help - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-19-2012, 07:06 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Damooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 284
help

i put 33's on my 2012 JK. it has 210 miles. the tpms light just went on. i know the new rims and tires dont have them. is the something i can do to get rid of the light. also if the light stays on do i need to worry.

Damooch is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2012, 07:18 PM   #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
wmwhitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ewa Beach Hawaii
Posts: 1,344
You have nothing to worry about with the light being on. And there are a few things you can disable your TMPS with I am not sure what ones for a 2012.

wmwhitey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2012, 07:24 PM   #3
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,432
The light is just an annoyance. It does no harm except irritate you for the first 75 seconds you get in your jeep. You can get an AEV pro cal to disable or set the system to what ever threshold you want. It will get rid of the light on your dash. Without it, you'll have to put up with it.
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2012, 07:45 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Thornton93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 48
Put a piece of electrical tape over the light
Thornton93 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2012, 07:53 PM   #5
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
wmwhitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ewa Beach Hawaii
Posts: 1,344
I say buy the pro cal if you can use it on your 2012 I am waiting to get mine and since you changed tire size you need it to get your speedo to read rite.
wmwhitey is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2012, 08:12 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Damooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 284
Thanks for all the help. Im new to the Jeep lifestyle. Lol. It's been 20 years since my last wrangler. I like the electrical tape idea. Speedo is running about 7 mph off. No big deal. I'll look into the procal or the other AEV.
Damooch is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2012, 08:15 PM   #7
rabbits eat lettuce

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
tabber02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: left coast, florida
Posts: 10,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmwhitey View Post
I say buy the pro cal if you can use it on your 2012 I am waiting to get mine and since you changed tire size you need it to get your speedo to read rite.
yep, AEVs ProCal is worth it. get rid of the light, reset your tire size. enable DTRL... not sure if the 12s have that... my 10 didn't does now. and there's a few dozen other options too.

0.02
__________________

-bob

2010 JK - Mountain Edition
i spend way too much money on it... that's all


Become a Supporting Member of the Wrangler Forum, upgrade your account today



tabber02 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2012, 08:19 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
joe buell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 598
I wa told at dealer no way to turn off my tpms light on my 12 but he may be wrong ?you could have put your old sensors in new wheels and fixed it with the procal when you adjust your speedo
joe buell is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-19-2012, 08:29 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Damooch's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 284
I didn't think to use old ones. The tires were used. They came off my GMC crew cab. I'll wait a little and get new tires and then put the sensors. I was more concerned with screwing up a brand new Jeep. Thanks everyone.
Damooch is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-20-2012, 08:53 PM   #10
rabbits eat lettuce

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
tabber02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: left coast, florida
Posts: 10,139
Quote:
Originally Posted by joe buell View Post
I wa told at dealer no way to turn off my tpms light on my 12 but he may be wrong ?you could have put your old sensors in new wheels and fixed it with the procal when you adjust your speedo
joe, you're not "turning off the light" with the ProCal, you're setting the TPMS to zero PSI. when you set it there, the light goes out....

make sense. and yes.. the ProCal works on 12s... lots of guys here run them. i'm running one with a 10.

hope that helps.

__________________

-bob

2010 JK - Mountain Edition
i spend way too much money on it... that's all


Become a Supporting Member of the Wrangler Forum, upgrade your account today



tabber02 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.



Jeep, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC