Ideas on where to mount KC light switch? - Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 05-21-2013, 07:51 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Osage Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lewistown IL
Posts: 591
Ideas on where to mount KC light switch?

I just ordered the KC 124 SlimLites and I see it comes with its own KC light switch in the kit. I was wondering where some of you creatively or practically placed your KC switch? Feed my imagination!

__________________

2012 Wrangler Sport 2 Door
3.6L, 6 Spd Manual, 3.73 gears, ACE Rock Rails, Maximus-3 Bumper Bar, KC HiLiTES 124 SlimLites, AEV 2" spacer lift, Duratrac 285/70R17s, 17x9 XD Addicts, AEV ProCal, 35% window tint, AntennaX.
Osage Orange is offline   Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 08:12 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
Lithium Lotus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 909
I have a Daystar switch on the drivers side speaker panel underneath the steering wheel.

Or you can use the Daystar pillar switch mount Daystar Part KJ71043BK - A-Pillar Switch Pod

Lithium Lotus is offline   Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 08:33 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
redbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 264
I drilled a small hole in the dash below and to the left of my steering wheel and used the supplied switch. I have been happy with this position.
redbilly is offline   Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 09:12 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
1manWolfpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 285
Quote:
Originally Posted by redbilly View Post
I drilled a small hole in the dash below and to the left of my steering wheel and used the supplied switch. I have been happy with this position.
Switch for my slimlites are in the same place. Below the steering wheel and to the left. Easy to get to and not a distraction.
1manWolfpack is offline   Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 09:26 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
jwann01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 327
If you plan on adding more accessories, get one of these and you will never have to go through your firewall again to mount a switch.



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3485685505.jpg
Views:	213
Size:	122.6 KB
ID:	252081



Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3087019753.jpg
Views:	194
Size:	116.3 KB
ID:	252082
__________________
Life, Liberty and the pursuit of anyone that threatens it!
jwann01 is offline   Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 11:21 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
gr8fulKID's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 805
my switch is poking out of the gap that is directly underneath the steering wheel. I used some sticky velro to secure it so it doesn't wiggle around. You cant see the swtich when you are behind the wheel, but its really easy access.
gr8fulKID is offline   Quote
Old 05-21-2013, 11:58 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Tweak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Keller, TX
Posts: 3,466
I mounted mine on the grille for the left front speaker (13JK dash). ran the wires between the speaker and grille and then out the grille holes to the switch. put the screws in the grille and I didnt have to drill any holes at all.
Tweak is offline   Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 07:59 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
Osage Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lewistown IL
Posts: 591
The consensus seems to be the left speaker panel area, I like the ideas of the least invasive spots that way I can reverse it later and upgrade to something like the SPOD if need be.
__________________

2012 Wrangler Sport 2 Door
3.6L, 6 Spd Manual, 3.73 gears, ACE Rock Rails, Maximus-3 Bumper Bar, KC HiLiTES 124 SlimLites, AEV 2" spacer lift, Duratrac 285/70R17s, 17x9 XD Addicts, AEV ProCal, 35% window tint, AntennaX.
Osage Orange is offline   Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 08:03 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
texasdave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 689
You can put them under the a/c controls, get a Spod, or drill a small hole in your A-pillar plastic and mount it there.(That's where I put mine)
__________________
SEMPER FI
2012 Wrangler Sport S, Silver Soft Top, Goodyear Duratracs 285/75R16, Level 8 Trackers, Rough Country 2.5" lift, KC Slimlite 130w Spots and 100w Driving lights, JCR Stubby Dagger Pre-Runner Front Bumper, JCR Stubby Rear Bumper, ACE Rock Rails
texasdave is offline   Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 08:04 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Osage Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lewistown IL
Posts: 591
How difficult would it be to modify the existing a-pillar by drilling a small hole and running the wire up into it vs speaker panel?
__________________

2012 Wrangler Sport 2 Door
3.6L, 6 Spd Manual, 3.73 gears, ACE Rock Rails, Maximus-3 Bumper Bar, KC HiLiTES 124 SlimLites, AEV 2" spacer lift, Duratrac 285/70R17s, 17x9 XD Addicts, AEV ProCal, 35% window tint, AntennaX.
Osage Orange is offline   Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:02 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
JeeperJake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,028
After suitable trial period hanging the switch out of various cracks, I eventually mounted the switch just below the center of the steering column where the wheel obscures the switch.

If I had planned on more than one switch, probably would have used the A-pillar location.

There IS no 'right spot' for one & all of us.
__________________
get in--buckle up--hang on
"soothing agricultural implement/personal servant/Walter Mitty multidimensional access utility device conveniently travels on pavement when necessary and often keeps me warm/cool/dry/soothed as needed."
JeeperJake is offline   Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:22 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Right here worked for me
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	lights3.jpg
Views:	109
Size:	223.2 KB
ID:	252236  
MarkyMark718 is offline   Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 09:45 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Dunkin_D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 280
Buy a daystar pillar switch - so much easier than drilling a hole. Or if you want to spend the cash buy a spod.

Sorry to hijack your thread but this might also help you out if you decide to buy the pillar panel. Anybody have issues connecting the wires from the slimlites to the daystar switches? When I tried the connectors on the switches were bigger than the ones attached to the wires.
Dunkin_D is offline   Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 02:48 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 199
This is where I mounted mine, I wanted as close to a factory look as possible.


I mounted the Hella 500's on Quadratec light brackets which attach to the lower support behind the grille.

I then ran the power wires through looms into the engine compartment but I first grounded both lamps to the lower support (I still need to paint the ground to keep it from rusting)

From there I ran the loom up and around the air box. You can see the loom between the inside of the fender and the Power Steering reservoir.

From there I went around the fuse box. Here I connected the main power supply wire to the buss terminal under the lid of the fuse box. (little red wire)

Here is the in-line fuse between the power supply and the relay.(right in the middle of the picture)

From there I ran the power wire and the lamp feed to the relay. I mounted the relay in the battery tub against the engine side wall. There were two holes already there, I used one of them.

From the relay I ran the switch lead and relay ground out. I zip tied the loom to the existing wire loom against the fire wall. I grounded the relay against the firewall using the existing battery tub bolt. (blue wire)

From here I fed the switch wire through the firewall using the hole in the upper right side of the dash (I poked a coat hanger through and fished out the switch lead)

At this point I don't have photos of the dash apart, but I connected the switch lead wire from the relay to the switch. I tapped into both the ground and power supply wires of the 12 volt accessory outlet on the left side lower part of the dash. I took out the little garbage bag hook that is used to plug up the right side lower part of the dash, cut off the hook, sanded it then drilled a hole in the middle to mount my switch.

Close up of switch....

With this set up the lights can only be powered when the ignition is on so no worries of leaving my lights on.....I think it looks as close to factory as I could make it, what say you all?



JB71 is offline   Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 03:29 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
iNizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 243
Here
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-556637619.jpg
Views:	102
Size:	156.9 KB
ID:	252355  
iNizo is offline   Quote
Old 05-22-2013, 03:47 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Osage Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lewistown IL
Posts: 591
Quote:
Originally Posted by JB71 View Post
At this point I don't have photos of the dash apart, but I connected the switch lead wire from the relay to the switch. I tapped into both the ground and power supply wires of the 12 volt accessory outlet on the left side lower part of the dash. I took out the little garbage bag hook that is used to plug up the right side lower part of the dash, cut off the hook, sanded it then drilled a hole in the middle to mount my switch.

Close up of switch....

With this set up the lights can only be powered when the ignition is on so no worries of leaving my lights on.....I think it looks as close to factory as I could make it, what say you all?


I have that stupid garbage bag hook on mine, I like that idea too. Looks good!
__________________

2012 Wrangler Sport 2 Door
3.6L, 6 Spd Manual, 3.73 gears, ACE Rock Rails, Maximus-3 Bumper Bar, KC HiLiTES 124 SlimLites, AEV 2" spacer lift, Duratrac 285/70R17s, 17x9 XD Addicts, AEV ProCal, 35% window tint, AntennaX.
Osage Orange is offline   Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 12:04 AM   #17
Jeeper
 
MRT2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles County, California
Posts: 383
Post #13970

No drilling. Switch is very accessible, and 'secretive'.

http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/wha...ml#post3289612
MRT2 is offline   Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 01:59 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Shyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 56
Similar to MRT2 the top hole on the A pillar. I used a $3.50 grommet from Autozone. It is easy to install, fits perfect, no drilling required and when I pull the trigger on an Spod can be removed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4217879546.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	99.9 KB
ID:	252554   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-855481785.jpg
Views:	91
Size:	102.5 KB
ID:	252555  

Shyer is offline   Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 03:11 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
MrSig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Davie, Fl
Posts: 22,006
Daystar Switch Panel

__________________
07 JKU to see my mods or Jeep in action go to http://www.aaof.us/jeep.htm
CEO of Black Sheep 4x4s org,
Member of CCJ, White Jeep Club Member #137.
MrSig is offline   Quote
Old 05-23-2013, 07:29 AM   #20
Jeeper
 
Osage Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lewistown IL
Posts: 591
I'm really liking everyones ideas! I'm going to be sitting in my Jeep feeling out all these mounting spots while I'm waiting for my light kit to arrive.
__________________

2012 Wrangler Sport 2 Door
3.6L, 6 Spd Manual, 3.73 gears, ACE Rock Rails, Maximus-3 Bumper Bar, KC HiLiTES 124 SlimLites, AEV 2" spacer lift, Duratrac 285/70R17s, 17x9 XD Addicts, AEV ProCal, 35% window tint, AntennaX.
Osage Orange is offline   Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 12:46 PM   #21
Jeeper
 
Osage Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Lewistown IL
Posts: 591
Thought I'd follow up and post that I chose the driver's side dash above the speaker. Thanks again!

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20130617_124404.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	96.0 KB
ID:	262621
__________________

2012 Wrangler Sport 2 Door
3.6L, 6 Spd Manual, 3.73 gears, ACE Rock Rails, Maximus-3 Bumper Bar, KC HiLiTES 124 SlimLites, AEV 2" spacer lift, Duratrac 285/70R17s, 17x9 XD Addicts, AEV ProCal, 35% window tint, AntennaX.
Osage Orange is offline   Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 03:19 PM   #22
Jeeper
 
Toolin Around's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Ellington, CT
Posts: 152
I mounted 2 switches on the dash in between the air vents. I think if you have power windows, the switches would be there. They are very accessible as mine is a stick. I can reach them when I am in 1st, 3rd, and 5th gear with my hand on the shifter! I am out of town but will post a picture when I get home. I also mounted them high enough so I can get 2 more below them.

__________________
Chris
2008 Rubicoin
2.5 RK lift
35" Goodyear Kevlars
Rigid A-pillar lights
2009 Seadoo
Toolin Around is online now   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC