Navigation question - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-08-2010, 06:09 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Trunz150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 359
Navigation question

So i love the media center and all but there is a desplay mode for day time and night time for the colors and brightness of the nav, then there is a button for auto color, and i would think that when the lights in the jeep go on it would "auto color" to the night mode, but when i leave it on auto color nothing happens day or night. any ideas what auto color does i looked in the manual and found nothing?

Trunz150 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-08-2010, 09:03 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Rubi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 19
You'll still need to adjust seetings of daytime and night time independently - the "auto" setting will then switch between them controlled by whether lights are on of off.

So.... go to daytime setting and set the brightness you like.... then go to nighttime settings and set the brightness you want.... and then put it on Auto to switch automatically between then.

Rubi is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-08-2010, 09:16 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
Trunz150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 359
That is what i thought but nothing happens when i put it on auto so i guess that means i gotta bring it into the dealer booooo
Trunz150 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-08-2010, 09:16 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Trunz150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 359
thanks for your help
Trunz150 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-08-2010, 10:29 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 277
Adjust your dash dimmer light knob. It controls your interior light setting. You probably have it set to the highest position. Once you adjust it down a click, your NAV will adjust automatically to night mode when your headlights are on.

Took me a while to figure that one out too.
daedalus is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-08-2010, 10:37 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Trunz150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NY, NY
Posts: 359
thast weird!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! but ill give it a shot thanks alot man
Trunz150 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-08-2010, 11:48 AM   #7
Sponsoring Vendor
 
pat@fieldsauto.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glenview
Posts: 3,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by daedalus View Post
Adjust your dash dimmer light knob. It controls your interior light setting. You probably have it set to the highest position. Once you adjust it down a click, your NAV will adjust automatically to night mode when your headlights are on.

Took me a while to figure that one out too.
X2, That's what I had to do. The dash and climate controls are still bright enough to see and the nav screen is no longer bothering me at night.
__________________
Patrick O'Donnell(Pat@Fieldsauto.com)
Fields Chrysler Jeep Dodge │ 2800 Patriot Blvd│ Glenview, IL 60026
847-446-5100 main│ 847-881-8313 direct
pat@fieldsauto.comFieldsChryslerJeepDodge.com
Have Questions About A New Jeep Purchase? CLICK HERE
pat@fieldsauto.com is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2010, 10:00 PM   #8
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Another Nav question. I just purchased 2011 Rubicon Unlimited its awesome. Only issue is I work in DC and traffic is a nightmare. The salesman told me the Nav system has traffic updates. I can't get traffic updates. I have had it back to the dealership twice and they can't figure it out. They supposedly are looking into it!?!? Anybody have any info on this feature??
apag is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2010, 10:16 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 277
apag, do you have a Sirius subscription? I believe you need that to get the traffic updates. If so, there is a way to enable or disable the traffic updates from your NAV menu. I disabled my traffic updates because it got annoying when my route was recalculated every 2 minutes.
daedalus is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2010, 11:01 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
AmericanICON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by daedalus
Adjust your dash dimmer light knob. It controls your interior light setting. You probably have it set to the highest position. Once you adjust it down a click, your NAV will adjust automatically to night mode when your headlights are on.

Took me a while to figure that one out too.
Does the 2010 have any sort of lighting for the automatic transmission area, to light up what gear your in? Or HVAC area? All I have is the LED if the AC is on but nothing else, as well as no dome light function. Are all these areas controlled by the dimmer stalk?
AmericanICON is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2010, 11:06 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
joe002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by apag View Post
...I just purchased 2011 Rubicon Unlimited its awesome. Only issue is I work in DC and traffic is a nightmare. The salesman told me the Nav system has traffic updates. I can't get traffic updates...
The ’07 thru ’10 MyGIG units were based on equipment by Harman Becker, the ’11 MyGIG is Garmin based. I wonder if they still require Sirius for traffic information? I have an ’08 and yes, you do need Sirius traffic for it to work.
joe002 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-13-2010, 09:23 AM   #12
Sponsoring Vendor
 
pat@fieldsauto.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glenview
Posts: 3,182
2011 Nav does not have sirius traffic reports
__________________
Patrick O'Donnell(Pat@Fieldsauto.com)
Fields Chrysler Jeep Dodge │ 2800 Patriot Blvd│ Glenview, IL 60026
847-446-5100 main│ 847-881-8313 direct
pat@fieldsauto.comFieldsChryslerJeepDodge.com
Have Questions About A New Jeep Purchase? CLICK HERE
pat@fieldsauto.com is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-13-2010, 03:02 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
Rhadid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Troy, Michigan
Posts: 67
Its with your knob for the lights...if you put it on the part right before where the dome lights turn on it will be bright so use that during the day and when its night time just put it right under it and it will be a dark screen. Thats how i do it...
Rhadid is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-13-2010, 06:58 PM   #14
Newb
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4
Thanks Pato1031...My dealership is still trying to figure out why i can't get Traffic updates. Pathetic, I visited 3 dealerships and each salesman said it came equipped with travel link and traffic updates. I called Garmin and Sirrus they were both suprised but also confirmed those features are not supported on this system. Yet my dealership still can't give me answer the salesman won't return my calls
apag is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-13-2010, 07:23 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 277
Sorry to hear the dealership is so misinformed. But don't feel too bad about not having the traffic update feature. I found it to be utterly useless.

I tested it several times when I knew a certain route would be backed up with traffic, but the NAV would still recalculate my route in a completely illogical and ass-backwards way. And it would keep recalculating it every two minutes (along with constantly announcing "your route is being recalculated"), which was very annoying. So I disabled it, and now I just listen to the traffic report on the radio.

daedalus is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about swapping Navigation Stereo on 2010 Wrangler daedalus Communications and Electronics 2 06-10-2010 05:42 PM
question on navigation 08fun JK General Discussion Forum 2 10-20-2008 02:30 PM
quick axle question Sb5551 TJ Tech Forum 3 10-03-2008 08:38 PM
Trans Mount Question MOz TJ Tech Forum 8 06-10-2008 03:14 PM
Carb question and EGR question trulefty YJ Tech Forum 0 12-12-2006 04:55 PM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:58 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC