procal - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 02-26-2013, 12:46 PM   #1
Jeeper
 
Rboom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: las vegas
Posts: 22
procal

just trying to figure it out. I know its been talked about alot, I have 6 speed manual, 4:10 gears. want to go with 2.5" lift with 35" tires. Do I have to regear and use a procal?

Rboom is offline   Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 12:59 PM   #2
The Bad Guy

WF Supporting Member
 
daggo66's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NJ exile living in Baltimore
Posts: 22,427
Whether or not you need to re-gear will depend on how it drives after the change. You might get away with 4.1, but it will depend on how it feels to you. You will definitely need the Procal to reprogram your speedometer/odometer. Your speed will be off significantly.

__________________
Tom

"I've got two things in this world, my balls and my word and I don't break them for no one."
daggo66 is offline   Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 01:03 PM   #3
Jeeper
 
Rboom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: las vegas
Posts: 22
thanks.
Rboom is offline   Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 02:33 PM   #4
Thank You Veterans!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 27,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by daggo66 View Post
Whether or not you need to re-gear will depend on how it drives after the change. You might get away with 4.1, but it will depend on how it feels to you. You will definitely need the Procal to reprogram your speedometer/odometer. Your speed will be off significantly.
I agree with this

I have the exact same setup as you (4:10 gears, 6-speed, 2" lift and 35" tires) and I am very comfortable with my gearing. Sometime in the future I may re-gear but they are fine for now. I forget how far my speedometer was off (7-8 MPH as I recall) so the ProCal helped greatly.
Beastmaster is online now   Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 02:42 PM   #5
Jeeper
 
Rboom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: las vegas
Posts: 22
thanks for input. I've never used a procal or anything like are instructions that come with them pretty straightforward.
Rboom is offline   Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 02:50 PM   #6
Thank You Veterans!

5-Year WF Supporting Member
::WF Moderator::
 
Beastmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: The Old Pubelo
Posts: 27,039
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rboom View Post
thanks for input. I've never used a procal or anything like are instructions that come with them pretty straightforward.
Super easy. They give you a chart, you set the pins on the unit, plug it in and you're done. There is a little more to it than that, but you get the picture.

Here's a link to the manual: http://www.quadratec.com/Assets/Installation/110315.pdf
Beastmaster is online now   Quote
Old 02-26-2013, 03:08 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Rboom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: las vegas
Posts: 22
cool. just got to save a little more want to get it all done in one shot. 2.5" metal cloak game changer lite. aev 17" savegre wheels black, 315/70 17 duratracs ; aev procal

Rboom is offline   Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Download our Mobile App

» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.


User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging v3.1.0 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.

Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC