Do I need to reprogram my JK when change tire? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 10-28-2010, 07:32 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Question Do I need to reprogram my JK when change tire?

Hi, I just purchased a new Jeep wrangler sport 2010 yesterday. I want to change tire size from 225/75/16 to 245/75/16. The jeep dealer said I may need to reprogram my car. Do I really need to do it? And I'm looking for good A/T tires. Firestone Destination or Bridgestone Dueler, which one is better?

thanks

tanggod is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-28-2010, 07:35 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
ncossey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Smith, AR
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanggod
Hi, I just purchased a new Jeep wrangler sport 2010 yesterday. I want to change tire size from 225/75/16 to 245/75/16. The jeep dealer said I may need to reprogram my car. Do I really need to do it? And I'm looking for good A/T tires. Firestone Destination or Bridgestone Dueler, which one is better?

thanks
That small of a change might put off your speedo by 1 mph at 70 mph. I would buy a superchips flashpaq just because you can squeeze more power out, and recalibrate if you need too.

__________________
There are very few vehicles that can be defined as "made for offroad". Unfortunately, the Wrangler can definitely be defined as "made for offroad" by its inability to handle well on road
ncossey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-28-2010, 07:49 PM   #3
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,199
I'm not sure about your car, but if you change tire sizes on your Jeep you should get your speedometer re-calibrated.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-28-2010, 08:40 PM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by ncossey View Post
That small of a change might put off your speedo by 1 mph at 70 mph. I would buy a superchips flashpaq just because you can squeeze more power out, and recalibrate if you need too.
I checked some website that tire size from 29.3 to 30.5. even 0.4 inch different ((30.5-29.3)/2), I still need to buy a superchips?
thanks
tanggod is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-28-2010, 09:10 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
ncossey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Smith, AR
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanggod

I checked some website that tire size from 29.3 to 30.5. even 0.4 inch different ((30.5-29.3)/2), I still need to buy a superchips?
thanks
Ive said it once and ill say it again, Recal your Jeep, it keeps it honest.
__________________
There are very few vehicles that can be defined as "made for offroad". Unfortunately, the Wrangler can definitely be defined as "made for offroad" by its inability to handle well on road
ncossey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-28-2010, 09:56 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Upstate/Eastern NY
Posts: 1,960
Send a message via AIM to thaduke2003
Yes, you should get a Superchips. Besides the recalibration, it'll pay for itself in fuel economy gains.

Also, go with the Firestone. MUCH better than the Duelers- Mark W.
thaduke2003 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-29-2010, 12:36 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
ncossey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Smith, AR
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaduke2003
Yes, you should get a Superchips. Besides the recalibration, it'll pay for itself in fuel economy gains.

Also, go with the Firestone. MUCH better than the Duelers- Mark W.
Not trying to argue with you mark but i had the destination ats and i really believe the nittos clean better than any at out there. Plus they are 10ply which does alot for confidence when you are aired down to 12-15 psi.
__________________
There are very few vehicles that can be defined as "made for offroad". Unfortunately, the Wrangler can definitely be defined as "made for offroad" by its inability to handle well on road
ncossey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-29-2010, 06:34 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Upstate/Eastern NY
Posts: 1,960
Send a message via AIM to thaduke2003
^ He asked between Bridgestone Dueler's and Firestone Destination's, A, and B, a 245/75/16 put on a Wrangler sure as heck shouldn't be D or E-load rated. It'll probably still be P-metric- Mark W.
thaduke2003 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-29-2010, 06:40 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 268
Yes you do need to reprogram, I have a 2010 Mountain with 32 in tires stock from the factory. When I hooked my programmer up for the first time the jeeps computer was programmed with as if my vehicle had 27 inch tires. I called my jeep dealer and they explained that all jeeps leave the factory with the computer set at 27 inch tires because jeep his hoping that the service techs reprogram the computers when they are first serviced.
But this seldom happens and if you ask for it done they charge $90.00. The service tech then explained that several minor atlas of the jeeps performance will improve if the vehicles is reprogrammed with the proper size tires.
Robd225 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-29-2010, 06:42 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
If you want a Superchips tuner for all it's features then spend the $300 for one. For the 1 MPH difference on your speedo, no, that is ridiculous.
Jollydodger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-29-2010, 06:52 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Upstate/Eastern NY
Posts: 1,960
Send a message via AIM to thaduke2003
^ It's not that they expect it to be done at the first service- it's supposed to be done as part of the PDI, but doesn't always get done. Also, they shouldn't charge you an hour for something that's supposed to have been done in the first place.

As for Jolly, it's not ridiculous. It WILL pay for itself in fuel savings in under a year if you drive enough. I saw a 1.5 MPG LEGIT, pump-measured difference in fuel economy. The wifey's (the less-modded sucker) saw even greater gains. With a Jeep, that's HUGE! Thinking only in terms of short-term cost, sure, it may not be great, but anything driven more than a few thousand miles before being re-sold WILL recover the initial investment easily- Mark W.
thaduke2003 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-29-2010, 11:23 AM   #12
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks, my frineds.
tanggod is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-29-2010, 11:40 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
If you get the AEV Procal module, it can disable your TPMS, recallibrate your speedo-and many other functions--about $130 bucks

Works very well !!

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-29-2010, 02:36 PM   #14
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
If you get the AEV Procal module, it can disable your TPMS, recallibrate your speedo-and many other functions--about $130 bucks

Works very well !!

JIMBO
thanks.
AEV ProCal Module OR JEEP flashpaq, which ONE is better? what's different?
tanggod is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-29-2010, 02:55 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
You'll probably have to go by advertisements, unless someone who's had both can offer comparisons


Quote:
Originally Posted by tanggod View Post
thanks.
AEV ProCal Module OR JEEP flashpaq, which ONE is better? what's different?
I've only had the Procal-it was all I needed !!

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-29-2010, 08:22 PM   #16
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
dustyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 136
I just ordered the ProCal and my friend is already ragging me that I should have got the superchip. He couldn't really tell me "why". I've read good things about both.
dustyc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-30-2010, 09:50 AM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Upstate/Eastern NY
Posts: 1,960
Send a message via AIM to thaduke2003
^ The Procal doesn't do anything for ignition timing or throttle response. That's how the Superchips pays for itself, then starts paying you back Mark W.
thaduke2003 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-30-2010, 10:33 AM   #18
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
dustyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: West Tennessee
Posts: 136
I have been reading that about the Superchip. Maybe I should rethink before they ship mine.
dustyc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-30-2010, 10:34 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
ncossey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Fort Smith, AR
Posts: 1,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by thaduke2003
^ The Procal doesn't do anything for ignition timing or throttle response. That's how the Superchips pays for itself, then starts paying you back Mark W.
Mark do you run the 91 octane setting on yours? I currently am but i have the option of 93 octane fuel here so i am thinking about running the 93 octane setting, any thoughts?
__________________
There are very few vehicles that can be defined as "made for offroad". Unfortunately, the Wrangler can definitely be defined as "made for offroad" by its inability to handle well on road
ncossey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-30-2010, 12:53 PM   #20
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,495
Interesting stuff here I'll share mine too. I bought a 2010 JK with 225/75/16 tires on it then went to 245/75/16 with no calibration. Didn't notice any difference on the speedo but I only had my GPS to compare too. Now, I just got 255/75/17 on and the dealer (who is a jeep dealer) told me that reprogramming wasn't necessary on the JKs with a manual transmission for this size. Now my Jeep is ridding on what comes standard on most. It has 32.1" tires. Any truth to what the dealer was saying about not needing to do anything because of this size and that mine is a manual tranny?
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-30-2010, 12:58 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Upstate/Eastern NY
Posts: 1,960
Send a message via AIM to thaduke2003
I run the 87 octane on mine. We have 93 up here in NY, but after 3 tanks, my average gain was about 1/4 MPG; not enough to justify the cost of higher octane. The 3.8 just doesn't push enough compression to really gain from higher octane.

ESP, that's bollocks. You should adjust your speedo for any tire size change. The dealership may mean you don't need a programmer, as that is a factory size, so they can do it. That'd be my guess- Mark W.
thaduke2003 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-30-2010, 11:48 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 268
My dealer told me that all jeeps come programmed with the tires set at the basic stocks of 27 inches, my mountain came with 32 in tires and when I hooked my programmer up for the first time the tires were set at 27.
Robd225 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-30-2010, 11:55 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
Jetmech1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by tanggod View Post
Hi, I just purchased a new Jeep wrangler sport 2010 yesterday. I want to change tire size from 225/75/16 to 245/75/16. The jeep dealer said I may need to reprogram my car. Do I really need to do it? And I'm looking for good A/T tires. Firestone Destination or Bridgestone Dueler, which one is better?

thanks
No, you don't need to reprogram. Spend the money and get the BFG's or Goodyears.
Jetmech1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-31-2010, 12:37 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 91
If you haven't had the recall done yet for the transmission fluid temperature warning I would wait till you schedule that. I put on larger tires then went in for the recall. I had the dealer flash the computer for the bigger tires and they only charged 19.00 instead of 90 because it was there for the recall service.
UnJKlimited is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-06-2010, 06:49 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: The Pacific Northwest
Posts: 356
Images: 21
I wish I had seen this thread last week before I drove 22 miles to get my computer flashed for the Transmission Fluid recall. Turns out, the dang thing was already done!! And had I known about tire sizes and computer flashing, I would have asked the dealership where I bought the Jeep to ensure it was done prior to signing the dotted line.


As for auto vs manual, I am no expert. But, when I went from 17/18 on my Vette to 18/19 combo, I didnt need to adjust for the difference with a manual. I think the same is true for changing gears, only if it is a manual. Auto needs recalculating.
JackdUp is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-09-2010, 11:56 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
ChaseRedJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 403
The tire place just re-calibrated mine for me when they mounted my 33s.. or so they said they did. haha
__________________
Chase
2014 JKR - Flame Red - Ordered - 2.10.14
2007 JK - Flame Red - Sold - 2.9.14
ChaseRedJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-09-2010, 08:05 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Upstate/Eastern NY
Posts: 1,960
Send a message via AIM to thaduke2003
^ I'd be willing to bet money that they're lying- sorry to say... Mark W.
thaduke2003 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-10-2010, 08:26 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChaseRedJK View Post
The tire place just re-calibrated mine for me when they mounted my 33s.. or so they said they did. haha
If you care you might want to ask how they did it. The only ways I know to get this done is by the dealer with the right equipment or something like Superchips programmer that reprograms the ECU. I doubt a "tire place" has the right programmer for every car, truck, SUV.

Jollydodger is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Tags
change tire

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spare Tire Questions andreafahy01 YJ General Discussion Forum 36 04-27-2010 08:19 AM
(potentially dumb) question about tire pressure AbbyK9 TJ General Discussion Forum 10 04-23-2010 11:55 AM
Tire Pressure - Remedial Review innocent bystander TJ General Discussion Forum 22 03-27-2009 10:24 AM
Tire cover question! ScottyWantsWrangler TJ General Discussion Forum 0 03-22-2009 05:45 PM
Spare Tire Departure Angle osbornl1 TJ General Discussion Forum 3 02-27-2008 01:59 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC