Dead spot in accelerator - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-07-2011, 11:49 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Thracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pismo Beach
Posts: 509
Question Dead spot in accelerator

There seems to be a dead spot in the accelerator pedal about 1/4 inch down before the engine responds. Also, it's impossible to hold a rev below 2k RPM. Are these normal? Will an aftermarket computer system fix these?

__________________
lol land rover
Thracks is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 03:39 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
ChaseRedJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 406
I know what your talking about with the accelerator issue, I never thought of it as a dead spot, I just always cuss the sensor because it doesnt seem to accurate. I sometimes have trouble shifting and taking off because of it.

__________________
Chase
2014 JKR - Flame Red - Ordered - 2.10.14
2007 JK - Flame Red - Sold - 2.9.14
ChaseRedJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 03:47 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
If the little RED LIGHTNING icon doesn't light up (left of ESP icon) then your either in to high a gear or you need new shoes !!

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 04:05 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
ChaseRedJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 406
Ive never seen a little red lightening icon
__________________
Chase
2014 JKR - Flame Red - Ordered - 2.10.14
2007 JK - Flame Red - Sold - 2.9.14
ChaseRedJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 04:14 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Then you don't have any trouble-do you ??


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaseRedJK View Post
Ive never seen a little red lightening icon
JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 04:19 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
ChaseRedJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 406
No, he is talking about the accelerator not sensing below a certain point.
__________________
Chase
2014 JKR - Flame Red - Ordered - 2.10.14
2007 JK - Flame Red - Sold - 2.9.14
ChaseRedJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 04:25 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
It's throttle by wire and the accelerator pedal is an Electronic Throttle Control (ETC) and there's a RED LIGHTNING icon that shows as a warning IF ANYTHINGS WRONG --if not--


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaseRedJK View Post
No, he is talking about the accelerator not sensing below a certain point.
Livewithit and read the manual, it explains it !!

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 04:27 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
BuckNutz1070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northridge, Ohio
Posts: 169
I just had a similar issue recently, and when I started to accelerate, and shift into the next gear there was some hesitation, and sputtering. I just replaced the spark plugs, cleaned out the throttle body, which was extremely dirty. Checked air filter. I ended up discovering that the wire to the fifth spark plug was mis-firing. I went ahead and replaced the ignition wires as well. The spark plugs were pretty bad. I will be replacing the distributor cap, and rotor within the next few days. Hope this helps you out some!!
__________________
BuckNutz1070 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 04:48 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: ski slope NJ
Posts: 475
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuckNutz1070 View Post
I just had a similar issue recently, and when I started to accelerate, and shift into the next gear there was some hesitation, and sputtering. I just replaced the spark plugs, cleaned out the throttle body, which was extremely dirty. Checked air filter. I ended up discovering that the wire to the fifth spark plug was mis-firing. I went ahead and replaced the ignition wires as well. The spark plugs were pretty bad. I will be replacing the distributor cap, and rotor within the next few days. Hope this helps you out some!!
how many miles on the plugs you replaced and since you last cleaned throttle body? tks.
navret is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 04:54 PM   #10
Just a kid at heart...

WF Supporting Member
 
seadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Almost where I belong...
Posts: 14,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by navret View Post
how many miles on the plugs you replaced and since you last cleaned throttle body? tks.

He's pulling your chain. JKs don't have rotors and distributer caps.

Just saying...
__________________
Brian



I tried to be good, but I got bored...
seadog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 06:03 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
BuckNutz1070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northridge, Ohio
Posts: 169
I bought my Jeep with 79,000 miles on it, and it now has 83,000. I'm not sure about what the previous owner did in terms of maintenance, but the spark plugs that I took out were Bosch, and I assume that those were not stock plugs. They were in pretty bad shape, and the gaps were off on 2-3 of them. The Platinum plugs call for .035 gap. I put the Auto-Lite Platinum plugs in it. Factory plugs probably around 30,000 miles...and the Platinum plugs probably never...or maybe 100,000. If you change them out...use Dielectric grease inside the boots to prevent them from seizing to the spark plug. I wiped down the mouth of the throttle body, which had a greasy build-up, then sprayed STP throttle body cleaner into the intake while the engine was running for a couple of minutes. Not really sure how often the throttle body should be cleaned. I would just say check it periodically. Maybe when the oil is changed. Get some Seafoam to clean the throttle body out...I didn't have any. I also put a bottle of Lucas fuel injector cleaner into my gas tank. I gotta say that so far...the sputtering has stopped. Hope this helps you out...I am not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination!! Just figured I would start looking at the obvious things.
__________________
BuckNutz1070 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 07:25 PM   #12
Just a kid at heart...

WF Supporting Member
 
seadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Almost where I belong...
Posts: 14,143
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuckNutz1070 View Post
I bought my Jeep with 79,000 miles on it, and it now has 83,000. I'm not sure about what the previous owner did in terms of maintenance, but the spark plugs that I took out were Bosch, and I assume that those were not stock plugs. They were in pretty bad shape, and the gaps were off on 2-3 of them. The Platinum plugs call for .035 gap. I put the Auto-Lite Platinum plugs in it. Factory plugs probably around 30,000 miles...and the Platinum plugs probably never...or maybe 100,000. If you change them out...use Dielectric grease inside the boots to prevent them from seizing to the spark plug. I wiped down the mouth of the throttle body, which had a greasy build-up, then sprayed STP throttle body cleaner into the intake while the engine was running for a couple of minutes. Not really sure how often the throttle body should be cleaned. I would just say check it periodically. Maybe when the oil is changed. Get some Seafoam to clean the throttle body out...I didn't have any. I also put a bottle of Lucas fuel injector cleaner into my gas tank. I gotta say that so far...the sputtering has stopped. Hope this helps you out...I am not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination!! Just figured I would start looking at the obvious things.
And everything you have said is good maintenance practices. Except for the rotor/cap stuff. We don't have them.
__________________
Brian



I tried to be good, but I got bored...
seadog is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 07:43 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
krutj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by seadog View Post
He's pulling your chain. JKs don't have rotors and distributer caps.

Just saying...

Yeah, and he's talking about a TJ....
__________________
____________________

Joel
krutj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 07:48 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
BuckNutz1070's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northridge, Ohio
Posts: 169
My bad...I didn't see where he was referring to a JK. This is my first Jeep, so I guess you learn something new every day. I didn't realize that they didn't have them. Just trying to help out.
__________________
BuckNutz1070 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-09-2011, 08:19 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
krutj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by BuckNutz1070 View Post
My bad...I didn't see where he was referring to a JK. This is my first Jeep, so I guess you learn something new every day. I didn't realize that they didn't have them. Just trying to help out.
No harm, no foul....

And...congrats on your first Jeep!!
__________________
____________________

Joel
krutj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-10-2011, 05:09 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Thracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pismo Beach
Posts: 509
I think we're going a little off track here...

Btw, as ChaseRedJK said, this does affect taking off in a manual.
__________________
lol land rover
Thracks is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-10-2011, 07:14 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 212
I've heard that some of the performance chips/programmers will cure the throttle lag. I've also seen claims from those that installed the Viper TB that it cures throttle lag. I'm not sure if their throttle was as sloppy as yours before they performed their mods.
On older cable-actuated TBs you could test for dead spots with an analog voltmeter. You'd just attach the meter to the TPS and slowly open the throttle. If the needle dipped, you found your dead spot. Anybody tried this on a drive-by-wire TB?
sheetsd66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-11-2011, 10:50 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
ChaseRedJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 406
JimBox.. I understand how it works and agree that nothing is wrong, all I am saying is that sometimes the throttle sensor feels that it needs to be more accurate. I wasn't complaining and I do live with it I was just simply agreeing with previous posts.
__________________
Chase
2014 JKR - Flame Red - Ordered - 2.10.14
2007 JK - Flame Red - Sold - 2.9.14
ChaseRedJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-11-2011, 11:07 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Yea, we've gotta realise that the JK/JKU is unlike ANY JEEPS ever made and I ref the RED LIGHTNING icon (ETC) because I've had it happen several times and if it DELAYS the throttle consistantly, with the ETC icon lit--DEALER TIME


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaseRedJK View Post
JimBox.. I understand how it works and agree that nothing is wrong, all I am saying is that sometimes the throttle sensor feels that it needs to be more accurate. I wasn't complaining and I do live with it I was just simply agreeing with previous posts.
This driving by wire isn't just jeeps, but man what a PITA-I'd love to get the dbbl pumper 4-bbl Carters carbs back and suffer the mileage loss !!

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-11-2011, 05:48 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
krutj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 650
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
Yea, we've gotta realise that the JK/JKU is unlike ANY JEEPS ever made and I ref the RED LIGHTNING icon (ETC) because I've had it happen several times and if it DELAYS the throttle consistantly, with the ETC icon lit--DEALER TIME




This driving by wire isn't just jeeps, but man what a PITA-I'd love to get the dbbl pumper 4-bbl Carters carbs back and suffer the mileage loss !!

JIMBO
Jimbo, you crack me up...most of us aren't pulling down the pensions(yes plural) that you are...

What are you paying for gas in Cali now??
__________________
____________________

Joel
krutj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-11-2011, 05:53 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
-HUH !!


Quote:
Originally Posted by krutj View Post
Jimbo, you crack me up...most of us aren't pulling down the pensions(yes plural) that you are...

What are you paying for gas in Cali now??
Gas, as of today is $3.87 a gallon-

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-11-2011, 07:30 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
krutj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 650
Am I wrong Jimbo? Sorry...
__________________
____________________

Joel
krutj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-11-2011, 07:40 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Heh Heh, don't worry-be happy !!


Quote:
Originally Posted by krutj View Post
Am I wrong Jimbo? Sorry...
Let me put it this way my taxable income is always below $50K-so I keep the 15% tax rate, or so thats the way it's worked before-!!

I just picksem up and laysem down !!

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-11-2011, 07:51 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
krutj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 650
Cool...
__________________
____________________

Joel
krutj is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-13-2011, 03:10 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Thracks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pismo Beach
Posts: 509
Does the Superchips Flashpaq give a more responsive throttle?
__________________
lol land rover
Thracks is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-13-2011, 06:37 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: North Central NM
Posts: 66
Yes, the SuperChips can help with throttle response. I had one for about 3 months (had to sell it to pay for new gears). Took me about a week to get used to the stock response! FWIW, I didn't see the $300+ cost as worth it, but the superchips did have 3 settings - stock, moderate (liked this one) and Superchips (this one was touchy).
There is another option - Sprint Booster that supposedly also can fix this problem. but also about $300.

babiehughie is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dead spot Garner TJ Tech Forum 4 11-05-2010 08:44 AM
Its dead, its not dead...its dead, its not dead!!! chrisb0108 TJ Tech Forum 10 09-15-2010 01:16 PM
SPOT Satellite GPS Messenger purchase Kevin Communications and Electronics 0 06-28-2010 02:59 PM
Rough spot in clutch DarylJHewitt TJ Tech Forum 3 05-30-2009 11:02 PM
No Dead Pedal in 6 speed birdman JK General Discussion Forum 7 03-24-2008 11:51 AM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC