OEM Dash panel buttons/switches - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 01-06-2013, 11:22 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Moon Base Alfa
Posts: 39
OEM Dash panel buttons/switches

Is it possible to use the factory dash buttons for accessories such as lights etc...?



I would prefer to use the 3 blank spots on my factory panel in conjunction with a power distribution/relay block like that of the some after market kits. Rather than installing a multi switch bank overhead. I only need 2 or 3 switches and figured this would be a good idea. Has this been done before by anyone?

Any thoughts?

Jeep1st is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:35 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
cavsvet74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville
Posts: 1,279
Images: 5
Sadly, no it is not possible. The switch pannel is one continuous circuit board. There is no space in there anyway.

__________________
Determination: the feeling you get right before you do something incredibly stupid.
cavsvet74 is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:44 AM   #3
Newb
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 10
Spike201 is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:44 AM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Moon Base Alfa
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavsvet74 View Post
Sadly, no it is not possible. The switch pannel is one continuous circuit board. There is no space in there anyway.
Well that stinks!

Thanks for the info.
Jeep1st is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 11:47 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Moon Base Alfa
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spike201 View Post
Interesting, theres hope yet. Thanks!
Jeep1st is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:07 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
cavsvet74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Naperville
Posts: 1,279
Images: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spike201 View Post
Well I'll be...


Now I'm going to have to take my dash appart and see if the 07-10 are the same.
Although, that may not happen until warmer weather returns to the mid-west.
__________________
Determination: the feeling you get right before you do something incredibly stupid.
cavsvet74 is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 12:19 PM   #7
pavement princess

WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
kjeeper10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 41,778
Holy crap. Nice find
__________________
3.5' lift, 37x12.5x17 MTR. Rock Krawler custom length X-Factor arms,Teraflex,Synergy,Rancho 5000X shocks. Krawl Offroad
- General lift discussion thread. Have a question, need help, issues, selecting a kit, ask here
- My 2007 2 Door Build
Click HERE to become a WranglerForum Supporting Member!
kjeeper10 is online now   Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 02:03 PM   #8
yeah,,,, im that good

5-Year WF Supporting Member
 
panthermark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago-land
Posts: 10,346
Images: 13
I would LOVE to figure out a way to use my last blank as a garage door opener instead of a non-working self-destruct button.
__________________
2013 Sahara Unlimited
Billet - Auto - 3.73 - Connectivity - Painted Hardtop - LSD - Remote Start - Saddle Leather - Side Airbags

I may mall crawl...but I look good doing it.....
panthermark is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:17 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
kramer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by panthermark
I would LOVE to figure out a way to use my last blank as a garage door opener instead of a non-working self-destruct button.
+1

That's awesome.
__________________
kramer2k is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:47 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
Crazy Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Upstate, SC
Posts: 60


Here's hoping this thread develops.
__________________

2013 JKR Bright White (Deceased)
Crazy Mike is offline   Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 03:57 PM   #11
Jeeper
 
Cfng6388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: NYC (SI)
Posts: 23
*runs to the jeep with a toolbox*

That could come in handy.
Cfng6388 is offline   Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 03:20 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 157
If not there, where is everyone putting their switches?
__________________
2013 JKU Oscar Mike
1993 YJ - Sold
underwaterdan is offline   Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 04:01 PM   #13
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Moabite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Moab
Posts: 1,201
Quote:
Originally Posted by underwaterdan View Post
If not there, where is everyone putting their switches?
I've mounted several switches in the Daystar panel that replaces the panel at the bottom of the dash over the console...but I think it only works on automatics.
__________________
2013 JKUR softtop - Old photos here: http://www.wranglerforum.com/f33/my-...on-202906.html
Gone and fondly remembered: '03 Rubicon - Sold 10/31/12
'82 Scrambler purchased new in 1982 - sold in '96
Moabite is offline   Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 05:50 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Guadzilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Mount Sinai, Long Island
Posts: 79
I mounted my switches on the left side of the windshield. Sorry not sure what that plastic piece is called lol.
__________________
Lead, follow, or get the hell out of the way - George Steinbrenner
Guadzilla is offline   Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 06:43 PM   #15
Newb
 
OffroadTraveler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Sierra Vista, AZ
Posts: 4
Images: 2
I had the same wish to use the existing switch panel. I did find another solution. In your picture you can see the panel with a net. You can remove this panel and replace it with one from DayStar. They also sell the switches.

The Daystar switch panel holds six switches. Currently I have switches in all six, but only use two. The first cuts off the power to the winch. The second cuts off the power to the rear, where I have a ARB dual air compressor in the "tool" bin and a power line to a connector on the rear bumper to power a future camper battery charging circuit.
__________________
"The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not." - Thomas Jefferson
OffroadTraveler is offline   Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 09:02 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
Commodore Perry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by underwaterdan View Post
If not there, where is everyone putting their switches?
Installation Video
Commodore Perry is offline   Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 10:54 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
paleh0rse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,119
Whoa, ok, that stock panel switch mod shows potential... can't wait to see a follow-up video!
paleh0rse is offline   Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 08:40 AM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Moon Base Alfa
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spike201 View Post

Has anyone here done this yet? Where would I get those small push button switches?
Jeep1st is offline   Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:21 AM   #19
Jeeper
 
CharlesS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Carmel Mountain, CA
Posts: 381
10 x Micro Push Button Switch on Black Color on Off | eBay

Ebay, Frys Electronics and even Radio Shack are a good source for switches like this.
CharlesS is offline   Quote
Old 02-27-2013, 02:59 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Greg__Berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 327
I would definitely want to try this once I have the need. Hopefully use it for some windshield mounted Dually D2s. On the wish list, but I have no idea when I'll actually be able to get them. I'd be very interested to see if anyone has successfully done this mod.
Greg__Berger is online now   Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 09:20 AM   #21
Jeeper
 
Scott2373's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Williamson, NY
Posts: 1,502
Subscribed!
__________________
2013 Sport in Commando Green
3.73 Gears, A/C, 6-Speed
/_|o[___]o
[I---L-OllllllO
-
()_)()_)=░░=)_)
MOLON LABE
Scott2373 is offline   Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:10 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
MangoTango34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Middle of Kansas
Posts: 365
Quote:
Originally Posted by underwaterdan View Post
If not there, where is everyone putting their switches?
I put the switch for my KC long ranges by the console, kind of above the Ebrake. Nice and clean look. But it was a pain in the butt to wire it! Sorry that the lic is hard to see.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1463280180.jpg
Views:	864
Size:	73.1 KB
ID:	230138
__________________
Sometimes I have to make my own type of wheeling.
It's a Jeep thing - live with it.

/l ,[_],
l---L -OlllllllO-
()_) ()_)----)_)
MangoTango34 is offline   Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 12:20 PM   #23
Jeeper
 
kurtz265's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ridgefield, CT
Posts: 710
Really need someone to test this further and post a tutorial.... I would LOVE to get onboard air and a garage opener set up with the switches.
kurtz265 is offline   Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 02:19 PM   #24
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Tampa, Fl
Posts: 38


someone please do a write-up on this!
__________________
2013 JKUR (Commando Green) RockKrawler 2.5" Flex/ Toyo MT 35's/ & lots of other goodies...

Build Thread
FLHusker7 is offline   Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:41 PM   #25
A-14

WF Supporting Member
 
1Topp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: BarkCamp Ga.
Posts: 1,486
Images: 77
__________________


A-14 Build
A-14 Profile
A-14 Pics
1Topp is offline   Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 05:25 PM   #26
Jeeper
 
oOoYTSEJAMoOo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: in my Jeep
Posts: 406
Images: 7
Working on mine currently. Rugged ridge pillar switches with contura v switches from otrattw.com.



Attachment 230785
oOoYTSEJAMoOo is offline   Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:18 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
paleh0rse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by oOoYTSEJAMoOo View Post
Working on mine currently. Rugged ridge pillar switches with contura v switches from otrattw.com.
You're installing switches on the passenger side too? Which devices do you have on the switches over there?
paleh0rse is offline   Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:22 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
kramer2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 2,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by paleh0rse View Post
You're installing switches on the passenger side too? Which devices do you have on the switches over there?
That's what I'm wondering. They're really just switches for when you're doing stuff when the Jeep is idle, yes? Obviously they're out of reach while driving. I suppose stuff like winch and OBA could be candidates for a place like that.
__________________
kramer2k is offline   Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:10 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
markwoodlief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Mount Vernon, WA
Posts: 283
Quote:
Originally Posted by oOoYTSEJAMoOo View Post
Working on mine currently. Rugged ridge pillar switches with contura v switches from otrattw.com.



Attachment 230785

love it
__________________
/l ,[___],
l--L-⌐OlllllllO-
▒)»» ▒)--♂-▒)
2007 Jeep Green JKU
markwoodlief is offline   Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:20 PM   #30
Jeeper
 
Senior Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: A Secure, Undisclosed Area
Posts: 2,794
Especially like the passenger eject switch ....

__________________
Never share a foxhole with someone braver than yourself

2013 JK Sport, Dozer, Auto, 3.5 AEV lift, Nitto 35s, Black Rock D909S Wheels, AEV bumper, PIAA lights, Wet Okoles, FlowMaster 40, G2 Diff Covers, K&N, Springfield XD 40 ...
Senior Chief is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep«, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC