Can I use 18" rims with 32" wheels on stock 11 Wrangler Sport???? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-13-2011, 10:46 AM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Can I use 18" rims with 32" wheels on stock 11 Wrangler Sport????

I recently purchased a set of barely used 18" factory rims with 32" tires and would like to swap them out for the (ugly) 16" rims with 29" or so tires that came with the 2011 2 door sport model.


I can do the swap myself - will I run into any problems? I bought the AEV Procal tuner to set the speedometer etc...



will I notice any rubbing? Not going to be doing a lot of trails.


Will I lose any MPGs?


I have read about spacers etc... but not thrilled about putting anything on that would mess with the stability etc.


Thanks!!!!!!

midatlanticjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 10:49 AM   #2
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,259
If we can assume that the wheels and tires were from a Sahara and have the TPMS sensors intact, then yes, everything will be fine.

__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 10:55 AM   #3
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
If we can assume that the wheels and tires were from a Sahara and have the TPMS sensors intact, then yes, everything will be fine.

The tires came without the tpms sensors. I was going to take the tpsm sensors out of my current tires and add them in, but not immediately. Are they important? Will they affect performance?


Thanks for the response.
midatlanticjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 10:58 AM   #4
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,259
Your dash light will remain on and will "ding" when you start the engine. Other than that there won't be any issues with not having them.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 10:58 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
Should work with no issues at all. Just remember when setting the tire size using Procal that you don't use 32" because of compression of the tire on the road from the vehicle weight. I would start by subtracting 1" and using 31" then verify your speedo using GPS if you got one. But if you have no way to check right away 1" less is usually a pretty good guess.
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 11:03 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by midatlanticjeep View Post
The tires came without the tpms sensors. I was going to take the tpsm sensors out of my current tires and add them in, but not immediately. Are they important? Will they affect performance?


Thanks for the response.
I am assuming the tpms air pressure sensor can be modified using Procal. I have Superchips and know you can adjust the computer setting to whatever tire pressure you currently have. You can also set the tire pressure to Zero and this will turn off the ding.
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 11:06 AM   #7
MTH
Jeeper
 
MTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8,553
You can also use your ProCal to set the minimum measurment that will satisfy the TPMS system to "0." In other words, so long as the TPMS system gets a 0 reading, it won't set off the alarm. The result is that the alarm chime won't go off when it doesn't get a reading from the sensors.

This, as a practical matter, turns off your TPMS system.

Keep in mind of course that you also won't get any alarm when/if your tire pressure is actually low.

Edit: Rick is a faster typist.
__________________
Mike
2010 JKU "Mountain" Edition
TeraFlex 2.5" Coil Lift : Old Man Emu Nitrocharger Shocks : 33x12.5R15 Goodyear DuraTracs : 15x8 Black Rock 909s : Other Stuff . . .
MTH is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 11:14 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
InfernoGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Newburgh IN
Posts: 11,419
If you're going to set the TPMS to "0" then there's no point in swapping them.....
__________________

Dirty Mudder column covers|

'01 Wrangler Sport, Sienna Pearl Mine
'07 Rubicon 2D, Flame Red His
'11 Wrangler Sport 4D, Black Ours...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kate View Post
Not every girl, is a Jeep girl. We're a special breed.
InfernoGirl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 11:21 AM   #9
MTH
Jeeper
 
MTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by InfernoGirl View Post
If you're going to set the TPMS to "0" then there's no point in swapping them.....
That's true, I was just trying to smooth out his desire to not bother with swapping the TPMS sensors immediately but also (presumably) to not hear a *ding* every time he starts the Jeep. If he ever ends up swapping the TPMS sensors sometime down the line, he'd also of course want to reset the number to something useful.
__________________
Mike
2010 JKU "Mountain" Edition
TeraFlex 2.5" Coil Lift : Old Man Emu Nitrocharger Shocks : 33x12.5R15 Goodyear DuraTracs : 15x8 Black Rock 909s : Other Stuff . . .
MTH is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 11:48 AM   #10
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,509
Since we're on the whole TPMS, I took those out of my new wheels before install and having been dealing with the ding and light on my dashboard for about a week now. If I use either the AEV procal or other to set the computer to zero for my tire pressure, then you all are saying the ding will not sound and there will not be a light on my dashboard either?

Yes, I like to hijack threads
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 12:04 PM   #11
MTH
Jeeper
 
MTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8,553
Quote:
Originally Posted by ESP123 View Post
Since we're on the whole TPMS, I took those out of my new wheels before install and having been dealing with the ding and light on my dashboard for about a week now. If I use either the AEV procal or other to set the computer to zero for my tire pressure, then you all are saying the ding will not sound and there will not be a light on my dashboard either?

Yes, I like to hijack threads
Yep, that's how I understand it. I don't have one yet myself (**disclaimer**), but that's how I've read Jimbo's descriptions in the past. Unless I've just misundertood how it all works, a ProCal is definitely part of my future wheel/tire plans.
__________________
Mike
2010 JKU "Mountain" Edition
TeraFlex 2.5" Coil Lift : Old Man Emu Nitrocharger Shocks : 33x12.5R15 Goodyear DuraTracs : 15x8 Black Rock 909s : Other Stuff . . .
MTH is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-13-2011, 01:37 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
InfernoGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Newburgh IN
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTH View Post
That's true, I was just trying to smooth out his desire to not bother with swapping the TPMS sensors immediately but also (presumably) to not hear a *ding* every time he starts the Jeep. If he ever ends up swapping the TPMS sensors sometime down the line, he'd also of course want to reset the number to something useful.
Not arguing with you at all, just trying to save the OP the expense/aggravation of swapping them needlessly....
__________________

Dirty Mudder column covers|

'01 Wrangler Sport, Sienna Pearl Mine
'07 Rubicon 2D, Flame Red His
'11 Wrangler Sport 4D, Black Ours...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kate View Post
Not every girl, is a Jeep girl. We're a special breed.
InfernoGirl is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-14-2011, 10:18 AM   #13
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks for the responses guys.


Should I bother taking my tires to a name brand tire place to do the tpsm switch out or will they charge me a ton for probably not much work?

Not necessarily on a budget but like to get a good deal, of course.
midatlanticjeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-14-2011, 10:52 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
ppzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: North Jersey and Sanford Fl
Posts: 148
I just swapped out my 16" rims and tires for 17" ones off a new Rubicon.
He kept the TPMS sensors to put on his new tires.
I tried to have my old ones moved over but the tire place said they were pretty much done and would likely fail before long after being moved plus the stem was broken on one and all they could have done was throw it in loose on the spare.
I just ignore the light and the ding but might use the zero pressure idea as leverage to get a reprogramming tool (after I pay off the towing bill from the weekend.)
The store I used charged $10 per mount and $10 to move a sensor. Goodyear across the road wanted more than $50 per tire.
ppzi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-14-2011, 12:14 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Hilldweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,130
I moved my sensors from my stock 18" Sahara wheels to my aftermarket 16" wheels and they continued with no problem.

The only issue for the OP is that the stock 18" tires are crappy and replacement rubber for 18s is expensive. 16s have the best choices. 17s are coming down but can't compete.

When I got rid of my 18s, the wheels were basically free, paid for by the money I saved in buying rubber for 16s rather than 18s.

__________________
Gone camping,
Bill

Hilldweller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
wheels and tires

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5 Factory Wrangler Sport Aluminum Rims, Long Island NY KBR97 Classifieds Archive 1 06-02-2009 06:46 PM
Stock 2000 Sport Wrangler - spare on the back? WSU Tony General Jeep Discussion 1 09-09-2007 04:15 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC