jk rubicon D44 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-07-2014, 08:16 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
JKASS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 172
jk rubicon D44

Hi. I have the chance to buy a 2010 rubicon rear D44 for $250 but it doesn't have axles. Will my sport D44 axles work in it?

JKASS is offline   Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 10:54 PM   #2
Jeeper
 
dwindeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 577
I can't think of a positive gain by doing this, even if they would work.

dwindeck is offline   Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 10:56 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Olympia, WA
Posts: 3,272
No. Different spline count.
nwbronco is offline   Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 11:35 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ponderosa Pine Country, where the Bears are hungry!
Posts: 5,184
Dana 44 non-Rubicon 30 spline

Dana 44 Rubicon 32 spline
Old Dogger is offline   Quote
Old 03-07-2014, 11:36 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ponderosa Pine Country, where the Bears are hungry!
Posts: 5,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwindeck View Post
I can't think of a positive gain by doing this, even if they would work.
The Rubicon Dana 44 has a Locker!!!!!!
Old Dogger is offline   Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 02:07 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
marslim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,637
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Dogger View Post

The Rubicon Dana 44 has a Locker!!!!!!
If it's missing axles I wonder if it still has the locker and gear set....
__________________
"Opinions are like like a**holes everyone has one"
2012 jk 6sp
35" Hankook MT's, 2.5" Rock Krawler max travel, Rancho 9000's, bushwacker flatties, F&R Rubi Dana 44's w RCV's, chromoly shafts, 5.13 gears, AEV snorkel, Spod, Ace sliders & rear bumper, skid plates, Fab fours diff covers, RR front bumper, Q9000s winch
marslim is offline   Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 05:27 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 21
As the post above raised the question, if it has the factory locker, are they throwing in the wiring as well? If not, that's going to run you close to an additional 100 bucks.

To answer your original question, you'll need different axles. Also, there's no added strength to the rubicon housing.

If you're looking to add strength to the housing while keeping that axle looking pretty, check out a ProRock44. It's a slippery slope, huh? Haha. At that point, you have to look at yourself in the mirror and ask if you really need a locker. You're better off joining a club and finding out what your needs are before you start dropping serious coin. They don't call it Jeep (Just Empty Every Pocket) for nothing!
CTRyan is offline   Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 08:49 AM   #8
Jeeper
 
dwindeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Dogger View Post
The Rubicon Dana 44 has a Locker!!!!!!
WOW! Who new a Rubicon D44 had a locker. So you also know a Sport has no wire harness...no activation switches, no computer code and dash lights right. So, if the OP is wanting a OEM like working locker, it's not going to be just a $250 housing.
dwindeck is offline   Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 10:43 AM   #9
Jeeper
 
JKASS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 172
The housing has the gearing and locker included, no axles. As far as I know you can just wire a switch to activate the locker. Doesn't matter to me now because the poster listed it on CL in Knoxville which is about 4 hours from me but he's in Dalton, GA which is another couple hours and I don't have time to go get it. Look it up on knoxville, TN craigslist if you are interested. He says it's straight, hub to hub complete minus axles and the price seems great to me. Thanks for the responses!
JKASS is offline   Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 02:31 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ponderosa Pine Country, where the Bears are hungry!
Posts: 5,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwindeck View Post
I can't think of a positive gain by doing this, even if they would work.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwindeck View Post
WOW! Who new a Rubicon D44 had a locker. So you also know a Sport has no wire harness...no activation switches, no computer code and dash lights right. So, if the OP is wanting a OEM like working locker, it's not going to be just a $250 housing.
Your Post stated, (I can't think of a positive gain). Is a Locker not a gain? If you go to buy one, then you will find out!

And thank you for the education on the sport, see there, I learned something today..........
Old Dogger is offline   Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 06:56 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
dwindeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Dogger View Post
Your Post stated, (I can't think of a positive gain). Is a Locker not a gain? If you go to buy one, then you will find out! And thank you for the education on the sport, see there, I learned something today..........
I guess I should have explained a bit more. What I was getting at was...with all the extra work/cost to make the factory locker work, it may be just as easy/cheaper to do an E-locker or ? I also assumed the OP would like it to operate like factory. And I did go buy one...2 yrs. ago.
dwindeck is offline   Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 09:24 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Old Dogger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Ponderosa Pine Country, where the Bears are hungry!
Posts: 5,184
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwindeck View Post
I guess I should have explained a bit more. What I was getting at was...with all the extra work/cost to make the factory locker work, it may be just as easy/cheaper to do an E-locker or ? I also assumed the OP would like it to operate like factory. And I did go buy one...2 yrs. ago.
^^^O.K., on that Post we agree.......
Old Dogger is offline   Quote
Old 03-09-2014, 11:35 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
JEEPDON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Over the hill
Posts: 1,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwindeck View Post
I guess I should have explained a bit more. What I was getting at was...with all the extra work/cost to make the factory locker work, it may be just as easy/cheaper to do an E-locker or ? I also assumed the OP would like it to operate like factory. And I did go buy one...2 yrs. ago.
One can just wire up a switch just like any other e-locker and it will be fine. You will not have the factory light i n the dash to show you are locked up or any of the built in factory safety features. I.E. One can lock his/her axle at any speed, in any range, or even in 2H. You just have to watch closely to make sure you aren't locked up when you don't want to be.
I installed complete Rubi axles in my Sahara and wired them this way, and they work perfectly......locked when I want, and unlocked when I want!

__________________
Don
Political correctness is a doctrine, fostered by a delusional, illogical minority, and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a turd by its clean end!
JEEPDON is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC