Head Unit won't turn on anymore?? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-12-2011, 08:57 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 523
Head Unit won't turn on anymore??

So I replaced my factory head unit and speakers with some aftermarket products back in Feb.

All has gone well, and in March I added a small 8'' powered subwoofer under the passenger seat to round out the sound.

Well today I park my car, turn off the ignition, and continue to sit in my car without opening any doors. The stereo continues to play for 30 seconds or whatever and then turns off like normal.

When I go to start my car up 5-10 minutes later, the head unit won't come on? I have no idea why. The power light to my subwoofer doesn't come on either.

When I press the eject button on the head unit, it does light up and display "eject" for a second, but that's the extent of it showing life. I tried resetting it and everything to no avail...

I don't know if it's a blown fuse, the power wire to the head unit came loose from the harness, or an issue with the woofer.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot!

BlackMountain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-12-2011, 10:07 PM   #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
the Kolector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 2,579
HHHHmmmm. I would say to check the connections behind the head unit and any inline fuses that might be there as well.

__________________
You Are The Result of 3.8 Billion Years of Evolutionary Success. Act Like It.
the Kolector is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 07:20 AM   #3
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,707
Did you use a conversion harness to install your head unit (a little box that wires in between the factory harness and your new head unit)? I've heard of trouble with those boxes. I used one from Crutchfield when I did mine and have been keeping my fingers crossed.
__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 07:26 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 523
yea i used the PAC harness that came with a little blue box that I had to stuff behind the head unit. you think that could be the problem?

i can't remember if there was some sort of fuse attached to the harness as well? i figured if it was a blown fuse, i wouldn't be getting any kind of power to the head unit so when i press the "eject" button the head unit wouldn't be lighting up for a second. maybe i'm wrong about that..
BlackMountain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 07:39 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 523

This is the harness I used. Do those little black boxes off the actual harnesses contain fuses?
BlackMountain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 07:50 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
jrohan07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 537
Hey BlackMountain, mine did the same thing when I added a cheap all in one sub.
Try removing the sub remote power wire (blue one from the sub and see if your Head Unit will power on. If not then it probably shorted (the sub) the PAC harness.
I went with a seperate amp and Rockford Fosgate 12' sub and sealed box.
Head Unit and sub have not missed a beat since.
jrohan07 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 07:58 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 523
wait, so your sub shorted and your harness was fine?

if I remove the blue wire, do i have to manually turn the sub on and off?
BlackMountain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 08:07 AM   #8
Official WF thread de-railer
 
Mr. Sinister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Fair Hill, Maryland
Posts: 3,707
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackMountain View Post

This is the harness I used. Do those little black boxes off the actual harnesses contain fuses?
Yup, same one I used. Google will return several reports of them fizzling out. Your sub taking a crap shouldn't affect your head unit, though. Try disconnecting it first, then see if the head unit will power.
Your best bet would probably be what you just said. Run a switch and turn it off and on manually. Chrysler did us NO favors with this CanBus nightmare.
__________________
Bill
Mr. Sinister is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 08:25 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
jrohan07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackMountain View Post
wait, so your sub shorted and your harness was fine?

if I remove the blue wire, do i have to manually turn the sub on and off?
Yes my sub shorted out internally and I just removed the blue wire (remote turn on for the sub) and the Head Unit turned on. The PAC harness was fine.

Here is a quick check to make sure your sub/amp is working.
At the sub/amp connection remove the blue wire.
Take a small piece of speaker wire and strip the ends.
Then touch one end of the wire to the remote turn on terminal and the other to the Positive side and your amp should turn on.
jrohan07 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 08:33 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 523
alright thanks. i'm wondering why the sub would short out internally if it is self powered? that shouldn't have anything to do with the head unit should it?

what kind of sub did you hook up when this happened?

i used the Sound Ordnance B8PT from Crutchfield and it sounds awesome so i'd be very dissapointed if it shorted out
BlackMountain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 08:45 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
jrohan07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 537
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackMountain View Post
alright thanks. i'm wondering why the sub would short out internally if it is self powered? that shouldn't have anything to do with the head unit should it?

what kind of sub did you hook up when this happened?

i used the Sound Ordnance B8PT from Crutchfield and it sounds awesome so i'd be very dissapointed if it shorted out
I at first went cheap, Pyle 10'' slimline 1000w amp/sub combo chopper series from Amazon and it sounded pretty decent but after 30 days the same thing you described happened.
I just tested the amp/sub and all I could get was a red light that said Fault. Called customer service and they said yep sounds like something internal to the amp/sub was fried.
Removed the negative battery cable,removed the sub completely, waited 10 minutes, reconnected the negative battery cable and HU powered back on.
Removing the battery cable probably reset the engines ECU.
Maybe try that.
jrohan07 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 08:48 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 523
thanks for your help jrohan, i'll look into it after work today and report back.

my sub is only a small 120 watt sub and i really hope that its a simple fix
BlackMountain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 08:58 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
jrohan07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 537
My buddy wanted to change out his head unit and had the base stock radio so he was cheap and did not want to order the expensive pack harness so he ordered this
Scosche CR04B 2006-Up Select Chrysler/Jeep Vehicles Speaker Connector search Amazon and everthing works like stock.
I think you only need the PAC if you have the Infinity amp upgrade for the Jeep.
You may be able to use this if your PAC is fried.
jrohan07 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 09:00 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 523
how will i know if my PAC is fried?
BlackMountain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 09:28 AM   #15
Jeeper
 
jrohan07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 537
If you step through all the suggestions one at a time and your head unit still does not power on then I would assume your Pac is fried or your head unit is defective.
Pull out your HU and put your stock radio back in and see if your stock works.
jrohan07 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-13-2011, 09:33 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 523
okay thanks.

i'll disconnect then reconnect the neg cable on the battery first and see if that doesn't reset everything like you said
BlackMountain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-15-2011, 09:24 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 523
just an update on this problem. i disconnected the negative cable to the battery, waited 20 seconds and then reconnected the wire and it fixed the problem. don't ask me why or how, but it works now. thanks for your help guys
BlackMountain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-15-2011, 05:17 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
jrohan07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Alabama
Posts: 537
Glad it worked for you. I love my Jeep with some b ass.

jrohan07 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory Head Unit dasaffen Communications and Electronics 4 12-20-2010 08:47 AM
Hard Wire a head unit???? firefighter777 TJ Tech Forum 24 08-18-2010 03:28 PM
Used Head Unit for 1998 Wrangler Sahara Bignuke Classifieds Archive 1 11-17-2009 10:16 PM
Need HELP with head unit! Bignuke TJ Tech Forum 8 11-12-2009 08:14 PM
Head Unit debruins Communications and Electronics 10 09-03-2007 08:21 AM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC