Audio sucks after hard top removal - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-02-2012, 10:26 AM   #31
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Medford, NJ
Posts: 23
All I know is it works, jumped purple and white wire with black(ground) and the bass and depth of sound was increased. Noticed it more with ipod than radio

lame is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 10:32 AM   #32
Jeeper
 
roxbury29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Schererville / Indiana
Posts: 911
I will have to try it again, but before winter I didn't notice a difference at all. I have the infinity sub, in addition I tapped off the wires and added a subwoofer too.. Could not tell a change with or without the top, expect for the fact everyone else can hear with the top off

__________________
2011 JKUS / 3" Synergy Suspension / RR 17x9 / Duratrac 33's
roxbury29 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 03:41 PM   #33
Jeeper
 
Mr. Fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 319
Closed myself in the cargo area of my JKU the other day, connecting and disconnecting the harness. Played various different songs at different volumes over and over, some with bass, some with nearly none. While the sound does cut out when the harness is dis/connected, I didn't hear any notable difference in sound quality.

Might try again with me in the front and someone else doing the harness, but I don't expect to hear anything different.
__________________
You know what a learning experience is? A learning experience is one of those things that says, "You know that thing you just did? Don’t do that."
- Douglas Adams
Mr. Fish is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 10:34 PM   #34
Jeeper
 
BigMikeVP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by strider_mt2k View Post
I dare you to make less sense.
lmfao i almost pissed myself
__________________
2012 JK Unlimited Sport, TM 4.5 Lift, Moto Metal 18x10's with 35" Toyo Open Country M/T's, Bushwacker Flat Fenders.
BigMikeVP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 10:54 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
OutlawJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Artesia, NM
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigMikeVP
lmfao i almost pissed myself
Yeah he should read more before hitting the reply button
OutlawJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 04:09 AM   #36
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeaComms View Post
Interesting discussion on the connector.

Though, since the speakers are a fixed resistance, how do you alter the current without altering the voltage?
huh? P= I X v
wattage changes by altering either the voltage or the amperage or both.

one can always stays constant while the other changes.

a loudspeaker is only a fixed resistance when its not being fed with a signal and moving. once it moves the impedance curve is all over the place. one thing that effects the impedance curve is volume.


a speaker is no different than a motor. plug a motor in to a 120v outlet and have it do some work.. it will draw a certain amount of amps .ask that motor to do more work and it will draw more current while the voltage is constant.

  • An amplifier, as its name suggests, amplifies a signal that is fed into its input. The amount that an input voltage is amplified depends on the size, type and quality of amplifier and its setting. For example, an input signal voltage of .5 in an amplifier set to amplify by a factor of 20 would result in a output voltage of 10 volts. It is important to note that amplifiers can only amplify a signal up to a given capacity (or "rail"), and exceeding this capacity only leads to harsh distortion.

Speaker Power
  • Speaker output, however, is measured in watts rather than voltage. This is because the amount of impedance that affects the signal transmitted to the speakers needs to be taken into account before a final output can be determined.


Read more: What Is the Output Voltage of a Car Stereo? | eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/facts_7979597_ou...#ixzz1qy6yDdde
mathjak is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 04:55 AM   #37
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 157
heres a little more on the relationship between voltage and current in loudspeakers.

interesting enough what really happens when you bridge an amp is the output voltage doubles
Car Audio Basics - Ohms Law
mathjak is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 12:22 PM   #38
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: D/FW
Posts: 333
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomthbomb View Post
Either April Fool or soft top owners are screwed. Same thing, right?
This!

When I jumper I hear the audio cut out for a second, so it must be doing something I can't hear - after inventing car boom so many years ago and now have less than stellar hearing.
__________________
2012 JKUR (doh)
Auto, Freedom, 410's, in Black
12JKUR is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 12:35 PM   #39
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: D/FW
Posts: 333
While this is sorta accurate, in the real world you turn down the "gain" - which is preamp voltage, open up the volume, assuming no noise from a crappy amp, you raise the gain until your first component starts to clip, then back it off (this component is your weakest link and your system will never sound better than it).

If jeep is doing anything, there might be only a few choices - dropping the voltage (which I can't hear) or neutralizing tone controls (to flat, which I can't hear when romping on the volume and disconnecting the plug - and never tried at low volume, doesn't matter anyway). Perhaps a "loudness" off switch (which enhances low frequency only at low volume) is the only other possibility I can think of.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mathjak View Post
gain controls are not volume controls. gain controls effect sensitivity.

you can raise the voltage up or down to match the sensitivity of your components so the master volume control works them evenly but that has no bearing on how power is controlled..


whether you open your gain control all the way or close it down the systems power output stays the same.

opening up the master volume control may increase current flow but leave the voltage setting in your gain control unchanged.

if you think of water we can set a pressure we want to maintain in our hose ,thats the voltage and gain control.

but as far as controlling the actual amount of water we will get that depends on how much the source is providing.
we can maintain that pressure but by using a bigger hose we can pass more water at the same pressure if the source could provide it .thats our volume control and the water is the current.

pressure is one thing , thats our gain control adjustment but actual amount of water flow is current and thats our volume control. .

like i said though some amplifiers do control power by altering both voltage and current and others by altering only current once you set your reference voltage with your gain control.
__________________
2012 JKUR (doh)
Auto, Freedom, 410's, in Black
12JKUR is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 05:04 PM   #40
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 157
my guess is maybe a current limiter may come into play but i havent tried this yet myself to see if it is in fact cutting power.
mathjak is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-07-2012, 08:27 PM   #41
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Slightly aged thread but good info here. Made a video of the sound difference for the doubters.
redbullhamster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-07-2012, 09:51 PM   #42
Jeeper
 
ealive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbullhamster View Post
Slightly aged thread but good info here. Made a video of the sound difference for the doubters.

What model year you got there?

And welcome to WF!
__________________
2012 Black JKU Sport S | 6 Speed | 3.73 | Connectivity | Black Appearance Group
AEV Pintlers in Argent | AEV 2.5" | 315/70R17 Duratracs | Teraflex HD Carrier
ealive is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-07-2012, 09:59 PM   #43
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Vegas baby...
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbullhamster View Post
Slightly aged thread but good info here. Made a video of the sound difference for the doubters.
What year is your jeep?
garin is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-07-2012, 11:41 PM   #44
Newb
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Thanks for the welcome. The Jeep is a 2008.
redbullhamster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-08-2012, 02:04 AM   #45
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by mathjak View Post
he is correct and we will have to find the thread. in a nut shell when you pull off the hard top an audio limiter comes into the circuit limiting the systom output so as not to disturb the neighborhood.

its in the wiring harnes that you unplug from the hard top and you can fool the system by jumpering after unplugging.
oh.... it will do that after removing the panels or only after removing the back piece?

First time I have heard that. My Miata does the opposite, it rasies the volume automatically to compensate the loss after putting down the top, just like some car audio adjusts the volume depending on speed.
mcdull is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-08-2012, 03:37 AM   #46
Jeeper
 
ealive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcdull

oh.... it will do that after removing the panels or only after removing the back piece?

First time I have heard that. My Miata does the opposite, it rasies the volume automatically to compensate the loss after putting down the top, just like some car audio adjusts the volume depending on speed.
"Back piece" only. You're not disconnecting any wires with the freedom top removal (if I understand your question correctly).
__________________
2012 Black JKU Sport S | 6 Speed | 3.73 | Connectivity | Black Appearance Group
AEV Pintlers in Argent | AEV 2.5" | 315/70R17 Duratracs | Teraflex HD Carrier
ealive is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-08-2012, 07:19 PM   #47
CA3
Jeeper
 
CA3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas
Posts: 48
Disconnected my harness today with the top on and it cutout for half a second and came right back on with no difference in sound quality or volume. I had it pretty well cranked, too.
__________________
Remember...it's easier to ask for forgiveness than it is permission!
CA3 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-08-2012, 11:41 PM   #48
Jeeper
 
ealive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 427
Quote:
Originally Posted by CA3 View Post
Disconnected my harness today with the top on and it cutout for half a second and came right back on with no difference in sound quality or volume. I had it pretty well cranked, too.
And what's your model year so that we can compare?
__________________
2012 Black JKU Sport S | 6 Speed | 3.73 | Connectivity | Black Appearance Group
AEV Pintlers in Argent | AEV 2.5" | 315/70R17 Duratracs | Teraflex HD Carrier
ealive is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 09:38 AM   #49
Jeeper
 
mike1158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 745
I can hear the difference

Quote:
Originally Posted by redbullhamster View Post
Slightly aged thread but good info here. Made a video of the sound difference for the doubters.
resurecting an OLD thread

i wonder if this is still the case on 2013 models?
__________________
2013 Sahara 2dr BILLET, auto, hardtop, 430N, heated seats, auto temp., 3.73s, limited slip, tow pack, remote start ORDERED 2/26..Delivered 4/1
mods: Jeep 7 Spoke wheels & General Grabber AT2 275/65-18, WeatherTech liners
mike1158 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 09:39 AM   #50
Jeeper
 
Mr.Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 369
In the video above, does anyone know what cord he used or what he used to make it, and what connections to hook it to?
Mr.Dave is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 09:48 AM   #51
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,748
Images: 13
My Wrangler did the same as the the Youtube video when I unplugged my harness to install my Hotheads.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 09:49 AM   #52
Jeeper
 
JTPhoto JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1,058
Images: 3
On the 07-10 you jumper the purple/white to black in the plug. All you need is a small piece of wire with small push in connectors.
__________________
Jeff _(OIIIO)_

08 Black and Khaki JK Sahara Unlimited, Dual Tops, MyGig, Tow pkg, Trax-Lok Rear Diff,
Mods -- 3.5" Rock Krawler front springs, 2.5 TerraFlex BB, PitBull Rockers 35x12.50x17 on BlackRock Vipers, AEV Premium Bumper,
JTPhoto JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 09:58 AM   #53
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
UgaTyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 980
Images: 9
I unplugged my cables from the back the first time I took my top off and haven't plugged them back up since. I don't really need the rear defroster and the windshield wiper in the back is pretty useless so I have left it unplugged. Eventually, I may have to do this if it does indeed work.
__________________
2013 JKUR BLACK
UgaTyler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 10:07 AM   #54
Jeeper
 
ahsumtoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 541
Title

What is really amazing is the title to this post - "Audio Sucks after Taking off the Top". As if the stock audio didn't suck before taking the top off. Most of us know the STOCK jeep audio sucks - period.
ahsumtoy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 01:25 PM   #55
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Thorshammer7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lakeland Florida
Posts: 897
My Jeep is a 2009 and this does work. I had the dual top option and had a sound loss when I switched to my soft top. Heres what I used as a jumper.

I took a 30 amp fuse and with a pair of needle nose plyers I twisted the blades 90* and plugged it in. Clean, tight and it works good.


__________________
2009 JKUX {SOLD}
2013 JK Triple Black 6 Speed
JKS Disconnects
Cooper Discovery STT 35x12.5x17 on MB TKO 17X8.5
Thorshammer7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 01:28 PM   #56
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,748
Images: 13
^Nice....
I have a some fuses laying around. I will try that today....
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 03:15 PM   #57
Jeeper
 
mike1158's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Dirty Jersey
Posts: 745
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark View Post
^Nice....
I have a some fuses laying around. I will try that today....
Hey PANTHER post up if that works...you have a '13 like me...
Thanks....
__________________
2013 Sahara 2dr BILLET, auto, hardtop, 430N, heated seats, auto temp., 3.73s, limited slip, tow pack, remote start ORDERED 2/26..Delivered 4/1
mods: Jeep 7 Spoke wheels & General Grabber AT2 275/65-18, WeatherTech liners
mike1158 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 03:43 PM   #58
Jeeper
 
bvanfossen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 277
I have a 2008 soft top jeep. Where can I find the plug and test this?
bvanfossen is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 05:53 PM   #59
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
UgaTyler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Athens, GA
Posts: 980
Images: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by bvanfossen View Post
I have a 2008 soft top jeep. Where can I find the plug and test this?
Walmart…Any Auto store…You probably have extras in your fuse box. Its a 30 amp fuse if you need to ask someone!
__________________
2013 JKUR BLACK
UgaTyler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-20-2013, 05:57 PM   #60
Jeeper
 
jwilson2598's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike1158 View Post

Hey PANTHER post up if that works...you have a '13 like me...
Thanks....
Same here, I will do the same on mine.

__________________
Jeff

2013 JKU Sahara, Gecko Green, loaded up
10A Springs, Teraflex levling kit, 315/70/17 Duratracs, AEV Pintler wheels, front/rear bumpers and hood
jwilson2598 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



« Anyone put truck-lite military headlights on? | Trailer Hitch »
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 unlimited - where to buy a top? robrat TJ General Discussion Forum 12 11-13-2012 10:18 AM
Putting Surfboards on top? JEarl11 TJ General Discussion Forum 11 04-04-2012 09:11 AM
2012 BT Audio Quality update breaks Siri Mr. Fish JK General Discussion Forum 11 04-03-2012 09:04 AM
Follow up to JK 5th wheel removal and easy filler kit. wmwhitey JK General Discussion Forum 10 03-31-2012 12:49 PM
wind noise flip top LRHEAMS Louisiana Jeep Forum 3 03-30-2012 10:52 PM


» Vendor Spotlight (Deals & More)
Quadratec
Jeep Parts - Jeep Wheels - Jeep Soft Tops
» Recent Threads

» Popular Tags
2014 advice audio axle bestop body lift build bumper buying camping clutch electrical engine exhaust fenders for sale frame hard top hardtop help advice help needed install jeep jeep tj jeep wrangler jeep yj jku leak led lift lift advice lift kit lights manual mods newbie noise oem outdoorx4 parts quadratec radiator rims rubicon rust sahara shocks soft top speakers sport springs steering stereo stock subwoofer suspension suspension lift swap tire tires tires and wheels top transfer case transmission unlimited wheels wheels and tires winch wiring wrangler
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:06 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC