Procal & TPMS not working? - Jeep Wrangler Forum
Jeep Wrangler Forum

Go Back   Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK Jeep Wrangler Forum > JK General Discussion Forum

Join Wrangler Forum Today


Reply
 
Thread Tools

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on WranglerForum.com
Old 12-12-2011, 05:21 PM   #1
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Sueby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 1,749
Got some new wheels and a procal to set the threshold lower so I don't have to look at the light on the dash. Problem is the only setting that will turn the light off is 0. I'm at about 30psi & I tried 26 on the procal first, still got the light. Went to 24, still on. Tried even lower but it stayed on till I set it to 0.

I paid The 40 bucks a wheel for the sensors so I'd like to have them working. Do you think it's a bad sensor? The dip switches seem pretty straight forward & it does work set to 0 so I don't think I'm being blonde but I guess you never know!

Any suggestions?

Sueby is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 05:26 PM   #2
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,179
No blondeness. One of your sensors is probably bad. You can TRY setting your PSI to, say, 25, then ride around for awhile and see if the sensor resets.

But probably a bad sensor.

__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
óJohn Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 05:36 PM   #3
ESP
Jeeper
 
ESP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 11,499
Your jeep needs to register the lower setting. Set it to what you want and then drive around for a few hours/days. It should set then at the lower setting. The light does not come off right away unless it's set to zero.
__________________
98 XJ 02 TJ 10 JK 13 JK

2013 JK - Lifted w/ 35s - Bilstein 5100s - Monster TB - Chopped Flares - Can't Keep It Clean
ESP is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 05:36 PM   #4
Jeeper
 
cosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 183
Setting the procal to zero is how you bypass the system if you don't have sensors, so that parts working right.

Since you do have new sensors, were they programmed to specifically work on your Jeep? Most cars need to be programmed so the senors and car 'talk' to each other, I doubt Jeep is any different.

If the sensors are in there, and they've been programmed, you probably have a bad sensor and need actual help, not internet help. Good Luck!!
cosmos is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 05:38 PM   #5
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by ESP View Post
Your jeep needs to register the lower setting. Set it to what you want and then drive around for a few hours/days. It should set then at the lower setting. The light does not come off right away unless it's set to zero.
^^This.

Good point, ESP. I didn't even think about that...
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
óJohn Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 05:40 PM   #6
Jeeper
 
cosmos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally Posted by ESP View Post
Your jeep needs to register the lower setting. Set it to what you want and then drive around for a few hours/days. It should set then at the lower setting. The light does not come off right away unless it's set to zero.

So Jeeps don't need to be programmed by something outside the vehicle? That would be good news to me
cosmos is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 05:48 PM   #7
Jeeper
 
seanpholman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sueby View Post
Got some new wheels and a procal to set the threshold lower so I don't have to look at the light on the dash. Problem is the only setting that will turn the light off is 0. I'm at about 30psi & I tried 26 on the procal first, still got the light. Went to 24, still on. Tried even lower but it stayed on till I set it to 0.

I paid The 40 bucks a wheel for the sensors so I'd like to have them working. Do you think it's a bad sensor? The dip switches seem pretty straight forward & it does work set to 0 so I don't think I'm being blonde but I guess you never know!

Any suggestions?
Just shooting from the hip here...

Have you tried driving after the recal, or is this just in the garage? Usually it resets once the wheels are moving. This is how the computer determines what sensors are on an axle position and what sensor is on the spare.

Also, did you buy 4 sensors or 5? Could it be that the spare without a sensor is causing the light?

If you have 5, can you put the spare on the axle and see what happens then?

Just a few ideas.

--Sean
__________________
Happy Wheeling!
2012 Wrangler Unlimited Sahara Manual
EVO MFG Enforcer 3.5 w/Bilstein 5160s
37-in BFG KM2s
D44s, ARBs, 4.88s
seanpholman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 05:49 PM   #8
Jeeper
 
seanpholman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmos View Post
So Jeeps don't need to be programmed by something outside the vehicle? That would be good news to me
Nope, unlike the Toyota system, the Jeeps are "smart".

--Sean
__________________
Happy Wheeling!
2012 Wrangler Unlimited Sahara Manual
EVO MFG Enforcer 3.5 w/Bilstein 5160s
37-in BFG KM2s
D44s, ARBs, 4.88s
seanpholman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 05:53 PM   #9
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmos View Post
So Jeeps don't need to be programmed by something outside the vehicle? That would be good news to me
The Procal plugs into your Jeep's OBDII port (under dash, driver's side left), just as the diagnostic tools used by the dealerships.

You set the Procal, plug it in, the Jeep's horn honks to signify it accepted the settings, and you unplug.

So yes, the Jeep is programmed by an outside device. Kinda sorta.

Maybe that's too confusing. I'll be going now...
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
óJohn Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 06:22 PM   #10
Jeeper
 
seanpholman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 364
Oh, I thought he was referring to an outside tool to reset the sensor position to the vehicle. For instance, on a 4Runner, if you change the wheel sensors, they have an external scan tool that links them to the vehicle and wheel position.

The Jeep will sense the sensor position automatically, once the vehicle is moving (so rotating with the spare will not cause a TPMS issue). However, if the OP bought new sensors that weren't with the vehicle from the factory, I am not sure if the dealer needs to link those to the vehicle or not.

I can find out if someone here doesn't have the answer handy.

--Sean
__________________
Happy Wheeling!
2012 Wrangler Unlimited Sahara Manual
EVO MFG Enforcer 3.5 w/Bilstein 5160s
37-in BFG KM2s
D44s, ARBs, 4.88s
seanpholman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 06:28 PM   #11
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by seanpholman View Post
Oh, I thought he was referring to an outside tool to reset the sensor position to the vehicle. For instance, on a 4Runner, if you change the wheel sensors, they have an external scan tool that links them to the vehicle and wheel position.

The Jeep will sense the sensor position automatically, once the vehicle is moving (so rotating with the spare will not cause a TPMS issue). However, if the OP bought new sensors that weren't with the vehicle from the factory, I am not sure if the dealer needs to link those to the vehicle or not.

I can find out if someone here doesn't have the answer handy.

--Sean
Maybe THAT's Sueby's problem, if the new sensors weren't properly scanned? I know nothing about that end of it.

Does sound like she bought new ones, though...
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
óJohn Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 06:29 PM   #12
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
YUP !--the AEVPM instructions are very SPECIFIC and can never be toyed with-

There are parameters that have to be met with, the ign/computer/DP switchs before the jeeps ECU system can be changed-so

Read the instruction manual/quick reference guide, before trying to set the sys change !

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 06:29 PM   #13
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Sueby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 1,749
Ha! Get this...I remember my brother in law saying one valve stem was different when he mounted them. I know one wheel was shipped separately from another warehouse too so after reading Sean's post about the spare being different the little light in my head went on and sure enough they forgot the sensor in that one wheel.

Sounds like they want to mail it to me & then reimburse me for taking it to a local shop & having it installed. I'll find out for sure tomorrow.
Sueby is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 06:40 PM   #14
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Sueby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 1,749
Per the owners manual you may need to drive 'for up to 20 minutes above 15 mph' for the TPMS system to automatically update.

The guys at 4wd.com said they were emailing me a procedure from the manufacturer of the sensor on how to reset it, which I havent gotten yet, but basically he said to air down to 0 psi & leave it for 20 minutes & air them back up & let the system 'relearn per the owners manual' (which I'm guessing is the driving).
Sueby is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 06:45 PM   #15
Jeeper

WF Supporting Member
 
kbwwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 12,179
Whew, you had me worried.

Can't tell you how many times I (and a ton of others, see Jimbo's post above) have recommended the Procal. As far as I know, it's never failed to fix the problem.

But yeah, a missing sensor would do it.

Sometimes you gotta drive around a little longer than the recommendation in the manual. Might take a day or two, but all should be well once you get the new sensor installed.
__________________


"What we see depends mainly on what we look for."
óJohn Lubbock
kbwwolf is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 06:48 PM   #16
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
wrong interpretation !

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 06:55 PM   #17
Supporting Member

WF Supporting Member
 
Sueby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 1,749
You though I was being blonde, huh Jimbo?!

Well I guess I was a little bit!

Anyway, thanks for the help guys. I'm not sure why the little light on the dash bothers me so much, but I guess after spending nearly 2 grand I really shouldn't have to look at it!

Hopefully I won't have to revisit this thread when the long lost sensor gets installed.
Sueby is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 07:01 PM   #18
Jeeper
 
JIMBOX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 9,914
No No, I wasn't commenting on your posts, I meant that I had read it wrong, so I had made a comment about the "O" psi and I was wrong, but I caughtit in time--I'm crazy about blondes !


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sueby View Post
You though I was being blonde, huh Jimbo?!

Well I guess I was a little bit!

Anyway, thanks for the help guys. I'm not sure why the little light on the dash bothers me so much, but I guess after spending nearly 2 grand I really shouldn't have to look at it!

Hopefully I won't have to revisit this thread when the long lost sensor gets installed.
The only thing wrong about letting your tires down to "O" psi is the possibility of damage to the treads, should be on a rack, with jeep weight OFF TIRES !

JIMBO
__________________
"ya gotta have class"
JIMBOX is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Old 12-12-2011, 07:12 PM   #19
Jeeper
 
seanpholman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sueby View Post
Ha! Get this...I remember my brother in law saying one valve stem was different when he mounted them. I know one wheel was shipped separately from another warehouse too so after reading Sean's post about the spare being different the little light in my head went on and sure enough they forgot the sensor in that one wheel.

Sounds like they want to mail it to me & then reimburse me for taking it to a local shop & having it installed. I'll find out for sure tomorrow.

Cool!

--Sean

__________________
Happy Wheeling!
2012 Wrangler Unlimited Sahara Manual
EVO MFG Enforcer 3.5 w/Bilstein 5160s
37-in BFG KM2s
D44s, ARBs, 4.88s
seanpholman is offline   Quote Quick Reply
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Jeep Wrangler Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AEV ProCal and TPMS -2012 JK Vulcan Classic JK General Discussion Forum 34 06-29-2013 02:36 AM
TPMS Indicator issue with NO TPMS installed klaganga JK General Discussion Forum 22 11-02-2011 05:41 PM
Gas guage working not working? Jeep of Spades YJ General Discussion Forum 4 09-28-2010 10:45 AM
2007 Sahara Radio not working PDB Communications and Electronics 3 09-08-2010 06:56 PM
AEV Procal - Reset prior to service ? thefrog JK General Discussion Forum 3 06-09-2010 08:35 AM



» Featured Product

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.



Jeepģ, Wrangler, Liberty, Wagoneer, Cherokee, and Grand Cherokee are copyrighted and trademarked to Chrysler Motors LLC.
Wranglerforum.com is not in any way associated with the Chrysler Motors LLC