Found: Chrysler OEM Navi units on Woot - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-04-2013, 10:29 PM   #31
Jeeper
 
woansleftpeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus T. Firefly View Post
The antennae adapter comes with it. Double check the packaging it came in. It came with mine. Also, you may need to cut the frame that held in original head unit. That stopped me last weekend. I couldn't get anything near it to cut it or get the thing out to cut it. I picked up a cheap high speed saw to attach to my compressor from Harbor Freight. If that doesn't get it, I quit. I have a 2010 JKU.
You don't need to cut it, it easily comes out in one piece if you remove the two bolts at the top that hold it in place.

woansleftpeg is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 09:11 AM   #32
Jeeper
 
Rufus T. Firefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marshfield, MA
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by woansleftpeg View Post
You don't need to cut it, it easily comes out in one piece if you remove the two bolts at the top that hold it in place.
Not in my 2010. The two 7mm top bolts were removed. The two 8mm bolts on the lower front of it were removed. The plastic clips attached to it were cut. The bales of cabling held by the aforementioned plastic clips prevented any sort of maneuvering of the frame. Believe me I tried. It was chore to remove the 8mm bolts due to the tight quarters.
I did see a video where it came out easily but for a different model year. So cutting it is.

Rufus T. Firefly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 08:22 PM   #33
This space for rent

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 23,044
W00t! I finally got my head unit installed (I found a couple of crossed wires so that's why I wasn't getting any sound out of the right side)

When I spread everythng out it was a little overwhelming but I just took it one step at a time. I wasn't planning on doing a write-up but thought I'd pass on my lessons learned.

To start out, you need to put together your wiring harness. Don't even bother removing your old head unit yet since the harness will take you a while.

The connections were pretty straight forward and all but a couple of wires are labeled. There are a couple of things I had to work out though. Thanks to otaku30 for the exploded wiring diagram, it came in handy.

The brand of my CTHO-03 harness is Axxess, but other brands should be the same.

Here are a few of my lessons learned:

1. The instructions talk about THE ignition power wire and THE ground wire but there were 2 of each so I combined them when attaching. Make sure you don't confuse the battery power wire with the ignition power wire.

2. You are right Rufas, the antenna pig-tail included in the kit is the correct one. I had to violate the #1 cardinal rule in electronics installation to make the connection: I forced it together. I was expecting a standard fit but it was really tight.

3. Thanks to the information from woansleftpeg and Rufas T. Firefly on the bracket. My rig is an '07 and it was a bee-otch but it finally came out. I removed the 4 bolts and cut the pegs securing the wiring harnesses. I had to remove a couple of extra screws from surrounding attachments and was able to work it out. It came out, but the word easy would not describe the operation.

4. I never use a hard top so I routed the GPS antenna up the A-pillar, across the roll bar and attached the "puck" on the roll par cross member just behind the driver's seat, under the padding. The GPS is working great for now, hopefully there will be no signal degradation when I put the soft top up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4243.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	192.8 KB
ID:	245607   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4245.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	220.1 KB
ID:	245608  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4247.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	221.2 KB
ID:	245609   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4265.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	221.9 KB
ID:	245625  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4267.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	221.9 KB
ID:	245626  
Beastmaster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 09:26 PM   #34
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
scottmphoto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Rhododendron, OR
Posts: 836
Looks great!! How is the sound and stuff?
__________________
Check out my blog - Offroadvegan!

2013 Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited Billet "Frank the Tank"

“The Jeep is America’s only real sports car.” - E. Ferrari
scottmphoto is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 09:37 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
truthiness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 305
how much was this on sale for?
truthiness is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 09:45 PM   #36
This space for rent

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 23,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottmphoto View Post
Looks great!! How is the sound and stuff?
Awsome.

I was a little disappointed in the volume until I noticed it could be adjusted on the amplifier interface unit.

After the install and adjusting the volume, I just sat in my Jeep listening to the radio. I had forgotten how nice it is to have a good stereo.
Beastmaster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 09:50 PM   #37
This space for rent

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 23,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by truthiness View Post
how much was this on sale for?
It was $270 on W00t but they are sold out.

I see they are for sale from Sonic Electronics for $300 now.

Metra MFK-6511-XSVI-1 Chrysler MultiFit Multimedia Car Stereo Kit
Beastmaster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 10:00 PM   #38
Jeeper
 
Rufus T. Firefly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Marshfield, MA
Posts: 78
Nice to see it installed! Unfortunately I couldn't install mine today. Work interrupted my day off. Although I got the harness assembled between work issues.

Looks good!
Rufus T. Firefly is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 10:13 PM   #39
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Phoenix
Posts: 298
Looking for some feedback on interface quality. I currently have the Pioneer Appradio 2 and its ok. Love the interface, just lacking in features (like Bluetooth mute on screen, have to use phone).

You happy with it or is it cheap looking?
__________________
2012 JKU Sport Silver - Max Tow, Trac-Lok LSD, Auto, Sport S package, Hardtop.

MODS: See garage, bunch of fun stuff underway.
BacaraJKU is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 10:50 PM   #40
This space for rent

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 23,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by BacaraJKU View Post
Looking for some feedback on interface quality. I currently have the Pioneer Appradio 2 and its ok. Love the interface, just lacking in features (like Bluetooth mute on screen, have to use phone).

You happy with it or is it cheap looking?
I'm happy with it but then I've never had a touch screen in any of my vehicles before. It definately has lots of features.
Beastmaster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 04:39 AM   #41
TOK
Jeeper
 
TOK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastmaster View Post
4. I never use a hard top so I routed the GPS antenna up the A-pillar, across the roll bar and attached the "puck" on the roll par cross member just behind the driver's seat, under the padding. The GPS is working great for now, hopefully there will be no signal degradation when I put the soft top up.
Very nice write up! Unless I'm mistaken about the GPS antenna, they need line of sight. I think you're going to lose satellite connection when its covered by the top.

Maybe worth experimenting with it before you depend on it to get ya somewhere! My wife can't read a map, so I love having my windshield mounted Garmin with me.
TOK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 07:11 AM   #42
Jeeper
 
bbd08unlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 79
I'm curious about how the touch screen works. Can someone post a video going through the features and menus and maybe a short clip of the navigation in action.
bbd08unlimited is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 08:03 AM   #43
Jeeper
 
Mr.Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 370
The GPS works fine through the top. It is fiberglass, GPS antennas only have trouble when shielded by metal. From the factory, the GPS antenna is located on top of the soundbar under the padding. so you should be fine with the location. That radio looks great.
Mr.Dave is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 11:22 AM   #44
This space for rent

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 23,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbd08unlimited View Post
I'm curious about how the touch screen works. Can someone post a video going through the features and menus and maybe a short clip of the navigation in action.
Here's a Youtube video, it's mostly for sales but it shows a little of the screen:

Beastmaster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 11:57 AM   #45
This space for rent

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 23,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Dave View Post
The GPS works fine through the top. It is fiberglass, GPS antennas only have trouble when shielded by metal. From the factory, the GPS antenna is located on top of the soundbar under the padding. so you should be fine with the location. That radio looks great.
Thanks for the info, that's where I put my puck and so far, so good. I'll check it out the next time I put up my soft top but think it will be okay.
Beastmaster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 02:20 PM   #46
Jeeper
 
bbd08unlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastmaster View Post

Here's a Youtube video, it's mostly for sales but it shows a little of the screen:

Thanks I've watched already and didn't find it very informative on how intuitive the device actually was. Now I'm realistic I don't expect it to be as nice as a $1000 plus navi unit. But I'm a bit of a techno but so there are some nuances I may not be able to get past. Hence why I'd like to really see it in action
bbd08unlimited is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-17-2013, 06:16 PM   #47
Newb
 
ScottyHue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Orange County CA
Posts: 7
Beastmaster,

Did you notice the little yellow tab across the top of the Metra Aftermarket Radio that says "Warning: Replace this tab with 15mm tinfoil paper." Is that crucial? It would seem so...
ScottyHue is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-17-2013, 06:27 PM   #48
This space for rent

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 23,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottyHue View Post
Beastmaster,

Did you notice the little yellow tab across the top of the Metra Aftermarket Radio that says "Warning: Replace this tab with 15mm tinfoil paper." Is that crucial? It would seem so...
I sent you a PM but figured I'd post here for other folks to see as well.

Yes, you have to take the 2 screws out that hold the warning tab. If you don't take them out, you can't play any CDs or DVDs. I have some aluminium tape so yes, I covered the holes with it. I would assume you could use something else but just make sure it is something that can withstand the heat from the unit and from the sun beating down on the cover.

Hope this helps.
Beastmaster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2013, 04:40 PM   #49
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Big Fran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NE Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 934
I just installed this unit in my Jeep today. Everything works well but I cant get the bluetooth part of the radio to go into "PAIR" mode. Can anyone with this unit tell me how they did it?
__________________
2013 Jeep JKU Sport S white auto 3.73, lifted on 35's
2003 Jeep TJ Silver 4.0L, Auto, 5.13 G2 D44's on 35's
1998 Jeep TJ Sahara Black 4.0L 5-Speed, Replacing the frame
1997 "GI" Jeep TJ OD Green 2.5L, 5-Speed, lifted on 33's
Big Fran is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-06-2013, 08:46 PM   #50
This space for rent

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 23,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Fran View Post
I just installed this unit in my Jeep today. Everything works well but I cant get the bluetooth part of the radio to go into "PAIR" mode. Can anyone with this unit tell me how they did it?
Sorry, I run doorless/topless 90% of the time so never tried this function. I'll post to keep this at the top so hopefully someone can chime in with help.
Beastmaster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2013, 09:30 PM   #51
Newb
 
ScottyHue's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Orange County CA
Posts: 7
What sort of phone do you use? I ran into trouble when pairing, but quickly fixed by entering pass code into the phone found in the radio manual..
ScottyHue is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2013, 09:44 PM   #52
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Big Fran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: NE Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 934
I need to take mine back out and send it to their service place. I spoke with them on the phone and the Bluetooth icon should turn from blue to another color when it tries to pair and mine just stays blue. They are going to put a new Bluetooth part in it.
__________________
2013 Jeep JKU Sport S white auto 3.73, lifted on 35's
2003 Jeep TJ Silver 4.0L, Auto, 5.13 G2 D44's on 35's
1998 Jeep TJ Sahara Black 4.0L 5-Speed, Replacing the frame
1997 "GI" Jeep TJ OD Green 2.5L, 5-Speed, lifted on 33's
Big Fran is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-15-2013, 11:35 PM   #53
Commercial Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Olsen185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 492
How does it compare to the stock navi units?
__________________
www.AngryOffRoad.com
Custom Paracord Grab Handles
Custom Wrangler iPad Stereo Dash Mounts for sale (11-14)
Olsen185 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-16-2013, 09:41 AM   #54
This space for rent

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 23,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Fran View Post
I need to take mine back out and send it to their service place. I spoke with them on the phone and the Bluetooth icon should turn from blue to another color when it tries to pair and mine just stays blue. They are going to put a new Bluetooth part in it.
Sorry to hear that, hope the turn-around is not too long.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Olsen185 View Post
How does it compare to the stock navi units?
I'll have to let someone else answer this. I didn't have a stock nav, I was using a Tom Tom mounted to the dash. I can tell you though, it looks like the nav on this costs $70 to update the maps (I just did a quick check on their web site). It's run off a micro SD card and the nav screen says to go to this web site for support: Horizon Navigation | Home
Beastmaster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-17-2013, 07:55 AM   #55
Jeeper
 
Mr.Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 370
That is the only problem with in-dash units...upgrading the maps. There has to be some free stuff out there somewhere
Mr.Dave is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-17-2013, 09:56 AM   #56
This space for rent

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 23,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Dave View Post
That is the only problem with in-dash units...upgrading the maps. There has to be some free stuff out there somewhere
I'll keep looking
Beastmaster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-11-2013, 03:25 PM   #57
This space for rent

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 23,044
Hi guys, I just wanted to update everyone on this head unit.

Okay, its 6 months after I installed it and I'm rather disapointed in it. About a month ago, it would randomly think I was trying to access a nav feature (I am guessing) because the radio would shut off and I would get a message on the screen "Attention: This feature is not available while driving". I have to press the radio button to clear it. It has become more and more frequent and is a real pain in the butt.
I have tried to trouble shoot it without taking the unit out. It doesen't seem to be effected more or less by heat or cold, driving or parked. At first I thought it was a loose wire, but one time it happened while in my driveway. I also thought it might be caused by the heater so I drove to work cold one morning and it still did it.

I couldn't find the post (I'll look again) but someone said they jumpered one of the connections so the unit never knows when its driving so maybe I'll try that.

At this point, I wouldn't recommend anyone but a Metra head unit no matter how good the price is.
Beastmaster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-11-2013, 05:24 PM   #58
Jeeper
 
Y-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tri-Cities, WA
Posts: 865
Beast thanks for the update, often you never hear how these type of deals work out over time. I've been a long time Woot! buyer but I've found if its off brand it carries a fair amount of risk, but I appreciate you're follow up on this project.
__________________
2011 JKU Sahara; Sahara Tan, Leather, 3.73, Auto, Hard/Soft Top, SpiderWebShade, Dead Pedal, Skid Row Foot Pegs
Y-Guy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-24-2014, 01:05 PM   #59
This space for rent

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 23,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Y-Guy View Post
Beast thanks for the update, often you never hear how these type of deals work out over time. I've been a long time Woot! buyer but I've found if its off brand it carries a fair amount of risk, but I appreciate you're follow up on this project.
Thanks, here is my most recent update.

I finally got around to pulling the head unit out. I can’t believe I procrastinated so long, it was only a 20-30 minute job. My theory from troubleshooting was that some connection in the back of the radio was loose and/or making contact with something.
When I installed it, I enabled all features available regardless if I thought I would be using them. I had a wire with I-pod and MP3 player plugs I had routed to the glove box. There were also pigtail connections for various input and output items (video, audio, etc. that were attached to the back of the unit.
I disconnected the wires to the glove box and removed the pig tails as much as I could (a couple were wired into the main wiring harness) and viola! Problem solved.

I just did this over the weekend but for the past couple of days I’ve had no problems.

The bottom line is that with the extra wires and connections to the back of the unit, one or more was intermittently shorting out. I guess this is not the best head unit for a Jeep that will be bouncing off road, at least not with the additional connections.

I guess you can say this subject is now closed.
Beastmaster is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-25-2014, 03:12 PM   #60
Jeeper
 
Mr.Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 370
So a couple of loose ends were touching and shorting out? otherwise it is a semi good unit?

Mr.Dave is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC