Can i use the existing fog light wiring - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-26-2013, 07:54 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
DrLecter90210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 213
Can i use the existing fog light wiring

To install some off road lights? Anyone do this on a stock bumper?

DrLecter90210 is offline   Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 07:56 PM   #2
Vin
Jeeper
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,487
You can use it to trigger a relay. If you try and power any light more than 55 watts(I think), it mess with the computer.

Vin is offline   Quote
Old 06-26-2013, 09:17 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
gr8fulKID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 808
I haven't done it on a stock bumper, but I hooked up hella 55wat fog lamps to the stock harness. Cut the wire right by the factory fog lights and splice the ground and power wires together for each lamp using wire nuts or butt splices or solder. Remember black is always ground!
gr8fulKID is offline   Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 06:39 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
floridajpr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 137
I was thinking about using the stock fog light wires for a 10" or 20" LED bar up front but I think I am just going to tape up the OEM fog light wires/connectors and use my sPOD for my LED's when I get to them. I don't want to disturb the CANBUS.
__________________
Florida Native Cracker Tryin to deal with the Yank's and Snowbird's that keep coming down to start controversy here in Florida! EDIT! We are now having to deal with the Illegal Mexicans, Cubans, Guatemalan's, and Haitians ALSO!!! Where does it end!!! Oh, I almost forgot about the Wild Hog problem!!!
floridajpr is offline   Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 07:32 PM   #5
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
RB-10rubicon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Princeton area in new jersey
Posts: 2,123
Led bars shouldnt be any problem they dont draw any amps..i had 85 watt piaa bulbs in the pilot light housing hooked to my factory wireing and had no issues ..just the damn bulbs kept blowing .so i put 55 watt phillips .no problems now
RB-10rubicon is offline   Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:10 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Tweak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8fulKID View Post
I haven't done it on a stock bumper, but I hooked up hella 55wat fog lamps to the stock harness. Cut the wire right by the factory fog lights and splice the ground and power wires together for each lamp using wire nuts or butt splices or solder. Remember black is always ground!
my buddy has been doing the exact same thing, I can vouch for this.

Tweak is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:00 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC