How to disable the tire pressure sensors? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 09-14-2010, 10:04 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
How to disable the tire pressure sensors?

Just got my new tires and wheels. Now how do I disable the tire pressure monitor? I hope it is just a fuse......

jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-14-2010, 10:07 PM   #2
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,295
No fuse. You need to buy a programmer. At about $300 it would have been cheaper to put your sensors in the new wheels. PM JIMBOX he can tell you which one to get.

__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-14-2010, 10:11 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Really?? There has to be another way to disable them.... Can the dealer do it? No way I'm paying $300 to turn off a light on my dash.....
jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-14-2010, 10:18 PM   #4
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,295
Legally the dealer cannot disable it.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-14-2010, 10:31 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Thanx Dag--

You can "0" neutralize the TPMS system by using a "Superchip", which does other things ($300 bucks), or

Use the AEV Procal Module ($149 bucks) which shuts down the TPMS, zeros speedo and other functions

There is no other way to "ELIMINATE" the TPMS alarms/icon/beeps, you can choose not to install the xmitters in the wheels, but you'll still have all the alarms !!

The AEV Procal Module works GREAT !!

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-14-2010, 10:34 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
Legally the dealer cannot disable it.
Yeah, but does the dealer have the capability to disable it? Do they have the equipment to do so?
jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-14-2010, 10:45 PM   #7
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,295
It can't be disabled, but as JB mentioned the threshold can be set to zero. I doubt the dealer has the capability. They can only program a speedo up to 33" tires.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-14-2010, 10:57 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Does anyone have a AEV Module, and live in PA? I would gladly pay for the service of zeroing out my tire pressure. I would hate to buy one just to do that one function. Otherwise, if anyone is interested in buying one, I would buy it and use it for my needs then sell it for $120 to whomever would want it. Any takers?
jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-14-2010, 11:03 PM   #9
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsivo View Post
Does anyone have a AEV Module, and live in PA? I would gladly pay for the service of zeroing out my tire pressure. I would hate to buy one just to do that one function. Otherwise, if anyone is interested in buying one, I would buy it and use it for my needs then sell it for $120 to whomever would want it. Any takers?
More bad news for you. It doesn't work that way. They can only work on one vehicle at a time. The other one would have to be reset to stock settings.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-14-2010, 11:27 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
That really sucks. I know the dealer well enough for him to do me this favor, if he has the ability to. I got to call tomorrow to find out, I hope he can. What a stupid feature. I didn't even know it came stock until I changed the tires and that stupid light came on. Why have this on a vehicle that is know to be used in such a way where it is common to air down for recreation. So, it would prob cost me at least $100 to remount the tires. F@*K! Any suggestions would be appreciated.
jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-14-2010, 11:34 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Havok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 353
Send a message via Yahoo to Havok
if yahoo news was correct all new car/trucks are being equip with them. some new law or something
Havok is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 12:48 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
DougHeffernan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsivo
Just got my new tires and wheels. Now how do I disable the tire pressure monitor? I hope it is just a fuse......
Is there a reason you didn't reinstall sensors in new wheels?
DougHeffernan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 12:54 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
I didn't even know they where there until the new tires and wheels where on. Now it will cost $ to remount them with the sensors. When I bought a base sport, I did not expect to have this option. Now I see that is seems to be a new law. F@*k the government. What kind of stupid law requirement is this. Lazy pricks not willing to get out the car to check tire pressure? Hell, if you cant tell if you are loosing pressure, maybe you should not be a licensed driver. This is really just stupid.
jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 08:09 AM   #14
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougHeffernan View Post
Is there a reason you didn't reinstall sensors in new wheels?
I'm shocked that the tire dealer didn't make mention of it.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 08:13 AM   #15
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsivo View Post
I didn't even know they where there until the new tires and wheels where on. Now it will cost $ to remount them with the sensors. When I bought a base sport, I did not expect to have this option. Now I see that is seems to be a new law. F@*k the government. What kind of stupid law requirement is this. Lazy pricks not willing to get out the car to check tire pressure? Hell, if you cant tell if you are loosing pressure, maybe you should not be a licensed driver. This is really just stupid.
It really is a good feature. What if you were on a trip and ran over something causing a slow leak. It could easily prevent a poor handling situation while on the road. Some people are annoyed with it off road, but it really doesn't bother me. It chimes once when you start the engine and then the light is on.

If it were all the time, yeah it would be a pain. Face it no one checks their air pressure on a daily basis. Especially this time of year when the drastic temperature changes can cause a difference in tire inflation. I think it's a good feature and I'm glad I have it.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 08:20 AM   #16
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Well, I'm Not glad to have it. And, maybe it's me, but I can tell when my vehicle is handling differently. You can be glad to have it as an option, I should not be forced to have it, and being that it is impossible to disable, it is not a good feature.
jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 08:21 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
It is just some other bell and whistle electronic feature to fail in the future.................
jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 08:32 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
gdub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 137
I personally would go back to the tire shop and ask them why they didn't bring them over to the new tires / wheels...

My guess is, they have them saved in a little drawer and are going to resell them - seems shady of the tire shop not to have mentioned it to you or better yet - just brought them over - from what I have seen / read it literally takes seconds per wheel to install once the valves are put in...

I would say I would not drive a vehicle without them - if you were going down the road and the tire develops the slow leak and for some reason you end up flipping - if the insurance finds out they weren't in place - guess who's gonna be paying the hospital bills... I don't agree with it, but welcome to 2010 unfortunately.

The procal would be worth it to me, I assume you can go back and forth - from 0 pressure back to 30 or whatever - thus, you could pull it down for that beach run and then put it back before any "hardcore" highway driving...

Just a thought...
gdub is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 08:42 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
mhaines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 828
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsivo
Does anyone have a AEV Module, and live in PA? I would gladly pay for the service of zeroing out my tire pressure. I would hate to buy one just to do that one function. Otherwise, if anyone is interested in buying one, I would buy it and use it for my needs then sell it for $120 to whomever would want it. Any takers?
Check JKOwners.com, can usually find an AEV procal on there for 100. It's a good thing to have around for the money, cam adjust for tire pressure, tire size, gear changes, clear trouble codes, etc.
mhaines is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 10:15 AM   #20
Ugly Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
PecosRiver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: San Jose, New Mexico
Posts: 1,546
I'm glad to have the TPMs in both our Jeeps. Without them, my wife might ruin a very expensive tire by driving it while flat. While those of us in this forum might like to believe that we'd notice a low or flat tire, my wife is part of the populace that wouldn't notice if the passenger side door was missing unless it was pointed out to her. Since I would have to deal with the hassles of the damaged tire, I love the TPM feature on the new cars.
PecosRiver is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 10:41 AM   #21
I do my own stunts.

5-Year WF Supporting Member
WF Supporting Member
 
yomondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
You can "0" neutralize the TPMS system by using a "Superchip", which does other things ($300 bucks)
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
It can't be disabled, but as JB mentioned the threshold can be set to zero.
I use the Superchips Flashpaq. With a free downloadable module, you CAN disable TPMS.
yomondo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 10:48 AM   #22
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by yomondo View Post
I use the Superchips Flashpaq. With a free downloadable module, you CAN disable TPMS.
Yes, just semantics. Setting it to zero effectively disables it.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 10:49 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
burton160w's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Underneath my TJ
Posts: 1,639
I don't mean to lurk into the JK forums, but honestly all this whining about how important a feature the tire pressure sensor is. Remember four years ago when they didn't have such a feature installed? How did we ever survive? It's a stupid feature, and I at least know with the 2006 Commanders that it's really finicky. I'll air the tire to the recommended and it's still going off and chiming.

I agree, the law is a stupid one that once again artificially raises the cost of the automobile. Take some responsibility for your car.
__________________
It's got a Willy's body, a Chevy engine, Ford axles, GM transmission, and Dodge steering components... it must be a Wrangler.
burton160w is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 11:05 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
Four years is nothing, my 1993 Corvette had a TPMS system, with a dash disable switch !!

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 11:16 AM   #25
I do my own stunts.

5-Year WF Supporting Member
WF Supporting Member
 
yomondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
Yes, just semantics. Setting it to zero effectively disables it.
Yah, effectively achieves the same result. I'm just saying in addition to the Superchip's ability to set the TPMS to whatever PSI, it also has a separate feature to simply disable TPMS.
yomondo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 11:23 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
augustwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 38
Images: 6
where...

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsivo View Post
Just got my new tires and wheels. Now how do I disable the tire pressure monitor? I hope it is just a fuse......
where did you buy the tires and wheels?....if you bought it from any Jeep Wrangler store(accessories such as Quadratec) or Tire Rack or Discount Tires...they will offer you to have a TPMS installed....
augustwrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 11:29 AM   #27
I do my own stunts.

5-Year WF Supporting Member
WF Supporting Member
 
yomondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by burton160w View Post
Remember four years ago when they didn't have such a feature installed? How did we ever survive? It's a stupid feature, and I at least know with the 2006 Commanders that it's really finicky. I'll air the tire to the recommended and it's still going off and chiming.

I agree, the law is a stupid one that once again artificially raises the cost of the automobile. Take some responsibility for your car.
My TPMS has taken as long as two weeks to stop blinking after airing back up. But my TPMS is disabled now, so I don't have to deal with that anymore. What a waste of money we consumers are forced to pay for that thing. No offense to those who do like the TPMS feature. There's nothing wrong with that. I'm just saying I don't like the idea of me paying for something that I personally don't want, and then having to pay again to disable it.

On the other hand, although my knee-jerk reaction would be to say it's a stupid law to deal with people who don't take the time to check their tire pressure, the fact of the matter is that these people do exist and it'd sure be a terrible thing for someone to be hurt or killed by one of these people because their vehicle swerved out of control after their tire blew off the wheel due to low pressure.
yomondo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 11:42 AM   #28
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
well, the tire store I bought the tires and wheels from agreed to install the sensors for free. But, I still would rather not have them at all.
jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 11:46 AM   #29
Jeeper
 
augustwrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 38
Images: 6
Tpms

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtsivo View Post
well, the tire store I bought the tires and wheels from agreed to install the sensors for free. But, I still would rather not have them at all.
entirely your decision now...good luck...
augustwrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 09-15-2010, 11:56 AM   #30
Jeeper
 
jtsivo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 77
Well, at least it looks normal now....

Even though I have to go through this nonsense, I have finally got the tires and wheels on. Here is the before / after photos.

33" X 11.5 Fun Country II
Procomp 98's 17 X 9


before


After
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	jeepbefore.jpg
Views:	7562
Size:	44.5 KB
ID:	25262   Click image for larger version

Name:	jeepafter.jpg
Views:	9081
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	25263  


jtsivo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What should i keep my tire pressure at? Kohrs93 YJ General Discussion Forum 8 04-10-2010 01:32 PM
Our new jeep a1machinista1 YJ General Discussion Forum 11 01-10-2010 07:23 PM
goodyear mt/r tire pressure mknight759 TJ General Discussion Forum 7 11-11-2008 11:41 PM
tire pressure Jma20a TJ General Discussion Forum 28 12-19-2007 09:46 PM
Tire Pressure jj33002 YJ General Discussion Forum 8 03-26-2006 06:59 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC