How to disable the tire pressure sensors? - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-15-2010, 10:58 AM   #31
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Oh yeah, no lift. I rather not lift, so I am trying this size on the stock sport. No issues so far, I will update with any rubbing problems.

jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 11:28 AM   #32
Jeeper
 
augustwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 38
Images: 6
Front and rear view

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsivo View Post
Even though I have to go through this nonsense, I have finally got the tires and wheels on. Here is the before / after photos.

33" X 11.5 Fun Country II
Procomp 98's 17 X 9


before


After
SHOW THE FRONT AND REAR VIEW PLS...and what size of wheels and tires do you have? and backspacing...thanks

augustwrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 11:34 AM   #33
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
4.25 backspacing. I will get the front and rear photos up soon.
33" X 11.5" Dick Cepeck FC II 17 in wheels
jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 11:42 AM   #34
Jeeper
 
augustwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 38
Images: 6
wheels

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsivo View Post
4.25 backspacing. I will get the front and rear photos up soon.
33" X 11.5" Dick Cepeck FC II 17 in wheels
nice...but 33 is too tall..you might have some rubbing...let me know if you encounter one...and how much did you pay for those wheels and tires...I`m thinking of doing that also in the future....thanks..and by the way...here`s mine....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC05431.JPG
Views:	72
Size:	75.0 KB
ID:	25264  
augustwrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 03:00 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
I don't think there will be any rubbing. I don't do the rock crawling thing, just basic off roading, so I think I will be fine.
jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-16-2010, 08:44 PM   #36
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
OK, I got the sensors put in the new wheels. Now I have another problem. I am choosing not to run a spare, and apparently there is a sensor in that one too. So I still get the dashboard notification. The computer scans the spare as well. This is completely ridiculous.
jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2010, 01:59 PM   #37
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Fool it

I have a 2008 PT Cruiser with 37,000 miles on it. I just had new tires installed at $92 a copy. The installer, of course, made a good inspection of the valve stems before starting so he wouldn't get stuck. Three of the four valve stems were cracked (I knew one of them was) and the stems are integral to the sensor (idiots). The stems were cheap aluminum with bad plating and had all corroded. At $92 a copy for new sensors at 37k, screw that. The cheapest I could find them was $60 a copy. Nah, tire gauge is only $3.99.

LSS: 6 inches of 2 inch PVC pipe (280psi), 2 caps, 1 8oz can of Oatey's Heavy Duty PVC glue, 1 bolt-in valve stem. Drill hole in one cap and install valve. Glue on blank cap. Cut broken stems off sensors. Insert sensors in pipe (add shredded paper to avoid rattling but do not pack tightly). Glue on valve cap while holding valve open to release pressure. Allow to dry 48 hours. Pressurize to 35PSI. Throw in glovebox.

No lights, no chimes, no hassles, < $15. Chrysler and Federal regulators:
Icy Mt. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2010, 03:03 PM   #38
Jeeper
 
Hiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Eastern Pennsylvania
Posts: 232
Images: 1
Here's an interesting read about the whole history of the TPMS...

http://www.motivemagazine.com/pub/feature/tech/Motive_Tech_TPMS_Reports_-_All_you_need_to_know_about_Tire_Pressure_Monitori ng_Systems.shtml

I kind of liked the system in my '03 Jeep GC where it actually had a mini display showing a little vehicle and the actual pressure of each tire (so it was very easy to see which tire was low).

My wife's '04 Liberty also has the same type of display. On her Jeep, when one of the sensors finally went bad, I could not get the Jeep to pass our state inspection until I had the sensor fixed.
__________________
2011 Wrangler Sport
Hiker is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2010, 03:04 PM   #39
Jeeper
 
Yjwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 466
Yeah the spare has one too. It's called the TREAD act passed in 05. By law any vehical past 08 is required to have them. The shop that took them off can be looking at either 1.5 mill or 15 yrs in prison. You can thank ford for all this. Their bad tire/ rims cause alot of lawsuits which turned into this tpms law.
Yjwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2010, 03:28 PM   #40
Newb
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
They need to come up with systems that work and are economically feasible before making this kind of stuff into law. Integrating a $1 mechanical valve stem into a $60 piece of electronic hardware is just plain bad engineering.
Icy Mt. is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-12-2010, 04:04 PM   #41
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Central FL
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsivo View Post
That really sucks. I know the dealer well enough for him to do me this favor, if he has the ability to. I got to call tomorrow to find out, I hope he can. What a stupid feature. I didn't even know it came stock until I changed the tires and that stupid light came on. Why have this on a vehicle that is know to be used in such a way where it is common to air down for recreation. So, it would prob cost me at least $100 to remount the tires. F@*K! Any suggestions would be appreciated.
It would be a violation of law for the dealer to do this. I doubt they want to stick their necks out like that.
banditman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2010, 11:37 AM   #42
Jeeper
 
Droelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: East Texas
Posts: 361
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougHeffernan View Post
Is there a reason you didn't reinstall sensors in new wheels?
Where are these sensors located? I'm about to put new wheels and tires on my ride and I don't want this issue. Any one have a pic or something to? That's would be really helpful.

Thanks
__________________
BOTTUMS UP! TOPS OFF!
Droelle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2010, 11:40 AM   #43
Jeeper
 
gdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 137
They are actually small transmitters that mount inside your wheel to the valve stem - they then send a signal to the monitor every X minutes / seconds. Just make sure when you get new wheels that you tell the shop to swap the sensors over - most will do it anyway - and for pete sakes, ask them what the fee is for the swap - I saw some place wanted $25 per tire. That's crazy for something that takes about 2 seconds. Sometimes you do need to get the "rebuild kit" as they have been prone to breaking I have heard.
gdub is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2010, 11:45 AM   #44
Jeeper
 
Droelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: East Texas
Posts: 361
Images: 3
Uhhhhh. I just had them mount the new tires on my new wheels yesterday. Is it to late for them to do it when I get my lift put on or do they have to do with the tire of the wheel?
__________________
BOTTUMS UP! TOPS OFF!
Droelle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2010, 11:52 AM   #45
Jeeper
 
SLIM_SNOOPY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 390
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by Icy Mt. View Post
I have a 2008 PT Cruiser with 37,000 miles on it. I just had new tires installed at $92 a copy. The installer, of course, made a good inspection of the valve stems before starting so he wouldn't get stuck. Three of the four valve stems were cracked (I knew one of them was) and the stems are integral to the sensor (idiots). The stems were cheap aluminum with bad plating and had all corroded. At $92 a copy for new sensors at 37k, screw that. The cheapest I could find them was $60 a copy. Nah, tire gauge is only $3.99.

LSS: 6 inches of 2 inch PVC pipe (280psi), 2 caps, 1 8oz can of Oatey's Heavy Duty PVC glue, 1 bolt-in valve stem. Drill hole in one cap and install valve. Glue on blank cap. Cut broken stems off sensors. Insert sensors in pipe (add shredded paper to avoid rattling but do not pack tightly). Glue on valve cap while holding valve open to release pressure. Allow to dry 48 hours. Pressurize to 35PSI. Throw in glovebox.

No lights, no chimes, no hassles, < $15. Chrysler and Federal regulators:
I love it, I was going to do the same. The only reason why , I have not, is that the batteries are known to die as well in the transmitters. I guess the worse case would be to release the air pressure in the " Vessel" As I would call it,,," LOL" cut the cap out with a saw and replace the batteries, then put all then sensors back into the " Vessel" and re-cap. Still is a great idea.

Nice work.


SLIM_SNOOPY
SLIM_SNOOPY is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2010, 11:56 AM   #46
Jeeper
 
gdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 137
Based on this and then looking at the link on Amazon - I think they are going to need to have the wheels off... Seriously not sure why the shop didn't say something to you. Now, maybe they put these in your new wheels and then will "swap" you yours when you come in...

If you need to replace a TPMS sensor this is the one you need from Amazon. - JeepForum.com
gdub is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2010, 12:43 PM   #47
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droelle View Post
Uhhhhh. I just had them mount the new tires on my new wheels yesterday. Is it to late for them to do it when I get my lift put on or do they have to do with the tire of the wheel?
The sensor is on the inside. You're SOL.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2010, 12:50 PM   #48
Jeeper
 
gdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 137
Yep - I didn't want to completely say it - but you're actually SOLWAP... Time to get on the horn to the tire shop and tell them you need them to swap those when you come in. I think they can just break down one side of the tire and put them on possible...
gdub is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-19-2010, 02:41 PM   #49
Jeeper
 
OregonTJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Willamette Valley
Posts: 778
black electrical tape on will cover the light and you won't see it any more.........
__________________
2005 Wrangler Sport, I6, Auto
17" Incubus Poltergeist Wheels
Cooper LT 265/70/R17 Discoverer SST 32"
RC 3.25" Suspension Lift
AFTB

OregonTJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-20-2010, 09:59 AM   #50
Jeeper
 
Droelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: East Texas
Posts: 361
Images: 3
I'm kinda liking that whole "pipe bomb" idea.
__________________
BOTTUMS UP! TOPS OFF!
Droelle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-20-2010, 12:37 PM   #51
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Kingwood, TX
Posts: 6
Don't feel bad. Mine comes on all the time on my stock '09 Rubicon. Aggravating.
Chew is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-20-2010, 02:28 PM   #52
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 5
Remove the bulb from the dash. I did that on a Corvette I once owned because I had removed all the sensors because they were starting to go bad one at a time.
WranglerXDave is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-20-2010, 04:44 PM   #53
Jeeper
 
snopro269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Minnesota
Posts: 456
Buy the super chips flashpak. There is a HUGE rebate on it, I got one for under $400.00. Amazing Product!!!!!
snopro269 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-20-2010, 07:04 PM   #54
Jeeper
 
Droelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: East Texas
Posts: 361
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by snopro269 View Post
Buy the super chips flashpak. There is a HUGE rebate on it, I got one for under $400.00. Amazing Product!!!!!
I like my warrenty
__________________
BOTTUMS UP! TOPS OFF!
Droelle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-20-2010, 07:09 PM   #55
Jeeper
 
snopro269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Minnesota
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droelle

I like my warrenty
I do too. Has a sweet feature that downloads stock setting so you can put back to stock
snopro269 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-20-2010, 07:40 PM   #56
Jeeper
 
Triel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 58
I had this feature in my 2002 Impala, and it helped a lot since the tires didn't look low unless there was next to no pressure in the tire. I wish it said which tire, but at least it gave me some warning if a tire was 10psi below the set point.

How long do the tire transmitters last? I'm looking at a clock right now with a dead battery and think it would suck if that was inside my tire.

Terry
Triel is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-21-2010, 09:11 AM   #57
Jeeper
 
Droelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: East Texas
Posts: 361
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by snopro269 View Post
I do too. Has a sweet feature that downloads stock setting so you can put back to stock
Yeah but doesn't leave a foot print?
__________________
BOTTUMS UP! TOPS OFF!
Droelle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 10-27-2010, 10:02 AM   #58
Jeeper
 
snopro269's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Southern Minnesota
Posts: 456
Quote:
Originally Posted by Droelle

Yeah but doesn't leave a foot print?
No footprint
snopro269 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2014, 08:31 AM   #59
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Luthersville, Ga
Posts: 31
Still confused

If I get a Procal and set the threshold to zeros will I still get a light if I remove the sensors. From everything I have read it seems to me the light will come on no matter what the threshold is set to if the receiver is not receiving signals. Just like it comes on when a sensor goes bad.

Someone who REALLY knows needs to acknowledge this because people are thinking if they set the threshold to zero, they can remove the sensors.
herebyproxy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2014, 09:09 AM   #60
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 378
If you set the Procal to -0- I believe three switches up and the remainder down, the light goes out and you can run wheels with or without sensors and get no dash light. That is what I have on my 2014 and get NO light or chimes. It costs $159 and worth it as you can change a number of things like tire height etc.

Xena1 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What should i keep my tire pressure at? Kohrs93 YJ General Discussion Forum 8 04-10-2010 12:32 PM
Our new jeep a1machinista1 YJ General Discussion Forum 11 01-10-2010 06:23 PM
goodyear mt/r tire pressure mknight759 TJ General Discussion Forum 7 11-11-2008 10:41 PM
tire pressure Jma20a TJ General Discussion Forum 28 12-19-2007 08:46 PM
Tire Pressure jj33002 YJ General Discussion Forum 8 03-26-2006 05:59 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC