Media Center 130 (RES+RSC) to Media Center 430N (RHB) - Page 2 - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 11-16-2011, 08:23 AM   #31
Jeeper
 
ShoreWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Maryland's Eastern Shore
Posts: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfrgrjk View Post
Okay, the dealer service manager called me back. When presented with the hypothetical situation (2012 JK, outiftted just like your wife's, needing to be upgraded to the 430 system), it is possible, and would progress just as my upgrade. Hardware plug and play, add the mic to the a-pillar, and tell the computer what radio is installed.
I'm confused on the add a mic part. Mine currently has a mic on the top of the a-pillar from the connectivity package. Are you saying that mic is not compatible?

ShoreWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-16-2011, 10:50 AM   #32
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
sfrgrjk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Siege line of 1781
Posts: 32
Images: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShoreWrangler View Post
I'm confused on the add a mic part. Mine currently has a mic on the top of the a-pillar from the connectivity package. Are you saying that mic is not compatible?
Not sure exactly what comes with the connectivity group. My invoice says the Jeep has it, but I didn't have a microphone in the A-pillar. The tech had to install it during the 430 install, so I could use the hands-free celphone application.

Wish I could be more help than that.

__________________
Sua Sponte / De Oppresso Liber / Sine Pari
sfrgrjk is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-16-2011, 10:51 AM   #33
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
What the issue here is:
With the RES, REQ, RHB & RBZ radios, the mic is located in the plastic trim on the "A" pillar near the drivers visor. These radios have an external Uconnect module that is mounted behind the HVAC controls. The wiring for the mic goes down the "A" pillar, there is a connector there, that connector cable then goes into the IP harness (dash) and then goes directly to the Uconnect module.
The 730N radio has the Uconnect system built into the radio. So here's the issue. If you just plug the 730N radio into the harness, the phone will pair and you will be able to make calls, however the other person won't be able to hear you because the mic is basically not plugged into the radio. So with the 730N radio, they offer an external mic to mount on the "A" pillar, run the wiring to the radio and plug it in. However that mic is an older design and does not have the audio quality that the factory mic has.
Also the dealer has to use the scan tool to change the radio code to the 730N radio type.
Hope this helps you.



Quote:
Originally Posted by ShoreWrangler View Post
I'm confused on the add a mic part. Mine currently has a mic on the top of the a-pillar from the connectivity package. Are you saying that mic is not compatible?
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-16-2011, 10:58 AM   #34
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
The wiring is the same in both vehicles. This will be a PnP install. I have talked to a couple of people at the Chrysler Tech center and they have also confirmed this. As I mentioned in another post here, the radio will see if there is an amp or not and make the adjustments internally with the CAN network.
If the vehicle does not have an amp, then the radio will have full wattage output to drive the speakers.
If the vehicle does have an amp, the radio will see it on the CAN BUS and then lower the audio output to be a lower level to the amp input.




Quote:
Originally Posted by sfrgrjk View Post
Okay, the dealer service manager called me back. When presented with the hypothetical situation (2012 JK, outiftted just like your wife's, needing to be upgraded to the 430 system), it is possible, and would progress just as my upgrade. Hardware plug and play, add the mic to the a-pillar, and tell the computer what radio is installed.

Take it for what it's worth, since I am no expert, but the same technician that performed the upgrade on mine (Hall in VBVA), says it is the same procedure for a 2012. When I asked if his department had actually performed the upgrade to a 2012, he said "not yet"... So, again, take the input with a grain of salt.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-16-2011, 11:12 AM   #35
Jeeper
 
ShoreWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Maryland's Eastern Shore
Posts: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
What the issue here is:
With the RES, REQ, RHB & RBZ radios, the mic is located in the plastic trim on the "A" pillar near the drivers visor. These radios have an external Uconnect module that is mounted behind the HVAC controls. The wiring for the mic goes down the "A" pillar, there is a connector there, that connector cable then goes into the IP harness (dash) and then goes directly to the Uconnect module.
The 730N radio has the Uconnect system built into the radio. So here's the issue. If you just plug the 730N radio into the harness, the phone will pair and you will be able to make calls, however the other person won't be able to hear you because the mic is basically not plugged into the radio. So with the 730N radio, they offer an external mic to mount on the "A" pillar, run the wiring to the radio and plug it in. However that mic is an older design and does not have the audio quality that the factory mic has.
Also the dealer has to use the scan tool to change the radio code to the 730N radio type.
Hope this helps you.

That does help, thank you. Question, when the run the new external mic into the A-Pillar, will it just replace the Uconnect mic? Or will there then be two mics on the pillar and the uconnect mic just be disabled?

Curious to see a photo of the mic that comes with the 730N to compare it to what's in my Jeep
ShoreWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-16-2011, 02:13 PM   #36
Sponsoring Vendor
 
pat@fieldsauto.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glenview
Posts: 3,160
To go from 130 to 430n without connectivity group all you need is bluetooth kit part #82212159.
The sirius antenna is the same as the nav antenna.

I'm having my parts department pull the part numbers needed to make a 430n work with the connectivity group.

scrap that, we put a 730n in a sport with the connectivity.
__________________
Patrick O'Donnell(Pat@Fieldsauto.com)
Fields Chrysler Jeep Dodge │ 2800 Patriot Blvd│ Glenview, IL 60026
847-446-5100 main│ 847-881-8313 direct
pat@fieldsauto.comFieldsChryslerJeepDodge.com
Have Questions About A New Jeep Purchase? CLICK HERE
pat@fieldsauto.com is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-16-2011, 02:47 PM   #37
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
Pat, the 730N was a PnP along with the adding of the external mic and changing the radio code. Is this correct. There were no issues with the wiring either, correct?
So the 430N will also be a PnP and be able to use the sirius ant for Nav & sat radio, along with the factory mic that was used with the 130, correct? Do you know if the radio code would need to be changed from the RES to the RHB code. I would think that because the Uconnect module is external, it would be read on the CAN BUS (with the 430N), where with the 730N, the CAN BUS would see the Uconnect module as inactive and throw a DTC.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Pat@FieldsJeep View Post
To go from 130 to 430n without connectivity group all you need is bluetooth kit part #82212159.
The sirius antenna is the same as the nav antenna.

I'm having my parts department pull the part numbers needed to make a 430n work with the connectivity group.

scrap that, we put a 730n in a sport with the connectivity.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-17-2011, 03:38 PM   #38
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
with the 730N radio, you would have a new mic added to the "A" pillar trim. I can try to find a schematic with the pin out for the connection. There should be a way to adapt the factory mic to the 730N. (I know there must be a way because my mind says so, but I know someone is going to ask "how" so I guess I should look into it a bit more).



Quote:
Originally Posted by ShoreWrangler View Post
That does help, thank you. Question, when the run the new external mic into the A-Pillar, will it just replace the Uconnect mic? Or will there then be two mics on the pillar and the uconnect mic just be disabled?

Curious to see a photo of the mic that comes with the 730N to compare it to what's in my Jeep
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-18-2011, 01:19 PM   #39
Jeeper
 
ShoreWrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Maryland's Eastern Shore
Posts: 941
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
with the 730N radio, you would have a new mic added to the "A" pillar trim. I can try to find a schematic with the pin out for the connection. There should be a way to adapt the factory mic to the 730N. (I know there must be a way because my mind says so, but I know someone is going to ask "how" so I guess I should look into it a bit more).
Thanks xsdbs, I'm curious to see what you find out. I will probably be getting a after-market unit put in soon
ShoreWrangler is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-18-2011, 05:44 PM   #40
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
Sorry, I got quite tied up the last couple days here at work. I will try to get the information though. Bare with me, ok




Quote:
Originally Posted by ShoreWrangler View Post
Thanks xsdbs, I'm curious to see what you find out. I will probably be getting a after-market unit put in soon
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-18-2011, 05:45 PM   #41
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
@ Pat , how come you don't answer any of my questions to you?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
Pat, the 730N was a PnP along with the adding of the external mic and changing the radio code. Is this correct. There were no issues with the wiring either, correct?
So the 430N will also be a PnP and be able to use the sirius ant for Nav & sat radio, along with the factory mic that was used with the 130, correct? Do you know if the radio code would need to be changed from the RES to the RHB code. I would think that because the Uconnect module is external, it would be read on the CAN BUS (with the 430N), where with the 730N, the CAN BUS would see the Uconnect module as inactive and throw a DTC.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-05-2011, 10:36 AM   #42
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
Just wanted to say that I've been slammed at work and haven't been able to get into this yet. I know it can be done, I just need to get a good pin out of the connectors and then try it in a vehicle.



Quote:
Originally Posted by ShoreWrangler View Post
Thanks xsdbs, I'm curious to see what you find out. I will probably be getting a after-market unit put in soon
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-29-2011, 11:51 PM   #43
Jeeper
 
mflint1513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SoCal High Desert and IE
Posts: 262
Sorry for resurrecting old threads but did anyone post a definitive list for how to upgrade?
mflint1513 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-30-2011, 03:49 PM   #44
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
stroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oviedo, Florida
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by mflint1513 View Post
Sorry for resurrecting old threads but did anyone post a definitive list for how to upgrade?
Upgrading from the RSC to RHB is plug and play. Take old one out, plug new one in. Or were you referring to a different setup?
__________________
2012 DOZER JKJP72 24G ERB DGJ PY5 APA *PL -XV MX3 AAJ HAB AHT DME 4EA

10/12/2011 Ordered, Thanks Pat@Fields Jeep!
10/31/2011 Built
11/07/2011 Plant Release
11/22/2011 Delivered!!! Thanks Fields Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram of Florida!!!!
stroh is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-30-2011, 06:02 PM   #45
Jeeper
 
mflint1513's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SoCal High Desert and IE
Posts: 262
I think that's right...130 to 430 right?
mflint1513 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-31-2011, 08:43 AM   #46
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
Hey stroh,
Hope your Christmas Holidays were good. Did you get your vehicle finished with the new radio? How did it work out?
I've been so busy that I haven't been able to look into the mic rewire for those that are wanting to put the 730N in and use the factory mic. Hopefully things will start to slow down a bit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by stroh View Post
Upgrading from the RSC to RHB is plug and play. Take old one out, plug new one in. Or were you referring to a different setup?
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-31-2011, 05:50 PM   #47
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
stroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oviedo, Florida
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
Did you get your vehicle finished with the new radio?
Actually never swapped it out. We took delivery with the 130 in it and my wife loves it so much she doesn't want it changed. I think the Infinity system in the Jeep is much much better than the JBL system in my 4Runner.

The only hitch is that my wife's dumb phone reboots anytime the bluetooth connects to the Jeep so I had to remove the pairing from the phone and Jeep. My HTC Thunderbolt works flawlessly so I just need to get her a new smart phone and she will be all set. I thought the UConnect stuff wasn't much of a big deal but after using it in her Jeep I miss it when I am in my 4Runner.

Thanks again for all your help. I'm still keeping my eyes open for a cheap 430N, but now it isn't as high a priority.
__________________
2012 DOZER JKJP72 24G ERB DGJ PY5 APA *PL -XV MX3 AAJ HAB AHT DME 4EA

10/12/2011 Ordered, Thanks Pat@Fields Jeep!
10/31/2011 Built
11/07/2011 Plant Release
11/22/2011 Delivered!!! Thanks Fields Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram of Florida!!!!
stroh is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-31-2011, 05:53 PM   #48
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
stroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oviedo, Florida
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by mflint1513 View Post
I think that's right...130 to 430 right?
Yes, the 130 with Sirius Satellite is RES+RSC, the radio will have RES imprinted on the bottom right corner. The 430N is RHB, also imprinted on the bottom right corner.
__________________
2012 DOZER JKJP72 24G ERB DGJ PY5 APA *PL -XV MX3 AAJ HAB AHT DME 4EA

10/12/2011 Ordered, Thanks Pat@Fields Jeep!
10/31/2011 Built
11/07/2011 Plant Release
11/22/2011 Delivered!!! Thanks Fields Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram of Florida!!!!
stroh is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-01-2012, 04:06 PM   #49
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
What phone does your wife have? Wouldn't be an LG would it?
Oh yeah, just curious about something, what's the build date of your vehicle? There's a white tag on the drivers door. Should be under the code MHD.


Quote:
Originally Posted by stroh View Post
Actually never swapped it out. We took delivery with the 130 in it and my wife loves it so much she doesn't want it changed. I think the Infinity system in the Jeep is much much better than the JBL system in my 4Runner.

The only hitch is that my wife's dumb phone reboots anytime the bluetooth connects to the Jeep so I had to remove the pairing from the phone and Jeep. My HTC Thunderbolt works flawlessly so I just need to get her a new smart phone and she will be all set. I thought the UConnect stuff wasn't much of a big deal but after using it in her Jeep I miss it when I am in my 4Runner.

Thanks again for all your help. I'm still keeping my eyes open for a cheap 430N, but now it isn't as high a priority.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-01-2012, 04:41 PM   #50
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
stroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oviedo, Florida
Posts: 137
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
What phone does your wife have? Wouldn't be an LG would it?
Oh yeah, just curious about something, what's the build date of your vehicle? There's a white tag on the drivers door. Should be under the code MHD.
Yes, it is an LG VX9200 (ENV3). The build date according to Insight was 10/31/2011. Build date on the drivers door is 10/11.
__________________
2012 DOZER JKJP72 24G ERB DGJ PY5 APA *PL -XV MX3 AAJ HAB AHT DME 4EA

10/12/2011 Ordered, Thanks Pat@Fields Jeep!
10/31/2011 Built
11/07/2011 Plant Release
11/22/2011 Delivered!!! Thanks Fields Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram of Florida!!!!
stroh is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-01-2012, 06:57 PM   #51
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
HAHA, I was gonna ask if it was a VX9200. What is the SW version in the phone? It's lower than the V07 probably (huh). If so then please do the update. I believe that the most current SW is still the V07. If she is down around V03, 04ish she may need to take it to Verizon and have them update it.
On a different note can you pm me with an email to send something to you to try for me? I have had a couple people try it for me already with different radios but I would like to try it on the RES also.


Quote:
Originally Posted by stroh View Post
Yes, it is an LG VX9200 (ENV3). The build date according to Insight was 10/31/2011. Build date on the drivers door is 10/11.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-02-2012, 10:08 AM   #52
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
stroh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Oviedo, Florida
Posts: 137
I'll try and check her phone tomorrow. I don't know if its worth updating though, trying to get her to move into the smartphone world.
__________________
2012 DOZER JKJP72 24G ERB DGJ PY5 APA *PL -XV MX3 AAJ HAB AHT DME 4EA

10/12/2011 Ordered, Thanks Pat@Fields Jeep!
10/31/2011 Built
11/07/2011 Plant Release
11/22/2011 Delivered!!! Thanks Fields Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram of Florida!!!!
stroh is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-02-2012, 11:17 AM   #53
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
yeah, it is an older phone but if she still wants to use it for awhile, there is not charge for updating it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stroh View Post
I'll try and check her phone tomorrow. I don't know if its worth updating though, trying to get her to move into the smartphone world.
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 05-18-2012, 09:20 PM   #54
Newb
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
Rhb

Sorry for bringing up an old thread but...... I traded my wife's challenger for a 2012 wrangler unlimited sport with connectivity group. I used her old rhb unit on the wrangler and it will not turn on. Has anyone tried to swap it out and had luck ???
Robs8233 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 06-04-2012, 03:53 PM   #55
Newb
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
Question Upgrade to the Media Center 430N

I have the 2011 Call of Duty Rubicon Unlimited. It came with a basic stereo Media center 130. Does anyone know if I can swap it for the Media Center 430N and keep the control units working on the steering wheel?
fancenance is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-06-2012, 12:48 PM   #56
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 29
Good place to buy the nav system?

I have a 2012 JKU with the Uconnect package, sirius, standard radio.

Looking at the Mopar website, it shows the 430N RHB as compatible with my vehicle. With a list price of $2120. I've seen one on e-bay for about 2k.

Does anyone know where to look for a better price on these units?

I've seen the 730n on ebay for about $1300 used, however from reading some of the posts on this thread it looks like the 430n might be an easier option..

Here is the link for the 730n on ebay if anyone is interested.

2012 2011 JEEP WRANGLER LIBERTY 730N RHR DVD GPS MYGIG RADIO NAVIGATION SYSTEM | eBay
Xavier1911 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-06-2012, 01:21 PM   #57
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
sorry, I just saw this post. Yes, it will be a simple swap. Plug N play as long as long as you already have Sirius. If not then you'll also need to install the sirius antenna, which also has the GPS antenna built into it.



Quote:
Originally Posted by fancenance View Post
I have the 2011 Call of Duty Rubicon Unlimited. It came with a basic stereo Media center 130. Does anyone know if I can swap it for the Media Center 430N and keep the control units working on the steering wheel?
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 08-06-2012, 01:25 PM   #58
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1,694
It won't work.. The old radio is a Low Speed CAN BUS network radio. The Jeep is a High Speed CAN BUS network vehicle. 2 totally different systems.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Robs8233 View Post
Sorry for bringing up an old thread but...... I traded my wife's challenger for a 2012 wrangler unlimited sport with connectivity group. I used her old rhb unit on the wrangler and it will not turn on. Has anyone tried to swap it out and had luck ???
xsdbs is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 11-01-2012, 11:01 PM   #59
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Portage Lakes
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by xsdbs View Post
Just wanted to say that I've been slammed at work and haven't been able to get into this yet. I know it can be done, I just need to get a good pin out of the connectors and then try it in a vehicle.
xsdbs
Did you ever find a way of using the factory mic?
I have a 2013 sport with 130s/res and the connectability I installed the 730 rhr it was plug n play except for the mic the 2013 has the auto dim mirror so i'm not sure where I would plug in the external mic because the plug in the back of the radio is taken with the mirror plug.
Wyle69 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 01-02-2013, 11:24 PM   #60
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 8
I read this whole thread, still would like a solid answer if I can...

So my wife bought a wrangler sport unlimited.

It has 130..

I would like to get the nav on it. It has the connectivity package (Sirius and Bluetooth w/mic).

I would like to do the 730, but that looks like more trouble then it is worth but I can't find the 430N at a reasonable price. I am looking at ebay (Dodge Chrysler Jeep DVD CD Sirius 730N Mygig High Speed RHR GPS Navigation Radio | eBay)
for this radio...

In order to make this work do I simply uninstall the old radio and plug this in? Will the controls still work? Do I need to have the computer recoded?

Also, there is a mic already in my jeep, do I need a new one and where can I get it, or how do I make this work?

Anything would help. Thanks.

Irishmatt18 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media Center 430N only plays MP3 not wma music files??HDD Rockyroad816 JK General Discussion Forum 10 08-28-2012 03:21 PM
2012 Media Center Options COBuckeye JK General Discussion Forum 11 11-10-2011 06:15 PM
430n media center hsng JK General Discussion Forum 30 07-29-2011 07:04 PM
2011 Media Center Nav System? hsng JK General Discussion Forum 0 07-28-2011 09:44 AM
Help with media center HD gellie JK General Discussion Forum 4 10-10-2010 03:57 PM


logo carid shop wrangler parts carid fender flares custom wheels store avs deflectors at carid

» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01 AM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC