Jeep Wrangler OEM Stereo Swap - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-18-2013, 11:06 AM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 9
Jeep Wrangler OEM Stereo Swap

I recently purchased a 2011 Jeep Wrangler Sport with the standard factory stereo (Part#P05091113AC). I wanted to have Sirius satellite service.
I purchased almost the exact OEM stereo that has a Sirius receiver (Part#P0509115AC).

It states that it is compatible and uses the same plugs as my original stereo.
Here's the issue,I went to have it installed today and the installer plugged it in and said the lights would turn on and off but that was it. The seller assured me that the replacement worked perfectly. Do I have to take this to the dealer and have the computer reprogrammed or is that necessary or is the stereo not working properly?

I really don't want to go to a Jeep dealer and pay a reprogramming fee of $110-125 if that will not fix it. The dealer could not give me a direct answer if that was needed.
Thanks in advance for all of the help.

Cwthunter is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 12:23 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
kyvtx1300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: 40324
Posts: 67
Do you have a picture of the front and top of the radio you are trying to install? That would give us the information we need to help.

kyvtx1300 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 12:27 PM   #3
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,851
Images: 13
You need to have the sat antenna as well (in order to get sat radio) You might even need to have it flashed by the dealer, but I'm not sure.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 09:21 PM   #4
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 9
Front of OEM Stereo

Front
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	212.0 KB
ID:	199297  
Cwthunter is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 09:23 PM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 9
Top of OEM Stereo

Top
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	148.5 KB
ID:	199303  
Cwthunter is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-18-2013, 09:25 PM   #6
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 9
Back of OEM Stereo

Back
I do have the satellite antenna.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	218.4 KB
ID:	199304  
Cwthunter is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 06:49 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 36
anti theft code?
rbye05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 10:04 AM   #8
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,851
Images: 13
I think you need the 2011-12 version of this.

(2007-10 version)
MOPAR 82210466AB - MOPAR® SIRIUS Satellite Radio Installation Kit for 07-10 Jeep® Wrangler & Wrangler Unlimited JK - Quadratec

If your Jeep didn't come with Sirius installed at the factory, you don't have the antenna module. According to the instructions, it also needs to be flashed by the dealer.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 10:48 AM   #9
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 9
I have the Sirius antenna, it just will not turn on.
When you say flashed by the dealer, does that mean reprogrammed?
Does the new stereo have to be installed/plugged in when they do this?
Thanks again
Cwthunter is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 10:57 AM   #10
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 36
I could be totally wrong but i thought the newer head units have an anti-theft code that needs to be flashed
rbye05 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 10:59 AM   #11
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,851
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cwthunter View Post
I have the Sirius antenna, it just will not turn on.
When you say flashed by the dealer, does that mean reprogrammed?
Does the new stereo have to be installed/plugged in when they do this?
Thanks again
The dealer needs to tell the system that Sat radio is available....
Page 6
http://www.quadratec.com/Assets/Installation/75781.pdf

I would assume everything has to be installed at the time.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 11:01 AM   #12
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,851
Images: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbye05 View Post
I could be totally wrong but i thought the newer head units have an anti-theft code that needs to be flashed
Yes, newer units do have the anti-theft code. But I believe you get a message that asks for the code. Not sure if that is going on here.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 11:32 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
kyvtx1300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: 40324
Posts: 67
Do you know if this is a high speed bus radio? It was made in late 2010. If it is for a 2011 model, it will be high speed.

At this point I would check the connectors and make sure they are plugged in all the way.

I do not see the "Anti-thelf" label on the radio, the date on it indicates that it has a good chance of being high speed. You have the sat antenna connector. that leaves the power connector, and fuses to check.
kyvtx1300 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 11:45 AM   #14
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,851
Images: 13
Let's start over.

The 2011 Jeep you purchased. Did it come with Sirius or not? I'm assuming no, but I want to be clear.

You say you have the Sirius antenna....did you purchase a Mopar Kit? Or was it already there?

BTW, swapping HU's on the JK is a 15 minute job tops, you don't need an installer to do it.

When the new HU is in, what exactly does it do?
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 02:16 PM   #15
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 9
Okay - bought the Jeep without a Sirius stereo. I had a Sirius stereo in a prior vehicle and the antenna fit into the plug in the back of the Jeep Sirius stereo I purchased.
I had taken the Jeep to get some other stereo equipment installed. When they plugged in the Sirius stereo into the Jeep plugs, they stated that the lights on the stereo repeatedly blinked on and off. The stereo was checked to be working and would be compatible with my Jeep. They are the ones that stated I may need to take to the dealer to be reprogrammed. I called two dealers and they acted pretty clueless except to tell me to hook it up, it would be $110-$125 and they were not sure that would resolve the issue. They put the original stereo back in and I can put the Sirius one back in, I just want to know that I am going down the right path and not wasting $125. Thanks for all of your help.
Cwthunter is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-19-2013, 04:41 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Binx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: western mass
Posts: 399
Are the antenna plugs swapped? Sirius in the am/FM and vice versa.
Binx is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-20-2013, 03:48 AM   #17
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 9
No-the antenna's were plugged in accordingly.
I was just concerned that the stereo would just link on and off.
No sound, no display, no nothing.
Reason for question-is this a computer issue or is this a defective stereo issue.
Don't mind paying reprogramming fee if that is the issue or should I request another factory OEM Sirius stereo. I am trying to keep Jeep stock as a theft deterrent.
Thanks
Cwthunter is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-20-2013, 08:26 AM   #18
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,851
Images: 13
Hmmm....so is the Sirius Antenna a Mopar Antenna or an aftermarket/other brand antenna?

Swapping radios in the Wrangler is really easy, so try hooking up the new radio but not hooking up the Sirius antenna.....see if that works.

Also, what other equipment was installed? Could that be part of the issue?
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-20-2013, 09:42 AM   #19
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 9
The Sirius antenna was a universal antenna from a Sirius plug and play and this fit the plug in the back. I will reinstall it today but I don't think it will work. At the install place, they showed me what occurred when it was plugged in and then plugged in the original stereo and it works fine. I had an amp & speakers switched out. I believe that is all good or it wouldn't being playing fine now.
I guess I will reinstall and take to dealer and hope for the best. I can return the Sirius stereo if it turns out to be the issue however, I may then have to take back to dealer and reprogrammed again. That will be the worst case scenario. I guess that goes back to my original question of is it (dealer reprogramming) necessary when swapping out factory stereos?

Thanks for all of your help.
Cwthunter is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-26-2013, 05:36 AM   #20
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Oem radio swap

Did the swap work after have the jeep flashed.

sgunter01 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC