Celsius vs. Fahrenheit?! - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-25-2011, 11:25 AM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 8
Celsius vs. Fahrenheit?!

Ok, so I've figured out how to change my instrument panel to read fahrenheit instead of celsius, but every time I go to that screen after a restart it reads C again! This isn't a huge problem besides that this is THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and I want to see degrees F every time Any thoughts?

tgreely is offline   Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:40 AM   #2
kik
Jeeper
 
kik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,464
Images: 1
Interesting. Never heard of that problem before where it defaults to C. Maybe it really wants to be Canadian. The only other thing I would consider doing is disconnect your battery for 5-10 minutes and re-connect. That might put you back to normal since re-setting it doesn't seem to be working.

kik is online now   Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:48 AM   #3
Vin
Jeeper
 
Vin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,487
You can ask the dealer to see if they can change it to Fahrenheit as default.
Vin is offline   Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 02:33 PM   #4
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Barmanvarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 5,064
I could have sworn mine did that a few times right after I got it. Then it stopped.

I just figured I was hitting it w/ hand when turning, as has been the case a few times.
__________________
-Brian
2012 Cherry Red JK
TF 2.5 Coils w/ Billstein 5100 Shocks
17x8 Black Rock D-Window Alloys
315/70/17 GY Duratracs
4:56 Gears - LSD in Rear w/ Ten Factory Chromoly Shafts
TF HD Diff Covers
Barmanvarn is offline   Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 05:26 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Belgium...
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgreely View Post
Ok, so I've figured out how to change my instrument panel to read fahrenheit instead of celsius, but every time I go to that screen after a restart it reads C again! This isn't a huge problem besides that this is THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and I want to see degrees F every time Any thoughts?
How to you change it?
I need C and it reads F
Amstaff is offline   Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 05:28 PM   #6
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Barmanvarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 5,064
With temp showing on dash, press "reset" on steering wheel. It works as a toggle.
__________________
-Brian
2012 Cherry Red JK
TF 2.5 Coils w/ Billstein 5100 Shocks
17x8 Black Rock D-Window Alloys
315/70/17 GY Duratracs
4:56 Gears - LSD in Rear w/ Ten Factory Chromoly Shafts
TF HD Diff Covers
Barmanvarn is offline   Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 05:34 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
AntiTrust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: charlottesville
Posts: 505
just double it and add 30... fixed
AntiTrust is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 01:22 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
bamanda2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ft Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 35
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barmanvarn View Post
With temp showing on dash, press "reset" on steering wheel. It works as a toggle.
Thanks that worked!
bamanda2 is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 03:38 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
PRWhitby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NW Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 382
Quote:
Originally Posted by AntiTrust View Post
just double it and add 30... fixed
Does that work for donuts?
__________________
- Paul
PRWhitby is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:22 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Andrstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Ashland, Va
Posts: 115
Where's my Kelvin option?

Poor Kelvin
Andrstein is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:40 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Knuckles65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 1,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by PRWhitby View Post
Does that work for donuts?
Doubt it'll work for donuts...but it should definitely work for BACON!
__________________
2013 Commando Green JK Rubicon
-------------------------------------------------
Remember - sometimes, the advice you get on the Internet is worth exactly what you paid for it!
Knuckles65 is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:41 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrstein View Post
Where's my Kelvin option?

Poor Kelvin
How about a Rankine option?

No one reports temp in °R anymore.
__________________
JKR10A - 2d, 6 speed, black / black
Ordered on 01/24/13
Acquired on 05/03/13
Aeschylus is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 05:43 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
gorillahydrographics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tucson, Az
Posts: 1,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by tgreely View Post
Ok, so I've figured out how to change my instrument panel to read fahrenheit instead of celsius, but every time I go to that screen after a restart it reads C again! This isn't a huge problem besides that this is THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA and I want to see degrees F every time Any thoughts?
I sometimes accidentally hit "RESET" while turning the wheel. It happems alot when I am on the trail.


Once its set on C it stays for me even after turning the jeep off and starting it back up later.
gorillahydrographics is offline   Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:04 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
DJL2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: The center of the universe, NC
Posts: 860
Seems like the best solution is for the US to get off its collective ass and convert to SI units already.

Understand this - it's only a matter of time before all your Jeep rebel. Every Engineer and Engineering Student hates your ridiculous inability to adopt to SI units - and, they build your Jeep.

Other than that, glad you get it fixed. Kelvin are fine, but Celsius is a bit more accessible for day to day use.
DJL2 is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 07:18 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
dpostman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Moncton NB, CAN
Posts: 394
Just rubbing it in

Countries That Do Not Use the Metric System


dpostman is offline   Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:54 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
2five22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrstein View Post
Where's my Kelvin option?

Poor Kelvin

You aren't the only one who wants a Kelvin option. Just don't let Smittybilt build it!

2five22 is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Celsius to fahrenheit and rock rails SpaceOut JK General Discussion Forum 8 05-05-2011 10:05 AM
Celsius to Fahrenheit?? emailj JK Tech Forum 3 05-31-2009 09:59 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:22 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC