Backup camera for 2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited??? - Page 5 - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-20-2012, 01:21 PM   #121
Jeeper
 
wigman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: in the sticks...thank god
Posts: 100
Ok I read through 4 pages of this thread. I believe this is a new question. I also want a backup camera. I want one to see the kids and dogs, and I want one to check on my boat utility trailer when I am driving. Do you think one camera on my Gobi rack will do? Is the lens wide angle enough to see close to the jeep from the Height of the rack?

wigman is offline   Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 01:59 PM   #122
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9
Mopar Camera

I had posted this on another forum but thought some one here might find it usefull.
I finished my install of my Mopar #82211293 backup camera and it works great. I installed everything last weekend and then took it to the dealer to have the accessory turned on. I was due for an oil change so I had the dealer do that while I was there and they turned on the camera for free, A great dealer. When they were done I would get a dark screen that said "Check Your Surroundings" so I knew they had it turned on but that I must have something wrong. I went home and after a little bit of diognostic work found that I did not have the terminals properly seated in the camera connector. You have to remove or slide forward the red plastic cover on the connector end that goes into the camera to get the terminals fully seated (you will feel them snap into place), then reinstall red cover to lock them in place. I also had to drill out the #6 opening in the connector cover, it had a plastic barrier in the way. I dissassembled the connector to prevent damaging the internals while drilling. I mounted my camera in an electrical hobby box so that I could move the camera out a little and angle it down to get the spare tire out of the picture. You can see by the picture it worked. I realize that this location makes the camera a little more vulnerable but I use a 3" drop receiver and you can clearly see the ball so if you pay attention while hooking up there shouldn't be a problem. I can also confirm that on the white C3 radio connector you use terminals 3, 4, and 5. You count the big terminal opening on the end as #1 and the the second small opening is #3 (camera signal). #4 is camera return and #5 is for the sheild wire. I really appreciate every ones posts on this project, it really made it easier for me, the only thing that tripped me up was the camera connector pin issue, other than that it was a piece of cake.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo1.JPG
Views:	388
Size:	97.3 KB
ID:	161995   Click image for larger version

Name:	photo[1].JPG
Views:	344
Size:	144.7 KB
ID:	161996  

Click image for larger version

Name:	photo[2.JPG
Views:	4046
Size:	189.8 KB
ID:	161997  

Drhude is offline   Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 02:47 PM   #123
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
JKMigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 640
Robskully I've actually seen photos of the camera mounted to the 3rd brake light as well as on the spare.

Blastek i have a 5spd auto. But my issue is if I go the route of mygig lockpick does the dealer still have to do the starscan? I hate to go with the Mygig because of how pricy it is for 1 and 2 I don't need all those fancy extras. also with the lockpick, camera and install im looking at $400 plus.
__________________
-Miguel

My Build http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/bl...ld-261045.html
JKMigs is offline   Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 02:52 PM   #124
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
JKMigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 640
DrHude what nav system do you have? I went to the local dealer and they told me It wouldn't work but they could order part anyways. They also went as far as saying I would void any warranty. This is a daily driver and with the 35" tires I'd like to make sure I don't hit any kids while inspecting someone's house.
__________________
-Miguel

My Build http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/bl...ld-261045.html
JKMigs is offline   Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 03:01 PM   #125
Jeeper
 
engrgpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKMigs View Post
Robskully I've actually seen photos of the camera mounted to the 3rd brake light as well as on the spare.

Blastek i have a 5spd auto. But my issue is if I go the route of mygig lockpick does the dealer still have to do the starscan? I hate to go with the Mygig because of how pricy it is for 1 and 2 I don't need all those fancy extras. also with the lockpick, camera and install im looking at $400 plus.
From everything I've read, the LockPick is Plug-n-Play, so you won't need to have the dealer do anything.

I don't think the installation is difficult, so why not do it yourself?
engrgpr is offline   Quote
Old 09-20-2012, 03:28 PM   #126
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
JKMigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 640
I may look into doing it myself if its not all that hard. Thanks
__________________
-Miguel

My Build http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/bl...ld-261045.html
JKMigs is offline   Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 09:16 AM   #127
Jeeper
 
introsystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Victoria
Posts: 44
Self Install

Quote:
Originally Posted by JKMigs View Post
I may look into doing it myself if its not all that hard. Thanks
Really simple install. Took longer to get the cable from the camera to the head unit, than hook up the lockpick. Hardest part was pulling the dash apart, which once i saw the utube video isn't that difficult.
introsystems is offline   Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 09:50 AM   #128
Jeeper
 
engrgpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: WV
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by introsystems View Post
Really simple install. Took longer to get the cable from the camera to the head unit, than hook up the lockpick. Hardest part was pulling the dash apart, which once i saw the utube video isn't that difficult.
That's what I figured, too. How did you run the cable from the camera to the unit? through the interior or under the Jeep?

When I did my CB, I ran the antenna cable through the tailgate and under the carpet on the passenger side of the rear, and then under the trim by the passenger door into the footwell and behind the glove box. I figure that's probably the easiest way to run the camera cable too (minus the tailgate part).

I'll be running the CB the same way when I get the new JK, but I'd like to have the LockPick and camera at the same time so I don't have to take the dash apart more than once.

Pics?
engrgpr is offline   Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:02 AM   #129
Jeeper
 
Irishbaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 327
Subscribed
Irishbaja is offline   Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 12:24 AM   #130
Jeeper
 
introsystems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Victoria
Posts: 44
Taking the dash off takes about 2 mins. I ran my cable on the interior, from the outside bumper I poked a hole in the rubber stopper in the back tub, then sealed it with some epoxy.
introsystems is offline   Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 04:40 AM   #131
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: St Albert, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 60
I did NavTV with a flush mount camera and drilled a hole in the bumper just above the hitch. Ran the wire up under the plug under the jack (with some RTV sealant), under the storage bin, under the carpet. Popped off the pillar and side trim on the passenger side and ran with the wiring bundles behind the glove box to the head unit. Not difficult and youtube videos on taking apart the dash are great. Dealers here would not use Starscan to activate a camera in the 730N so I had to go this route. Glad I did because I have more functionality and a factory look.
keod is online now   Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 05:33 PM   #132
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKMigs View Post
I may look into doing it myself if its not all that hard. Thanks
I agree that it is an easy install. One issue I had, my first Lockpick would not work - the instructions are not great for installation, pretty generic. My RHR did not have the white connector that the instructions said to replace with the lockpick connector. After talking to the lockpick folks, they said to not worry about it - would have been good to have this in the instructs.

Installed the first kit, didn't work at all. The 730n would not turn on after the lockpick was plugged in. Called Coastal Tech back, spoke to a very nice tech and he said to be sure the drivers side door was open the first time I turned it on. Didn't work for me.

Got a new kit sent out, plug and play the first time - although I did leave the driver door open, just in case.

I used the license plate mounted camera - it works fine, but I am having a hard time getting it aligned, seeing too much of my AEV bumper in the picture - I will be moving or replacing the camera. Otherwise, it works great and I love being able to have the passenger program the NAV while driving -

I followed the pointers in this thread and pushed the cables through the rubber grommet on the rear drivers side, near where the sport cage bolts down. I then used the extension video cable, included with the lockpick, placing it along other wires along the tub edge and under the carpet.
__________________

NorCal
2012 AEV Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
Pompie is offline   Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 10:01 PM   #133
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 9
Jkmigs - I have the 730 RHR navigation unit with the backup camera installed. I bought the RHR from oemautopartsco and had them unlock the DVD and navigation unit for use while in motion. I didn't want to buy the Lockpick since I already had these features but I did have to have the dealer turn on the camera.
Drhude is offline   Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 11:56 PM   #134
Jeeper
 
Irishbaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drhude View Post
Jkmigs - I have the 730 RHR navigation unit with the backup camera installed. I bought the RHR from oemautopartsco and had them unlock the DVD and navigation unit for use while in motion. I didn't want to buy the Lockpick since I already had these features but I did have to have the dealer turn on the camera.
How well does it work at night?
Irishbaja is offline   Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 06:00 AM   #135
Jeeper
 
sobeperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by keod
I did NavTV with a flush mount camera and drilled a hole in the bumper just above the hitch. Ran the wire up under the plug under the jack (with some RTV sealant), under the storage bin, under the carpet. Popped off the pillar and side trim on the passenger side and ran with the wiring bundles behind the glove box to the head unit. Not difficult and youtube videos on taking apart the dash are great. Dealers here would not use Starscan to activate a camera in the 730N so I had to go this route. Glad I did because I have more functionality and a factory look.
I have the same unit. It's great! When you push in your on off button twice does it brig on the rear camera? Cool feature. Can also you nav options while driving if needed.
sobeperry is offline   Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 10:25 AM   #136
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: St Albert, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by sobeperry View Post
I have the same unit. It's great! When you push in your on off button twice does it brig on the rear camera? Cool feature. Can also you nav options while driving if needed.
Nav while driving is good - although I don't use it because I can also do voice activated and really I find it distracting when driving so I normally only key in a destination when stopped.
I find I have to hit on-off three times to bring up the rear camera while driving. It is great in traffic as you can see what's beside you. And I can still have music playing.

All told, I love it and it was a great investment. Support from NavTV was exceptional. They even wired in a relay for me so hookup was a breeze.
keod is online now   Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 10:27 AM   #137
Jeeper
 
sobeperry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 605
Quote:
Originally Posted by keod

Nav while driving is good - although I don't use it because I can also do voice activated and really I find it distracting when driving so I normally only key in a destination when stopped.
I find I have to hit on-off three times to bring up the rear camera while driving. It is great in traffic as you can see what's beside you. And I can still have music playing.

All told, I love it and it was a great investment. Support from NavTV was exceptional. They even wired in a relay for me so hookup was a breeze.
Agree on all your points. And yes we can speak the commands while driving. I have a copilot if you know what I mean! Who lives to touch the screen while I'm driving.
sobeperry is offline   Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 04:28 PM   #138
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 4
Drhude

Hello, and thank you for all your information and pictures you have shared concerning the installation of the mopar backup camera on your jeep wrangler.

I just had one question for you.....did you just have plug the C3 connector in to the back of the radio and the camera connector or did you have to splice in anywhere else for camera power?

Thank you very much
bridgetandandrew is offline   Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 06:21 PM   #139
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 13
I think this would be the way to go. Relocate your license plate and then mount your camera across the top of the license plate right under the tag light. That's how my wife's is mounted on her car and you can see clear as a bell in the nighttime or daytime.

AEV Conversions 10404002AA - AEV License Plate Kit - Quadratec
Sahara51 is offline   Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 09:02 AM   #140
Jeeper
 
AgBullet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 159
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pompie View Post
I agree that it is an easy install. One issue I had, my first Lockpick would not work - the instructions are not great for installation, pretty generic. My RHR did not have the white connector that the instructions said to replace with the lockpick connector. After talking to the lockpick folks, they said to not worry about it - would have been good to have this in the instructs.

Installed the first kit, didn't work at all. The 730n would not turn on after the lockpick was plugged in. Called Coastal Tech back, spoke to a very nice tech and he said to be sure the drivers side door was open the first time I turned it on. Didn't work for me.

Got a new kit sent out, plug and play the first time - although I did leave the driver door open, just in case.

I used the license plate mounted camera - it works fine, but I am having a hard time getting it aligned, seeing too much of my AEV bumper in the picture - I will be moving or replacing the camera. Otherwise, it works great and I love being able to have the passenger program the NAV while driving -

I followed the pointers in this thread and pushed the cables through the rubber grommet on the rear drivers side, near where the sport cage bolts down. I then used the extension video cable, included with the lockpick, placing it along other wires along the tub edge and under the carpet.
Did you still plug in the white connector? Or did you leave it disconnected? I got to that point in the installation yesterday and aborted just in case I was about to break something.
AgBullet is offline   Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 12:07 PM   #141
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by AgBullet View Post
Did you still plug in the white connector? Or did you leave it disconnected? I got to that point in the installation yesterday and aborted just in case I was about to break something.
You have to plug in the white connector to get the video out ports for the LockPick to work.
__________________

NorCal
2012 AEV Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited
Pompie is offline   Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 05:15 PM   #142
Jeeper
 
Jmacoscarmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 18
For thoes of us who do not have NAV, I am looking into using wireless cameras and adding a screen...more to follow.
Jmacoscarmike is offline   Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 06:43 PM   #143
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Blueridge Foothills NC
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lab Lover View Post
I've tried searching with no luck, but has anyone had problems with their nav unit being stuck on your last location after the lockpick installation?

I had the backup camera and lockpick installed Friday, today I tried to input a destination and the nav thinks I'm still at the location I input last Thursday. I've gone into the, "where am I" screen and it won't update to my location.

I thought if someone has had this problem and it's an easy fix, I will try to do it myself.

Thanks,
Lisa
I'm sure you have figured it out by now, but just in case ........ you are probably in the "Trail Mode". (or some named mode like "Trail ????")

Jeff
Glitchy is offline   Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:07 AM   #144
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahara51 View Post
I think this would be the way to go. Relocate your license plate and then mount your camera across the top of the license plate right under the tag light. That's how my wife's is mounted on her car and you can see clear as a bell in the nighttime or daytime.

AEV Conversions 10404002AA - AEV License Plate Kit - Quadratec
or I may mount mine on top or bottom of the third brake light. I just think it would be to easy for me to get it knocked of, if I had it mounted to the rear bumper or the top of my receiver hitch. Also, mounted in the spare tire wheel would put it in the way, if I had to change a tire.
Sahara51 is offline   Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 09:29 AM   #145
Jeeper
 
SlackerMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: MoCo,MD
Posts: 552
it's not in the way at all...

SlackerMD is offline   Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 12:07 PM   #146
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
JKMigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drhude
Jkmigs - I have the 730 RHR navigation unit with the backup camera installed. I bought the RHR from oemautopartsco and had them unlock the DVD and navigation unit for use while in motion. I didn't want to buy the Lockpick since I already had these features but I did have to have the dealer turn on the camera.
That's my only concern is all threads I read are either the 730 or 430 RHR mines the 430 RHB
__________________
-Miguel

My Build http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/bl...ld-261045.html
JKMigs is offline   Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 03:46 PM   #147
Jeeper
 
Irishbaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drhude View Post
Jkmigs - I have the 730 RHR navigation unit with the backup camera installed. I bought the RHR from oemautopartsco and had them unlock the DVD and navigation unit for use while in motion. I didn't want to buy the Lockpick since I already had these features but I did have to have the dealer turn on the camera.
How do you konw which version of the 730 you have? No point in buying Lockpick if I can have the features unlocked by dealer for camera. Money spent on other mods
__________________
2013 JKUR Orange Crush
AEV 350SC Package
35" BFG KM2'S on Black Pintlers
Irishbaja is offline   Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 01:47 PM   #148
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
JKMigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishbaja

How do you konw which version of the 730 you have? No point in buying Lockpick if I can have the features unlocked by dealer for camera. Money spent on other mods
I actually have the 430 RHB. That's my point exactly.
__________________
-Miguel

My Build http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/bl...ld-261045.html
JKMigs is offline   Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:27 PM   #149
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
JKMigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Bartlett, IL
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishbaja View Post
How do you konw which version of the 730 you have? No point in buying Lockpick if I can have the features unlocked by dealer for camera. Money spent on other mods
i actually have the 430 RHB. thats my point exactly if i don't have to go lock pick thats extra funds for other things.
JKMigs is offline   Quote
Old 10-18-2012, 10:55 AM   #150
Sponsoring Vendor
 
pat@fieldsauto.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glenview
Posts: 3,182
Mopar will be showing a Wrangler with the back up camera at Sema. Not sure if its plug and play.

__________________
Patrick O'Donnell
Fields Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram │ 2800 Patriot Blvd│ Glenview, IL 60026
847-446-5100 main
pat@fieldsauto.com is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My new 2005 jeep reggae71 TJ General Discussion Forum 2 04-01-2012 08:16 PM
Here it is - 2012 Wrangler JeepgirlNY JK General Discussion Forum 18 04-01-2012 03:30 PM
How can i determine how many inches of lift the jeep got saiyan slayr915 TJ General Discussion Forum 3 04-01-2012 01:33 PM
Need your Opinion! Jeep wrangler carpet Agrothe TJ General Discussion Forum 3 04-01-2012 01:32 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC