HELP! Where to install Bussman Relay Box - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today

Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on
Old 08-20-2013, 02:09 PM   #1
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 6
HELP! Where to install Bussman Relay Box


I pulled the Bussman Relay box that I built for my TJ and want to install it in a new 2013 JK. ther problem is that I have no idea where to put it. There used to be some room between the Battery and Fuse box on the older JK's but there doesn't seem to be any there now.

I also thought that there might be enough between the battery and the Fender, But there is not enough room there (although there IS enough for a 80A Circuit breaker)

I have seen people mount sPODs here onto this bracket, but the sPODs must come with a special Mounting bracket, as there is not a flat place to mount the standard Bussman Bracket..

the last possible option is between the master Cyl and the engine, but I kinda want to put in an onboard compressor in the future, so I am kinda reserving this area...

So any help would be awesome!


ejunge is offline   Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 02:49 PM   #2
kpfalconi's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 22
Not sure if my setup is the same as yours but I took an old cutting board, cut it to size, bolted my relay box and fuse box to the cutting board, then took some thick foam pieces and used Velcro to anchor it down to the top of the battery. I basically used the foam to create some space/insulation between the top of the battery and the board. The positive and negative cables from my fuse box anchor one side due to the gauge of the wire and the Velcro just helps stabilize it on the other. I have seem to have plenty of clearance between the hood and the new boxes. On the left side I have extra wire tucked in to allow freedom to move the whole board should I need to get to the battery in the future. I have had no issues so far (knock on wood). LOL
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3928[1].jpg
Views:	69
Size:	226.9 KB
ID:	288140  

kpfalconi is offline   Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 03:02 PM   #3
dodgeman70592's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Youngwood, PA (currently)
Posts: 10
I mounted mine in front of the brake lines, and I was still able to fit a compressor. Had to bend the mounting bracket a tad to line up to screw it down but worked like a champ.

2013 Billet JKR 6spd
dodgeman70592 is offline   Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18 AM.

User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep«, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC. is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC