Anyone have pics/video of Wiring access through firewall to dash in 13' JKU? - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-30-2013, 11:51 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
st1264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Windsor, ON (near Detroit)
Posts: 1,311
Anyone have pics/video of Wiring access through firewall to dash in 13' JKU?

Looking for pics or videos of the access points through the firewall to run wiring and a switch for aux lights. Any dash or A-Pillar removal pics/vid would also be appreciated. Thank you.

st1264 is offline   Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 11:57 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
jmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 195

__________________
It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles,The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena,whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood
jmcd is offline   Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 11:58 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Tweak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,536
pull off the panel on the far left or right side of your dash, look for the foam insulation. thats it.
Tweak is online now   Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 12:05 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
st1264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Windsor, ON (near Detroit)
Posts: 1,311
So the whole dash doesn't have to be taken off... just the far drivers side panel and it just has clips?
st1264 is offline   Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 12:11 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Tweak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,536
correct. its the moon shaped panels that go up against your door when you close it.

I push on it so that I can open up the seam enough to get a flathead behind it, then it starts to pop off.
Tweak is online now   Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 12:11 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
jmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 195
I reached thru the glove box access and pushed the side panel out (#12
It's better to do that than to remove the vent to push it out.
__________________
It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles,The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena,whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood
jmcd is offline   Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 12:13 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
jmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 195
Also I came thru the passenger side, not drivers.
__________________
It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles,The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena,whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood
jmcd is offline   Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 12:16 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
st1264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Windsor, ON (near Detroit)
Posts: 1,311
I want to mount a switch so it will be going on the drivers side A-Pillar or on the dash somewhere. I'm assuming guys who went through the passenger side routed the switch underneath to the drivers side...

So I guess I'm asking what's the easiest way?

Does that write-up apply to a 13'? I thought the dash was changed in 12'?
st1264 is offline   Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 12:19 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
jmcd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 195
Battery is on passenger side, so I ran wires over to drivers side behind the dash
__________________
It is not the critic who counts; not the man who points out how the strong man stumbles,The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena,whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood
jmcd is offline   Quote
Old 04-30-2013, 05:02 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
gakersm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 225
Disclaimer: First post - wanted to see my avatar!

I ran my wires in wire loom across the back of the engine compartment and zip-tied that to a factory loom that also runs back there. You can then poke the wires through the black gel circle on the driver's side firewall about half-way down. It pops out inside where the other poster mentioned the foam. Then drilled a hole in the lower dash just above the speaker for the switch. Very clean-looking install inside and out.
gakersm is offline   Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 09:10 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tampa
Posts: 99
__________________
Me thinks Toyota FJ stands for flatlands Jeep.
SonicBoom is offline   Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 02:41 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
st1264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Windsor, ON (near Detroit)
Posts: 1,311
Figured it out. The 5" KC Apollo's look a little small but I like them so far (not aimed yet):


st1264 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC