manual sway bar disconnect? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 06-28-2011, 12:21 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
JimmEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston- Spring area
Posts: 603
Images: 7
Send a message via AIM to JimmEC
manual sway bar disconnect?

Another Jeeper showed me his "manual sway bar disconnect". It had pull pins that allowed him to remove a 4 inch bar. He said this worked just like on a rubicon, expect he had to take it out himself. He had a sport, just like mine. Can y'all school me up on this?

__________________
JimmysJeep

"From fighting the war on terror, to fighting the war on stupid." -me
JimmEC is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 12:29 PM   #2
MTH
Jeeper
 
MTH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 8,553
The jeeper was right.

Taken from another site:

"Disconnecting your Jeep's front sway bar links will allow your front axle a greater amount of articulation or flex on the trail. The more your axle can articulate, the more you can keep your tires on the ground even in severely uneven terrain and this will provide greater stability and traction."

And . . .

"Sway bar link quick disconnects are aftermarket links designed to make disconnecting and reconnecting your front sway bar links easier and faster."

Here's an example of aftermarket links. Some folks make homemade ones too, like these.

__________________
Mike
2010 JKU "Mountain" Edition
TeraFlex 2.5" Coil Lift : Old Man Emu Nitrocharger Shocks : 33x12.5R15 Goodyear DuraTracs : 15x8 Black Rock 909s : Other Stuff . . .
MTH is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 03:34 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
JimmEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston- Spring area
Posts: 603
Images: 7
Send a message via AIM to JimmEC
That's pretty awesome. Thanks
__________________
JimmysJeep

"From fighting the war on terror, to fighting the war on stupid." -me
JimmEC is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 03:38 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
El Gringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Buda, TX
Posts: 771
You could also make some from high quality clevis pins, washers, and a hairpin-cotter pin.
Well, to replace the bolt at least, as far as links, you probably have to buy longer ones, but from what I've seen you don't need to replace them until 3-4+ of lift.
__________________
1977 CJ5
El Gringo is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 03:43 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
JimmEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston- Spring area
Posts: 603
Images: 7
Send a message via AIM to JimmEC
Yeah, that makes sense. Is it as easy as pulling it off and putting it back on? No jacking or any BS like that?
__________________
JimmysJeep

"From fighting the war on terror, to fighting the war on stupid." -me
JimmEC is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 03:58 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
El Gringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Buda, TX
Posts: 771
Maybe a little jacking, just to get everything lined up. I had to do some when I put my lift on.
__________________
1977 CJ5
El Gringo is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:16 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
IndyJeepMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 3,387
JKS makes a really nice QD that is adjustable in case you lift your Jeep in the future. They run about $145.

Once you get past those there are Currie Anti-Rocks and they are legit. You don't have to remove them while offroad and you maintain driving stiffness and offroad looseness.

Then you have sway-loc's and other "E" QD's that are also affective but run from electricity.
__________________
1980 CJ7
3.9L Cummins POWER!
Follow my build, its cool and stuff: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f118/project-shake-n-bake-a-cummins-cj-188515.html]
IndyJeepMan is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:32 PM   #8
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,320
BTW, all Jeeps are equiped with manual sway bar disconnects. Some are just easier than others. A stock Sport or Sahara will require a 16mm socket IIRC, or could be 18mm.
__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote
Old 06-28-2011, 04:38 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
El Gringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Buda, TX
Posts: 771
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
btw, all jeeps are equiped with manual sway bar disconnects. :d some are just easier than others. A stock sport or sahara will require a 16mm socket iirc, or could be 18mm.
18

__________________
1977 CJ5
El Gringo is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Potential Jeep Buyer... CC268 General Jeep Discussion 15 05-02-2011 07:53 PM
Sway Bar Disconnect 92wrangler13 Builders Corner 2 02-12-2011 02:11 PM
Sway Bar Disconnect? gentry15 YJ General Discussion Forum 24 12-31-2010 10:48 AM
To sway or not to sway scean61 TJ General Discussion Forum 9 09-04-2010 03:05 PM
just bought a 03 tj have ? about sway bar being bent? blazin383 TJ Tech Forum 23 02-04-2010 09:50 PM



Download our Mobile App

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC