Are empty bezels pre wired on 2012 wrangler unlimited? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-31-2012, 11:41 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
mallaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 277
Are empty bezels pre wired on 2012 wrangler unlimited?

Are empty bezels pre wired on 2012 wrangler unlimited?.
I have several blanks there and was wondering if there any wires behind that. Looking to mount some additional lights and would use one or few of these bezels to put a switch there but not sure if its pre-wired.

Disregard the arrow on the picture. I am talking about these square switches that are not used. Are the cables behind that if new switch would be installed?

Thanks
Attached Images
 

mallaki is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-01-2012, 07:12 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
mallaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 277
Anybody?????

mallaki is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-01-2012, 08:59 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oak Ridge,NC
Posts: 351
Have not taken one out, but from what I understand what is behind there is a circuit board. Not any wire to tap in to or use. Vehicles with different options have a different module installed there with the appropriate switches.
X50ARM is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-02-2012, 06:05 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
mallaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by X50ARM View Post
Have not taken one out, but from what I understand what is behind there is a circuit board. Not any wire to tap in to or use. Vehicles with different options have a different module installed there with the appropriate switches.
I was thinking, maybe there would be some wiring to the under hood console where it would get its power from. So, for example if additional head lights are desired to be installed , in this case I would have my switch wired half way.
I will try to open one and see what's behind.
Thank you for your comment.
mallaki is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-02-2012, 06:34 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
N3M0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Central MA
Posts: 1,214
x50 is correct. there is a circuit board behind the switches, if they didnt come from the factory tied to anything, they are pretty much useless from my understanding. it would make too much sense to be able to hook up aux lighting or anything else to them aftermarket...
N3M0 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-02-2012, 08:26 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
mallaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by N3M0 View Post
x50 is correct. there is a circuit board behind the switches, if they didnt come from the factory tied to anything, they are pretty much useless from my understanding. it would make too much sense to be able to hook up aux lighting or anything else to them aftermarket...
Could they be used in future (those empty bezels)?
How difficult would it be to run wires internally to them??
mallaki is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-02-2012, 12:45 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
JeepHerz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: California
Posts: 2,798
Images: 21
That is one big, single plastic piece. You can't really add anything to it. You can run wire to it if you want- but you can't alter the bezel so its uselesss. If Jeep had made the "buttons" removeable/replaceable they could actually be used. My Jeep didn't come with power windows- where the switches are in your pic is/was an open spot which fit my cell perfectly. And I hate (no offense) the giant gaudy power window switches. We added aftermarket power windows- and I tried every which way to rig the bezel for the window switches. No can do. Its this kinda stuff that pisses me off about the Jeep. Jeep owners scream "don't make it luxury" all day long and I think Chrysler uses this as an excuse to make it cheap.
JeepHerz is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-02-2012, 12:53 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
N3M0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Central MA
Posts: 1,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by mallaki View Post
Could they be used in future (those empty bezels)?
How difficult would it be to run wires internally to them??
the circuit board is made specifically for each type of button combo. so all the plain jane sports with only hazards and traction control all have the same circuit board that JUST ties in to those two buttons.
N3M0 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-02-2012, 03:39 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
mallaki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeepHerz View Post
That is one big, single plastic piece. You can't really add anything to it. You can run wire to it if you want- but you can't alter the bezel so its uselesss. If Jeep had made the "buttons" removeable/replaceable they could actually be used. My Jeep didn't come with power windows- where the switches are in your pic is/was an open spot which fit my cell perfectly. And I hate (no offense) the giant gaudy power window switches. We added aftermarket power windows- and I tried every which way to rig the bezel for the window switches. No can do. Its this kinda stuff that pisses me off about the Jeep. Jeep owners scream "don't make it luxury" all day long and I think Chrysler uses this as an excuse to make it cheap.
What a shame!!!.

I cant believe that these individual single squares in this rectangular bezel are not removable for a possible future switch installation.
There are seven squares in that bezel of which 4 of them are used (OEM installed), leaving me with three nice options for upgrades and you are telling me that these three squares are not removable???

Thanks
mallaki is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-02-2012, 03:57 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
vacca foeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Pete/Tampa
Posts: 636
Is the whole panel replaceable? I've got a base sport, so have an awful lot of blanks. Could I replace the panel with one from a fully loaded jeep? Then wire accessories to the unused ones? Example would be push the seat heater button for rock lights.
vacca foeda is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-02-2012, 06:07 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Oak Ridge,NC
Posts: 351
I believe that the switches just interface with the cpu on the circuit board and it in turn communicates to other modules on the CANBUS. It might be possible to go in and cut traces on the circuit board and attach wires from the switches to an external relay, but I have a feeling it would be a real PITA. I think I would go with a SPOD, A-Pillar Switch holder, or install switches on the lower left hand side of the dash depending on money availability and aesthetic preference.
X50ARM is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2014, 12:27 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
KamikazeKLR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
I wish this thread hadn't died, I had the same issue as the OP. Got some aux lights and have nowhere I really want to put my switch but there... right now it's just crudely taped to the e brake
KamikazeKLR is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2014, 12:35 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
WaltA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: 3rd Planet, Sol system
Posts: 2,226
__________________
Current Jeep:
2014 Wrangler Unlimited Rubicon X
Previous Jeeps:
1987 Wrangler Laredo
1999 Cherokee Limited (Up Country,Trailer Tow)
[All custom ordered, purchased new]
WaltA is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2014, 12:37 PM   #14
NO MALLCRAWLER NO MORE!

WF Supporting Member
 
mommymallcrawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Scottsdale, Arizona
Posts: 2,834
If you have an auto you can pull out the panel underneath with the mesh pocket and mount a switch panel there. That is what we did on mine.
__________________
2014 JKR Granite Crystal, 4.10 Auto

Pending: RK X Factor 2.5 Inch Lift, Front and Rear Truss, Rear LCA Mounts/Skids, Crossmember, Gas/TC/Evap/Oil Skids, Flat Fenders, 37x12.5x17 Tires and other stuff!!!!!
mommymallcrawler is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-05-2014, 12:48 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
KamikazeKLR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 186
Very helpful, thanks.


KamikazeKLR is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC