cb mounting locations?? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-05-2010, 08:02 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
skummdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: rapid city, SD
Posts: 23
cb mounting locations??

just bought a 2010 rubi, trying to figure out where i will mount my radio...
i dont want it next to my leg on the console, which is where ive seen others put it... any ideas will be super helpful, thx

skummdogg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2010, 08:28 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
yj-genral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: cleveland, TN
Posts: 1,075
tuffy makes a console that has a slot for a CB, you can buy or build an overhead console that goes down the middle for one or just put it on the passenger side of the console so its not in YOUR leg

yj-genral is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2010, 08:28 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Six Lakes, MI
Posts: 462
First of all welcome to this forum and congratulations with your new Rubi...
How about this...They (CB and 2 meter HAM radio) are overhead and out of my way.. Just love it..



This is a good thread as well
USAntigoon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2010, 09:01 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Outa my way also

Quote:
No Bumpin, no thumpin, easy reach, easy read, easy adjust-can't beatit

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2010, 09:09 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
AdventureMyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 163
JimB, what are all those toggles to? Winches and lockers or? Like the high mounted CB's but where I park mine for work it'd be gone in 10 minutes.

Have you considered the type where there is a small base unit that sits under the seat and all the CB controls are in the handset? That way its' out of the way and hidden when you aren't using it.
AdventureMyk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-05-2010, 09:19 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
The switchboard, using relays is for Forward driving lights (2 sets), rear lights, OBA, supplemental horn and CB

I can't offer any opinions on the handheld, like Cobra 75, to me it's just to small and limited

Personnaly, I would NEVER mount any CB/bases under one of the seats--too "outta the way" to subject to water damage, to heat restrictive

You'll get lots of ideas and you will have to worry about THEFT !!

GOOD LUCK

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-06-2010, 06:21 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
yj-genral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: cleveland, TN
Posts: 1,075
if theft is a concern tuffy makes the console that locks up when not in use but they are expensive...
yj-genral is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-06-2010, 07:11 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Hilldweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,083
I have the little remote Cobra; the box is under the glovebox brace and the mic is on a Cooltech LLC versamount.
CB and weather; works fine and it's no big deal to install or tune.

__________________
Gone camping,
Bill

Hilldweller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-06-2010, 07:58 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
AdventureMyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 163
I was just thinking of all that extra space under/behind the glove box and here Hilldweller comes along and uses that spot with the very radio I was thinking of! <grin>
AdventureMyk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-06-2010, 08:17 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Hilldweller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdventureMyk View Post
I was just thinking of all that extra space under/behind the glove box and here Hilldweller comes along and uses that spot with the very radio I was thinking of! <grin>
It really looks stock.

If you go to the Cooltech website, there are complete kits. The antenna mount through the license plate bracket is just as clean.

I recommend a Wilson Silverload Flex antenna though; it can bend 180 degrees without breaking.
__________________
Gone camping,
Bill

Hilldweller is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-06-2010, 02:14 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
WranglerX2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 289
My wife, Father, daughter, and Son have all ridden in the passenger seat with no issues here. When I leave the Jeep, I cover it with a black tooke (or sockcap depending where you are from) and it pretty much disappears from view.

__________________
WranglerX2009 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-06-2010, 06:30 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
AdventureMyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 163
Loved all the gadgets on CoolTech but they are all for the JK. Any good sites with great package deals for a TJ like the ones they have for the JK?
AdventureMyk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-06-2010, 08:42 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
RSC17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 698
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdventureMyk View Post
Loved all the gadgets on CoolTech but they are all for the JK. Any good sites with great package deals for a TJ like the ones they have for the JK?
or even for a YJ?
RSC17 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-06-2010, 09:40 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
skummdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: rapid city, SD
Posts: 23
thx

i appreciate all the imput from everyone, very helpful... im not a huge fan of putting it overhead, i already have a cobra 25 thats what im gonna use.. i was thinking about velcroing it to the dash right above the stereo, velcro so i can take it off and hide it. has anyone done anything like that? what u guys think about it?
skummdogg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-09-2010, 06:08 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
DeepSea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 79
I did some reserch for going over the stereo like with what you were talking about. I couldn't find any JK with it but found a few older jeeps that had custom mounts you could look at in the cb/stereo section of this forum. I have a cobra 29 which is pretty decent size so I went with the mount from ArizonaRockyroad.com Either way good luck
DeepSea is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-09-2010, 06:19 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
skummdogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: rapid city, SD
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepSea View Post
I did some reserch for going over the stereo like with what you were talking about. I couldn't find any JK with it but found a few older jeeps that had custom mounts you could look at in the cb/stereo section of this forum. I have a cobra 29 which is pretty decent size so I went with the mount from ArizonaRockyroad.com Either way good luck
i appreciate it, the 29 isnt too much bigger than the 25... do u have any pics of ur mounted? thx
__________________
The rubicon is a 29 km. river in northern Italy. "Crossing the rubicon" is a popular idiom meaning to pass a point of no return. Originating from Ceasaer's 49 BC crossing of the river, which was considered an act of war
skummdogg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-10-2010, 02:39 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
DeepSea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ventura, CA
Posts: 79
I probably should post some pics for everyone to see, but it also might be faster if you give me your email. Then the next time I'm in my jeep, I'll take a pic of it on my phone and email it to you.
DeepSea is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-03-2010, 10:47 PM   #18
Newb
 
Donyuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 5
USAntigoon on your cb mounting did you have to put anything on the back side of the mounting area or did you use self tapping screws, is there much vibration
Donyuma is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-04-2010, 01:54 PM   #19
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
jk'n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: First Quadrant in the Land of the Free
Posts: 4,790
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donyuma View Post
USAntigoon on your cb mounting did you have to put anything on the back side of the mounting area or did you use self tapping screws, is there much vibration
I have the same mount as Antigoon and I have no problems with vibration. I had to drill holes in my roll bar because I use the mounting bar with my hard top on and the hard top uses the holes already there to position the panels in front. I drilled and tapped the holes for the same screws as the freedom top hold-downs (metric). I put a nylon washer between the radio mounting bar and the roll bar to eliminate the possibility of vibration noises. My CB is screwed to the mounting bar and my ham radio remote head is scotch 3M dual lock system tape (similar to Velcro but more secure) to the radio mounting bar. Soon I will have a speaker mounted up there too for the ham radio.
__________________

Participate in life....Keep movin'....Go there....JK'n it.........Do it! Jeep #1: Red Rock 08 JK Rubicon 4dr, 6 sp manual, Stock Mud Tires, MyGIG Upgrade, Hard Top, after sale BestTop SunRider Soft Top, Congo Cage Rack, Mopar slush mats Jeep #2 Black 08 JK Rubicon 2dr, 6 sp manual, both tops, some chrome...uggg (my wife's jeep) Jeep #3 White 92 YJ (my son's jeep) A great quote from a good friend: "All hail click clack and master jk'n." Click and clack are my idols!
jk'n is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-04-2010, 04:12 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Six Lakes, MI
Posts: 462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donyuma View Post
USAntigoon on your cb mounting did you have to put anything on the back side of the mounting area or did you use self tapping screws, is there much vibration
I used some self tapping screws to mount the "C" bracket to the underside of the ARR mount bar. NO vibrations.. Be sure you stuff some extra rags or filler in the mount bar, otherwise the power supply cables might start rattling..
My ARR bar ties into the door surround mount. I have a soft top..
Hope I answered your question..
USAntigoon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-06-2010, 10:30 PM   #21
Newb
 
Donyuma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 5
Thanks to both of you for the help
Donyuma is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2010, 03:00 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
g-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: mountains of SW Virginia
Posts: 20
Send a message via Yahoo to g-man
radio mount

I have a PC78, about the size of a cobra 29. I was having the same questions until my 13yr old helped me. my 04 wrangler is right hand drive with no room for my cb, so I took an oak 2x12, drilled holes in the ends and tied it to the top of the rollbars and put the hard top back on. cb mounted overhead and out of the way.
g-man is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2010, 03:27 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
g-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: mountains of SW Virginia
Posts: 20
Send a message via Yahoo to g-man
cb picture

here is a picture of mine
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMGP2030.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	195.8 KB
ID:	15519  
g-man is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2010, 04:02 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Do ya have any trouble with squirrels ???


Quote:
Originally Posted by g-man View Post
here is a picture of mine
JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2010, 05:42 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
naterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Harvest, AL
Posts: 540
Send a message via AIM to naterg
I removed my air bag selector switch, modified the console some, and stuck it in there, I really like it, but I need to finish it up to cover the rest of the opening. I am thinking a switch plate some time. The mic is mounted using an existing screw in the dash and a regular mic clip.



naterg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2010, 06:39 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
naterg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Harvest, AL
Posts: 540
Send a message via AIM to naterg
Of course, I have a TJ and this is the JK forum... So I guess my post is irrelevant... New Post button and quickly glancing at the thread owns me!
naterg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-08-2010, 07:00 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
inzgary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 249
Send a message via AIM to inzgary
They do have mounting kits on Quadratec: one for the radio mount and one to mount the antenna to the tire carrier. I don't want to do any drilling so I will look into these when I get going on setting mine up.




__________________
"Roads? Where we're going we don't need roads!"
'96 XJ 4.0L, AW4, lots of miles, project Jeep.
'08 JK 3.8L, NSG370, ragtop, daily driver.
inzgary is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hey CB guys...Mounting Locations? s3nt3nc3d Communications and Electronics 17 11-13-2009 07:17 PM
light mounting cab YJ General Discussion Forum 1 09-16-2009 12:57 PM
hi-lift mounting locations jeeps&comics General Jeep Discussion 8 08-22-2007 05:38 PM
cb locations AGRESTI8 Communications and Electronics 16 10-08-2006 10:03 PM
Factory sidestep mounting kit Bad_X TJ Tech Forum 23 08-24-2006 11:04 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC