Procal? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 03-13-2013, 11:51 PM   #1
Newb
 
Flo-RidaJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 12
Procal?

Would you need a procal for 33's with 17's?

Flo-RidaJeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2013, 12:31 AM   #2
Jeeper
 
Braveheart12JK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 970
Yes. It would only be slightly off, speedometer-wise, if u didn't....but if u have the auto tranny, the shift points would be slightly out of wack too. It's worth having it anyways for possible future mods: bigger tires or gear change

__________________
2012 2DR Wrangler Sport, Silver/w dual top. 2.5" Teraflex coil and shock lift with 33" Goodyear Duratracs. Cat back stainless exhaust with resonator removed and Rugged Ridge split dual TP system/K&N Filter and back seat removed. 4.10 gears with Auburn HP LSD. Rampage stainless steel mesh grill insert. Third Wrangler I've owned and fifth Jeep total.
Life is Good!
Braveheart12JK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2013, 04:11 AM   #3
Jeeper
 
OffRoadCam09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braveheart12JK
Yes. It would only be slightly off, speedometer-wise, if u didn't....but if u have the auto tranny, the shift points would be slightly out of wack too. It's worth having it anyways for possible future mods: bigger tires or gear change
X2 get it you'll need it. It'll take the annoying tpms sensor light away, allow you to know when the steering wheel is centered if it gets knocked out of whack, correct shift points for an auto tranny an much more.
OffRoadCam09 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2013, 08:05 AM   #4
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
cmaggi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Prairieville, LA
Posts: 1,194
I've been driving that same setup in an auto for about a month. The speedo and odometer are about 2.5% off. I would get something if I were you. I'm still deciding b/w the ProCal and Superchips Flashpaq. My $500 dental bill yesterday will probably decide for me (ProCal).
cmaggi2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2013, 09:25 AM   #5
Jeeper
 
Apexeater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 72
Does anyone know if it will work on more than one jeep (both JK's)?
Apexeater is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2013, 09:39 AM   #6
Jeeper
 
Dick Blonov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal (the big one)
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apexeater View Post
Does anyone know if it will work on more than one jeep (both JK's)?

Procal? Nope. It's tied to the VIN. One Jeep at a time.

DB
Dick Blonov is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2013, 08:16 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
Ubear7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 195
Do you have to remove the tire size and tpms programming when you go to the dealer like a performance chip?
Ubear7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2013, 09:09 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
Dick Blonov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal (the big one)
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubear7 View Post
Do you have to remove the tire size and tpms programming when you go to the dealer like a performance chip?
You don't.

DB
Dick Blonov is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-14-2013, 09:39 PM   #9
Jeeper
 
Ubear7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 195
Thanks!
Ubear7 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2013, 01:17 PM   #10
Newb
 
Flo-RidaJeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 12
Thanks. What is the difference from the ProCal and the SuperChips Flashpaq...price wise and functionality?
Flo-RidaJeep is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2013, 03:53 PM   #11
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
cmaggi2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Prairieville, LA
Posts: 1,194
ProCal can adjust for tires, center steering wheel, and a few other things at $150. Superchips can adjust for regearing, improve HP and torque a little and increase mpg slightly too (no steering alignment) for $290. Check out their websites for all the details.
cmaggi2 is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2013, 04:06 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
Dick Blonov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Montreal (the big one)
Posts: 544
As far as I know, Flashpaq does not support 2011+ JK's.

DB
Dick Blonov is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2013, 04:06 PM   #13
Jeeper
 
robdizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: milan, Illinois
Posts: 178
I actually just got and used my procal unit today. I mainly wanted it to recalibrate for my 35's. My jk would shift out of overdrive way to often and when it did it'd jump to about 4000 rpm. I pleased with how easy it was to use. Now i have the right speedo reading and it shift like normal now. Running at lower rpms and stays in overdrive like it should. Now when it drops out of overdrive it jumps to a little over 2200 rpms. I know the gas milage reading isn't as accurate as figuring it by hand but before i never got a reading above 15.5. After i fueled uo this morn and put a 100 miles on it was showing 18.6.
robdizzle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2013, 04:11 PM   #14
Jeeper
 
robdizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: milan, Illinois
Posts: 178
I'm going to keep it in the glove box and use again when i eventually regear plus if you want to use the idle up feature when winching it has to be plugged in at that time.
robdizzle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2013, 04:23 PM   #15
Jeeper
 
XJtoJK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by robdizzle View Post
I actually just got and used my procal unit today. I mainly wanted it to recalibrate for my 35's. My jk would shift out of overdrive way to often and when it did it'd jump to about 4000 rpm. I pleased with how easy it was to use. Now i have the right speedo reading and it shift like normal now. Running at lower rpms and stays in overdrive like it should. Now when it drops out of overdrive it jumps to a little over 2200 rpms. I know the gas milage reading isn't as accurate as figuring it by hand but before i never got a reading above 15.5. After i fueled uo this morn and put a 100 miles on it was showing 18.6.
I was curious about this part, I have a friend who bought 13' rubi take offs for his 2dr sport (3.21's) and has been crying about his MPG, I told him to try the Procal because it might help adjust the ECU/PCM to make it shift and drive properly with the larger tires, and intern increase MPGs, THANKS!!
XJtoJK is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 03-15-2013, 04:35 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
robdizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: milan, Illinois
Posts: 178
I think it was money well spent but thats just my opinion. If you asked the wife shed say otherwise im sure.lol

robdizzle is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Network Links
»Jeep Parts
» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 PM.



Jeep®, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC