I upgraded 130 to 430 RBZ and I'm not looking back. - Page 6 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-20-2013, 08:50 AM   #151
yeah,,,, im that good

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 10,373
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjohnson2400 View Post
Panther - why not upload some pictures and change the display option to show a picture instead of the logo. Won't help with the startup but overall a picture is better than Chrysler Logo.
I have "song info" up instead, so I never see the Chrysler logo (outside of the splash screen)...but I'm still jealous.

__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 10:30 AM   #152
Jeeper
 
Putzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Great North East
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjohnson2400 View Post
Panther - why not upload some pictures and change the display option to show a picture instead of the logo. Won't help with the start up but overall a picture is better than Chrysler Logo.
How do you install the pics? I tried it with my iphone but i couldn't get it on there for some reason I can't click on the USB when it pops up on the screen.

Putzy is offline   Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 05:09 PM   #153
Jeeper
 
colliderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark View Post
I have "song info" up instead, so I never see the Chrysler logo (outside of the splash screen)...but I'm still jealous.
Hey Panthermark, I've got something you could try if you're feeling adventurous.. You've probably seen this but this is a link to a software update for the RBZ/RHB's New Software Update MyGIG RBZ-RB2-RHB / 33.01.23 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (sorry to link to another Jeep site). I downloaded this the other day as I'm still looking for a used RBZ and figured I'd want to update it if it wasn't already. Anyways, if you open it up you'll notice a folder called PICTURE, and in it it contains .dat files which clearly are the different logos for all the brands. There are also two other places that contain those .dat files in that folder. I'm willing to bet that you could rename the files veh_bkgnd_Jeep_daytime and veh_bkgnd_Jeep_nighttime to the files called veh_bkgnd_Chrysler_daytime and veh_bkgnd_Chrysler_nighttime, then erase the chrysler files. When the system goes to look for the chysler files, it will find them only the data in them will have been replaced with the Jeep logo.

I would try it myself but sadly I haven't found a radio yet! Well actually I did buy one recently on ebay but after all the info that I've read and all the different things I KNEW to look for I still think I ordered the wrong unit. I found an RHB that was a good deal and forgot to check the bus speed. googling the part number (P05091184AC) it seems like it's a low speed. FML
colliderman is offline   Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 05:28 PM   #154
Jeeper
 
Deepjeep1371's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 593
Quote:
Originally Posted by michiganadam View Post

you do realize that the sirius subscription can be canceled just as soon as the previous owner realizes the sirius subscription is not intended to follow the head unit, right? I'm shocked that anyone would sell a radio with a subscription, and would be even more shocked if someone didnt like sirius..
The first year of the subscription is absolutely configured to follow the unit or vehicle. The purpose is so that when a person buys a vehicle with Sirius he or she gets hooked on it and once the subscription is up ( the free year) they call and begin to pay if they want . If I bought a vehicle with a free year Sirius subscription and sold it to you you still have what ever remaining time left. Thus, that's why many have had issues "transferring their membership to other vehicles or over to other radios. It's not as if you are a paying customers and then people try to transfer something to another vehicle. That defeats the whole purpose from Sirius's perspective. Normally if you are a paying customer that would be fine.
Look at it as a" temporary option" on your vehicle. Sirius was already paid by the car manufacturers for the service. I was and have been since day one a paying customer prior to buying Jeep. Once I bought the Jeep I deactivated the Sirius subscription on the unit I had and no longer paid monthly until this free ride runs out of course. My account still exists but no charges for now.
__________________
"There's more to me than you'll ever know"
Deepjeep1371 is offline   Quote
Old 02-20-2013, 08:58 PM   #155
yeah,,,, im that good

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 10,373
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by colliderman View Post
Hey Panthermark, I've got something you could try if you're feeling adventurous.. You've probably seen this but this is a link to a software update for the RBZ/RHB's New Software Update MyGIG RBZ-RB2-RHB / 33.01.23 - Jeep Garage - Jeep Forum (sorry to link to another Jeep site). I downloaded this the other day as I'm still looking for a used RBZ and figured I'd want to update it if it wasn't already. Anyways, if you open it up you'll notice a folder called PICTURE, and in it it contains .dat files which clearly are the different logos for all the brands. There are also two other places that contain those .dat files in that folder. I'm willing to bet that you could rename the files veh_bkgnd_Jeep_daytime and veh_bkgnd_Jeep_nighttime to the files called veh_bkgnd_Chrysler_daytime and veh_bkgnd_Chrysler_nighttime, then erase the chrysler files. When the system goes to look for the chysler files, it will find them only the data in them will have been replaced with the Jeep logo.

I would try it myself but sadly I haven't found a radio yet! Well actually I did buy one recently on ebay but after all the info that I've read and all the different things I KNEW to look for I still think I ordered the wrong unit. I found an RHB that was a good deal and forgot to check the bus speed. googling the part number (P05091184AC) it seems like it's a low speed. FML
I may have to try that when I get some time
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 12:18 AM   #156
Jeeper
 
oakley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Valley Center
Posts: 51
I own a 12 jk rubi with a 430n. For the most part the 430n is ok but sure would like to add my topo maps that my hand held gps has. Is there any info on how to do this?
__________________
12 JKUR White, Auto, Teraflex 3" S.A., JE Reel Driveshafts, Rock Hard Front & Rear Bumper, Warn M8000, sPOD, Black Rock Yuma wheels, Rigid 10" LED & KC 130w windshield lights.
oakley is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 08:22 AM   #157
Jeeper
 
Putzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Great North East
Posts: 214
Does anyone know if you can put pictures on the 430 RBZ from an IPhone? I've tried using a USB port plugged into the HU but it won't let me click on it when it's plugged in.

Thanks
Putzy is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 08:38 AM   #158
Jeeper
 
Binx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: western mass
Posts: 399
Has to be a flash drive and I believe they can't be in a folder, just stopped onto the drive.
Binx is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 08:53 AM   #159
Jeeper
 
b.lister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 105
Try this (from Media Center website)
Owners - Quality - Media Center 430 (RBZ)

Copy Pictures To The Hard-Drive
  • Insert either a CD or a USB device containing your pictures.
  • Touch the MY FILES soft-key , then go to the MANAGE MY FILES screen.
  • Touch the MY PICTURES soft-key to get an overview of the currently stored images.
  • Touch one of the ADD PICTURES soft-keys, then select the type of media inserted.
  • Use the PAGE soft-keys to page through a list of pictures and press the picture you would like to import.
  • Confirm your selection by touching the YES soft-key. The imported picture is now available in the MANAGE MY PICTURES screen.
  • In order to display the imported picture in the radio screen, touch the desired picture soft-key.
  • Select this picture by pressing the PICTURE VIEW soft-key. A checkmark indicates the currently used picture.
b.lister is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 10:02 AM   #160
Jeeper
 
onelostokie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: lost in Yukon, OK
Posts: 105
Anyone know where I can buy a 430 RBZ? Besides the dealer?
__________________
2014 JKU Sport - Loaded
2007 Border Collie/Bloodhound - Fully Loaded
2008 Border Collie/Great Pyrenees - Six Toe Option
onelostokie73 is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 10:36 AM   #161
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 29
Onelostokie73 - I was able to pick one up off Ebay for $275 shipped. There are deals out there you just need to search them out. The tricky part is finding compatible units.

One thing to make sure of - if the unit is one of the newer ones they will have antitheft - make sure the seller has the code - lots of sellers are just selling them without knowing the code or the original vehicle VIN number thus making it very hard to damn near impossible to install.
mjohnson2400 is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 10:47 AM   #162
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 29
Panther and Colliderman - I'd be curious what this update would do to non-nav units... I don't think I'm going to risk the update but if one of you should let us know what it does for you. Thanks
mjohnson2400 is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:04 AM   #163
yeah,,,, im that good

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 10,373
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by oakley View Post
I own a 12 jk rubi with a 430n. For the most part the 430n is ok but sure would like to add my topo maps that my hand held gps has. Is there any info on how to do this?
Sorry, you may need to start a new thread and check around the forum for that answer. The 430 rbz does not have nav, so I don't know anything about loading a new map.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:07 AM   #164
yeah,,,, im that good

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 10,373
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by onelostokie73 View Post
Anyone know where I can buy a 430 RBZ? Besides the dealer?
Pretty much anywhere BUT the dealer (unless they are giving you a screaming deal).

I paid $260 for mine shipped. They can be had all over e-bay in "buy now" deals for about $350 shipped.

Just do you homework and make sure you get the correct model number (and pass code if needed).
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 11:40 AM   #165
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,329
Quote:
Originally Posted by oakley View Post
I own a 12 jk rubi with a 430n. For the most part the 430n is ok but sure would like to add my topo maps that my hand held gps has. Is there any info on how to do this?

No. The unit does not allow for any topo maps upload. Only a Garmin or Navteq update, and that one is a bit spendy. They are pretty much locked down.


Bob K.
nwbronco is online now   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 12:54 PM   #166
Jeeper
 
Putzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Great North East
Posts: 214
Quote:
Originally Posted by b.lister View Post
Try this (from Media Center website)
Owners - Quality - Media Center 430 (RBZ)

Copy Pictures To The Hard-Drive
  • Insert either a CD or a USB device containing your pictures.
  • Touch the MY FILES soft-key , then go to the MANAGE MY FILES screen.
  • Touch the MY PICTURES soft-key to get an overview of the currently stored images.
  • Touch one of the ADD PICTURES soft-keys, then select the type of media inserted.
  • Use the PAGE soft-keys to page through a list of pictures and press the picture you would like to import.
  • Confirm your selection by touching the YES soft-key. The imported picture is now available in the MANAGE MY PICTURES screen.
  • In order to display the imported picture in the radio screen, touch the desired picture soft-key.
  • Select this picture by pressing the PICTURE VIEW soft-key. A checkmark indicates the currently used picture.
I get stopped when it asked for type of media inserted when I try and do it with my iphone. I'm going to try and copy pics on a flash drive and see if that works.
Putzy is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 12:55 PM   #167
Jeeper
 
onelostokie73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: lost in Yukon, OK
Posts: 105
Thanks for the advice guys.
__________________
2014 JKU Sport - Loaded
2007 Border Collie/Bloodhound - Fully Loaded
2008 Border Collie/Great Pyrenees - Six Toe Option
onelostokie73 is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 07:39 PM   #168
Jeeper
 
pazbich3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Harrisburg Area, PA
Posts: 194
Got my unit tonight and installed it. The install was a breeze, minus getting the connectors off. After 5 minutes of pulling I then noticed the tabs underneath the connector to push in first.

In any case, my screen did not change over to the Jeep logo and is stuck on a Chrysler logo I didn't start the engine though, and not sure I'd that will make a difference. Also, I'm going to try and update the software since it's a 2009 unit. Will let you know how I fair!
__________________
Dan
2015 JKU Anvil Sport
pazbich3 is offline   Quote
Old 02-21-2013, 09:29 PM   #169
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 29
Doesn't switch immediately - I let it load once then shut my vehicle down and let the system completely shut off and then restarted my vehicle and it booted to the Jeep screen.
mjohnson2400 is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 06:36 AM   #170
Jeeper
 
Putzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Great North East
Posts: 214
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1997657832.jpg
Views:	104
Size:	84.9 KB
ID:	212977

Figured it out!! Sooo cool!!
Putzy is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:43 AM   #171
Jeeper
 
pazbich3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Harrisburg Area, PA
Posts: 194
Nice! I have a pic of my Jeep I was going to upload, however it is not recognizing any of my pics on my thumb drive. What format and size was your picture? I'm guess mine might be too large for it to recognize or something, as it should be able to recognize jpegs.

Also, anyone successfully transfer their Sirius trial subscription over? Kinda sucks I have over 7 months left for free on my 130 unit.
__________________
Dan
2015 JKU Anvil Sport
pazbich3 is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:45 AM   #172
Jeeper
 
Putzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Great North East
Posts: 214
I don't know the size of my pics I just took my flash drive and copied them off my computer and installed them on my HU.
Putzy is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:47 AM   #173
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 29
I ended up burning a couple images onto a CD and transferring them that way. The same images in the same format weren't recognized when I tried through the USB. Quirky System.
mjohnson2400 is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:57 AM   #174
Jeeper
 
pazbich3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Harrisburg Area, PA
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjohnson2400 View Post
I ended up burning a couple images onto a CD and transferring them that way. The same images in the same format weren't recognized when I tried through the USB. Quirky System.
Thanks for the tip, I'll probably try that next tonight. Also going to try updating the firmware as well.
__________________
Dan
2015 JKU Anvil Sport
pazbich3 is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 10:43 AM   #175
Jeeper
 
colliderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by pazbich3 View Post
Thanks for the tip, I'll probably try that next tonight. Also going to try updating the firmware as well.
Yes please let us know how the update goes. I just picked one up on ebay and I plan on doing the update as well when it comes in. Is yours showing the Jeep logo right now? I'm also curious as to whether or not my earlier post about swapping the logo files in the update will actually work.
colliderman is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 10:48 AM   #176
Jeeper
 
colliderman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjohnson2400 View Post
Panther and Colliderman - I'd be curious what this update would do to non-nav units... I don't think I'm going to risk the update but if one of you should let us know what it does for you. Thanks
Apparently there's not much noticeable change for the non nav units. If you read through the thread posted earlier with the update, a few people with RBZ's did it and didn't notice much. I think the biggest thing was the look of the nav menu. Now if someone could just find a link to the software in the new 2013 430's with the black music player screen I'd be all over that! Those things look hot!!

colliderman is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 10:57 AM   #177
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 88
I've been following this thread & many others like it. Lot's of great info. I decided to pull the trigger & do this swap myself. I have a 2013 JKUR w/ connectivity. I got a good deal on a 430n RBZ part # P05091170AA. It came out of a wrecked 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The salvage yard didn't have the security code but did supply me w/ the vin # from the vehicle it came out of. My problem is the dealerships. I've brought in my vehicle, the head unit, the serial #, part #, vin #, & the TSB 08-051-11 (which shows the dealership how to reset/recover the security code). The 4 dealerships I've tried this w/ look at me like I have 3 heads & have NO CLUE! Anyone know if there is a dealership in MA or NH that can do this? If this doesnt work the salvage yard will swap out for another 430n RBZ part # P05064678AE from an earlier model w/out the anti theft. If that happens can the older RBZ's software be updated?

Thanks
MJGM is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 11:40 AM   #178
Jeeper
 
pazbich3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Harrisburg Area, PA
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by colliderman View Post
Yes please let us know how the update goes. I just picked one up on ebay and I plan on doing the update as well when it comes in. Is yours showing the Jeep logo right now? I'm also curious as to whether or not my earlier post about swapping the logo files in the update will actually work.
I tried updating it with a CD I burned but nothing happened. I'm guessing it didn't burn the actual image and just burnt the files on the disc. Also, there's still no Jeep Logo. I plan on putting another pic in it's place anyways, or I download a Jepp logo separately and use that. In anycase, when I first turn on the Jeep, it shows the Uconnect screen along with the Chrysler logo below it. Not a big deal.

Finally, for transferring your Sirius trial account. I called and said I swapped out my radio for a new one because the old one broke. After I told them that, they transferred it for me free of charge!
__________________
Dan
2015 JKU Anvil Sport
pazbich3 is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:19 PM   #179
Jeeper
 
Gort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Central PA
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by MJGM View Post
I've been following this thread & many others like it. Lot's of great info. I decided to pull the trigger & do this swap myself. I have a 2013 JKUR w/ connectivity. I got a good deal on a 430n RBZ part # P05091170AA. It came out of a wrecked 2011 Dodge Ram 1500. The salvage yard didn't have the security code but did supply me w/ the vin # from the vehicle it came out of. My problem is the dealerships. I've brought in my vehicle, the head unit, the serial #, part #, vin #, & the TSB 08-051-11 (which shows the dealership how to reset/recover the security code). The 4 dealerships I've tried this w/ look at me like I have 3 heads & have NO CLUE! Anyone know if there is a dealership in MA or NH that can do this? If this doesnt work the salvage yard will swap out for another 430n RBZ part # P05064678AE from an earlier model w/out the anti theft. If that happens can the older RBZ's software be updated?

Thanks
I'm afraid that I can't help with finding a dealer, but I found out through a lot of web surfing that, with the 730x, there are two (perhaps even more) "default" security codes that will work if you don't know the code. Those are 1111 and 1234.

Not sure if they'd be the same for the 430x units (or if they even exist on the 430) but it might be worth a little research if you're having trouble finding a dealer to do the unlock.
Gort is offline   Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 12:32 PM   #180
Jeeper
 
wrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pixburgh
Posts: 77
I just bought one off of eBay from a '10 caravan. I'm afraid that we are bidding against each other on these things and driving up the prices! I used to see them for $275 and now they are closer to $350 and $400 for BIN. I wanted to try to get the code for my old 130 RES as they have some value, but mine is a '13 and it is antitheft as well. No code means it's worthless! When I was interested in a RBZ antitheft, I called my dealer. They said they wouldn't give a code unless you had the vehicle in front of them that the radio came out of.

wrix is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC