Aux Fuse Block and switch wiring - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-19-2013, 05:41 PM   #1
Newb
 
nicovalencia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 8
Lightbulb Aux Fuse Block and switch wiring

Greetings WranglerForum!

Used to be an old jeepforum member, and just got over to WranglerForum via my brother's advice.

I just got a new bumper and the delta fog lights. They seem to be higher wattage than the stock fogs, and instead of using a relay from my factory fog light wiring, I'd kinda like to run a separate line.

I've installed a couple other mods for speakers and additional lights, so my battery is starting to get a bit crazy looking. What is the best way you guys have seen extending a fuse block or battery range and integrating additional switches?

I did some searching, but most questions were more specific rather than general strategies. Please shout out another thread if I missed one that already exists!

Thanks!

nicovalencia is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 08:25 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 321
Get a spod, it's awesome. A little pricey but extremely well made...and made in USA. I just installed one, I love it.

4x4 SPOD Since 2005 - The ORIGINAL JEEP Over The Windshield Switch Console - Jeep Power Distribution System

Commodore Perry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-20-2013, 05:04 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
MrSig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Davie, Fl
Posts: 18,364
I went a cheaper way than the SPOD. Been working great for over 2 years now.


__________________
07 JKU to see my mods or Jeep in action go to http://www.aaof.us/jeep.htm
CEO of Black Sheep 4x4s,
Member of CCJ, White Jeep Club Member #137.
MrSig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-20-2013, 07:45 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Jeep757's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSig View Post
I went a cheaper way than the SPOD. Been working great for over 2 years now.
What kinda box is that and where did you get it from?
Jeep757 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-20-2013, 10:00 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
kramer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,978
That's neat looking Sig. I'd like more info as well.

I'm going to start adding items soon but I'd like to not go with the sPod. I just can't justify the expense for it.
__________________
kramer2k is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-20-2013, 10:53 PM   #6
Newb
 
nicovalencia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by Commodore Perry View Post
Get a spod, it's awesome. A little pricey but extremely well made...and made in USA. I just installed one, I love it.
The spod looks way cool, seems a bit pricey though. Is it worth the $?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrSig View Post
I went a cheaper way than the SPOD. Been working great for over 2 years now.
This setup looks pretty nice. Do you have an all-in-one switch board inside, or individual switches for each source?
nicovalencia is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-21-2013, 04:28 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
MrSig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Davie, Fl
Posts: 18,364
I got it from Boat Owners Warehouse it is like a west marine but cheaper and I have it ran to a bunch of switches on my Daystar panel and dash.

__________________
07 JKU to see my mods or Jeep in action go to http://www.aaof.us/jeep.htm
CEO of Black Sheep 4x4s,
Member of CCJ, White Jeep Club Member #137.
MrSig is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-21-2013, 06:51 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 321
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	202.4 KB
ID:	200229

Here's the switch panel that comes with the spod for reference. Perfect fit between sun visors, looks really clean. You can get different colors or combinations if colors but I liked the all blue look. You can turn these on and run accessories with the engine off - it will shut its self off when battery gets to a certain point so that you have enough juice to start again.
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-21-2013, 07:59 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
WhiskeyMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 835
Here's link to Sig's fuse block. Browsing Store - 12 CIRCT FUSE BLOCK W/GRD

Here is same thing on Amazon. http://www.amazon.com/Blue-Sea-Syste...rds=fuse+block

Anyone know how you might get half of these constant power and half ignition switched power? Thinking you would have to go with 2 of them.
WhiskeyMike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-21-2013, 08:18 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
WhiskeyMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 835
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyMike View Post

Anyone know how you might get half of these constant power and half ignition switched power? Thinking you would have to go with 2 of them.
Actually, I was just looking at the circuit diagram and it appears to have two incoming power sources if I'm reading it right. But I only see one feed in MrSig's picture.

Update: when looking at the circuit diagram on bluesea's site, it show's only one feed.
WhiskeyMike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-21-2013, 05:36 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
mikeym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Peoria Heights,IL
Posts: 177
Here's what I did on mine, very similar to the above

http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/mad...up-187491.html
mikeym is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-21-2013, 05:51 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
IBgeocaching's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Duluth MN
Posts: 231
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyMike View Post
Actually, I was just looking at the circuit diagram and it appears to have two incoming power sources if I'm reading it right. But I only see one feed in MrSig's picture.

Update: when looking at the circuit diagram on bluesea's site, it show's only one feed.
First review on amazon by ReyAce says "The unit comes apart with screws, with a metal centerline providing power to all the fuse bays. If you cut the metal centerline (I used a regular pair of wire snips) then only the top section of the centerline (and consequently the upper fuses) will now have power. (The bottom fuses will no longer be getting power from the cut centerline.) From there, if you run a separate power feed to the bottom centerline, (let's say a constant hot, as opposed to switched hot on the top), then the fusebox will be providing two types of power - switched on the upper fuses, constant on the bottom."
IBgeocaching is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-21-2013, 10:00 PM   #13
Newb
 
nicovalencia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 8
Thanks for all the great replies! I'm torn between the spod panel (looks really nice) and the other type that mounts under the HVAC controls. I have a manual, so I'm not sure the lower panel will fit, and I have a Tuffy overhead console so I'm not sure that the spod switch panel will fit up top in the middle (first world problems). Is there any way to run it on the side? mikeym you have a pretty cool side panel - how do you like it?
nicovalencia is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-21-2013, 10:16 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
mikeym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Peoria Heights,IL
Posts: 177
I love it, the color and texture is spot on, and unless you knew it was after market, you'd never know. Mine is also a manual, so I almost had to go that route. You can buy the same panel, loaded with switches, or do what I did and buy switches at radio shack. I do want to get a relay box like the guy above has, just haven't gotten around to it
mikeym is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2013, 10:05 AM   #15
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1
Mrsig, how did you go about mounting that Aux fuse box? I have the same one and was looking at where/how to mount it in the hood and your set up looks really clean. I may have to steal with pride......

TJX02 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
fuse block , switches , wiring

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC