can programmers actually improve mpg - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-01-2012, 10:39 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
EchoThruMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Goshen, NY
Posts: 546
Send a message via Skype™ to EchoThruMe
can programmers actually improve mpg

Thinking of using a programmer to improve my mpg since I commute 100 miles a day to work and the gas prices keep rising. Anyone have experience with these? Id like to hear about a few experiences. Are they legal to use and will I pass inspection afterward? Are they difficult to use and lastly... anyone in the ny area. Id like to"rent" one to do the job rather than buy for a one time use.

__________________
2010 Wrangler Sport

EchoThruMe is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2012, 10:42 PM   #2
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,509
I think programmers are assigned to each jeep individually. Just like the procal tuners they are set to each jeeps VIN and cannot be used on multiple jeeps.

__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2012, 10:44 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
JK NotLimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 115
I used Pro Comp's calibrator after installing a 2.5" lift with 35's, front and rear bumpers and side steps and i believe it made a difference because my MPG stayed roughly the same as before the mods. Definitely no 2 MPG difference, 1 at most, maybe not even
JK NotLimited is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2012, 10:46 PM   #4
MTH
Jeeper
 
MTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8,553
I have heard of folks getting some mpg improvement with a superchip flashpaq, though I don't have one so I'd defer to those that do.

I can say that, for the most part, tuners are keyed to a VIN number. They change settings on one jeep and remember its VIN such that they won't work on another jeep without returning the first jeep to stock settings. This prevents folks from sharing them--in other words, "renting" one isn't an option.
__________________
Mike
2010 JKU "Mountain" Edition
TeraFlex 2.5" Coil Lift : Old Man Emu Nitrocharger Shocks : 33x12.5R15 Goodyear DuraTracs : 15x8 Black Rock 909s : Other Stuff . . .
MTH is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2012, 10:47 PM   #5
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTH View Post
I have heard of folks getting some mpg improvement with a superchip flashpaq, though I don't have one so I'd defer to those that do.

I can say that, for the most part, tuners are keyed to a VIN number. They change settings on one jeep and remember its VIN such that they won't work on another jeep without returning the first jeep to stock settings. This prevents folks from sharing them--in other words, "renting" one isn't an option.
Bam!
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2012, 10:48 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
EchoThruMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Goshen, NY
Posts: 546
Send a message via Skype™ to EchoThruMe
Ahhh. Smart on their part. Doesn't sound worth it for a one mpg gain. Thanks.
__________________
2010 Wrangler Sport

EchoThruMe is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2012, 10:51 PM   #7
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by EchoThruMe View Post
Ahhh. Smart on their part. Doesn't sound worth it for a one mpg gain. Thanks.
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2012, 10:55 PM   #8
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 36,716
All correct.

I don't use mine for mileage. I heard positives though.
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 01:30 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
chris.george's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 774
We programming folk are the smartz.

Really though, a lot of it is playing with the math to tune to your specific situation. The default has to take the national average into account which brings things in like different gasoline mixes (more ethanol, less ethanol, more diesel, less diesel, when, etc). It's hard to keep track of that for each market and not worth the cost for Jeep. For Hypertech, et all, it is. It's part of their business plan!
__________________
First, gather your facts; then, distort them at your leisure.
— Mark Twain
chris.george is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 04:01 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
I use Superchips Flashpaq. I got it mainly for the regearing and bigger tire adjustments but the tuner did get me around 1 mpg increase and yes you can only use it on one vehicle
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 12:16 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 441
Manufacturers spend millions of dollars in R&D trying to squeeze more power and better MPGs out of their engines. If all it took was a little programming expertise, don't you think they'd have done it?
__________________
Past Jeeps: 71 CJ5 (225V6) | 01 Wrangler Sport | 04 Wrangler Sport
Current:12 Crush Rubi 4dr | 6spd | heated leather Katzskins w/orange accents | Garmin 430
Highway eater: 2006 V70R | Quick car: 2008 Lotus Exige S
JandS is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 12:20 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Phobos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Koppel
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by JandS
Manufacturers spend millions of dollars in R&D trying to squeeze more power and better MPGs out of their engines. If all it took was a little programming expertise, don't you think they'd have done it?
No, because they also plan on reliability. There is plenty of power tuned OUT of oem tunes to elongate engine life... Even better then a hand held tuner is a custom tune..
__________________
2008 Wrangler X
2004 Grand Cherokee Limited
1997 Grand Cherokee Larado (retired)
1999 Wrangler Sport (sold)

Ken
Phobos is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 12:28 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
chris.george's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 774
Quote:
Originally Posted by JandS View Post
Manufacturers spend millions of dollars in R&D trying to squeeze more power and better MPGs out of their engines. If all it took was a little programming expertise, don't you think they'd have done it?
Exactly.

They are optimizing for the average case. Not the "OMG MY RIG HAZ POWERZ" case.
__________________
First, gather your facts; then, distort them at your leisure.
— Mark Twain
chris.george is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 08:32 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Phobos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Koppel
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris.george

Exactly.

They are optimizing for the average case. Not the "OMG MY RIG HAZ POWERZ" case.
Not to mention that two motors built to same specs with same internals run different, a tune needs to be general enough to be safe across the board. Same goes for hand held tuners with off the shelf maps. More power then oem but not as much as a custom tune for your specific motors needs...
__________________
2008 Wrangler X
2004 Grand Cherokee Limited
1997 Grand Cherokee Larado (retired)
1999 Wrangler Sport (sold)

Ken
Phobos is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 09:07 PM   #15
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 36,716
I love my Flashpaq

Stock 4:10's w/ 32's ... The jeep would suffer till I got up around 2k RPM's

93 tuned w/ 35's she pulls her self along
ok at 1000-1500 Rpms without lugging.
Gas mileage seems the same. Have not hand calculated yet but the dash readout only dropped a little.

The increased torque/power from the tune, might just save me $1700

Not If gas priced keep going up though
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 09:50 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 141
Anyone have any experience or comments on buying the flashpaq over the procal unit since I have bigger tires now? I was just about to pull the trigger on a procal to get my speedo right , but if the flashpaq will do that and get me more power and mpg for an extra $200 why not?
Gottabstick is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 10:51 PM   #17
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 36,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gottabstick
Anyone have any experience or comments on buying the flashpaq over the procal unit since I have bigger tires now? I was just about to pull the trigger on a procal to get my speedo right , but if the flashpaq will do that and get me more power and mpg for an extra $200 why not?
Don't think the 12 can be tuned yet but depending on what gears/tranny you have, you should be fine anyways.

You will still need the Procal for recalibration.
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 10:55 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gottabstick View Post
Anyone have any experience or comments on buying the flashpaq over the procal unit since I have bigger tires now? I was just about to pull the trigger on a procal to get my speedo right , but if the flashpaq will do that and get me more power and mpg for an extra $200 why not?

Unfortunately the Superchips don't have it ready for the 2012 models yet. For that matter it doesn't work on h2011 models either. They seemed to be having trouble with the new EC codes
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2012, 11:36 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 141
Thanks, AEV it is for now
Gottabstick is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 12:45 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
jgaley69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 34
Are there any ways that you can reprogram throttle body sensor, so it act like cable without having to spend $300+? I have a 2008 six speed and throttle response suxs, where if it was by cable could be getting better mileage.
jgaley69 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 01:07 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
Jsjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 332
I have a superchips which I love it has improve everything except mpg's, and if it did it was minimal I even put it on the eco setting and noticed close to notice.
Jsjk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 06:31 AM   #22
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 36,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by jgaley69
Are there any ways that you can reprogram throttle body sensor, so it act like cable without having to spend $300+? I have a 2008 six speed and throttle response suxs, where if it was by cable could be getting better mileage.
Google Sprintbooster.

You won't like the price but it is a awesome little device.
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 07:53 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
EchoThruMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Goshen, NY
Posts: 546
Send a message via Skype™ to EchoThruMe
I will be upgrading my wheels and tires from 29" to 32" within the next few months. Do you suggest I tune the rig for the larger tires or would I just keep it as is? I was told that the dealer could tune it for me since I will be sticking with a stock 32" size? Thoughts... Suggestions?

Can I hurt my jeep if I do not tune it to the new 3" gain in wheel and tire size?
__________________
2010 Wrangler Sport

EchoThruMe is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 08:47 AM   #24
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 36,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by EchoThruMe
I will be upgrading my wheels and tires from 29" to 32" within the next few months. Do you suggest I tune the rig for the larger tires or would I just keep it as is? I was told that the dealer could tune it for me since I will be sticking with a stock 32" size? Thoughts... Suggestions?

Can I hurt my jeep if I do not tune it to the new 3" gain in wheel and tire size?
Tuning and recalibrating are two different things.
You will need to recalibrate for the 32's. Lift hight has nothing to do with it.

Now.... If you want to spend the extra money on a tuner, you can do both.
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 09:01 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
EchoThruMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Goshen, NY
Posts: 546
Send a message via Skype™ to EchoThruMe
and if i dont recalibrate?
__________________
2010 Wrangler Sport

EchoThruMe is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 09:03 AM   #26
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by EchoThruMe View Post
and if i dont recalibrate?
Your speedo will be off, which will also make your odometer off. Not sure if a 3" diff in tire size would mess with your ETC system or not, but why take chances just to be cheap?

$150, problem solved: http://www.aev-conversions.com/shop/...al-module.html

And you may not even need to spend it. Since you're staying at stock tire size (32"), the dealer and/or most tire shops shouldn't be worried about recalibrating for you.
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
—John Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-03-2012, 12:39 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: D/FW
Posts: 333
From 1>2 at 1800rpm?

I want my auto to never drop below 2K (where the power band starts) no matter how little I step on the gas, as I have see 2mpg improvement shifting manually.

Doubt a "chip" would hardly be worth the cost, well worth the satisfaction of knowing it's better than stock.
__________________
2012 JKUR (doh)
Auto, Freedom, 410's, in Black
12JKUR is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-04-2012, 09:01 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
GreenRubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 480
I use the Superchip Flashpaq with my 2008, 6-speed. It has different settings for mileage, 87-octane, 91-octane, 93-octane, crawler and towing. I've used all the octanes and the mileage settings. The mileage setting does improve my mileage by around 1-2 MPG, so eventually it will pay for itself. It also provides better low end response and a little better torque. Same with the 87-octane setting which improves mileage by about 1 MPG with better low end response and torque.

The 91-octane and 93-octane settings do provide a little more get up a go, but there is not as much of a mileage improvement at these settings (perhaps because I'm more eager to put my foot into the pedal with these settings) and at current fuel prices the extra power is not worth the extra expense at the pump for me.

If you have an auto trans, I hear you get a much better improvement in performance than those of us with the 6-speed trans due to the improved shift points the Flashpaq provides for the auto.
__________________
2008 Natural Green JK Rubicon
GreenRubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-04-2012, 09:44 AM   #29
Jeeper
 
JK NotLimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by GreenRubi
I use the Superchip Flashpaq with my 2008, 6-speed. It has different settings for mileage, 87-octane, 91-octane, 93-octane, crawler and towing. I've used all the octanes and the mileage settings. The mileage setting does improve my mileage by around 1-2 MPG, so eventually it will pay for itself. It also provides better low end response and a little better torque. Same with the 87-octane setting which improves mileage by about 1 MPG with better low end response and torque.

The 91-octane and 93-octane settings do provide a little more get up a go, but there is not as much of a mileage improvement at these settings (perhaps because I'm more eager to put my foot into the pedal with these settings) and at current fuel prices the extra power is not worth the extra expense at the pump for me.

If you have an auto trans, I hear you get a much better improvement in performance than those of us with the 6-speed trans due to the improved shift points the Flashpaq provides for the auto.
Couldn't find one for the '12 so my guess is they don't make 'em yet? Do u know? Where did u get it?
Thanks
JK NotLimited is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-04-2012, 09:59 AM   #30
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 36,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by JK NotLimited

Couldn't find one for the '12 so my guess is they don't make 'em yet? Do u know? Where did u get it?
Thanks
None for 11 or 12

kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First thing you can think of... Hexxum Off-Topic 60500 Today 10:03 AM
can't believe you have hand crank windows!!! dodge JK General Discussion Forum 154 06-28-2012 12:08 AM
**HELP**Where can i get Blinker Fluid???? wvhillbilly General Jeep Discussion 22 04-02-2012 06:36 PM
How can i determine how many inches of lift the jeep got saiyan slayr915 TJ General Discussion Forum 3 04-01-2012 02:33 PM
How can i download pictrues with my i pad? JCs94YJ WF Site Help & Support 0 04-01-2012 01:24 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC