I upgraded 130 to 430 RBZ and I'm not looking back. - Page 11 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-05-2013, 11:52 AM   #301
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by laollis View Post
Hey Ron, Where did you get it and how much? Does this replace the 130? Is it high speed or low speed? Another person said you can't interchange them cuz it would mess up the computer. Is that true?
Read this thread from the start. It answers all your questions.

__________________
2012 JK Sport S, Bright Silver Metallic Clear Coat, Auto, Freedom Top, Deep Tint Sunscreen Glass, Connectivity Group, Infinity, SiriusXM

- Ordered 9/10, D status 9/14, D1 status 9/15, I status 9/26, KZ status 9/28, delivery 10/11
Iron Maiden is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 11:58 AM   #302
Jeeper
 
Rmiller31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 425
I could see that. My biggest gripe with the factory stuff was the lack of power. I upgraded all my speakers to jl's so it made sense for me to get more power to them.

Rmiller31 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 12:53 PM   #303
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iron Maiden View Post
Read this thread from the start. It answers all your questions.
I did read from the start. It doesn't answer all my questions. Thanks!
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 01:42 PM   #304
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by laollis View Post
Hey Ron, Where did you get it and how much? Does this replace the 130? Is it high speed or low speed? Another person said you can't interchange them cuz it would mess up the computer. Is that true?
Really? You read the thread from the beginning and it did not answer your questions?

- "Does this replace the 130?" Uh, check thread title for one. And then the first post.

- "High speed or low speed?" Ron says in his post "high speed".

- "Another person said you can't interchange them cuz it would mess up the computer. Is that true?" Interchange what the 130 to the RBZ? Answered in the first post. Interchange high speed with low speed? Also answered many times in this thread. The answer is no, you cannot swap between the speeds.
__________________
2012 JK Sport S, Bright Silver Metallic Clear Coat, Auto, Freedom Top, Deep Tint Sunscreen Glass, Connectivity Group, Infinity, SiriusXM

- Ordered 9/10, D status 9/14, D1 status 9/15, I status 9/26, KZ status 9/28, delivery 10/11
Iron Maiden is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 01:46 PM   #305
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 608
Really!
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 05:46 PM   #306
Jeeper
 
supercazzola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: A Rocket Ranch
Posts: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by JKUCRUSHMIKE View Post
. It also shows album art from USB or cd.
What's they key to get this to work? My RBZ doesn't show album art, and it's got the newest firmware
supercazzola is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 05:49 PM   #307
Jeeper
 
Jasvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by supercazzola View Post

What's they key to get this to work? My RBZ doesn't show album art, and it's got the newest firmware
Dumb question but did you hit the button that clears out info of cd or song? It then would show artwork.
It has to be on a certain screen to show artwork. It also has to be a cd that's a couple of years old. It won't show really new CDs
Jasvan is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 06:02 PM   #308
Jeeper
 
supercazzola's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: A Rocket Ranch
Posts: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jasvan View Post

Dumb question but did you hit the button that clears out info of cd or song? It then would show artwork.
It has to be on a certain screen to show artwork. It also has to be a cd that's a couple of years old. It won't show really new CDs
If I do that, mine backs out to the image I tell it to show if in picture mode. This is with a USB memory stick with mp3 and album art in same directory
supercazzola is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 06:24 PM   #309
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by laollis View Post
Hey Ron, Where did you get it and how much? Does this replace the 130? Is it high speed or low speed? Another person said you can't interchange them cuz it would mess up the computer. Is that true?
From what I understand from what I have read in this thread, you absolutely can use the 430 RBZ to replace the 130 as all the options i.e. u-connect, blu tooth, steering wheel controls, and connectivity are all options NOT IN the 130 or 430 but seperate units in the car so the head unit is plug and play for what ever options you have existing with your 130. if its a 506 build you don't need a code, and if its a 509 build you need the 4 digit Password for it to work as it has antitheft unless its NEW OEM and never been installed in a vehicle then it sincs with that car. The only other thing to look for is the color of the back lighted buttons. They are mostly blue as the cars the come out of, and a few are green. most don't care as the screen is all blue background on all of them. I will let you know when I get mine how it worked out before you go and buy one.
LewdDude is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 06:59 PM   #310
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by LewdDude View Post
From what I understand from what I have read in this thread, you absolutely can use the 430 RBZ to replace the 130 as all the options i.e. u-connect, blu tooth, steering wheel controls, and connectivity are all options NOT IN the 130 or 430 but seperate units in the car so the head unit is plug and play for what ever options you have existing with your 130. if its a 506 build you don't need a code, and if its a 509 build you need the 4 digit Password for it to work as it has antitheft unless its NEW OEM and never been installed in a vehicle then it sincs with that car. The only other thing to look for is the color of the back lighted buttons. They are mostly blue as the cars the come out of, and a few are green. most don't care as the screen is all blue background on all of them. I will let you know when I get mine how it worked out before you go and buy one.
Hi LewdDude, Thanks! I would like to know how yours works out, for sure. My 130 does have all the options of bluetooth, sirius, u connect, but from the way I understand this, mine would be considered low speed, and what I want, the 430, is high speed. I have the 2013 Wrangler Sport 2dr. Again Thanks!
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 07:04 PM   #311
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Iron Maiden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Maine
Posts: 120
What year and model JK do you have? That will tell you if it is high or low speed. There are low speed 430 RBZ models.
__________________
2012 JK Sport S, Bright Silver Metallic Clear Coat, Auto, Freedom Top, Deep Tint Sunscreen Glass, Connectivity Group, Infinity, SiriusXM

- Ordered 9/10, D status 9/14, D1 status 9/15, I status 9/26, KZ status 9/28, delivery 10/11
Iron Maiden is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 07:31 PM   #312
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,738
Images: 13
All JK's are high speed.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 07:32 PM   #313
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,738
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by LewdDude View Post
From what I understand from what I have read in this thread, you absolutely can use the 430 RBZ to replace the 130 as all the options i.e. u-connect, blu tooth, steering wheel controls, and connectivity are all options NOT IN the 130 or 430 but seperate units in the car so the head unit is plug and play for what ever options you have existing with your 130. if its a 506 build you don't need a code, and if its a 509 build you need the 4 digit Password for it to work as it has antitheft unless its NEW OEM and never been installed in a vehicle then it sincs with that car. The only other thing to look for is the color of the back lighted buttons. They are mostly blue as the cars the come out of, and a few are green. most don't care as the screen is all blue background on all of them. I will let you know when I get mine how it worked out before you go and buy one.
Spot on!

Just make sure you get the correct 430 rbz.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 07:39 PM   #314
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark View Post
Spot on!

Just make sure you get the correct 430 rbz.
Hi panthermark, I did not know all JK's were high speed. Sometimes these threads are a bit confusing, and a few PM's haven't been too nice. Sorry if this is another dumb question, but, What would be the correct 430 rbz?
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 07:41 PM   #315
Jeeper
 
PhotoWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Houston MetroMess
Posts: 2,448
Quote:
Originally Posted by laollis View Post
Hi panthermark, I did not know all JK's were high speed. Sometimes these threads are a bit confusing, and a few PM's haven't been too nice. Sorry if this is another dumb question, but, What would be the correct 430 rbz?


Having read all 11 pages of the thread, I was able to surmise that its the 509 part code with the 4 digit date code ending in 2.
__________________
K9CCH
2014 | wrangler sport jk
"Opinions are low cost commodities, and everyone is equipped with one..."
PhotoWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-05-2013, 08:14 PM   #316
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotoWrangler View Post
Having read all 11 pages of the thread, I was able to surmise that its the 509 part code with the 4 digit date code ending in 2.
I read all of the pages too...lol But I think he is referring to the mounting holes in the four side corners and NOT the top bottom mounting holes from the dodge durrango's, and you want the High speed bus! I got the 506 high speed with green LED's. I am tempted to grab this RHB new in the box with NAV, but I am not sure it will work! It's a 430 and states it works for 2012 Wranglers so I am pretty sure it must work for the 2013, and since its new in the box it should sync up with what ever its plugged into the first time!
LewdDude is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 06:41 AM   #317
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,738
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by laollis View Post
Hi panthermark, I did not know all JK's were high speed. Sometimes these threads are a bit confusing, and a few PM's haven't been too nice. Sorry if this is another dumb question, but, What would be the correct 430 rbz?
That is actually the hardest question to answer.
Do you have both Sirius and Connectvity?

There are several that will work, but there isn't a running list of the newer (509's) rbz's. I'd look through this thread find some of the model numbers that people have had success with.

The list only goes through 2010...
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK - MyGIG Multimedia Infotainment System - parts

I have this one:
5064678AH RBZ (+RSC)
__________________
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 09:23 AM   #318
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark View Post
That is actually the hardest question to answer.
Do you have both Sirius and Connectvity?

There are several that will work, but there isn't a running list of the newer (509's) rbz's. I'd look through this thread find some of the model numbers that people have had success with.

The list only goes through 2010...
Jeep Grand Cherokee WK - MyGIG Multimedia Infotainment System - parts

I have this one:
5064678AH RBZ (+RSC)
__________________
I have Sirius, I have the U Connect and steering wheel controls. Is that connectivity? Everything works. I just wanted a better stereo (doesn't have to have NAV) and still be able to use my steering wheel controls (steering wheel controls is a must). I have a Sony GS600BT and was told it would work by one person, then another said it wouldn't. UGH!
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 09:38 AM   #319
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,738
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by laollis View Post
I have Sirius, I have the U Connect and steering wheel controls. Is that connectivity? Everything works. I just wanted a better stereo (doesn't have to have NAV) and still be able to use my steering wheel controls (steering wheel controls is a must). I have a Sony GS600BT and was told it would work by one person, then another said it wouldn't. UGH!
Nah, UConnect and the Connectivity package are not the same.

Do you have EVIC/hands free calling/USB port in your center armrest?
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 09:54 AM   #320
Jeeper
 
vacca foeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Pete/Tampa
Posts: 593
The Sony looks like it should work, but won't be plug and play. You'll need a few additional pieces to get it to work, ie a harness to connect to the vehicle, an interface to keep steering wheel controls, etc. it also likely has its own antenna for Sirius and own microphone for the Bluetooth, so you'd need to install those
vacca foeda is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 10:12 AM   #321
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark View Post
Nah, UConnect and the Connectivity package are not the same.

Do you have EVIC/hands free calling/USB port in your center armrest?
I've been using hands free calling, and I just looked, and yes, I have the usb port too.
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 10:15 AM   #322
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by vacca foeda View Post
The Sony looks like it should work, but won't be plug and play. You'll need a few additional pieces to get it to work, ie a harness to connect to the vehicle, an interface to keep steering wheel controls, etc. it also likely has its own antenna for Sirius and own microphone for the Bluetooth, so you'd need to install those
I don't want to add another microphone since my Jeep already has one. I do have the harness.
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 10:19 AM   #323
Jeeper
 
MichaelEdwardsDO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally Posted by laollis View Post

I don't want to add another microphone since my Jeep already has one. I do have the harness.
Crazy idea. Call the quadratec and talk to a human. They have the right harness to make it work but I can't find it or I'd give you the link
MichaelEdwardsDO is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 10:20 AM   #324
Jeeper
 
vacca foeda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: St. Pete/Tampa
Posts: 593
Im not sure how the microphone issue works, but i do think you lose the voice command butting from the steering wheel with some of the adapters. If you end up installing the Sony and want to get rid of the uconnect module, let me know, I'm trying to find one for my 430 rbz install.
vacca foeda is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 10:23 AM   #325
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
laollis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Twin Falls
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelEdwardsDO View Post
Crazy idea. Call the quadratec and talk to a human. They have the right harness to make it work but I can't find it or I'd give you the link
Thank You!
__________________
OlllllllO Another Day in Paradise with my Gecko!

One Life. Live It.
laollis is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 03:07 PM   #326
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 317
I have the opportunity to grab a brand new in the box never installed with all cables 430N RHB with NAV for less than half of what the dealer wants. Part number is P5091338AD date code 0213, AND it has green LED's!!!! WILL THIS WORK? PLEASE, any input quick would be helpful...

Ron
LewdDude is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 03:11 PM   #327
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jdambm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. louis, Mo
Posts: 903
Images: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to jdambm
Quote:
Originally Posted by LewdDude View Post
I have the opportunity to grab a brand new in the box never installed with all cables 430N RHB with NAV for less than half of what the dealer wants. Part number is P5091338AD date code 0213, AND it has green LED's!!!! WILL THIS WORK? PLEASE, any input quick would be helpful...

Ron
As long.as your mounting holes are side.to side you should be fine
jdambm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 03:14 PM   #328
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jdambm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. louis, Mo
Posts: 903
Images: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to jdambm
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdambm View Post

As long.as your mounting holes are side.to side you should be fine
I Missed one just like that on ebay this am
jdambm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 03:21 PM   #329
Jeeper
 
LewdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 317
ok, so I have a 2103 Sahara with blu tooth, Sirius, and connectivity. It has the 130 in it now. Just wanted to make sure I wasn't gonna need anything from the dealer because of the NAV??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	430NRHB.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	165.3 KB
ID:	245929   Click image for larger version

Name:	430NRHB boxed.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	174.0 KB
ID:	245930  

Click image for larger version

Name:	430NRHB back.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	172.6 KB
ID:	245934   Click image for larger version

Name:	430NRHB label.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	220.8 KB
ID:	245935  

LewdDude is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-06-2013, 03:33 PM   #330
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
jdambm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: St. louis, Mo
Posts: 903
Images: 6
Send a message via Yahoo to jdambm
Quote:
Originally Posted by LewdDude View Post
ok, so I have a 2103 Sahara with blu tooth, Sirius, and connectivity. It has the 130 in it now. Just wanted to make sure I wasn't gonna need anything from the dealer because of the NAV??
I could be wrong but it will probably need flashed to tell the canbus to look for.it

jdambm is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC