JK Driving Light wiring question - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-21-2010, 07:15 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Bryans2000TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 77
JK Driving Light wiring question

So I got my new PIAA 520's in today and have been examining the wiring before I start. I am going to mount on the windshield.

My question is where have you guys wired through the firewall and into the cabin at for the toggle switch placement? I looked but didn't really see any portals. I haven't taken off the wiper valance yet and looked there. Is there a good place to wire through?

I want to direct wire with the toggle as my only on/off switch.

Thanks in advance!

Bryans2000TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-21-2010, 08:05 PM   #2
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,209
Open the driver side door, even better remove it. The panel that is on the side of the dash easily pops off. You will see a hole, about the size of a quarter filled with foam. Poke a wire coat hanger through, attach the wires and pull them through the firewall.




__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-21-2010, 08:24 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Bryans2000TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 77
Awesome! Thanks a ton Daggo!
Bryans2000TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-22-2010, 08:30 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
captblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Woodbine, GA
Posts: 80
You have the same thing on the other side, too. Ran my power for the CB and my light switch through there because it is closest to the battery. All of the plastic parts come off pretty easy - just be patient.
__________________
Bill

"An armed society is a polite society." - Robert A. Heinlein
captblack is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-22-2010, 09:20 PM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: White Hall
Posts: 4
good info thanks
__________________
2010 Jeep Wrangler 2dr Black Hard Top
Apex76 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-23-2010, 05:15 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Bryans2000TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 77
LED Switch hot wire?

Where did you run the third wire for LED power on the toggle switch? Straight off battery or would that be to much constant drain? Is there an easy source to tap into? Thanks again!
Bryans2000TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-23-2010, 08:34 PM   #7
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,209
Top goes to ground, middle to the relay and the bottom to your high beams or battery. Most would prefer to the battery, so do I.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-23-2010, 08:37 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Bryans2000TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
Top goes to ground, middle to the relay and the bottom to your high beams or battery. Most would prefer to the battery, so do I.
I tried that and the relay stayed lit even with the key off. How do I bypass that without tapping into the brights? Thanks Daggo
Bryans2000TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-23-2010, 08:47 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Bryans2000TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryans2000TJ View Post
I tried that and the relay stayed lit even with the key off. How do I bypass that without tapping into the brights? Thanks Daggo
Right now I have it tapped into the fuse box on um, the fuel pump fuse. Not smart I know, but wanted to get some juice going. It powers it on and off with the key. The ignition fuse kept continuous power to the led toggle.
Bryans2000TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-23-2010, 10:03 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Ratt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB, Canada
Posts: 34
What about the Power outlet on the dash that works with the ignition switch?
__________________
Al Ralston
Sales @ Custom Truck Parts, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

2010 Wrangler 2 Door Mountain Edition, Mango Tango/Mineral Gray/Black. 3.8L V6 & 6 Spd Manual Trans.
Lots of New Stuff.
Ratt is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-23-2010, 10:19 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Bryans2000TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ratt View Post
What about the Power outlet on the dash that works with the ignition switch?
Good idea, I will try that tomorrow. I assume it will just unscrew out without removing the whole center dash? I would really like to get it out of the fuse box.
Bryans2000TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-24-2010, 05:46 AM   #12
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryans2000TJ View Post
I tried that and the relay stayed lit even with the key off. How do I bypass that without tapping into the brights? Thanks Daggo
Did you ground the relay? The lights go into the relay. The relay should go to ground, the battery, and your switch. Then your switch gets wired like I previously posted. What brand of lights did you get? I'm giving you this information directly off the instructions that came with my KC lights and worked perfectly for me.

I used the same instructions when I wired my HF lights that didn't come with wiring instructions that were very clear. Both sets of lights work perfectly and don't interfere with anything.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-24-2010, 06:32 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Bryans2000TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
Did you ground the relay? The lights go into the relay. The relay should go to ground, the battery, and your switch. Then your switch gets wired like I previously posted. What brand of lights did you get? I'm giving you this information directly off the instructions that came with my KC lights and worked perfectly for me.

I used the same instructions when I wired my HF lights that didn't come with wiring instructions that were very clear. Both sets of lights work perfectly and don't interfere with anything.
I got Piaa that had the kit with the package. I followed the instructions as best I could. The toggle ground is grounded on the hood ground. The main positive from the toggle goes to the central light "box" and that leaves the LED toggle positive for the power source for the relay switch only.

Main positive is on the battery and main neg is on the battery negative for juice to the lights. They are working fine, on off etc. It's the damn cabin mount relay switch that I have the problem with on finding an on/off source.

Thanks!
Bryans2000TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-24-2010, 07:36 AM   #14
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,209
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryans2000TJ View Post
I got Piaa that had the kit with the package. I followed the instructions as best I could. The toggle ground is grounded on the hood ground. The main positive from the toggle goes to the central light "box" and that leaves the LED toggle positive for the power source for the relay switch only.

Main positive is on the battery and main neg is on the battery negative for juice to the lights. They are working fine, on off etc. It's the damn cabin mount relay switch that I have the problem with on finding an on/off source.

Thanks!
Cabin mount relay switch?
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-24-2010, 04:08 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Bryans2000TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
Cabin mount relay switch?
Yeah, maybe I am using the wrong term. My bad. I meant to say the on'off switch mounted in the cabin. I keep calling it the relay that is what I am trying to find a good power source for.
Bryans2000TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-24-2010, 05:07 PM   #16
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,209
How do the PIAA instructions say to wire it?
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-24-2010, 06:27 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Bryans2000TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
How do the PIAA instructions say to wire it?
It has a little wire loom type thing that will fold over and contact into a power source. You insert the LED switch power wire into it, find a source, fold it over and it will "tap" into the wire with itty bitty metal teeth. Thus, making a connection. The directions are saying to tap into a hot wire somewhere but to not pull power directly from the alternator.
Bryans2000TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-24-2010, 07:23 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Bryans2000TJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 77
Thank you!

Thank you Daggo and all for your help. I think I have it figured out. I found an ACCY fuse that is key on/off powered. Gonna use that for a while. That gets it off the fuel pump fuse. Thanks again for all the help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00066.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	219.5 KB
ID:	20933   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00067.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	178.2 KB
ID:	20934  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG00068.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	222.5 KB
ID:	20935  

Bryans2000TJ is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Driving Light Setup what do you like?? Cheech66 TJ General Discussion Forum 10 11-12-2010 01:13 PM
Fog Light Question AfterMath TJ Tech Forum 15 05-25-2010 08:50 AM
Easy Courtesy light question NCTar TJ Tech Forum 6 04-26-2010 09:40 PM
Crappy driving light stem CenARJeepChick TJ General Discussion Forum 1 03-09-2009 03:32 PM
Wiring a dome light DiPietro TJ Tech Forum 5 03-28-2008 11:40 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC