Keep stock head unit with upgraded stereo - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-02-2012, 08:30 PM   #1
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
Keep stock head unit with upgraded stereo

Looking for some ideas on upgrading the stereo on my 2012 while keeping the stock head unit.

I like the blue tooth and navigation and don't want to replace the OEM head unit. I do not like the speakers. I'd like to replace everything and run a 4 channel amp for the dash and sound bar and a mono amp for a JL stealth box in the stock location.

Is the only solution to use some line level converters? What have others done?

steelerguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-02-2012, 08:33 PM   #2
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
the Kolector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 2,577
Just be careful it all does'nt get stolen if you have the top down/off.

__________________
You Are The Result of 3.8 Billion Years of Evolutionary Success. Act Like It.
the Kolector is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-02-2012, 09:01 PM   #3
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Barmanvarn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Sherwood, AR
Posts: 4,752
In line converters are your only option unless the stocker has preamps form some reason. And youll want to bypass the factory amp if you have one.
__________________
-Brian
2012 Cherry Red JK
TF 2.5 Coils w/ Billstein 5100 Shocks
17x8 Black Rock D-Window Alloys
315/70/17 GY Duratracs
4:56 Gears - LSD in Rear w/ Ten Factory Chromoly Shafts
TF HD Diff Covers
Barmanvarn is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-02-2012, 09:19 PM   #4
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,477
Quote:
Originally Posted by the Kolector View Post
Just be careful it all does'nt get stolen if you have the top down/off.
Or simply on...Jeeps are notorious for getting broken into.
ESP is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-03-2012, 10:07 AM   #5
Newb
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3
All the speakers would be in stock location including the subwoofer, amps under the seats. Not looking to do anything spectacular, would just look stock but hopefully sound better.

I kind of figured it would come down to using line converters or amps that have line level inputs.
steelerguy is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-03-2012, 10:39 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
New2012JEEP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: NB, FL
Posts: 1,298
It would be pointless to do any of that without changing the stock radio. The end product will only be as good as the source, and unfortunately, the source isn't all that great, for what you said you want.

Actually, i take that back. It can sound better than it does, but will still lack, the stock head unit in mine lacks an equalizer, which kinda sucks. Your music, regardless what it is, will all sound the same with limited controls. And the controls you do have will have large variances across the spectrum.

Honestly, I understand the blue tooth, and the conveniences. Most bang for your buck would be to first change the head unit, and your stock speakers will even sound better (Until they blow).

I am in same boat as you though, I like the clean look of the stock head unit.
__________________
2014 JKUS
OME 2" HD, MB 72 15's on 33" Goodyear DT's, Synergy Metal Grab Handles, ORO Center License Plate Bracket with LED Lights, Vector Offroad LPD, TrukLite Heads
New2012JEEP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2012, 07:45 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
DCSniksder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Northern Va
Posts: 30
I am subscribing to this thread... I am in the same boat. I am fine with the head unit but want some better sound. I've changed speakers in other vehicles and the difference was night and day.
DCSniksder is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-15-2012, 08:35 PM   #8
MallCrawler

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 34,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by DCSniksder
I am subscribing to this thread... I am in the same boat. I am fine with the head unit but want some better sound. I've changed speakers in other vehicles and the difference was night and day.
Poly fill the soundbar/sub box?
__________________
2007 Rubicon/Rock Krawler triple rate 2.5" coils/RK rear TB w/ a teraflex raised bracket/Rancho 9000 31/32XL shocks/Synergy flipped draglink,ball joints,tie rod /Hankook MT 315-75-16 on Level 8 ZX's/Rancho geo brackets/Ruff stuff uppers/Fox ATS stabilizer/Adams front DS/Artec front armor w/ Currie upper bushings/Rancho cat back exhaust.

Lifting your JK? Read this!!



Click HERE to become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 02:27 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
baytownbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 468
I have a 8 inch Bazooka and a separate Amp. I wanted to get it installed and the stereo guy told me I had to buy a JL Audio CL441dsp CleanSweep

or full power would go to the Bazooka and my fader and bass would do nothing to control how much bass I sent to it. I do not want this. What's the scoop? By the way, I have a 2011 JKU with the non-Infinity radio.
baytownbert is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 02:46 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
fishmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by baytownbert
I have a 8 inch Bazooka and a separate Amp. I wanted to get it installed and the stereo guy told me I had to buy a JL Audio CL441dsp CleanSweep

or full power would go to the Bazooka and my fader and bass would do nothing to control how much bass I sent to it. I do not want this. What's the scoop? By the way, I have a 2011 JKU with the non-Infinity radio.
You don't need to go with that one, but you may want to take a look at AudioControl LC6i.

Basically as I understand it, the stock HU controls signal output to different channels, and not in a good way. This is so to prevent damage to the stock speakers, which are generally pretty cheap. You could add an amp and a new speaker, but the signal going to that amp and therefore speaker (in this case the sub), would not be the full/pure signal. Ie, your output from the sub would be limited. This is where these signal modifiers come into play. They effectively remove the stock HU limitations, making sure you get a pure signal sent out to all channels.

Do you have to do this...No. Should you? Probably yes.

Hope that helps.
fishmd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 03:33 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
baytownbert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 468
Thanks, fishmd!
baytownbert is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 06:15 PM   #12
Really liking the Jeep...

WF Supporting Member
 
strider_mt2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmd View Post
You don't need to go with that one, but you may want to take a look at AudioControl LC6i.

Basically as I understand it, the stock HU controls signal output to different channels, and not in a good way. This is so to prevent damage to the stock speakers, which are generally pretty cheap. You could add an amp and a new speaker, but the signal going to that amp and therefore speaker (in this case the sub), would not be the full/pure signal. Ie, your output from the sub would be limited. This is where these signal modifiers come into play. They effectively remove the stock HU limitations, making sure you get a pure signal sent out to all channels.

Do you have to do this...No. Should you? Probably yes.

Hope that helps.
Interesting idea.
I don't mind the stock interface of the 730N, and it doesn't seem likely to get stolen in and of itself, but making the sound that comes from it better would be awesome.
I put the stock grilles on my soundbar speaker upgrade to "stealth" them.

So the idea would be to scrap the stock speakers and amps, add a Sweeper to the stock head unit, and then build the system out from there?
__________________
2012 Unlimited Rubicon - Natural Green
Every Day Driver
strider_mt2k is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 07:09 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
fishmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by strider_mt2k


So the idea would be to scrap the stock speakers and amps, add a Sweeper to the stock head unit, and then build the system out from there?
Exactly. I like my 730 radio and want to keep it. This is what I will be planning to do exactly once I get around to it.
fishmd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 07:12 PM   #14
Really liking the Jeep...

WF Supporting Member
 
strider_mt2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Southern New Jersey
Posts: 1,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmd View Post
Exactly. I like my 730 radio and want to keep it. This is what I will be planning to do exactly once I get around to it.
Well you've certainly planted a seed there!! Thanks!
__________________
2012 Unlimited Rubicon - Natural Green
Every Day Driver
strider_mt2k is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 07:17 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Phishe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishmd View Post
Exactly. I like my 730 radio and want to keep it. This is what I will be planning to do exactly once I get around to it.
Any chance you're planning on documenting the process and/or photographing the steps?
__________________
'12 JK Arctic Edition, a/k/a B.A. Baracus, a/k/a Bosco
Mods: AntennaX 13", 20% tinted front windows, Rugged Ridge XHD front bumper, Alpine SPS-610 (sound bar), Alpine SPR-60C (dash/tweeters), Olympic Safari mirrors (when doorless)

Phishe is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 08:18 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
chris.george's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 774
Not to hi-jack but I've been pretty interested in figuring this out.

Everyone notices the sound bar speakers are a little low in volume. I learned that it was because the amp only sends 20 watts to each of the rears vs 40 watts to the fronts.

Would this fix it? Or does that require something completely different?
__________________
First, gather your facts; then, distort them at your leisure.
— Mark Twain
chris.george is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 08:18 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
silvrevo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 916
Im in the middle of this right now.
I did the sound bar polly fill and was ready to install these custom 6.5" in the rear,, but the rears are actually 6.75" and adapotr plates wont fit. So the shop is going to make custom ones.

Im going with thier coomponets in the front and this small little amp from rockford that is75x4.

I like my stock head unit and want to keep that stealthy. I do have auido controlls and fader with the stock unit in my 2012. I think I aill be okay without the audio interface.

Im not looking to make this an audiophile mobile, but better than stock will work.

I was just going to do cheap rears, and fronts.

Now Im looking at a $950 setup, install and install kits are a bytch! And all 4 local shops were within $75 of each other.

I might check this one online store that has excellent prices for that audio interface thou.
__________________
'12 JK
'11 ZX-10r abs
silvrevo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 02-17-2012, 10:12 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
fishmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: South Florida
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phishe

Any chance you're planning on documenting the process and/or photographing the steps?
Yeah, I may do so. I am just getting started with it this weekend with doing the sound bar speakers.
fishmd is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-04-2012, 10:47 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
805lraquino74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San luis obispo CA
Posts: 61
Im in the same boat. I want to keep my stock 430n head unit but want to add my old alpine mono amp and my two alpine 12" type x subs. I plan on going down to a local shop and finding out my options. Ill post any new info.
805lraquino74 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-09-2012, 12:30 AM   #20
Newb
 
Rubicon2014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
so i just bought my jeep a couple months ago and the previous owner installed a kenwood head unit, amp and a subwoofer. for whatever reason i want to remove this stuff and replace the stock head unit. does anyone have any idea how difficult this is / how to do this ? please help !
Rubicon2014 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-09-2012, 12:35 AM   #21
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
the Kolector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Louisville, Ky
Posts: 2,577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rubicon2014 View Post
so i just bought my jeep a couple months ago and the previous owner installed a kenwood head unit, amp and a subwoofer. for whatever reason i want to remove this stuff and replace the stock head unit. does anyone have any idea how difficult this is / how to do this ? please help !
Its a pretty easy uninstall/install. Just have to make sure the factory harness isnt all cut up. Will need to procure a factory head unit. You can sell the old stuff and probably find a factory one in the classifieds.
__________________
You Are The Result of 3.8 Billion Years of Evolutionary Success. Act Like It.
the Kolector is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-09-2012, 05:58 AM   #22
rotaredoM

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 9,725
Images: 13
You can find a stock HU pretty much anywhere. I just purchased a 430 (non-nav) on e-bay that I'm going to install this weekend.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-11-2012, 11:10 PM   #23
Newb
 
Rubicon2014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
much appreciated, ive been looking into stock head units on ebay. im also thinking about checking into the speakers to see if the previous owner replaced them as well.

Rubicon2014 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Head Unit won't turn on anymore?? BlackMountain JK General Discussion Forum 17 05-15-2011 05:17 PM
Head Unit Jacked!!! TJChris27 TJ General Discussion Forum 15 03-25-2011 03:20 PM
Stock stereo, code required??? Turbaru Communications and Electronics 7 02-25-2011 10:51 PM
Hard Wire a head unit???? firefighter777 TJ Tech Forum 24 08-18-2010 03:28 PM
cd player head unit for 98 tj bmanrkg3 Classifieds Archive 2 07-05-2006 05:41 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC