inadequate navigation system - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-21-2012, 10:51 AM   #31
Jeeper
 
seanpholman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomthbomb View Post
The hot spot is a 3G device as well.
My point was not that you were not using a 3G hotspot, but rather the equipment level of the iPad and its ability to accurately pinpoint your location. Wi-fi models are at a disadvantage in the backcountry because they don't have a GPS chip.

--Sean

__________________
Happy Wheeling!
2012 Wrangler Unlimited Sahara Manual
EVO MFG Enforcer 3.5 w/Bilstein 5160s
37-in BFG KM2s
D44s, ARBs, 4.88s
seanpholman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 11:35 AM   #32
Really liking the Jeep...

WF Supporting Member
 
strider_mt2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,956
I've taken my tablet into the woods when offroading, utilizing my phone as a hot spot.

As long as there was signal I was good. The tablet's GPS capability works great for this.
It's a viable alternative.

__________________
2012 Unlimited Rubicon - Natural Green
Every Day Driver
strider_mt2k is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 11:48 AM   #33
Jeeper
 
fan of fanboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by strider_mt2k
I've taken my tablet into the woods when offroading, utilizing my phone as a hot spot.

As long as there was signal I was good. The tablet's GPS capability works great for this.
It's a viable alternative.
Different scenario. The tablet you're referring to has built in gps chip. If no built in chip then having an Internet connection doesn't benefit you.
__________________
Can you believe how conceited I am??
fan of fanboys is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 02:19 PM   #34
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by fan of fanboys View Post
You're looking at it wrong.

The mobile hotspot uses the cell towers but emits a wifi signal. So when the iPad, or any device, connects it only gets the wifi connection not cellular info.

The iPhone, or any other phone, uses a combination of the gps chip and cell towers to pinpoint the location.

If have an iPad wifi model it won't connect location because of the above information.

Edit* the iPad doesn't know the difference between a mobile hotspot or a hotspot at your house or Starbucks. Which is why it doesn't give an accurate location (general location, such as city or zip can be determined) and just one reason (no gps chip being another)
When I use the "find me" feature on Google Earth it puts the "cross hairs" right over me regardless of where I am. How does that work?
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 02:57 PM   #35
Jeeper
 
fan of fanboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomthbomb
When I use the "find me" feature on Google Earth it puts the "cross hairs" right over me regardless of where I am. How does that work?
How are you connected at the time? Bc there would be other factors.

It's not that a semblance of location can't be found, it's the accuracy. So if I'm a developer I am less likely to publish an app for tracking on a wifi only iPad bc of the vast limitations.
__________________
Can you believe how conceited I am??
fan of fanboys is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 02:58 PM   #36
Jeeper
 
fan of fanboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomthbomb
When I use the "find me" feature on Google Earth it puts the "cross hairs" right over me regardless of where I am. How does that work?
And Tom I'm not arguing. Just combining our knowledge.
__________________
Can you believe how conceited I am??
fan of fanboys is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 08:32 PM   #37
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,364
I am connected with my Verizon Wireless Hot Spot. No matter where I am when connected to it Google Earth can pin point me within 20 feet or so when using my iPad2 with wifi and no 3G.
Like I stated above, the Verizon Wireless Hot Spot runs on 3G.
I have a cabin in deep, deep, deep East Texas where my Droid 2 Global won't reliably connect but the Hot Spot will put the Google Earth bulls eye right on me.
It is not a function of the iPad but of the Hot Spot.
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 09:07 PM   #38
Jeeper
 
fan of fanboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomthbomb
I am connected with my Verizon Wireless Hot Spot. No matter where I am when connected to it Google Earth can pin point me within 20 feet or so when using my iPad2 with wifi and no 3G.
Like I stated above, the Verizon Wireless Hot Spot runs on 3G.
I have a cabin in deep, deep, deep East Texas where my Droid 2 Global won't reliably connect but the Hot Spot will put the Google Earth bulls eye right on me.
It is not a function of the iPad but of the Hot Spot.
There is a factor I'm missing. Your iPad doesn't view wifi from hotspot diff than wifi from Starbucks beyond location info from IP address. Possible IP address more accurate than I understand, tho still not as accurate as can be. Example: the GPS Kit app I use within 2 feet accurate, if not closer. I work for VZW and do product testing, global tech integration, plus few other roles. I don't work directly with switch, cell sites, or network operations but I work intermittently with them. So I'm not 100% on these issues, but more familiar than most laymen.
__________________
Can you believe how conceited I am??
fan of fanboys is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-21-2012, 09:09 PM   #39
Jeeper
 
fan of fanboys's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 1,913
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomthbomb
I am connected with my Verizon Wireless Hot Spot. No matter where I am when connected to it Google Earth can pin point me within 20 feet or so when using my iPad2 with wifi and no 3G.
Like I stated above, the Verizon Wireless Hot Spot runs on 3G.
I have a cabin in deep, deep, deep East Texas where my Droid 2 Global won't reliably connect but the Hot Spot will put the Google Earth bulls eye right on me.
It is not a function of the iPad but of the Hot Spot.
Another part I just caught: your mifi connects but not droid 2. That, in theory, doesn't make sense. Network sees a convection, not device type. If one works, so should the other. Unless on extended network and PRL on D2 not up to date. That would make difference.
__________________
Can you believe how conceited I am??
fan of fanboys is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2012, 02:49 PM   #40
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by fan of fanboys View Post
Another part I just caught: your mifi connects but not droid 2. That, in theory, doesn't make sense. Network sees a convection, not device type. If one works, so should the other. Unless on extended network and PRL on D2 not up to date. That would make difference.
Droid will work data but not with the phone reliably. When I had AT&T not at all for either. Will not stream a movie but will handle email.

Could it be that the MiFi has a "GPS Kit"? You work @ VZW, I do not. Just know it pin points my location as accurately as the Droid.
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2012, 08:20 PM   #41
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 74
Just a heads up to all, civillian GPS is accurate to +/- 50 meters. Uncle Sam controls the accuracy. They have a built in fudge factor to prevent undesirables for using the system as a form of weapons guidence. Disputing which is more accurate is really a moot point. Unless you have current U.S. military gear and clearance you won't be 100% spot on.
SilverBolt is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2012, 08:39 PM   #42
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverBolt View Post
Just a heads up to all, civillian GPS is accurate to +/- 50 meters. Uncle Sam controls the accuracy. They have a built in fudge factor to prevent undesirables for using the system as a form of weapons guidence. Disputing which is more accurate is really a moot point. Unless you have current U.S. military gear and clearance you won't be 100% spot on.
Former President William Jefferson Clinton eased up on that limitation. It is much more accurate now. Google it.
__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2012, 09:09 PM   #43
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 82
Images: 2
Yeah, that's why I saved myself $1,600 bucks and got a garmin 2555 lmt for $200. Read about others who had problems with the 430n and 730n. Not worth it when you spend $1,800 on a built in GPS option and that's ALL you got was the gps.
TheDragon is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-22-2012, 11:37 PM   #44
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 4
You are soo right. Silly me, I buy a JEEP to go off roading, Guess I just assumed. Oops, No more complaining..
Gprater is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2012, 02:33 AM   #45
Really liking the Jeep...

WF Supporting Member
 
strider_mt2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,956
Nothing stopping the Jeep from going off roading except the driver.
__________________
2012 Unlimited Rubicon - Natural Green
Every Day Driver
strider_mt2k is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-23-2012, 08:39 AM   #46
dirt road inspector

WF Supporting Member
 
tomthbomb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Deep East Texas
Posts: 2,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheDragon View Post
Read about others who had problems with the 430n and 730n. Not worth it when you spend $1,800 on a built in GPS option and that's ALL you got was the gps.
There is more but not much.

__________________
tomthbomb is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
YJ Heating System Explained Wrangler Haven YJ Tech Forum 114 04-11-2014 10:31 AM
Unknown icon on Radio/Navigation Orangeryno JK General Discussion Forum 16 04-02-2012 04:20 PM
Hard Top Pulley and Storage System? sdgmcdon JK General Discussion Forum 30 03-15-2012 12:23 AM
navigation screen froze PEEJ69 Communications and Electronics 0 02-18-2012 06:59 PM
Cooling System Upgrade? txoutdoorx4 TJ General Discussion Forum 2 02-13-2012 07:52 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:54 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC