Installing Rubi rails - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-19-2012, 06:40 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 36
Installing Rubi rails

Hi I'm not a handy guy at all but I am trying. I just bought a set of Rubi Rails for a JKU off of Craigslist that came without hardware. Does anyone have a list of exact sizes I need I tried searching but couldn't get a definitive answer. Also does anyone have a step by step installation guide. I downloaded the mopar pdf instructions but I am still lost. Any help greatly appreciated. Thanks

rbye05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 06:56 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
OH9JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Graham, NC
Posts: 738
You will need twelve 10mm nuts, six 13mm bolts, and four body clips for the 13mm bolts.

The body clips have a captive nut inside of them and look like this. You can source from local auto parts store.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	89014959_rnb_10684_pri_larg.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	13.3 KB
ID:	98239  
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 75747.pdf (151.4 KB, 24 views)

__________________
Crowded elevators smell different to midgets.
OH9JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 07:04 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 36
thanks for the quick reply. One last question if there are six bolts why do i only need 4 of the u clips what does the middle bolt screw into? Thanks
rbye05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 07:22 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
OH9JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Graham, NC
Posts: 738
Not 100% sure as I own a 2 door but assume there is already a nut on the frame to accept that extra 13mm bolt.
__________________
Crowded elevators smell different to midgets.
OH9JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 08:22 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
OH9JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Graham, NC
Posts: 738
EDIT....size of hardware. I gave you wrench size not nut/bolt size.

Nut M6x1, which use a 10mm wrench, and the bolts are M8x1.25 and 1" in length, and use a 13mm wrench
__________________
Crowded elevators smell different to midgets.
OH9JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 03:58 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 36
ok really need help here went to ace got everything but the hole on my underside where the bolts would screw in is threaded already and there is no where to slide those u nuts into place on the body. If I screw directly into that threaded hole the head of the bolt is too small and passes through the hole on the rail. I dont understand why the underside of my jku looks different than whats shown in the diagram. help please.
rbye05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 04:05 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 681
Smile

hi,, could be u need a washer between bolt and clip..back to Ace 4 u.... that should do the trick....
firehawk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 04:09 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 36
the problem is there is nowhere to put the clip on the body. in the installation diagram there is a square cut out next to the hole where you screw the bolt. unfortunately I dont have those squares anywhere close enough to the holes in order to get the clip in. also the holes have a raised threaded area so the clip wouldnt even fit there.
rbye05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 04:47 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
JayHawker45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Leavenworth, Kansas
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbye05 View Post
ok really need help here went to ace got everything but the hole on my underside where the bolts would screw in is threaded already and there is no where to slide those u nuts into place on the body. If I screw directly into that threaded hole the head of the bolt is too small and passes through the hole on the rail. I dont understand why the underside of my jku looks different than whats shown in the diagram. help please.
I just put Rubi Rails on my son's '12 Wrangler on Friday. It sounds like yours is in the same position his is. The holes on the Jeep for the 13MM bolts are already fitted with a capture nut. Use a washer to keep the bolt head from going through the hole in the rail and torque to spec--the OEM bolts have a washer already threaded on them. I did not need the clips that came with my son's rails.
JayHawker45 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 04:52 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
OH9JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Graham, NC
Posts: 738
Doesn't look like this??
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ucf-jk-2-door-rock-rails.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	65.5 KB
ID:	98375   Click image for larger version

Name:	10.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	39.1 KB
ID:	98376  

Attached Images
 
__________________
Crowded elevators smell different to midgets.
OH9JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 04:52 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayHawker45 View Post
I just put Rubi Rails on my son's '12 Wrangler on Friday. It sounds like yours is in the same position his is. The holes on the Jeep for the 13MM bolts are already fitted with a capture nut. Use a washer to keep the bolt head from going through the hole in the rail and torque to spec--the OEM bolts have a washer already threaded on them. I did not need the clips that came with my son's rails.
thanks so much Im not crazy then. was it a loose washer or part of the head of the bolt.
rbye05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 04:59 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
JayHawker45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Leavenworth, Kansas
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbye05 View Post
thanks so much Im not crazy then. was it a loose washer or part of the head of the bolt.
It was a washer prethreaded, captured, if you will. However, any washer that fits snugly around the shaft of the bolt and is large enough to preclude the head of the bolt from passing through the hole on the rail will work. Also, even though I used a torque wrench to torque to spec, before threading the bolt I put on Blue Loctite to help ensure the bolts don't work their way loose.

OH9JK, when I looked at the instructions, I was expecting to see what you showed in your photos. rbye05 is correct, on the '12 there is no way to slide the clip on to fit. The hole on the body is already prefit with an integrated nut, it was also covered with a weather resistant square of tape--I just punched a hole in that and threaded the bolt on in.
I didn't/couldn't use the clips provided with the Rubi Rails.
JayHawker45 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 05:17 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
OH9JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Graham, NC
Posts: 738
Interesting...another change for the 2012's. How about the pinch seam, are there holes punched for the studs on the Rubi rails?
__________________
Crowded elevators smell different to midgets.
OH9JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 05:57 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
JayHawker45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Leavenworth, Kansas
Posts: 240
Quote:
Originally Posted by OH9JK View Post
Interesting...another change for the 2012's. How about the pinch seam, are there holes punched for the studs on the Rubi rails?
Everything lined up perfectly, the brackets lined up as did the studs through the pinch seams.
JayHawker45 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 07:44 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
walc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Salisbury, MD, USA
Posts: 121
rbye05,
I'm glad to see you got much more helpful answers here than you did on the other forum.
I tried to help; but, it seems installation on your '12 differs from my '11.
I enjoy both forums; but, I've found that the people, on WranglerForum.com, are much more knowledgeable.
__________________
2012 Rubicon, Call of Duty MW3, #1850
Previously: '11 Sport, '03 Rubicon, '02 X, '95 Sahara, '93 SE and '89 S
walc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-19-2012, 08:34 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 36
thanks everybody got it sorted now

rbye05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IN: 2011 Four Door Rubicon Rails BADBOY-RUBICON Classifieds Archive 7 02-28-2012 02:32 AM
4 Door Rubicon Rails ryanJKunlimited2012 Classifieds Archive 4 02-23-2012 04:34 AM
Installing a factory soft top on my factory hard top jk? SkipS JK General Discussion Forum 2 02-18-2012 09:36 AM
Home-made Rails 4XSMURF California Jeep Forum 3 02-18-2012 12:01 AM
I have aTJ Rubi Thinking of picking up a YJ tomorrow to play with Captain Paul TJ General Discussion Forum 13 02-17-2012 03:20 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC