G.E.A.R. Overhead Console - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-04-2014, 12:31 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
G.E.A.R. Overhead Console

Just installed one of these Smittybilt 5666031 - Smittybilt G.E.A.R. Overhead Console for 07-13 Jeep® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK - Quadratec# in my 2013 Wrangler Unlimited Sahara with the Freedom top, have to say its pretty awesome. Easy install, although I do have to modify my freedom top a tad to accommodate it. Need to take off the driver side middle latch for it to fit. Too make a my top a tight fit I plan on putting a easily removable bolt through the console support panel into the spot the latch was bolted onto, should make the top nice and tight. I'll try to post some pictures of it later today.

TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-04-2014, 10:30 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Ajax333333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 421
I would love to see this.... Thinking about getting one

Ajax333333 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-04-2014, 10:45 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Gellys1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Oak Harbor, Wa
Posts: 41
Images: 2
I would love to see how you did it. I want one but saw they are only for softtops.
Gellys1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2014, 09:41 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 67
I had one in my TJ, nice place to put sunglasses, winch controller, flashlight and multi-tool..... curious how you make it work with a hardtop. Please keep us posted.
kernsy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-05-2014, 02:56 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
Finally got it all finished up last night, too dark to take pics of it. I removed the driver side middle hold down, and used a #8x 1.25 35mm bolt in its place. Had to drill a hole in the console support to do it. So to take off my hardtop all I have to do is remove the one bolt with an allen wrench I keep in one of the pouches, adds maybe 30 seconds to my hard top removal.
TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-06-2014, 06:47 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
Here are some pics of it installed plus a pic of the bolt I used to replace the drivers side middle latch. Also installed the tailgate storage. As far as blocking my rear mirror, I'm 5'7" and have had no issues with visibility.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-514409503.jpg
Views:	252
Size:	128.0 KB
ID:	842826   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2910156918.jpg
Views:	204
Size:	105.4 KB
ID:	842834  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1908097429.jpg
Views:	206
Size:	118.0 KB
ID:	842842   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2430114763.jpg
Views:	189
Size:	135.6 KB
ID:	842850  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2868743207.jpg
Views:	183
Size:	206.1 KB
ID:	842866  
TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-06-2014, 08:50 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
suvarov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 16
Cool
suvarov is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2014, 08:48 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
I replaced the bolt I was using with a M8 x 1.25 by 30 mm wing bolt with a handle to make it easier to remove to take the top off. Works great.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-646752330.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	208.7 KB
ID:	937170  
TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-31-2014, 11:15 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
DNasty777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 76
Is it centered overhead or is it offset towards the driver side?
__________________
'14 JKU Anvil Willys Wheeler

-Dave
DNasty777 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2014, 04:51 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
It is perfectly centered overhead, it may look a little off center in my last pics due to the fact my sunglasses pouch is a loop over from center to accommodate the bolt. So far I love it, plus it doesn't obstruct my rear view mirror.
TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2014, 06:26 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
spudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxTechChuck4 View Post
I replaced the bolt I was using with a M8 x 1.25 by 30 mm wing bolt with a handle to make it easier to remove to take the top off. Works great.
I'd love to do a very similar setup here - but run hard top 'full time' with exception to the freedom panels - any further insight into how you did this would be helpful, as I'm not quite seeing the link between the wingbolt and existing latch on the freedom panels.

How do the two 'interface' together?
spudley is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-01-2014, 10:47 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
Wing bolt takes the place of the latch all together, instead of a latch I just unscrew that one wing bolt, all the other latches remain the same. Adds 30 more seconds to the freedom top removal.
TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 05:26 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Loki9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 140
Thanks for the thread, would like to do this with mine.
Loki9 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 09:21 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
No problem, I can take some better pics for ya'll if you want or if you have any more questions holler. I know when I first was looking at if this would work on a hard top there were few resources to go off of. I know one of the bigger complaints with the earlier models of the GEAR system was that it was offcenter when installed. I guess they modified the design as it is dead center on mine. Takes about 30 minutes to install if that. Very simple.
TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-02-2014, 06:01 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
spudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Edmonton AB
Posts: 102
I'd love to see other pics of your wing nut assembly & how it ends up working - your footman loop is still there right? - I'm probably not getting it because I haven't even been inside my jeep for a month (weather & work) to sit and figure out how you've done the locking mechanism.
spudley is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-06-2014, 12:58 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
Foot mans loop is replaced by the bracket for the overhead panel, I drilled a hole through the panel and unscrewed and removed the middle latch on the driver side freedom panel. The wing bolt goes through the panel allowing me to tighten the panels down effectively replacing the latch all together
TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-08-2014, 12:55 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
roberthleeii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 719
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxTechChuck4 View Post
Foot mans loop is replaced by the bracket for the overhead panel, I drilled a hole through the panel and unscrewed and removed the middle latch on the driver side freedom panel. The wing bolt goes through the panel allowing me to tighten the panels down effectively replacing the latch all together
First of all thanks for posting this I really want one of these.

How did you remove the latch on the freedom panel? It can be returned to normal if needed?
__________________
-Lee

'14 JKU Ozzy
'88 YJ <-> sold a long time ago, favorite vehicle ever.
roberthleeii is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2014, 10:46 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
All you need to do to remove the latch is get the right sized bit and unscrew the bolt, to put it back on just screw it back in, super simple.
TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2014, 11:20 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
roberthleeii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 719
oh... I see. I am I the car now and it looks like the latch just spins around the bolt.
__________________
-Lee

'14 JKU Ozzy
'88 YJ <-> sold a long time ago, favorite vehicle ever.
roberthleeii is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2014, 11:39 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
It does but the bolt unscrews, there are threads in the roof
TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2014, 12:24 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Charcoal2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Slidell,La
Posts: 175
I have a 2010 with hardtop. I simply opened up the tops, used 4 heavy duty zip ties and voila! Didn't remove footman loop, doesn't interfere with removal of top or view in rear view. Don't have pics right now as I'm overseas. But it's super simple and doesn't look rigged. Looks good and holds tons of stuff. I might relocate my CB to it as well.
__________________
2010 JK Unlimited Sport
2.5" Teraflex Lift kit with shocks
33" BFG Rugged Terrains

Bumpers and Fenders next...
Charcoal2010 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2014, 01:56 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
roberthleeii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 719
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charcoal2010 View Post
I have a 2010 with hardtop. I simply opened up the tops, used 4 heavy duty zip ties and voila! Didn't remove footman loop, doesn't interfere with removal of top or view in rear view. Don't have pics right now as I'm overseas. But it's super simple and doesn't look rigged. Looks good and holds tons of stuff. I might relocate my CB to it as well.
I can't wait to see your pictures of this set up. Is your hard top the one where the driver's panel latches to the passenger panel or to the footman loop?
__________________
-Lee

'14 JKU Ozzy
'88 YJ <-> sold a long time ago, favorite vehicle ever.
roberthleeii is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2014, 03:07 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
CBTmedic00's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 67
I like that setup Chuck. Looks Tits!
CBTmedic00 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2014, 04:37 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
2013 Moab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Sullivan Cnty, NY
Posts: 841
subscribed
2013 Moab is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-09-2014, 05:51 PM   #25
Jeeper
 
roberthleeii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 719
Quote:
Originally Posted by TxTechChuck4 View Post
I replaced the bolt I was using with a M8 x 1.25 by 30 mm wing bolt with a handle to make it easier to remove to take the top off. Works great.
Two more questions:
First when I was looking at my top today I noticed that the footman loop is off center does the concole take this in to account or is it off center as well?

Second are you able to hid the wing boltunder the pouches?
__________________
-Lee

'14 JKU Ozzy
'88 YJ <-> sold a long time ago, favorite vehicle ever.
roberthleeii is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-14-2014, 04:51 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
Yes, the frontman loop is off center but the mounting bracket that takes its place accounts for that so it is perfectly centered. I know that was the biggest complain in the older models of the overhead mounting but I guess smittybuilt listened and fixed the issue.
TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-14-2014, 04:52 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
And you could hide the bolt but it might be a pain to keep taking the pouch off to remove the hard top.
TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-14-2014, 05:42 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
roberthleeii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 719
All right, one late question. I was showing my cousin the jeep and before I even brought it up he said I should get something exactly like this console with out even knowing of the product so I figure I really need to buy one, but I was looking at the area that would be where the rear of the console would sit and it looked like there was little to no room between the roll bar and top panels. Is this a problem?
__________________
-Lee

'14 JKU Ozzy
'88 YJ <-> sold a long time ago, favorite vehicle ever.
roberthleeii is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-14-2014, 05:49 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
roberthleeii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Houston
Posts: 719
Ha.... I lied when I said that was my last question. Can you reinstall the footman loop and freedom latch to make it "stock" fairly easy if needed?
__________________
-Lee

'14 JKU Ozzy
'88 YJ <-> sold a long time ago, favorite vehicle ever.
roberthleeii is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-15-2014, 11:55 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 24
Nope no problem installing between roll bar and top panels, you have to take the panels off for the initial install. You can also reinstall the latch and footman loop in a matter of 3 bolts. All in all it took longer to attach the pouches than the actual install, 20 minutes if that.

TxTechChuck4 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC