Calling all stereo freaks, I've got a question! - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 08-28-2010, 10:01 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Calling all stereo freaks, I've got a question!

Ok, we all know the JK stock stereo sucks. I have an idea, and I need to see if it is possible, as I know less than nothing about mobile audio systems.
Being that I either use my ipod or satellite radio, I was wondering if I removed the stock head unit and replaced it with a amp/equalizer with a input jack for my ipod, would that work? I hate local radio, and never use the CD, so I thought this might be a solution. But as I stated earlier, I don't know much about it, so asking advice.......

jtsivo is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 10:16 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Blackbeard1718's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 722
I replaced my Stock Head Unit with a Sony, that has the CD, iPod Jack, and a USB Plug for Flash Drives. I generally use my Flash Drives most of the time. See my Sig for the model I used, and the Amp I'm using.

Best of Luck!

Cheers!

BB

__________________
Blackbeard http://www.piratesonlineforums.com/f...es/bird-vi.gif

'09 Yellow JK X

-Sony CDX-GT540UI Head Unit
-Alpine SPR-17C Coaxial 6.5" Speakers
-Alpine SPR-17S Component 6.5" Speakers With Tweeters & Crossovers
-Rockford Fosgate Punch 400W 4-Ch Amp
-Factory Half-Doors & Full-Doors
-Michelin Latitude Tour Tires
-Black Rock Viper 900 Tungsten 17" Wheels
-Pre-Runner Light Bar
-KC-127 6" Fog Lights

"The Floggings will continue until Morale improves!"
Blackbeard1718 is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 10:36 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
I don't want a head unit at all, just a amp/equlizer combo to plug into. I never use the radio/cd player. I just want to know if it is possible to just run a amp/equlizer (single unit in place of the head unit).
jtsivo is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 12:03 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
jeepr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Littleton Colorado
Posts: 390
Ipods dont put out a very strong output signal... so I dont recommend it but It's your choice.
jeepr is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 08:33 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepr View Post
Ipods dont put out a very strong output signal... so I dont recommend it but It's your choice.
What's the difference between a amp and a head unit, in this situation? It does not need to have a strong output, the amp will provide the power...
jtsivo is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 01:58 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Badfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: the oc
Posts: 362
what kind of jeep is it. jk's have an aux input already thats what i use for my ipod and it works great. you can always change out the head unit for a better one ive done it in all of my cars you just have to be carefull cause the stock speakers suck and a new headunit will over work them thats why i always change out my speakers too. i just hardwire the head units in myself but you can get a wiring harness so that you dont have to do anything but plug and play.
__________________
2008 Wrangler X. K and N drop in filter and BFG Mud Terrains.
Badfish is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 02:59 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
I appreciate all the info, but my question is still not answered. I rather not have the stock head unit at all, I don't use it. So, would it be possible to run an amp/eql unit instead of the head unit? I want to know if there are any consequences that I might not be aware of.
jtsivo is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 03:05 PM   #8
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,661
Speakers don't connect directly to an amp. The amp just supplies power. you will need a head unit of some type to drive the speakers.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 03:12 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Really? i thought the speakers where connected to the amp/equl? So the amp would wire to the head unit, then speakers from there? Is there a way to wire the speakers directly to the amp/equl?
jtsivo is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 03:29 PM   #10
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,661
None that I've ever seen. Car audio is different than home audio. Everything connects to the amp/receiver for home audio. In car audio the head unit is your amp/receiver. Additional power is gained by connecting a separate amp that bypasses the head unit power and directly powers the unit.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 03:34 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
TDCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 161
The amp provides the power, the head unit provides the signal. In a traditional "car stereo" the amp is built in.

I think the confusion you are running into is why go so far out of your way to not have a head unit. Finding just an amp and equalizer is going to be more problematic, and if you eventually sell the thing, you are going to have to add something back in.

It is possible to simply install an amp to connect your ipod to, but I think you are asking for more trouble than it's worth. Just use a head unit with an ipod input, and be done with it.
TDCoffee is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 09:04 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
My logic is that why should I have this head unit in my dash if I never use it. I am in law enforcement, and I use my own vehicle, I need space to mount a police radio. I did not want to get into details, I just wanted some info, not necessarily opinions on what I should do. So, I will end this discussion, because I think I might just go to a professional audio installer to discuss, thanks anyway.
jtsivo is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 09:11 PM   #13
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsivo View Post
But as I stated earlier, I don't know much about it, so asking advice.......
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsivo View Post
I just wanted some info, not necessarily opinions on what I should do. So, I will end this discussion, because I think I might just go to a professional audio installer to discuss, thanks anyway.
When you ask for advice you are bound to get opinions. Keep in mind that when you don't tell the whole story, you don't get the whole answer. Please let us know what you find out. I'm curious as to what the professional audio installer has to say. Maybe we can all learn something.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 01:08 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: long island
Posts: 125
Send a message via AIM to Capjac04
applause daggo. well played kind sir
__________________
bros
Capjac04 is offline   Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 09:38 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
aelwero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Bliss TX
Posts: 1,669
ROFL, well you guys didn't really say anything all that useful

Jtsivo, the answer is that you cannot do what you're trying to using car audio components... What you CAN do is get one of those powered speaker stands that you plug an Ipod into and run the speaker output to your Jeep. That will require power, meaning a DC adapter for a portable speaker setup, or an inverter if it's A/C (A/C would work a LOT better, you need a lot of power...)

It would require tearing apart a brand new Ipod accessory, and wiring all that stuff up somewhere behind the dash.

It isn't cost effective, and it wouldn't really be a very "normal" thing to do, but it certainly can be done, you just can't get there by following a normal person's thought train... The answer cannot be found in car audio, but it can be found in Ipod accessories
__________________
'71 DJ-5 (that isn't a typo)
'10 JKU Sport RHD

RHD... it's a jeep thing
aelwero is offline   Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 09:49 AM   #16
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,548
WRONG, he can do exactly what he wants to do. We have done it for customers 4 wheelers for years. All you need is a 4 channel amp and a 3.5mm to RCA adapter to go from Ipod to the amp input.

Then get a standard dash kit and mount your 2-way radio in the dash where the stock radio was

Gravy baby!
Ibuildembig is offline   Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 02:27 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
aelwero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Bliss TX
Posts: 1,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ibuildembig View Post
WRONG, he can do exactly what he wants to do. We have done it for customers 4 wheelers for years. All you need is a 4 channel amp and a 3.5mm to RCA adapter to go from Ipod to the amp input.

Then get a standard dash kit and mount your 2-way radio in the dash where the stock radio was

Gravy baby!
That won't burn the amp if he turns the Ipod up all the way?
__________________
'71 DJ-5 (that isn't a typo)
'10 JKU Sport RHD

RHD... it's a jeep thing
aelwero is offline   Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 02:49 PM   #18
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,548
Nah it should be just fine
Ibuildembig is offline   Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 03:42 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
aelwero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fort Bliss TX
Posts: 1,669
You're outside my scope on that one... I thought you needed that "preamp" signal from a head unit or you were flirting with letting the magic smoke out, but if you can run a speaker output directly to an amp, then it's too easy
__________________
'71 DJ-5 (that isn't a typo)
'10 JKU Sport RHD

RHD... it's a jeep thing
aelwero is offline   Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 05:02 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
TOKKIE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Sonora, CA.
Posts: 415
If you go the route of the 3.5mm to rca adapter, make sure the rca adapter is adjustable. If not would be overpowering the amp and cause distortion-imo
TOKKIE is offline   Quote
Old 08-30-2010, 09:56 PM   #21
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Ibuildembig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fruitland, Missouri
Posts: 8,548
It will be fine guys....I have been doing car audio professionally for 15 years and have a bachelors' degree in Industrial Electronic Engineering...I'd never do it if it wouldn't work

Ibuildembig is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stereo Question TjTheo Off-Topic 2 08-27-2010 10:19 PM
2007 Cherokee Laredo Stereo Aux Input Question Ripnhl2005 Communications and Electronics 0 08-14-2010 05:47 AM
Question about swapping Navigation Stereo on 2010 Wrangler daedalus Communications and Electronics 2 06-10-2010 05:42 PM
Post stereo installation question nogoats JK General Discussion Forum 5 05-30-2010 05:58 PM
Stereo question? tbone7213 TJ General Discussion Forum 12 06-13-2008 11:11 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC