Matching Factory Switches - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 04-28-2011, 11:39 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 116
Matching Factory Switches

Sorry, I see it isn't possible to match the factory switches due to a circuit board behind the blanks.
Looking for switch bank options for a 6-speed manual. The lower panel in front of the shifter doesn't look like a good option as it is with the auto. I'd like a location suitable for a bank of 3 or 4 switches so it looks nice and neat. Any ideas?

Thanks.

__________________
2011 Mango Tango Rubicon
bbrown626 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2011, 12:09 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
Got this from another thread


Quote:
Originally Posted by zerokoo149 View Post
I also wanted to add my own buttons to the stock pod position, but gave up. I did see these pics from the SEMA show that I thought were good alternatives.




__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2011, 12:11 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
And the sPod. A little expensive but a great switch system

Quote:
Originally Posted by JIMBOX View Post
Yea, the space above the rearview mirror is pretty un-incumbered and thats where I have my CB also, but




I cheated on the sw box, by using the sPOD system, although that 2' area of the upper windshield "FACIA" is prime for sw placement if you "Fab" something and it's pretty easy to remove-

There's plenty of room for wires/harness to go across and inside the trim, down either side to the 1" firewall access holes-just level with the A/C outlets-





The more you look for access points on the dash, the tougher it's gonna get for placement/troubleshooting-etc-

The "A" pillar on the drivers side is another good spot for gages/sws/meters-

It's a jungle out there-

JIMBO
__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2011, 12:14 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
rics1997's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, Tn
Posts: 4,764
Good wiring route, Just have to pop off side dash panel at driver door

__________________
2010 Dark Charcoal Pearl Jeep Wrangler Sport S Automatic
4.88 Yukon w/Trac-Lok rear and Eaton ELocker Front - Synergy Gussets - B&M 70264 Trans Cooler
BDS 3" lift - BDS Fox 2.0 Racing Shocks
XHD front Bumper - Trektop NX - Goodyear MT/R w/Kevlar 35X12.5X15 on MB Chaos 5 Wheels - Thrush Turbo Muffler

Become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
rics1997 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2011, 05:20 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
2010WranglerMountain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: From Arkansas, stationed in Colorado Springs
Posts: 318
This is what I did
__________________
If it ain't broke, fix it till it is

Jeep Pics

Youtube Channel
2010WranglerMountain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2011, 10:33 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010WranglerMountain View Post
This is what I did
This looks nice an neat. Is that the stock pillar cover?


Thank you for the suggestions guys.
__________________
2011 Mango Tango Rubicon
bbrown626 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2011, 10:36 AM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by rics1997 View Post
Good wiring route, Just have to pop off side dash panel at driver door
Thank you for all the ideas. I'll investigate that location for the route of the switches from the pillar.
__________________
2011 Mango Tango Rubicon
bbrown626 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2011, 10:52 AM   #8
I do my own stunts.

WF Supporting Member
 
yomondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Burbank, CA
Posts: 2,793
I use sPOD , and I'm very happy with it. Contact John directly at sales@4x4s-pod.com for the best deal. I had the pleasure of meeting him personally last week at EJS in Moab. Very nice guy.

There's also JKSwitch which I was considering. Has some nice features, but wasn't available at the time I was ready to purchase.

Then there's the Rugged Ridge A-Pillar Switch Pod which is pretty new. I just don't like the placement for when the doors are off. Too tempting for nosey passers by.
__________________
Black 2009 Rubicon 2-Dr Auto | TF 3" lift and front lower CA's | JKS trackbars | 35" GY MT/R-K's | 17x9 M/T SS Classic II's | EVO Axle Sleeves and C Gussets | ARB diff covers | Skid Row evap can skid and front CA skids | Shrockworks bumpers and rock rails | Synergy Ball Joints, Tie Rod and grab handles | Warn 9.5ti | Pull-Pal | sPOD | Superchips Flashpaq | Dual Optima Yellow Tops | Cobra 29 LTD | 4' FireStick
yomondo is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2011, 06:19 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
anvando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 48
I have the A pillar switchpod from rugged ridge. It's pretty boss. And it looks completely factory.
anvando is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2011, 08:42 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
CRNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by rics1997 View Post
Got this from another thread
Where can I get those round silver switches. I like.
CRNA is online now   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-29-2011, 08:53 PM   #11
Newb
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by rics1997
Good wiring route, Just have to pop off side dash panel at driver door
Wow, you wouldn't want to pull off my side panel like that. It looks likes C3-PO's mid-section. It's a little embarrassing.
Unlimitedx is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 04-30-2011, 06:21 AM   #12
Jeeper
 
2010WranglerMountain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: From Arkansas, stationed in Colorado Springs
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbrown626 View Post
This looks nice an neat. Is that the stock pillar cover?


Thank you for the suggestions guys.
Yes, stock pillar cover.
__________________
If it ain't broke, fix it till it is

Jeep Pics

Youtube Channel
2010WranglerMountain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-01-2011, 12:30 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010WranglerMountain View Post
Yes, stock pillar cover.
I am looking at some switches to mount on that stock pillar. I need to pull it off first to see how much clearance there is.
My preference would be to mount the switches to the left of the steering wheel, but on the 2011 the speaker grill consumes the entire panel.
__________________
2011 Mango Tango Rubicon
bbrown626 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-02-2011, 06:01 AM   #14
Jeeper
 
2010WranglerMountain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: From Arkansas, stationed in Colorado Springs
Posts: 318
There is plenty of room man...I got both of those set in mine and never pulled the pillar cover off. There is room for a couple more above them as well.

Take your time and do a little measuring and get the right size hole drilled and those round rocker switches will pop right in.

__________________
If it ain't broke, fix it till it is

Jeep Pics

Youtube Channel
2010WranglerMountain is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory Sub works SOMETIMES dylan Communications and Electronics 1 08-21-2009 02:01 PM
Factory softtop or factory hardtop....which one?? Jeep2175 TJ General Discussion Forum 6 04-18-2008 11:37 PM
2008 Jeep Sahara - Aftermarket Stereo problem with factory amp Haloshot Communications and Electronics 0 11-27-2007 01:35 PM



» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC