Pioneer AppRadio3 install with Spkrs & GraBars - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 07-15-2013, 08:06 AM   #1
Jeeper
 
Bek1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: York,PA
Posts: 60
Images: 1
Pioneer AppRadio3 install with Spkrs & GraBars

Time to remove the factory headunit and speakers today.
Installing the new Pioneer Appradio3 with the DVD/CD in my 2012 JKU today. I have read enough on the threads and it is time to get rid of the stock 130 headunit. New Pioneer speakers all around too.

I am going to install the new Pioneer AppRadio 3 that will connect to my Samsung Galaxy III. I will keep everyone posted and do some documentation for a write-up later.

Once it is all done- my Jeep will be on display at the PA Jeeps show in York, PA this weekend at the Installation Doctor/ Welcome Distributing booth.
You can also come and see the new interior GraBars for the 07-13 JKs. Awesome solid steel handles for the front & rear to grab for easy entrance. You can purchase Grabars at their booth. Front & rear kits will be there. Hope to see some fellow WranglerForum folks there.

__________________
BEK1969
York,PA
Bek1969 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-15-2013, 10:53 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 64
Can't wait to see this. I'm looking at ordering that same HU

mi1knc0okies is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-16-2013, 05:39 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Bek1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: York,PA
Posts: 60
Images: 1
Got the new speakers and Pioneer AppRadio 3 installed.
I have a few pictures to download and post. I will work on a write up with some lessones learned.\
__________________
BEK1969
York,PA
Bek1969 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 01:42 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 64
What wiring harness did you use?
mi1knc0okies is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 02:33 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 52
I'm looking forward to your follow-up post. Im also a Galaxy S3 user, and I'm giving serious consideration to this head unit. I'm probably going to install it myself, though I've never done that before.
VertigoTX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 04:21 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 64
Mine is sitting in my backseat waiting for my harness. Wasn't sure which one to get hopefully ill have it Tuesday and can tell you how it works. I have a galaxy s4 active and a htc one to mess with.
mi1knc0okies is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-20-2013, 10:44 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 52
It looks like this is the one to use if you have the 130 Media Center with no amp: PAC RP4-CH11

I played with the Appradio at Best Buy today, and really liked it. I'm looking forward to hearing your thoughts after installation. I'm particularly interested in the Mirrorlink/App Modes with things like Waze, Pandora, and iHeartRadio.
VertigoTX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-21-2013, 02:08 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 64
After searching on the forum all over the place and found this Metra Online it'll be in on tuesday so hopefully i can get it installed and review it.
mi1knc0okies is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-21-2013, 04:40 PM   #9
The Infamous One

WF Supporting Member
 
donmeca2020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Hollywood, florida
Posts: 2,586
pics yet ??
__________________
2014 Copperhead Pearl Wrangler Unlimited Sport

" Revenge is never about the greater good. Itís a visceral need that has to be satisfied or the strong lose focus. "
donmeca2020 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-21-2013, 11:13 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
WhiskeyMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 822
What's the difference between Appradio 3 and the AVH-x8500 bhs besides one less preout and preouts are 2v instead of 4v? Why did you choose AR3 instead?
WhiskeyMike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-22-2013, 07:55 AM   #11
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Phoenix
Posts: 298
I have AppRadio 2 installed in mine. Picked up on crutchfield for a good price. Got most install gear free and harness for 50% off ($75). Also they threw in android harness free that I sold up on eBay for $50 or so.

I'm running iPhone and it works pretty good. I do not use app radio app since it is not needed. Basically each app just uses a video out function so pioneer app just adds a layer of complexity in my eyes. So if I want Waze, I just go to apps on unit and then load app from phone. iOS isn't as flexible as android so this works best for me.

I'm ready to jump on AppRadio 3 as soon as Pjoneer gets an update out for iOS in the car. This will make AppRadio everything I've always wanted. My smartphone on my car screen. Haven't used mirror link, but looks similar I guess to iOS in the car. Really hoping Alpine does something great, but if not I'm sure pioneer will.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VertigoTX View Post
It looks like this is the one to use if you have the 130 Media Center with no amp: PAC RP4-CH11
This is what I used. Wouldn't use anything but PAC if it was my install.
__________________
2012 JKU Sport Silver - Max Tow, Trac-Lok LSD, Auto, Sport S package, Hardtop.

MODS: See garage, bunch of fun stuff underway.
BacaraJKU is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-22-2013, 08:19 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Bek1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: York,PA
Posts: 60
Images: 1
Sorry guys I got very busy for the PA Jeep show this past weekend. What a great weekend!

I will,post the notes on wiring harnesses and a few pics.
I picked the new AR3 since they dropped the AR2. We wanted the CD/DVD feature also.
__________________
BEK1969
York,PA
Bek1969 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-23-2013, 12:05 AM   #13
Jeeper
 
WhiskeyMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by BacaraJKU View Post
I'm running iPhone and it works pretty good. I do not use app radio app since it is not needed. Basically each app just uses a video out function so pioneer app just adds a layer of complexity in my eyes. So if I want Waze, I just go to apps on unit and then load app from phone. iOS isn't as flexible as android so this works best for me.
Are you saying you use video out with lightning to hdmi out or similar? And it mirrors your screen? Does that work with all apps? Such as google maps? Does it mix the audio of maps with your music ok?
WhiskeyMike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-23-2013, 12:07 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Phoenix
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyMike View Post

Are you saying you use video out with lightning to hdmi out or similar? And it mirrors your screen? Does that work with all apps? Such as google maps? Does it mix the audio of maps with your music ok?
Well, I had iPhone 5 and bent it when it was in my back pocket. Bent it back and sold it. Now with 4s I get rid of bulky adapter.

With 4s and 5, it will mirror what is on iPhone screen, but in portrait mode. However, apps like Waze, Motion X GPS, iHeart Auto and any other app that supports external display work with AppRadio and give you full screen and controls that are adjusted for bigger screen. So if you go to "Apps" on AppRadio, just launch app from phone and it outputs app to display.

Since Apple has iPhone on lock down, you have to hit allow on iPhone before apps launch anyways. The AppRadio app that gives you an interface to launch apps is a waste in my book. That app basically gives you a list of compatible apps that are installed on iPhone. The App itself does all the work in terms of out putting display to AppRadio.

Hope that makes sense, but if not, just use an AppRadio without AppRadio app installed on iPhone. Launch a simple app like iHeart Auto. It loads on phone and displays on AppRadio exactly the same without the app clutter.
__________________
2012 JKU Sport Silver - Max Tow, Trac-Lok LSD, Auto, Sport S package, Hardtop.

MODS: See garage, bunch of fun stuff underway.
BacaraJKU is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-23-2013, 12:27 PM   #15
Photographer and Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
Argent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,321
Images: 1
Send a message via AIM to Argent Send a message via Yahoo to Argent
you've certainly got me curious - why spend $700 on upgrading my 2014 Sport to the 430 non-nav radio when I can pick one of these up for $500 and it does more...
Argent is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-23-2013, 01:23 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
WhiskeyMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 822
Thanks Bacara!

The Appradio 3 says it has support for Siri, anyone try it out yet? Anyone know if the AVH-8500BHS has the same software update? I'm thinking about getting the 8500 for better preout, HD radio, SatRadio and 2 USB for about $80 more than AR3. But Siri is something I'd like.
WhiskeyMike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-23-2013, 01:44 PM   #17
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Phoenix
Posts: 298
Honestly, I'm waiting to see who does iOS in the Car first. Pioneer or Alpine. Pioneer already posted on their Facebook page that they are testing it, but are a long ways off since iOS 7 is still in beta. If you are using iOS wait, if you are using Android with an SG3 or SG4, go for it. AppRadio 3 is pretty future proof with Mirrorlink which is supported by Samsung phones I listed and should work with iOS in the Car when Pioneer updates software for it.

Also AR3 does bluetooth streaming finally. Side note, Pioneer is very slow to update software for decks except AR. They did the iPhone 5 update first so I would expect AR3 would be updated with iOS in the Car before their other decks with App Mode.

Edit: regarding other pioneer decks, they are better from an audio perspective, but I'm good with AR since I just want my smartphone on my screen. They just need to do a third model of AR that is higher end with 3 pre outs, HD radio, etc. Also, iPhone 5 requires the bulky Apple Digital HDMI adapter to work.
__________________
2012 JKU Sport Silver - Max Tow, Trac-Lok LSD, Auto, Sport S package, Hardtop.

MODS: See garage, bunch of fun stuff underway.
BacaraJKU is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-23-2013, 08:53 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 64
Finally got it in but waiting on my mlh adapter for my s4 active. AppRadio isn't compatible with the s2 I found. Sorry about the side ways pics posted from my phone.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Snapchat-8481.jpg
Views:	261
Size:	154.2 KB
ID:	276665  
mi1knc0okies is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-23-2013, 09:36 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 64
I got the Pioneer AVHP8400BH. Wanted to get the app radio but its reviews were less than stellar. The 8400 had advanced app mode which does pretty much everything appradio does.

After messing around with it for 15 minutes i found the advanced app mode to be pretty much worthless. :/
riptide09 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-24-2013, 10:44 PM   #20
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 64
The main differences between the two i see is the AppRadio has mirror link so I see my phone on the screen. Pretty cool since I have android. The Pioneer AVHP8400BH has a sd card slot and a bunch a other useless features. I really couldn't justify the extra cost. After using it for a day with out the use of the Apps or mirror link I'm still pretty happy with my purchase. Ill have AppRadio working tomorrow once I set up the ebrake wire that I tried to bypass.
mi1knc0okies is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-24-2013, 11:03 PM   #21
Newb
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 10
Has anyone tried the AppRadio3 with a DroidRazrHD or HDMAX? I'm interested in this head unit, but the compatiblity hasn't hit Motorola yet it seems, so I don't want to buy a head unit that would only work with my girlfriend's phone and not mine.
spn.usmc is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-25-2013, 01:21 AM   #22
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Phoenix
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by mi1knc0okies View Post
The main differences between the two i see is the AppRadio has mirror link so I see my phone on the screen. Pretty cool since I have android. The Pioneer AVHP8400BH has a sd card slot and a bunch a other useless features. I really couldn't justify the extra cost. After using it for a day with out the use of the Apps or mirror link I'm still pretty happy with my purchase. Ill have AppRadio working tomorrow once I set up the ebrake wire that I tried to bypass.
Just put it on a toggle switch. The ebrake you have to ground-unground-ground again to bypass. Or you can buy the micro bypass on eBay or I think amazon. Pretty easy, I just have the toggle down between driver seat and console.
__________________
2012 JKU Sport Silver - Max Tow, Trac-Lok LSD, Auto, Sport S package, Hardtop.

MODS: See garage, bunch of fun stuff underway.
BacaraJKU is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-25-2013, 06:36 AM   #23
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 64
Definitely the the e-brake bypass. So much easier! Should be able to find one on amazon or ebay for less than $15!
riptide09 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-25-2013, 09:57 AM   #24
Jeeper
 
WhiskeyMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 822
What does the ebypass connect into? The PAC harness?
WhiskeyMike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-25-2013, 10:21 AM   #25
Jeeper
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Phoenix
Posts: 298
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyMike View Post
What does the ebypass connect into? The PAC harness?
The PAC bypass is way to complicated for Pioneer bypass in my opinion. The Micro bypass is cheaper and much more straight forward.

The ebrake wire is supposed to connect to ground side of ebrake on car. So micro bypass connects to amp turn on or another power source and ground, then you connect ebrake wire to this and it will basically ground, unground and ground again with proper timing and bypass unit.

I still think it's cheaper and easier to just to buy a switch from RadioShack and flick it on-off-on to bypass. I hardly ever need to bypass unless someone wants to watch a movie on a road trip (no I don't watch it and it doesn't distract me).
__________________
2012 JKU Sport Silver - Max Tow, Trac-Lok LSD, Auto, Sport S package, Hardtop.

MODS: See garage, bunch of fun stuff underway.
BacaraJKU is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-25-2013, 10:57 AM   #26
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 64
If you buy the bypass off ebay for less than $20 you dont have to flick anything. Its just wire up and good to go.

Ebay item number: 151072825506
riptide09 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-25-2013, 02:00 PM   #27
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 64
Thanks guys. I just went in and connected it properly. Still haven't got to try out the AppRadio but mirror link is amazing. I was using my galaxy s4 active on the screen only needing the USB cable. No mlh or had i cable needed. I was texting playing music GPS and even using Swype all from the screen. Pretty awesome. Ill post a video later today. Curious about app radio but mirror link does everything I wanted and more.
mi1knc0okies is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-25-2013, 02:27 PM   #28
Jeeper
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 64
I just realized something..... My passengers will be able to read my text.... No big deal but you never know what you'll get!
mi1knc0okies is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-25-2013, 09:00 PM   #29
Jeeper
 
Bek1969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: York,PA
Posts: 60
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiskeyMike View Post

Are you saying you use video out with lightning to hdmi out or similar? And it mirrors your screen? Does that work with all apps? Such as google maps? Does it mix the audio of maps with your music ok?
For my Samsung g3 I use ' Mirrorlink' and can see everything on my phone screen.must be landscape apps though for the AppRadio lcd.
just using an iPod touch for tunes for my kids now. Works nice for that.
__________________
BEK1969
York,PA
Bek1969 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 07-25-2013, 09:32 PM   #30
Jeeper
 
WhiskeyMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 822
Have you guys connected the USB port in the center console to the Headunits? I read on crutchfield the the USB port is lost on the wrangler. Or is it possible to change it out to a USB extension cable?

Also, where did you buy it? Seems like great deals on ebay/amazon black market, but worried about lack of warranty.

WhiskeyMike is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:47 PM.



Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC