amp accepts high level inputs and the voltage of the post processed signals that the factory amp puts out then you can tap them at the factory amp harnesses and run them straight to your new amps.
It just makes it easier to adjust and tune everything if the signals are cleaned up after they leave the factory amp and balanced before the signal gets to the new amps.
TexMedic is offline   Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 02:00 AM   #18
Supporting Member

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
JKUR37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: San Jose,CA
Posts: 257
JKUR37 is on a distinguished road
Why run inputs from the factory amp? I would think running the inputs from the factory head unit to the after market amp would be the better way.
__________________
My Jeep took all of my money,!
JKUR37 is offline   Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 09:46 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 71
JMLoughrey is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKUR37 View Post
Why run inputs from the factory amp? I would think running the inputs from the factory head unit to the after market amp would be the better way.
not always possible, depending on the system. A lot of chrysler vehicle audio system only have a 2ch signal out of the factory radio. fade and balance controls are controled though data.
JMLoughrey is offline   Quote
Old 08-06-2014, 12:48 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
TexMedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 265
TexMedic is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKUR37 View Post
Why run inputs from the factory amp? I would think running the inputs from the factory head unit to the after market amp would be the better way.
Because bypassing the factory amp without using something like mygig causes other issues.
It's easier to just leave the amp in place and clean up the signal from there.

TexMedic is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC
« Back

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner